DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed Statement filed on 01/14/2025 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Schmogrow et al; (US 12250501) in view of Graves (US 6882800).
Regarding claim 1, Schmogrow discloses a communication apparatus comprising a node included in a network configuration in an optical network,(optical switching node 100, see figure 1B) wherein the node includes layers of two or more kinds of different switch granularities;(optical switching node 100 with first switched layer 120 is a wavelength switched domain or wavelength switched layer and the second switched layer 130 is a fiber switched domain or fiber switched layer, see column 5, lines 50-54 and figure 1B) and connects the layers with respect to a node;(each of the first and second switching layers 120, 130 are connected to the OCSs 102, 104 such that incoming optical signals can be routed from either OCS to either one of the first and second switching layers 120, 130 and outgoing optical signals can be routed from either one of the first and second switching layers 120, 130 to either OCS, see column 5, lines 55-60 and figure 1B).
However, Schmogrow does not explicitly disclose of another adjacent communication apparatus.
In a related field of endeavor, Graves discloses of another adjacent communication apparatus; (incoming DWDM optical signals are input to a multi-plane optical switching system in which they can be switched to other fibers, split into lambda groups and switched at that level, then switched by the lambda granularity layer 3 of the system 10, and later combined into lambda groups, and finally multiplexed, into outgoing DWDM optical signals, see column 6, lines 10-18 and figure 3).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the incoming and outgoing signals of Graves with Schmogrow to provide optical switching with multiple layers for switching optical signals and the motivation is increased efficiency and capacity of the optical switching system.
Regarding claim 2, Schmogrow discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the node includes a wavelength cross-connect layer (parallel arrangement of a switching node 300 for arranging multiple types of switching layers in parallel to one another, see column 7, lines 6-8 and figure 3) including a wavelength cross-connect switch configured to perform switching in a wavelength unit, ( wavelength switched layer 310, see figure 3) and a fiber cross-connect layer including a fiber cross-connect switch configured to perform switching in a fiber unit,( fiber switched layer 330, see figure 3) and each of the wavelength cross-connect switch and the fiber cross-connect switch is connected to an optical path with respect to the node of the ;(switching operations at the OCS 340 may be used to control to which of the switching layers 310, 320, 330 an incoming optical signal is sent, see column 7, lines 16-19 and figure 3).
However, Schmogrow does not explicitly disclose another adjacent communication apparatus.
In a related field of endeavor, Graves discloses another adjacent communication apparatus; (incoming DWDM optical signals are input to a multi-plane optical switching system in which they can be switched to other fibers, split into lambda groups and switched at that level, then switched by the lambda granularity layer 3 of the system 10, and later combined into lambda groups, and finally multiplexed, into outgoing DWDM optical signals, see column 6, lines 10-18 and figure 3). Motivation same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Schmogrow discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the wavelength cross-connect switch switches (parallel arrangement of a switching node 300 for arranging multiple types of switching layers in parallel to one another, see column 7, lines 6-8 and figure 3) in such a way that the optical path is connected to the wavelength cross-connect switch; ( wavelength switched layer 310, see figure 3) or the fiber cross-connect switch (fiber switched layer 330, see figure 3) and the fiber cross-connect switch switches in such a way that the optical path is connected to the wavelength cross-connect switch or the fiber cross-connect switch in;( switching operations at the OCS 340 may be used to control to which of the switching layers 310, 320, 330 an incoming optical signal is sent, see column 7, lines 16-19 and figure 3).
However, Schmogrow does not explicitly disclose the another adjacent communication apparatus in another adjacent communication apparatus.
In a related field of endeavor, Graves, discloses the another adjacent communication apparatus in another adjacent communication apparatus; (incoming DWDM optical signals are input to a multi-plane optical switching system in which they can be switched to other fibers, split into lambda groups and switched at that level, then switched by the lambda granularity layer 3 of the system 10, and later combined into lambda groups, and finally multiplexed, into outgoing DWDM optical signals, see column 6, lines 10-18 and figure 3). Motivation same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Schmogrow discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the wavelength cross-connect switch is configured in such a way that the fiber cross-connect switch and the optical path are not connected to each other; (the fiber switched layer 130 may include a WSS 132 to multiplex/demultiplex wavelength division multiplex (WDM) signals and may further include OCSs 134 at outputs of the fiber switched layer 130 to control the particular degree of the switching node 100 to which the combined or separated optical signals are routed, see column 6, lines 19-25 and figure 1B).
