DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1 and 4-8 recite “wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively is configured to execute the instructions…”. With the claims being reasonably interpreted as one processor, for examination purposes, it is not clear how the “one” processor will operate collectively. The Examiner suggests the Applicant amend the language to claim more than one processor if that is the Applicant’s intentions.
Claim 1 recites “power consumption amount corresponding to at least one module” and goes on to recite “power consumption amount for each module”. The phrase “amount for each module” implies that the applicant intends to claim more than one module. The Examiner suggests the Applicant amend the language to claim more than one processor if that is the Applicant’s intentions. For examination purposes the “each module” will be interpreted as a one module.
Claim 16 recites “One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform operations". With the claims being reasonably interpreted as one processor, for examination purposes, it is not clear how the “one” processor will operate collectively. The Examiner suggests the Applicant amend the language to claim more than one processor if that is the Applicant’s intentions, as well as more than one non-transitory computer-readable storage media and more than one computer program. For examination purposes all of the above will be interpreted as a one and not more than one.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2010/0122102) in view of Park (US 2020/0184905) and Kerofsky (US 2011/0115766).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Park (‘102) teaches A display device, comprising:; a speaker configured to output auditory information using an audio signal as an input ([0021]); a display configured to output visual information using a video signal as an input ([0021]); at least one memory (Fig. 2 storage unit 160); and at least one processor (Fig. 2 processing unit 170), comprising processing circuitry, operably connected to the speaker, the display, and/or the at least one memory, wherein the memory stores instructions ([0048]), wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to execute the instructions (Fig. 2 shows processor unit connected to module elements) and to: predict a first individual power consumption amount in a backlight unit comprising a backlight based on a usage([0017][0020]); predict a second individual power consumption amount corresponding to at least one module (audio module) comprising circuitry configured to consume power ([0017]) in an operation mode ([0022]) and obtain a total power consumption amount by integrating the predicted first individual power consumption amount and the predicted second individual power consumption amount ([0024]). Although Park (‘102) teaches the limitations as discussed above, he fails to teach an external electronic device based on at least one communication scheme, a processor connected to the communication circuitry, predicting power consumption of a backlight based on range of a driving current, a usage range of a driving voltage, and dimming driving data including a brightness control value and a pulse width for pulse width control for a display panel and predict consumption of at least one module in a operation mode based on a resolution and a per-time power consumption amount for each module.
However in the field of recognizing power consumption of a device Park( ‘905) teaches communication circuitry configured to perform communication with an external electronic device based on at least one communication scheme (example of processor in Fig. 6 is illustrated in Fig. 8 showing display apparatus 100 linked to external server S [0126-0128]) a processor (Fig. 6 processor 600)connected to the communication circuitry (with Fig. 8 inheriting the functions of processor 600 of Fig. 6 , [0126-0128] teach the processor of the display device being in communication with the server S.), power consumption of a backlight based on range of a driving current, a usage range of a driving voltage, ([0049]) and dimming driving data including a brightness control value and a pulse width for pulse width control for a display panel ([0050]), and recognizing power consumption of a module based on resolution ([0078][0094] teaches the system can determine backlight current duty based on APL corresponding to resolution).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Park (‘102) with the backlight power usage method as taught by Park (‘905). This combination would improve the output image as discussed by Park (‘905) [0008]. Although the combination teaches the limitations as discussed above, they fail to explicitly teach determining power consumption based on per-time consumption amount of each module.
However in the field of recognizing power consumption of a device, Kerofsky teaches an energy efficient method where power consumption is determined based on a per-time consumption amount of each module (0059-0060][0067][0069-0070] teaches a method where the system detects user absences of user presence after a period of time. Based on user presence changing the system reduces power consumption down from 100% usage of screen and audio to 0% usage of screen and audio [0069]. Therefore it is understood the system will use a current power output for screen and audio for a predetermined amount of time before lowering power down to the next level.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Park (‘102) with the backlight power usage method as taught by Park (‘905) and the power usage method as taught by Kerofsky.. This combination would improve the output image as discussed by Park (‘905) [0008].
