DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22-25, 30, 31, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 106193564 A to Xie.
Regarding claim 22, Xie discloses a work platform (1, Fig.1) comprising: a plank (1) extending longitudinally and having a first end (left side at 2) and a second end (right side at 2, Fig.1); a rotatable leg assembly (2) rotatably attached to the first end of the plank via a hinge (connection of leg assembly to plank), the rotatable leg assembly having a first rail (21) and a second rail (21) and a rung (22) attached to the first rail and the second rail; a hook assembly (A on left side, Fig.1) disposed below a top surface of the plank and adjacent the first end; and a latch assembly (A on right side, Fig.1) disposed below the top surface of the plank and adjacent the second end, wherein the latch assembly is rotatable from a closed position (Fig.5) to an open position (Fig.8) via a latch lever (323) disposed and adjacent the second end.
Regarding claim 23, wherein the latch assembly includes latch assembly hooks (321, Fig.9) in a parallel and spaced relation and connected via a latch rod (322) extending therebetween and the latch lever is disposed along a perimeter of the plank (Fig.4).
Regarding claim 24, wherein the latch assembly hooks include recesses (3211, 32111) and the latch assembly hooks being configured to rotate between the open position and the closed position (Fig.5 and Fig.8).
Regarding claim 25, wherein the latch assembly includes springs (33) engaged with the latch assembly hooks which bias the latch assembly hooks into the closed position (Fig.4).
Regarding claim 30, wherein the rotatable leg assembly is disposed substantially parallel to the top surface of the work platform in a closed position (Fig.8).
Regarding claim 31, further comprising a second rotatable leg assembly, wherein the rotatable leg assembly and the second rotatable leg assembly are extendable between an extended state and a retracted state (Fig.5 and Fig.8).
Regarding claim 35, Xie discloses a work platform comprising: a plank (1) extending longitudinally and having a first end (left side, Fig.1) and a second end (right side, Fig.1); a rotatable leg assembly (2) rotatably attached to the first end of the plank via a hinge (where legs are hinged to 1), the rotatable leg assembly having a first rail (21) and a second rail (21) and a rung (22) attached to the first rail and the second rail; a hook assembly (A on left side, Fig.1) disposed below a top surface of the plank and adjacent the first end; and a latch assembly (A on the right side, Fig.1) disposed below the top surface of the plank and adjacent the second end, wherein the latch assembly is rotatable from a closed position (Fig.5) to an open position (Fig.8) via a latch lever (323) disposed adjacent the second end, wherein the latch assembly includes latch assembly hooks (321) in a parallel and spaced relation and connected via a latch rod (322) extending therebetween, wherein the latch assembly hooks include recesses (3211, 32111) and the latch assembly hooks being configured to rotate between the open position (Fig.8) and the closed position (Fig.9), and wherein the latch assembly includes springs (33, Fig.4) engaged with the latch assembly hooks which bias the latch assembly hooks into the closed position (Fig.4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 106193564 A to Xie in view of JP H11241501 A to Nakao.
Regarding claim 32, Xie discloses further comprising a second rotatable leg assembly, but does not specifically disclose wherein the rotatable leg assembly and the second rotatable leg assembly are extendible at different angles and lengths.
Nakao discloses a work platform (Fig.1) wherein the rotatable leg assembly (15) and the second rotatable leg assembly (16) are extendible at different angles and lengths (Fig.15-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the leg assemblies of Xie to be capable of being arranged with different angles and lengths as taught by Nakao so to provide the work platform with a variety of orientations and uses, making the working platform more versatile.
Double Patenting
Claims 22-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,497,789 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because elements of the instant claims are included within the patented claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 39-41 are allowed pending double patenting rejections.
Claims 26-29, 33, 34, and 36-38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rejections under double patenting are overcome and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
RDK
/RYAN D KWIECINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635