Regarding claim 5, Schmogrow discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the node includes a wavelength cross-connect layer including a wavelength cross-connect switch configured to perform switching in a wavelength unit, (parallel arrangement of a switching node 300 for arranging multiple types of switching layers in parallel to one another, see column 7, lines 6-8 and figure 3) a wavelength band cross-connect layer including a wavelength band cross-connect switch configured to perform switching of a wavelength band being a bundle of a plurality of wavelengths,(the wavelength switched layer 120 includes a wavelength selective switch (WSS) 122 through which the incoming optical signal is routed. The WSS 122 may control whether the optical signal is passed based on the wavelength of the optical signal, see column 5, lines 62-65) and a fiber cross-connect layer including a fiber cross-connect switch configured to perform switching in a fiber unit, and each of the wavelength cross-connect switch,(the fiber switched layer 130 includes a switching architecture for controlling the routing of optical signals based on the optical fibers over which they are carried, see column 17, lines 16-18) the wavelength band cross-connect switch, and the fiber cross-connect switch is connected to an optical path with respect to the node;( switching operations at the OCS 340 may be used to control to which of the switching layers 310, 320, 330 an incoming optical signal is sent, see column 7, lines 16-19 and figure 3).
However, Schmogrow does not explicitly disclose of the another adjacent communication apparatus.
In a related field of endeavor, Graves discloses of the another adjacent communication apparatus (incoming DWDM optical signals are input to a multi-plane optical switching system in which they can be switched to other fibers, split into lambda groups and switched at that level, then switched by the lambda granularity layer 3 of the system 10, and later combined into lambda groups, and finally multiplexed, into outgoing DWDM optical signals, see column 6, lines 10-18 and figure 3). Motivation same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Schmogrow discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the wavelength cross-connect switch switches ;( cascaded arrangement of a switching node 400 for arranging multiple types of switching layers in a cascaded configuration, see column 7, lines 24-26 and figure 4) in such a way that the optical path is connected to any one of the wavelength cross-connect switch, the wavelength band cross-connect switch, and the fiber cross-connect switch ;( a respective first cascaded OCS 440 is provided at each degree of the switching node 400 to receive optical signals from the optical transport fibers at the degree, and to direct the incoming optical signals to either a switching layer of a coarsest granularity (fiber switched layer 430) or to a next cascaded path, see column 7, lines 24-26 and figure 4), the wavelength band cross-connect switch switches in such a way that the optical path is connected to any one of the wavelength cross-connect switch, the wavelength band cross-connect switch, and the fiber cross-connect switch in ;(the next cascaded path feeds the incoming optical signal to a next cascaded OCS 460 to direct the incoming optical signals to either a switching layer of a next-coarsest granularity or to a further cascaded path. In the example of FIG. 4, the switching layer having the next-coarsest granularity is the band switched layer 420, see column 7, lines 36-41 and figure 4) and the fiber cross-connect switch switches in such a way that the optical path is connected to any one of the wavelength cross-connect switch, the wavelength band cross-connect switch, and the fiber cross-connect switch; (the further cascaded path feeds the incoming optical signal to the switching layer having the finest granularity, which in this case is the wavelength switched layer 410, see column 7, lines 41-44 and figure 4).
However, Schmogrow does not explicitly disclose in the another adjacent communication apparatus, the another adjacent communication apparatus.
In a related field of endeavor, Graves disclose in the another adjacent communication apparatus, the another adjacent communication apparatus (incoming DWDM optical signals are input to a multi-plane optical switching system in which they can be switched to other fibers, split into lambda groups and switched at that level, then switched by the lambda granularity layer 3 of the system 10, and later combined into lambda groups, and finally multiplexed, into outgoing DWDM optical signals, see column 6, lines 10-18 and figure 3). Motivation same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Schmogrow discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the wavelength cross-connect switch; (parallel arrangement of a switching node 300 for arranging multiple types of switching layers in parallel to one another, see column 7, lines 6-8 and figure 3) is configured in such a way that the optical path is not connected to the wavelength band cross-connect switch and the fiber cross-connect switch, (the wavelength switched layer 120 includes a wavelength selective switch (WSS) 122 through which the incoming optical signal is routed. The WSS 122 may control whether the optical signal is passed based on the wavelength of the optical signal, see column 5, lines 62-65) and the wavelength band cross-connect switch is configured in such a way that the optical path is not connected to the fiber cross-connect switch ,(the fiber switched layer 130 includes a switching architecture for controlling the routing of optical signals based on the optical fibers over which they are carried, see column 17, lines 16-18).
