DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application 19/020574 filed on January 14, 2025 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on February 11, 2025 and July 15, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20, lines 4-5, “the motor shaft;.” You cannot have a period in the middle of a claim, the examiner recommends -- the motor shaft; --
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
5. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
The features of claim 13, lines 1-3, “the motor comprises a motor housing, a motor stator, and a motor rotor, the motor housing is configured to sleeve on and fasten the motor stator, the motor stator is configured to be sleeved on the motor rotor” are not shown in the drawings.
The features of claim 20, lines 1-4, “the powertrain comprises a reducer and a motor, wherein the motor comprises a motor housing, a motor stator, and a motor rotor, the motor housing is configured to sleeve on and fasten the motor stator, the motor stator is configured to be sleeved on the motor rotor” are not shown in the drawings.
The features of claim 20, lines 18-20, “the motor shaft of the motor is configured to be in transmission connection with an input shaft of the reducer, and an output shaft of the reducer is configured to be in transmission connection with wheels of an electric vehicle” are not shown in the drawings.
Therefore, the features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-3, 5, 13-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitao (US 20200186007) in view of Wang (CN 116404782, see English Machine Translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Kitao teaches (see figs. 9 and 10 below) an oil-cooled motor rotor (20) in a groove (¶ 30; ¶ 31; ¶ 2),
wherein the motor rotor (20) comprises a motor shaft (21), at least one end plate (24, 25) (¶ 34; ¶ 116),
at least one rotor iron core (22A), and a plurality of magnetic steels, the at least one rotor iron core (22A) is configured to be in coaxial transmission with the motor shaft (21) (¶ 115; ¶ 116),
one rotor iron core (22A) and one end plate (24, 25) are adjacently arranged in an axial direction of a motor (¶ 34; ¶ 115; ¶ 116),
the one rotor iron core (22A) comprises a plurality of magnetic steel grooves (30Aa), and each magnetic steel groove (30Aa) is configured to fasten at least one permanent magnet (23) (¶ 125; ¶ 115; ¶ 116);
at least one magnetic steel groove (30Aa) comprises a plurality of bumps (60), each bump (60) protrudes from a groove wall (30aa, 30ba) of one magnetic steel groove (30Aa) to one, one end that is of each bump (60) and that faces the one permanent magnet (23) is configured to abut the one permanent magnet (23) (¶ 116; ¶ 125), and
there is a gap (44, 35a) between a part of the groove wall (30aa, 30ba) of the one magnetic steel groove (30Aa) other than the bump (60) and the one permanent magnet (23) (¶ 116; ¶ 125); and
the gap (44, 35a) is configured to form an internal flow channel of the one rotor iron core (22A) and is configured to communicate with an oil groove (38) of the one end plate (25) (¶ 128; ¶ 129; ¶ 124).
Kitao does not explicitly teach that the permanent magnet is magnetic steel.
However, Wang teaches that the permanent magnet is magnetic steel (see excerpt below) (pages 6 and 7) in order to improve heat dissipation and provide low costs (Wang, Abstract; pages 6 and 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kitao and provide the permanent magnet is magnetic steel as taught by Wang in order to improve heat dissipation and provide low costs (Wang, Abstract; pages 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 2/1, Kitao in view Wang teaches the device of claim 1, Kitao further teaches (see figs. 9 and 10 above) the groove wall (30aa, 30ba) of the one magnetic steel groove (30Aa) comprises two first side walls (30aa, 30ba), and the two first side walls (30aa, 30ba) are arranged opposite to each other in a first direction (¶ 116; ¶ 125); and
one first side wall (30aa) comprises at least one bump (60), the at least one bump (60) protrudes to the one permanent magnet (23) in the first direction, there is a first gap (44) between a part of the first side wall (30aa) other than the at least one bump (60) and the one permanent magnet (23) (¶ 125; ¶ 129; ¶ 130), and
the first gap (44) is configured to form the internal flow channel of the rotor iron core (22A) and is configured to communicate with the oil groove (38) of the one end plate (25) (¶ 128; ¶ 129; ¶ 124).
