DETAILED ACTION
35 USC § 112(f)
NOTE: Because the "means plus function" limitations of claims 35 and 50 meet the 3-prong analysis set forth in MPEP 2181, claims 35 and 50 are being treated under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
The agile ring oscillator (104) is identified as the corresponding structure for the “means for generating phases ...” limitation.
The ARO controller (120) is identified as the corresponding structure for the “means for controlling” limitation.
The ARO controller (120) is identified as the corresponding structure for the “means for maintaining first and second calibration controls” limitation.
The ARO controller (120) is identified as the corresponding structure for the “means for maintaining first and second slower controls” limitation.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-48 of U.S. Patent No. 10,998,910. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-50 of the instant application are merely broad presentations of claims 1-48 of U.S. Patent No. 10,998,910.
Claims 1-50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-38 of U.S. Patent No. 11,296,712. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-50 of the instant application are merely broad presentations of claims 1-38 of U.S. Patent No. 11,296,712.
Claims 1-50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-37 of U.S. Patent No. 11,545,988. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-50 of the instant application are merely broad presentations of claims 1-37 of U.S. Patent No. 11,545,988.
Claims 1-50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-37 of U.S. Patent No. 11,936,394. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-50 of the instant application are merely broad presentations of claims 1-37 of U.S. Patent No. 11,936,394.
Claims 1-50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-35 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,134. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-50 of the instant application are merely broad presentations of claims 1-35 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,134.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 15, 19, 20, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Olariu (US 2021/0075432).
Regarding claim 1, Olariu teaches a circuit (figure 1) comprising:
an agile ring oscillator (117/150) configured to generate phases of an output clock (multi-phase output clock ph1-phk); and
an ARO controller (120) configured to control durations (The selection signals Sel provided to the multiplexers mux 1-mux K control how long (time duration) each selected input clock Ph<2N:1> is selected to be output from its respective multiplexer mux 1-mux k. Para. [0027]-[0030]) of the phases of the output clock (ph1-phk), independently, via outputs (independent control signals Sel 1-Sel k) to the ARO.
As for claim 2, Olariu teaches wherein the ARO controller (120) is further configured to: in a present cycle of the output clock (ph1-phk), effect a change to a high phase (e.g. phk) or a low phase (e.g. ph1) of the phases, or a combination thereof, in a next cycle of the output clock by updating a first output or a second output of the outputs, or a combination thereof, based on an indication of expected activity or inactivity of at least one other circuit expected in the next cycle (See feedback signal 130 from clock driven circuits 1-k).
As for claim 3, Olariu teaches wherein the circuit further includes an instruction decoder (702 in figure 7A) and wherein the instruction decoder is configured to identify instructions to be executed by at least one other circuit and wherein the indication represents whether the at least one other circuit will be executing at least one instruction in the next cycle (The input to decoder 702 comprises the selection signal SEL that is provided to all the multiplexers.).
Regarding claim 15, Olariu teaches wherein the output clock is used to clock at least one other circuit (See clock driven circuits 1-K) and wherein the at least one other circuit has a single clock domain.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, the methods as recited in the claims are inherently present in the structure discussed above in the rejection of claims 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 35, Olariu teaches an apparatus (figure 1) comprising:
means for generating (117/150) phases of an output clock (multi-phase output clock ph1-phk); and
means for controlling (120) durations (The selection signals Sel provided to the multiplexers mux 1-mux K control how long (time duration) each selected input clock Ph<2N:1> is selected to be output from its respective multiplexer mux 1-mux k. Para. [0027]-[0030]) of the phases, independently, via outputs (independent control signals Sel 1-Sel k) to said means for generating the phases.
Conclusion
/LEVI GANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849 March 9, 2026