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Park (‘905) teaches wherein the usage range of the driving current is determined based on a driving current curve according to a physical property type of the display panel, and wherein the usage range of the driving voltage is determined based on a driving voltage curve according to the physical property type of the display panel ([0049-0050] because Park adjusts the intensity of the driving current and driving voltage it is understood that the intensity would have a min range level and a maximum range level)..
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Park (‘102) teaches wherein the at least one module includes at least one of a module comprising circuitry configured to perform an operation for driving a backlight (Fig. backlight control unit 175), a module comprising circuitry configured to perform an operation for obtaining an output image of a defined quality, a module comprising circuitry configured to perform an operation for processing a video signal (Fig. 2 display control unit 131), or a module comprising circuitry configured to perform an operation for processing an audio signal (Fig. 2 processor 185), and Kerofsky wherein the operation mode includes one of a normal mode, a picture off mode, or a low power mode (LPM) ([0069] teaches a low power mode/picture off mode (energy saving mode) by reducing the tv output from 100% to 0% and reducing the sound output from 100% to 0%).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Park (‘905) teaches in the operation of obtaining the output image of the defined quality, predict cell power consumption based on an average picture level (APL) value and/or a resolution (0078][0094] teach obtaining image output based on resolution/APL); in the operation of processing the video signal, predict video processing power consumption based on the resolution and/or the operation mode(0078][0094] teach obtaining image output based on resolution/APL. The operation mode is based on current operation mode or a dimmed operation mode); and obtain the resolution or the APL value by analyzing image information about an image being output through the display ([0054][0094]) and Park (‘102) teaches in the operation for processing the audio signal, predict audio processing power consumption based on an output volume of the speaker([0019][0029][0083] expresses how to calculate power consumption of sound component based on volume.;.
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Park (‘905) teaches wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: obtain the power consumption amount in a power saving operation state; and in the power saving operation state, obtain a power saving amount based on an illuminance sensor saving ([0132-0133][, a motion analysis saving, or an object analysis saving, based on at least one of the PWM, the brightness control value, a dimming block, or a current index according to a dimming scheme for controlling driving of the display ([0134] teaches the system uses the light detected by sensor 140 to adjust the current duty ratio of the device).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Park (‘905) teaches predict the power consumption amount in a normal operation state (current state where backlight has not been dimmed) based on the obtained power saving amount (previously stored operating state of backlight being dimmed or not )and the obtained power consumption amount (([0134] teaches the system uses the light detected by sensor 140 to adjust the current duty ratio of the device) .
Regarding claim 7, Park (‘905) teaches wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to control the display device to output the obtained power consumption amount and the obtained power saving amount through the display(0078][0094] teach obtaining image output based on resolution/APL).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Park (‘905) teaches wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to control the communication circuitry to transfer information about the obtained total power consumption amount, the obtained power consumption amount, or the obtained power saving amount to an external electronic device. (with Fig. 8 inheriting the functions of processor 600 of Fig. 6 , [0126-0128] teach the processor of the display device being in communication with the server S.).
Regarding claim 16, Park (‘102) teaches A display device, comprising:; a speaker configured to output auditory information using an audio signal as an input ([0021]); a display configured to output visual information using a video signal as an input ([0021]); at least one memory (Fig. 2 storage unit 160); and at least one processor (Fig. 2 processing unit 170), comprising processing circuitry, operably connected to the speaker, the display, and/or the at least one memory, wherein the memory stores instructions ([0048]), wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to execute the instructions (Fig. 2 shows processor unit connected to module elements) and to: predict a first individual power consumption amount in a backlight unit comprising a backlight based on a usage([0017][0020]); predict a second individual power consumption amount corresponding to at least one module (audio module) comprising circuitry configured to consume power ([0017]) in an operation mode ([0022]) and obtain a total power consumption amount by integrating the predicted first individual power consumption amount and the predicted second individual power consumption amount ([0024]). Although Park (‘102) teaches the limitations as discussed above, he fails to teach an external electronic device based on at least one communication scheme, a processor connected to the communication circuitry, predicting power consumption of a backlight based on range of a driving current, a usage range of a driving voltage, and dimming driving data including a brightness control value and a pulse width for pulse width control for a display panel and predict consumption of at least one module in an operation mode based on a resolution and a per-time power consumption amount for each module.