Kitao does not explicitly teach that the permanent magnet is magnetic steel.
However, Wang teaches that the permanent magnet is magnetic steel (see excerpt above) (pages 6 and 7) in order to improve heat dissipation and provide low costs (Wang, Abstract; pages 6 and 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kitao and provide the permanent magnet is magnetic steel as taught by Wang in order to improve heat dissipation and provide low costs (Wang, Abstract; pages 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 3/2/1, Kitao in view Wang teaches the device of claim 2, Kitao further teaches (see figs. 9 and 10 above) the one permanent magnet (23) comprises one first magnetic steel surface (23a), the one first magnetic steel surface (23a) is opposite to the one first side wall (30aa) in the first direction, one end that is of the at least one bump (60) and that faces the one permanent magnet (23) is configured to abut the one first magnetic steel surface (23a), and the one first magnetic steel surface (23a) is planar (fig. 10; ¶ 125; ¶ 115; ¶ 116).
Kitao does not explicitly teach that the permanent magnet is magnetic steel.
However, Wang teaches that the permanent magnet is magnetic steel (see excerpt above) (pages 6 and 7) in order to improve heat dissipation and provide low costs (Wang, Abstract; pages 6 and 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kitao and provide the permanent magnet is magnetic steel as taught by Wang in order to improve heat dissipation and provide low costs (Wang, Abstract; pages 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 5/2/1, Kitao in view Wang teaches the device of claim 2, Kitao further teaches (see figs. 9 and 10 above) the groove wall of the one magnetic steel groove (30Aa) further comprises two second side walls (see annotated fig. 10 below), the two second side walls (see annotated fig. 10 below) are arranged opposite to each other in a second direction, and the first direction intersects the second direction; and there is a second gap (33a) between one second side wall (see annotated fig. 10 below) and the one permanent magnet (23), the second gap (33) is configured to form the internal flow channel of the one rotor iron core and is configured to communicate with the internal flow channel of the one end plate (25), and the second gap (33a) is communicated with the first gap (35a) (¶ 125; ¶ 115; ¶ 116; ¶ 49).
Kitao does not explicitly teach that the permanent magnet is magnetic steel.
However, Wang teaches that the permanent magnet is magnetic steel (see excerpt above) (pages 6 and 7) in order to improve heat dissipation and provide low costs (Wang, Abstract; pages 6 and 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kitao and provide the permanent magnet is magnetic steel as taught by Wang in order to improve heat dissipation and provide low costs (Wang, Abstract; pages 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 13, Kitao teaches (see figs. 9 and 10 above) a motor (¶ 2), wherein the motor comprises a motor housing (1), a motor stator (10), and a motor rotor (20A), the motor housing (1) is configured to sleeve on and fasten the motor stator (10), the motor stator (10) is configured to be sleeved on the motor rotor (20A), and the motor rotor (20A) is configured to sleeve on and to be fastened to the motor shaft (21) (¶ 31 to ¶ 34; ¶ 116);
wherein the motor rotor (20A) comprises a motor shaft (21), at least one end plate (24, 25), at least one rotor iron core (22A) (¶ 34; ¶ 115; ¶ 116), and
a plurality of permanent magnets (23), the at least one rotor iron core (22A) is configured to be in coaxial transmission with the motor shaft (21), one rotor iron core (22A) and one end plate (24, 25) are adjacently arranged in an axial direction of a motor (¶ 34; ¶ 115; ¶ 116; ¶ 125),
the one rotor iron core (22A) comprises a plurality of magnetic steel grooves (30Aa), and each magnetic steel groove (30Aa) is configured to fasten at least one permanent magnet (23) (¶ 115; ¶ 116; ¶ 125);
at least one magnetic steel groove (30Aa) comprises a plurality of bumps (60), each bump (60) protrudes from a groove wall (30aa, 30ba) of one magnetic steel groove (30Aa) to one permanent magnet (23), one end that is of each bump (60) and that faces the one permanent magnet (23) is configured to abut the permanent magnet (23) (¶ 115; ¶ 116; ¶ 125), and
there is a gap (44, 35a) between a part of the groove wall (30aa, 30ba of the one magnetic steel groove (30Aa) other than the bump (60) and the one permanent magnet (23) (¶ 115; ¶ 116; ¶ 125); and
the gap (44, 35a) is configured to form an internal flow channel of the one rotor iron core (22A) and is configured to communicate with an oil groove (38) of the one end plate (25) (¶ 128; ¶ 129; ¶ 124).
