DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/14/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,262,541. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the removal of the limitations “a first lens having a positive refractive power”, “a second lens a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof” and “−5.0<f2/f<−2.0, where f is a focal length of the optical imaging system, and f2 is a focal length of the second lens” renders claims 1-12 of the instant application as broadened and obvious variants of claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,262,541.
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,740,440. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the removal of the limitations “a first lens comprising positive refractive power”, “a second lens comprising negative refractive power” and “−5.0<f2/f<−2.0, where f is a focal length of the optical imaging system, and f2 is a focal length of the second lens” renders claims 1-12 of the instant application as broadened and obvious variants of claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,740,440.
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,242,038. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the removal of the limitations “a first lens comprising a convex object-side surface and a concave image-side surface”, “a third lens comprising positive refractive power and a convex object-side surface”, “a fifth lens comprising a refractive power and a concave object-side surface in a paraxial region” and “−5.0<f2/f<−2.0 and 3.0<|f4/f|, where f is a focal length of the optical imaging system, f2 is a focal length of the second lens, and f4 is a focal length of the fourth lens” renders claims 1-12 of the instant application as broadened and obvious variants of claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,242,038.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bo et al. (CN 107367257; already of record).
Regarding claim 1, Bo discloses, an optical imaging system (Fig. 1) comprising:
a first lens (“E1”) comprising a refractive power;
a second lens (“E2”) comprising a refractive power;
a third lens (“E3”) comprising a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (“S5”);
a fourth lens (“E4”) comprising a refractive power;
a fifth lens (“E5”) comprising a concave object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof;
a sixth lens (“E6”) comprising a refractive power; and
a seventh lens (“E7”) comprising a refractive power,
wherein the first to seventh lenses are sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order from an object side toward an imaging plane (see Fig. 1),
wherein a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the seventh lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the sixth lens (see “Table 7”), and
wherein -4.0 < f1/f2, where f1 is a focal length of the first lens and f2 is a focal length of the second lens (see “Table 1”).
Regarding claim 2, Bo discloses, the first lens has a convex object- side surface (“S1”).
Regarding claim 3, Bo discloses, the second lens has a convex object-side surface (“S3”).
Regarding claim 4, Bo discloses, the fourth lens has a concave image-side surface (“S8”).
Regarding claim 5, Bo discloses, the sixth lens has a convex image- side surface (“S12”).
Regarding claim 6, Bo discloses, the seventh lens has a concave image-side surface (“S14”).
Regarding claim 7, Bo discloses, an optical imaging system (Fig. 1) comprising:
a first lens (“E1”) comprising a refractive power;
a second lens (“E2”) comprising a refractive power;
a third lens (“E3”) comprising a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (“S5”);
a fourth lens (“E4”) comprising a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (“S7”);
a fifth lens (“E5”) comprising a refractive power;
a sixth lens (“E6”) comprising a refractive power; and
a seventh lens (“E7”) comprising a refractive power,
wherein the first to seventh lenses are sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order from an object side toward an imaging plane (Fig. 1),
wherein a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the seventh lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the sixth lens (see “Table 7”), and
wherein -4.0 < f1/f2, where f1 is a focal length of the first lens and f2 is a focal length of the second lens (see “Table 1”).
Regarding claim 8, Bo discloses, the first lens has a convex object- side surface (“S1”).
Regarding claim 9, Bo discloses, the second lens has a convex object-side surface (“S3”).
Regarding claim 10, Bo discloses, the third lens has a concave image-side surface (“S6”).
Regarding claim 11, Bo discloses, the sixth lens has a convex image- side surface (“S12”).
Regarding claim 12, Bo discloses, the seventh lens has a concave image-side surface (“S14”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fukuya (US 2014/0139719) discloses an optical imaging system that includes first to seventh lenses sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order from an object side toward an imaging plane.
/DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 09/22/2026