Regarding claim 8, Schmogrow discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the node includes a wavelength converter disposed at a preceding stage of the wavelength cross-connect switch ;( some or all of the degrees of the node can be connected to one another and route optical signals between one another without having to route the optical signals through a WSS. This may also be beneficial for nodes that include signal filtering or splitting components that do not require wavelength switching, see column 4, lines 6-11).
Regarding claim 9, Schmogrow discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the node includes a wavelength filter disposed at a preceding stage of the wavelength converter ;( switching operations at the OCS 340 may be used to control to which of the switching layers 310, 320, 330 an incoming optical signal is sent. Additionally, each switching layer 310, 320, 330, may include its own respective OCS between the OCS 340 and the filtering and switching elements of the switching layer, see column 7, lines 16-21)
Regarding claim 10, Schmogrow discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the node includes a controller configured to perform at least one of adding and dropping of the optical path ;(the WSS 122 may control whether the optical signal is passed based on the wavelength of the optical signal. If the optical signal is passed, then a multi-node mesh, such as a fiber shuffle module (FSM) 124, connected to an add-drop architecture, such as a multi-cast switch (MCS), may be used to combine or separate optical signals of different wavelengths with or from one another, see column 5, lines 63-67 and column 6, lines 1,2).
Regarding claim 11, Schmogrow discloses a network configuration system,(optical switching node 100, see figure 1B) comprising a plurality of communication apparatuses including a node included in a network configuration in an optical network,( The switching node 100 is an N-degree node, whereby N is a positive integer greater than two. Optical signals may be received at the node 100 from one of the degrees and routed to one or more of the other degrees through the switching network of the switching node 100, see column 4, lines 62-67 and figure 1a) wherein the node of each communication apparatus includes layers of two or more kinds of different switch granularities ;(optical switching node 100 with first switched layer 120 is a wavelength switched domain or wavelength switched layer and the second switched layer 130 is a fiber switched domain or fiber switched layer, see column 5, lines 50-54 and figure 1B) and the node of a first communication apparatus connects the layers with respect to the node ;(each of the first and second switching layers 120, 130 are connected to the OCSs 102, 104 such that incoming optical signals can be routed from either OCS to either one of the first and second switching layers 120, 130 and outgoing optical signals can be routed from either one of the first and second switching layers 120, 130 to either OCS, see column 5, lines 55-60 and figure 1B).
However, Schmogrow does not explicitly disclose of an adjacent second communication apparatus.
In a related field of endeavor, Graves discloses of an adjacent second communication apparatus; (incoming DWDM optical signals are input to a multi-plane optical switching system in which they can be switched to other fibers, split into lambda groups and switched at that level, then switched by the lambda granularity layer 3 of the system 10, and later combined into lambda groups, and finally multiplexed, into outgoing DWDM optical signals, see column 6, lines 10-18 and figure 3).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the incoming and outgoing signals of Graves with Schmogrow to provide optical switching with multiple layers for switching optical signals and the motivation is increased efficiency and capacity of the optical switching system.
Regarding claim 12, Schmogrow discloses the network configuration system according to claim 11, wherein the node of each communication apparatus includes a wavelength cross-connect layer (parallel arrangement of a switching node 300 for arranging multiple types of switching layers in parallel to one another, see column 7, lines 6-8 and figure 3) including a wavelength cross-connect switch configured to perform switching in a wavelength unit, ( wavelength switched layer 310, see figure 3) and a fiber cross-connect layer including a fiber cross-connect switch configured to perform switching in a fiber unit, (fiber switched layer 330, see figure 3) and each of the wavelength cross-connect switch and the fiber cross-connect switch of the first communication apparatus is connected to an optical path with respect to the node ;(switching operations at the OCS 340 may be used to control to which of the switching layers 310, 320, 330 an incoming optical signal is sent, see column 7, lines 16-19 and figure 3).
However, Schmogrow does not explicitly disclose of the second communication apparatus.