Kitao does not explicitly teach that the permanent magnet or magnets are magnetic steel.
However, Wang teaches that the permanent magnet or magnets are magnetic steel (see excerpt above) (pages 6 and 7) in order to improve heat dissipation and provide low costs (Wang, Abstract; pages 6 and 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kitao and provide the permanent magnet or magnets are magnetic steel as taught by Wang in order to improve heat dissipation and provide low costs (Wang, Abstract; pages 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 14/13, Kitao in view Wang teaches the device of claim 13, Kitao further teaches (see figs. 9 and 10 above) the groove wall (30aa, 30ba) of the one magnetic steel groove (30Aa) comprises two first side walls (30aa, 30ba), and the two first side walls (30aa, 30ba) are arranged opposite to each other in a first direction (¶ 116; ¶ 125); and
one first side wall (30aa) comprises at least one bump (60), the at least one bump (60) protrudes to the one permanent magnet (23) in the first direction, there is a first gap (44) between a part of the first side wall (30aa) other than the at least one bump (60) and the one permanent magnet (23) (¶ 125; ¶ 129; ¶ 130), and
the first gap (44) is configured to form the internal flow channel of the rotor iron core (22A) and is configured to communicate with the oil groove (38) of the one end plate (25) (¶ 128; ¶ 129; ¶ 124).
Kitao does not explicitly teach that the permanent magnet is magnetic steel.
However, Wang teaches that the permanent magnet is magnetic steel (see excerpt above) (pages 6 and 7) in order to improve heat dissipation and provide low costs (Wang, Abstract; pages 6 and 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kitao and provide the permanent magnet is magnetic steel as taught by Wang in order to improve heat dissipation and provide low costs (Wang, Abstract; pages 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 15/14/13, Kitao in view Wang teaches the device of claim 14, Kitao further teaches (see figs. 9 and 10 above) the one permanent magnet (23) comprises one first magnetic steel surface (23a), the one first magnetic steel surface (23a) is opposite to the one first side wall (30aa) in the first direction, one end that is of the at least one bump (60) and that faces the one permanent magnet (23) is configured to abut the one first magnetic steel surface (23a), and the one first magnetic steel surface (23a) is planar (fig. 10; ¶ 125; ¶ 115; ¶ 116).
Kitao does not explicitly teach that the permanent magnet is magnetic steel.
However, Wang teaches that the permanent magnet is magnetic steel (see excerpt above) (pages 6 and 7) in order to improve heat dissipation and provide low costs (Wang, Abstract; pages 6 and 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kitao and provide the permanent magnet is magnetic steel as taught by Wang in order to improve heat dissipation and provide low costs (Wang, Abstract; pages 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 17/14/13, Kitao in view Wang teaches the device of claim 14, Kitao further teaches (see figs. 9 and 10 above) the groove wall of the one magnetic steel groove (30Aa) further comprises two second side walls (see annotated fig. 10 below), the two second side walls (see annotated fig. 10 below) are arranged opposite to each other in a second direction, and the first direction intersects the second direction; and there is a second gap (33a) between one second side wall (see annotated fig. 10 below) and the one permanent magnet (23), the second gap (33) is configured to form the internal flow channel of the one rotor iron core and is configured to communicate with the internal flow channel of the one end plate (25), and the second gap (33a) is communicated with the first gap (35a) (¶ 125; ¶ 115; ¶ 116; ¶ 49).
