DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al (Patent No.: US 6,122,196) in view of French et al. (US Pub. 2008/0082856).
Regarding independent claim 18, Tanaka discloses a host device comprising:
an interface to connect the host device to a memory device separate from the host device (Fig.22: CPU, bus lines, and flash memory connected through the computer system); and
a host random access memory (RAM) (Fig.22, col.15, lines 13-20: main memory (DRAM) and extended RAM);
the host device operable to: send, to the memory device, an indication of an allocation of the host RAM for use by the memory device (Fig.22, col.15, lines 13-20: extended RAM is used as a supplement of the main memory when the main memory becomes low in capacity);
receive, from the memory device, first data into the allocated host RAM (Fig.22: memory control unit accesses the main memory and extended memory).
However, Tanaka does not specifically teach:
process the first data to generate processed data; and store the processed data in the allocation of the host RAM for use by the memory device.
French teaches: process the first data to generate processed data ([0037]: In step 122, the BIOS portion of the controller 82 begins execution. During BIOS operation, the BIOS initializes all of the memory regions and sets ups the initial error correction codes (ECCs) for the memory regions within the DIMMS 92. In standard fashion, the BIOS also properly configures the controller 82 so that it later loads and runs the operating system. During step 122, the BIOS saves the contents of the memory control registers 88 in the NVRAM 94 for potential use in a memory persistence request); and store the processed data in the allocation of the host RAM for use by the memory device ([0046]-[0050]: In step 148, the BIOS re-initializes the memory regions of the DIMMS 92 and resets the ECC for the memory regions during a complete board reset. This is carried out when the PFLAG parameter was unasserted and when the contents of the local write cache 96 do not need to be preserved, e.g., during system testing. Concurrently, other circuits within the storage processor 30(B) reset (e.g., a board reset) in order to re-initialize the system 20. Step 148 then proceeds to step 152)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate memory preservation and recovery techniques, as taught by French into storage device capable of a high speed reading operation of Tanaka to facilitate recovery of memory contents and improve reliability during memory reinitialization.
Regarding claim 19, French teaches wherein the processed data includes at least one of: (i) sorted data, (ii) filtered data, or (iii) arranged data ([0046]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 21, French teaches wherein the host device is further operable to send a second indication of a deallocation of the host RAM ([0028]-[0029] and [0047]-[0050]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (Pat. No.: US 6,122,196) in view of French et al. (US Pub. 2008/0082856) and in further view of Rantala et al. (Pat. No.: US 5,680,570).
Regarding claim 20, Tanaka and French do not specifically teach wherein the host device is further operable to send a pointer associated with the host RAM that is allocated for use by the memory device.
However, Rantala teaches wherein the host device is further operable to send a pointer associated with the host RAM that is allocated for use by the memory device (Fig.6 and col.6, lines 2-5: The pointer 46 "points" to a location in the stack 40 that identifies the address of a non-allocated page in the SRAM array 24, i.e. the address of the next SRAM page to be allocated).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the pointer, as taught by Rantala into storage device capable of a high speed reading operation of Tanaka as modified by French in order to provide reliable memory allocation system.
Reasons of Allowance
Claims 2-17 are allowed.
The closest prior art, Tanaka et al. (Pat. No.: US 6,122,196), discloses “a controller; a non-volatile flash memory; a random access memory (RAM) that is readable and writable by the controller; and an interface for connecting the memory device to a host device, wherein the host device is separate from the memory device, the controller operable to: receive, from the host device and via the interface, an indication of an allocation of a second RAM associated with the host device”.
However, the prior art differs from the present invention because the prior art fails to disclose “the controller operable to: receive, from the host device and via the interface, an indication of an allocation of a second RAM associated with the host device; and reinitialize, when the host device is to get data or is to put data in the memory device, the memory device using processed data from the second RAM, wherein the processed data is generated by the host device and stored in the second RAM prior to the memory device being shut down”.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Independent Claim 2 identifies the distinct features “wherein the host device is separate from the memory device, the controller operable to: receive, from the host device and via the interface, an indication of an allocation of a second RAM associated with the host device; and reinitialize, when the host device is to get data or is to put data in the memory device, the memory device using processed data from the second RAM, wherein the processed data is generated by the host device and stored in the second RAM prior to the memory device being shut down", which are not taught or suggested by the prior art of records.
Independent Claim 11 identifies the distinct features “receiving, by a controller of a memory device having a first random access memory (RAM) and from a host device and via an interface, an indication of an allocation of a second RAM associated with the host device; and reinitializing, by the controller and when the host device is to get data or is to put data in the memory device, the memory device using processed data from the second RAM, wherein the processed data is generated by the host device and stored in the second RAM prior to the memory device being shut down", which are not taught or suggested by the prior art of records.
Claims 2-17 would be allowable over the prior art of record because the claimed features as mentioned above in combination with other claimed features are not recited or suggested by the prior art of records. The above features in conjunction with all other limitations of the dependent and independent claims 2-17 are hereby allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on 08/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
1st Point of Argument
Regarding Applicant’s remarks on page 9, applicant argues that claim 18 is allowable for the same or similar reasons presented with respect to amended claim 2
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Unlike amended claim 2, claim 18 does not recite the limitation “wherein the processed data is generated by the host device and stored in the second RAM prior to the memory device being shut down”. Therefore, Applicant’s argument regarding this limitation is not persuasive with respect to claim 18, and the rejection of claim 18 is maintained.
However, if claim 18 is amended to incorporate the corresponding limitation added to claim 2, claim 18 would be considered allowable, provided that no other issues arise.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chang et al. (Pat. No.: US 7,457,910) “Method And System For Managing Partitions In A Storage Device”
Considered for teachings related to memory storage devices, and more particularly, to managing partitions in storage devices.
Does not disclose or suggest the controller operable to: receive, from the host device and via the interface, an indication of an allocation of a second RAM associated with the host device; and reinitialize, when the host device is to get data or is to put data in the memory device, the memory device using processed data from the second RAM, wherein the processed data is generated by the host device and stored in the second RAM prior to the memory device being shut down.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication should be directed to Yong Choe at telephone number 571-270-1053 or email to yong.choe@uspto.gov. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8:00am to 5:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rutz, Jared Ian can be reached on (571) 272-5535. Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application should be directed to the TC 2100 whose telephone number is (571) 272-2100.
/YONG J CHOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2135