In a related field of endeavor, Graves discloses of the second communication apparatus; (incoming DWDM optical signals are input to a multi-plane optical switching system in which they can be switched to other fibers, split into lambda groups and switched at that level, then switched by the lambda granularity layer 3 of the system 10, and later combined into lambda groups, and finally multiplexed, into outgoing DWDM optical signals, see column 6, lines 10-18 and figure 3). Motivation same as claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, Schmogrow discloses the network configuration system according to claim 12, wherein the wavelength cross-connect switch of the first communication apparatus switches (parallel arrangement of a switching node 300 for arranging multiple types of switching layers in parallel to one another, see column 7, lines 6-8 and figure 3) in such a way that the optical path is connected to the wavelength cross-connect switch ; (wavelength switched layer 310, see figure 3) or the fiber cross-connect switch (fiber switched layer 330, see figure 3) and the fiber cross-connect switch (fiber switched layer 330, see figure 3) of the first communication apparatus switches in such a way that the optical path is connected to the wavelength cross-connect switch or the fiber cross-connect switch ;( switching operations at the OCS 340 may be used to control to which of the switching layers 310, 320, 330 an incoming optical signal is sent, see column 7, lines 16-19 and figure 3).
However, Schmogrow does not explicitly disclose in the second communication apparatus, in the second communication apparatus.
In a related field of endeavor, Graves discloses in the second communication apparatus, in the second communication apparatus ; (incoming DWDM optical signals are input to a multi-plane optical switching system in which they can be switched to other fibers, split into lambda groups and switched at that level, then switched by the lambda granularity layer 3 of the system 10, and later combined into lambda groups, and finally multiplexed, into outgoing DWDM optical signals, see column 6, lines 10-18 and figure 3). Motivation same as claim 11.
Regarding claim 14, Schmogrow discloses the network configuration system according to claim 12, wherein the wavelength cross-connect switch of the first communication apparatus is configured in such a way that the optical path is not connected to the fiber cross-connect switch of the first communication apparatus; (the fiber switched layer 130 may include a WSS 132 to multiplex/demultiplex wavelength division multiplex (WDM) signals and may further include OCSs 134 at outputs of the fiber switched layer 130 to control the particular degree of the switching node 100 to which the combined or separated optical signals are routed, see column 6, lines 19-25 and figure 1B).
Regarding claim 15, Schmogrow discloses the network configuration system according to claim 11, wherein the node of each communication apparatus includes a wavelength cross-connect layer including a wavelength cross-connect switch configured to perform switching in a wavelength unit, (parallel arrangement of a switching node 300 for arranging multiple types of switching layers in parallel to one another, see column 7, lines 6-8 and figure 3) a wavelength band cross-connect layer including a wavelength band cross-connect switch configured to perform switching of a wavelength band being a bundle of a plurality of wavelengths, (the wavelength switched layer 120 includes a wavelength selective switch (WSS) 122 through which the incoming optical signal is routed. The WSS 122 may control whether the optical signal is passed based on the wavelength of the optical signal, see column 5, lines 62-65) and a fiber cross-connect layer including a fiber cross-connect switch configured to perform switching in a fiber unit, and each of the wavelength cross-connect switch, ,(the fiber switched layer 130 includes a switching architecture for controlling the routing of optical signals based on the optical fibers over which they are carried, see column 17, lines 16-18) the wavelength band cross-connect switch, and the fiber cross-connect switch of the first communication apparatus is connected to an optical path with respect to the node ;( switching operations at the OCS 340 may be used to control to which of the switching layers 310, 320, 330 an incoming optical signal is sent, see column 7, lines 16-19 and figure 3).
However, Schmogrow does not explicitly disclose of the second communication apparatus.
In a related field of endeavor, Graves discloses of the second communication apparatus ; (incoming DWDM optical signals are input to a multi-plane optical switching system in which they can be switched to other fibers, split into lambda groups and switched at that level, then switched by the lambda granularity layer 3 of the system 10, and later combined into lambda groups, and finally multiplexed, into outgoing DWDM optical signals, see column 6, lines 10-18 and figure 3). Motivation same as claim 11.
Regarding claim 16, Schmogrow discloses the network configuration system according to claim 15, wherein the wavelength cross-connect switch of the first communication apparatus switches ;( cascaded arrangement of a switching node 400 for arranging multiple types of switching layers in a cascaded configuration, see column 7, lines 24-26 and figure 4) in such a way that the optical path is connected to any one of the wavelength cross-connect switch, the wavelength band cross-connect switch, and the fiber cross-connect switch in the wavelength band cross-connect switch of the first communication apparatus switches;( a respective first cascaded OCS 440 is provided at each degree of the switching node 400 to receive optical signals from the optical transport fibers at the degree, and to direct the incoming optical signals to either a switching layer of a coarsest granularity (fiber switched layer 430) or to a next cascaded path, see column 7, lines 24-26 and figure 4), in such a way that the optical path is connected to any one of the wavelength cross-connect switch, the wavelength band cross-connect switch, and the fiber cross-connect switch in the second communication apparatus;(the next cascaded path feeds the incoming optical signal to a next cascaded OCS 460 to direct the incoming optical signals to either a switching layer of a next-coarsest granularity or to a further cascaded path. In the example of FIG. 4, the switching layer having the next-coarsest granularity is the band switched layer 420, see column 7, lines 36-41 and figure 4) and the fiber cross-connect switch of the first communication apparatus switches in such a way that the optical path is connected to any one of the wavelength cross-connect switch, the wavelength band cross-connect switch, and the fiber cross-connect switch ; (the further cascaded path feeds the incoming optical signal to the switching layer having the finest granularity, which in this case is the wavelength switched layer 410, see column 7, lines 41-44 and figure 4).