Kitao does not explicitly teach that the permanent magnet is magnetic steel.
However, Wang teaches that the permanent magnet is magnetic steel (see excerpt above) (pages 6 and 7) in order to improve heat dissipation and provide low costs (Wang, Abstract; pages 6 and 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kitao and provide the permanent magnet is magnetic steel as taught by Wang in order to improve heat dissipation and provide low costs (Wang, Abstract; pages 6 and 7).
8. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitao in view of Wang and Liu (CN 114396472, see English Machine Translation attached).
Regarding claim 20, Kitao teaches (see figs. 9 and 10 above) a motor (¶ 2), wherein the motor comprises a motor housing (1), a motor stator (10), and a motor rotor (20A), the motor housing (1) is configured to sleeve on and fasten the motor stator (10), the motor stator (10) is configured to be sleeved on the motor rotor (20A), and the motor rotor (20A) is configured to sleeve on and to be fastened to the motor shaft (21) (¶ 31 to ¶ 34; ¶ 116);.
wherein the motor rotor (20A) comprises a motor shaft (21), at least one end plate (24, 25), at least one rotor iron core (22A), and a plurality of permanent magnets (23), the at least one rotor iron core (22A) is configured to be in coaxial transmission with the motor shaft (21), one rotor iron core (22A) and one end plate (24, 25) are adjacently arranged in an axial direction of a motor (¶ 34; ¶ 115; ¶ 116; ¶ 125),
the one rotor iron core (22A) comprises a plurality of magnetic steel grooves (30Aa), and each magnetic steel groove (30Aa) is configured to fasten at least one permanent magnet (23) (¶ 115; ¶ 116; ¶ 125);
at least one magnetic steel groove (30Aa) comprises a plurality of bumps (60), each bump (60) protrudes from a groove wall (30aa, 30ba) of one magnetic steel groove (30Aa) to one permanent magnet (23), one end that is of each bump (60) and that faces the one permanent magnet (23) is configured to abut the one permanent magnet (23) (¶ 115; ¶ 116; ¶ 125), and
there is a gap (44, 35a) between a part of the groove wall (30aa, 30ba) of the one magnetic steel groove (30Aa) other than the bump (60) and the one permanent magnet (23) (¶ 115; ¶ 116; ¶ 125); and
the gap (44, 35a) is configured to form an internal flow channel of the one rotor iron core (22A) and is configured to communicate with an oil groove (38) of the one end plate (25) (¶ 128; ¶ 129).
Kitao does not explicitly teach that the permanent magnet or magnets are magnetic steel.
However, Wang teaches that the permanent magnet or magnets are magnetic steel (see excerpt above) (pages 6 and 7) in order to improve heat dissipation and provide low costs (Wang, Abstract; pages 6 and 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kitao and provide the permanent magnet or magnets are magnetic steel as taught by Wang in order to improve heat dissipation and provide low costs (Wang, Abstract; pages 6 and 7).
Kitao in view of Wang does not explicitly teach a powertrain, wherein the powertrain comprises a reducer and the motor shaft of the motor is configured to be in transmission connection with an input shaft of the reducer, and an output shaft of the reducer is configured to be in transmission connection with wheels of an electric vehicle.
However, Liu teaches (see fig. 6 below) a powertrain (title, Abstract), wherein the powertrain comprises a reducer (30) and the motor shaft (306) of the motor (20) is configured to be in transmission connection with an input shaft (307) of the reducer (30), and an output shaft (308) of the reducer (30) is configured to be in transmission connection with wheels of an electric vehicle (page 7) in order to increase output torque (Liu, page 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kitao in view of Wang and provide a powertrain, wherein the powertrain comprises a reducer and the motor shaft of the motor is configured to be in transmission connection with an input shaft of the reducer, and an output shaft of the reducer is configured to be in transmission connection with wheels of an electric vehicle as taught by Liu in order to increase output torque (Liu, page 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 4, 6-12, 16, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834