DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 26 May 2026 for application number 19/020,639. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, Claims.
Claims 1-10 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on the following dates are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the Examiner: 6/10/26; 7/7/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chou et al. (US 2017/0347100).
Regarding claim 1, Chou discloses a method (figs. 7, 8) comprising:
decoding (fig. 8, step 820) features representing Region-Adaptive Hierarchical Transform (RAHT) coefficients corresponding to a point cloud frame (fig. 7, step 720: transform coefficients for attributes of occupied points of point cloud data”) at a current resolution (implicitly disclosed);
reconstructing the RAHT coefficients corresponding to the point cloud frame at the current resolution (fig. 8, step 830: inverse quantize transform coefficients); and
performing a RAHT inverse transform based on the reconstructed RAHT coefficients (fig. 8, step 840: perform inverse region adaptive hierarchical transform on transform coefficients for attributes of occupied points).
Regarding claim 2, see teachings of claim 1. Chou further discloses wherein performing the RAHT inverse transform comprises:
performing a RAHT inverse transform along a z-direction; performing a RAHT inverse transform along a y-direction; and performing a RAHT inverse transform along an x-direction (fig. 13).
Regarding claim 3, see teachings of claims 1 and 2. Chou further discloses wherein performing the RAHT inverse transform along the z-direction generates 2 intermediate DC coefficients ; wherein performing the RAHT inverse transform along the y-direction generates 4 intermediate DC coefficients; and wherein performing the RAHT inverse transform along then x-direction generates 8 intermediate DC coefficients (fig. 13, “g^”).
Regarding claim 4, see teachings of claim 1. Chou further discloses wherein reconstructing the RAHT coefficients generates only a DC RAHT coefficient at the current resolution (par. 165, in the last stage).
Regarding claim 5, see teachings of claim 1. Chou further discloses wherein reconstructing the RAHT coefficients generates only AC RAHT coefficients at the current resolution (par. 162, in the higher levels of hierarchy).
Regarding claim 6, see teachings of claims 1 and 5. Chou further discloses further comprising obtaining a DC RAHT coefficient from a parent level RAHT inverse transform (par. 167).
Regarding claim 7, see teachings of claim 1. Chou further discloses wherein performing the RAHT inverse transform comprises performing a bottom-up procedure to determine weights for the RAHT inverse transform (par. 167).
Regarding claim 8, see teachings of claim 1. Chou further discloses wherein performing the RAHT inverse transform comprises combining the RAHT coefficients at the current resolution level to produce a RAHT DC coefficient for a child level (par. 167).
Regarding claim 9, see teachings of claim 1. Chou further discloses further comprising obtaining an encoded bitstream corresponding to the point cloud frame (fig. 5, step 510).
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Prior Art not relied upon: Please refer to the references listed in attached PTO-892, which are not relied upon for the claim rejections, since these references are pertinent to the disclosure.
Conclusion
/NGUYEN T TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486