However, Schmogrow does not explicitly disclose the second communication apparatus, in the second communication apparatus.
In a related field of endeavor, Graves disclose the second communication apparatus, in the second communication apparatus; (incoming DWDM optical signals are input to a multi-plane optical switching system in which they can be switched to other fibers, split into lambda groups and switched at that level, then switched by the lambda granularity layer 3 of the system 10, and later combined into lambda groups, and finally multiplexed, into outgoing DWDM optical signals, see column 6, lines 10-18 and figure 3). Motivation same as claim 11.
Regarding claim 17, Schmogrow discloses the network configuration system according to claim 15, wherein the wavelength cross-connect switch ; (parallel arrangement of a switching node 300 for arranging multiple types of switching layers in parallel to one another, see column 7, lines 6-8 and figure 3) of the first communication apparatus is configured in such a way that the optical path is not connected to the wavelength band cross-connect switch and the fiber cross-connect switch of the first communication apparatus, (the wavelength switched layer 120 includes a wavelength selective switch (WSS) 122 through which the incoming optical signal is routed. The WSS 122 may control whether the optical signal is passed based on the wavelength of the optical signal, see column 5, lines 62-65) and the wavelength band cross-connect switch of the first communication apparatus is configured in such a way that the optical path is not connected to the fiber cross-connect switch of the first communication apparatus ,(the fiber switched layer 130 includes a switching architecture for controlling the routing of optical signals based on the optical fibers over which they are carried, see column 17, lines 16-18).
Regarding claim 18, Schmogrow discloses the network configuration system according to claim 12, wherein the node of each communication apparatus includes a wavelength converter disposed at a preceding stage of the wavelength cross-connect switch ;( some or all of the degrees of the node can be connected to one another and route optical signals between one another without having to route the optical signals through a WSS. This may also be beneficial for nodes that include signal filtering or splitting components that do not require wavelength switching, see column 4, lines 6-11).
Regarding claim 19, Schmogrow discloses the network configuration system according to claim 18, wherein the node of each communication apparatus includes a wavelength filter disposed at a preceding stage of the wavelength converter ;( switching operations at the OCS 340 may be used to control to which of the switching layers 310, 320, 330 an incoming optical signal is sent. Additionally, each switching layer 310, 320, 330, may include its own respective OCS between the OCS 340 and the filtering and switching elements of the switching layer, see column 7, lines 16-21)
Regarding claim 20, Schmogrow discloses a communication method comprising a step of connecting layers between a node being included in a network configuration in an optical network and including the layers of two or more kinds of different switch granularities;(optical switching node 100 with first switched layer 120 is a wavelength switched domain or wavelength switched layer and the second switched layer 130 is a fiber switched domain or fiber switched layer, see column 5, lines 50-54 and figure 1B) and another adjacent node ;(each of the first and second switching layers 120, 130 are connected to the OCSs 102, 104 such that incoming optical signals can be routed from either OCS to either one of the first and second switching layers 120, 130 and outgoing optical signals can be routed from either one of the first and second switching layers 120, 130 to either OCS, see column 5, lines 55-60 and figure 1B).
Conclusion
3. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is reproduced below.
a. Beshai (US 2004/0037558) discloses an optical network 100 with the optical core nodes 104 may have different levels of switching granularities, see figure 1.
b. Ludovic et al; (EP 1193995A1) discloses an optical switch implementing a multi-granularity architecture and the number of granularity levels is three: the wavelength, the wavelength band and the fiber, see figure 1.
c. Jenkins et al; (WO 2007/073382A1) discloses a network design that reduces the number of wavelengths needed to support communications in a Wavelength Division Multiplexing (WDM) network, see figure 13.
/AMRITBIR K SANDHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634