However in the field of recognizing power consumption of a device Park( ‘905) teaches non-transitory computer readable storage media storing one or more programs including computer-executable instructions ([0100][0159]; communication circuitry configured to perform communication with an external electronic device based on at least one communication scheme (example of processor in Fig. 6 is illustrated in Fig. 8 showing display apparatus 100 linked to external server S [0126-0128]) a processor (Fig. 6 processor 600)connected to the communication circuitry (with Fig. 8 inheriting the functions of processor 600 of Fig. 6 , [0126-0128] teach the processor of the display device being in communication with the server S.), power consumption of a backlight based on range of a driving current, a usage range of a driving voltage, ([0049]) and dimming driving data including a brightness control value and a pulse width for pulse width control for a display panel ([0050]), and recognizing power consumption of a module based on resolution ([0078][0094] teaches the system can determine backlight current duty based on APL corresponding to resolution).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Park (‘102) with the backlight power usage method as taught by Park (‘905). This combination would improve the output image as discussed by Park (‘905) [0008]. Although the combination teaches the limitations as discussed above, they fail to explicitly teach determining power consumption based on per-time consumption amount of each module.
However in the field of recognizing power consumption of a device, Kerofsky teaches an energy efficient method where power consumption is determined based on a per-time consumption amount of each module (0059-0060][0067][0069-0070] teaches a method where the system detects user absences of user presence after a period of time. Based on user presence changing the system reduces power consumption down from 100% usage of screen and audio to 0% usage of screen and audio [0069]. Therefore it is understood the system will use a current power output for screen and audio for a predetermined amount of time before lowering power down to the next level.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Park (‘102) with the backlight power usage method as taught by Park (‘905) and the power usage method as taught by Kerofsky.. This combination would improve the output image as discussed by Park (‘905) [0008].
Regarding claims 17, Park (‘905) teaches wherein the usage range of the driving current is determined based on a driving current curve according to a physical property type of the display panel, and wherein the usage range of the driving voltage is determined based on a driving voltage curve according to the physical property type of the display panel ([0049-0050] because Park adjusts the intensity of the driving current and driving voltage it is understood that the intensity would have a min range level and a maximum range level)..
Regarding claim 18, Park (‘102) teaches wherein the at least one module includes at least one of a module comprising circuitry configured to perform an operation for driving a backlight (Fig. backlight control unit 175), a module comprising circuitry configured to perform an operation for obtaining an output image of a defined quality, a module comprising circuitry configured to perform an operation for processing a video signal (Fig. 2 display control unit 131), or a module comprising circuitry configured to perform an operation for processing an audio signal (Fig. 2 processor 185), and Kerofsky wherein the operation mode includes one of a normal mode, a picture off mode, or a low power mode (LPM) ([0069] teaches a low power mode/picture off mode (energy saving mode) by reducing the tv output from 100% to 0% and reducing the sound output from 100% to 0%).
Regarding claim 19, Park (‘905) teaches in the operation of obtaining the output image of the defined quality, predict cell power consumption based on an average picture level (APL) value and/or a resolution (0078][0094] teach obtaining image output based on resolution/APL); in the operation of processing the video signal, predict video processing power consumption based on the resolution and/or the operation mode(0078][0094] teach obtaining image output based on resolution/APL. The operation mode is based on current operation mode or a dimmed operation mode); and obtain the resolution or the APL value by analyzing image information about an image being output through the display ([0054][0094]) and Park (‘102) teaches in the operation for processing the audio signal, predict audio processing power consumption based on an output volume of the speaker([0019][0029][0083] expresses how to calculate power consumption of sound component based on volume.;.
Regarding claim 20, Park (‘905) teaches wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: obtain the power consumption amount in a power saving operation state; and in the power saving operation state, obtain a power saving amount based on an illuminance sensor saving ([0132-0133][, a motion analysis saving, or an object analysis saving, based on at least one of the PWM, the brightness control value, a dimming block, or a current index according to a dimming scheme for controlling driving of the display ([0134] teaches the system uses the light detected by sensor 140 to adjust the current duty ratio of the device).
Conclusion
/ANDRE L MATTHEWS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621