DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 24, 30 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3, 3, 12 and 19 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 11,636,939. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the respective claims of the ‘939 patent anticipate the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 21, 22, 25, 27, 28 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Werner (pub. no. 20100088023) in view of Case (pub. no. 20070247306).
Regarding claim 1, Werner discloses a system for monitoring the performance of a participant engaged in a fitness activity having a predetermined route, the system comprising: a portable fitness monitoring device configured to determine a monitoring device location based on a received GPS signal (“In one embodiment, portable fitness monitoring device 12 further includes a GPS receiver 100 and associated GPS antenna 102 that receive GPS signals 22 from GPS satellites 20. GPS receiver 100 processes GPS signals 22 to present to CPU 60 time-stamped waypoints, which include at least a time, a latitude, and a longitude. If at least four GPS satellites 20 have been acquired, the time-stamped waypoints presented to CPU 60 by GPS receiver 100 preferably further include an elevation. As discussed further below, the time and position information supplied by GPS receiver 100 is utilized by client software 154 running on CPU 60 to build a record of a route traversed by athlete 14 and to determine performance information (e.g., elapsed distance, elapsed time, pace, distance to go, heart rate, etc.) regarding the athlete's traversal of the route”, [0061];
“As shown in FIG. 2B, in one embodiment the modules within portable fitness device client 154 preferably may include a number of reader modules 160-166. GPS reader 160 receives from GPS receiver 100 time-stamped waypoints including at least time, latitude and longitude information, and, depending upon implementation and the number of GPS satellites 20 from which GPS signals 22 were received, elevation and error information. Utilizing the time-stamped waypoints received from GPS receiver 100, GPS reader 160 calculates performance and route information for athlete 14. For example, GPS reader 160 may determine the start and stop times at which a route was begun and ended, an elapsed time, an elapsed distance, distance remaining in the route, elevation change, average elevation, current pace, average pace, bearing, etc”, [0068]);
and a remote server configured to determine performance data of the participant based on one or both of the monitoring device location and the beacon data (“As is well known to those skilled in the art, Internet 40 is a worldwide collection of servers, routers, switches and transmission lines that employ the Internet Protocol (IP) to communicate data. For example, Internet 40 may be employed to communicate data between a server computer system 42 and a client computer system 44, such as, for example, portable fitness monitoring device 12 or any other portable or stationary client computer system. For example, as described further below, Internet 40 may be utilized to communicate to portable fitness monitoring device 12 route information from a route database 52 stored within data storage 50 associated with server computer system 42. Similarly, portable fitness monitoring device 12 may transmit route and performance information to server computer system 42 for storage in training journal database 54 via Internet 40, BSS 32, and communication tower 30. In addition, a user utilizing a remote client computer system 44, for example, athlete 14, a competitor athlete, a coach, a trainer, an event organizer, a spectator, a friend, or other user, may access real-time or historical performance information regarding the training of athlete 14 via server computer system 42 and Internet 40”, [0055]);
wherein the portable fitness monitoring device is configured to transmit unique information identifying the participant to the server (“After data obtained and calculated by readers 160-166 have been formatted by data formatter 170 and optionally compressed by data compressor 172, the data may be either stored within internal memory device 62 (or audio storage 66 or a removal memory loaded in removable memory slot 64) or transmitted over-the-air via WAN transceiver 104. Upload manager 174 and route and performance recorder 176 determine whether or not to upload and/or store data locally based upon one or more criteria, for example, whether WAN transceiver 104 can acquire a connection to the wireless WAN, the available storage within internal memory device 62, an indication of whether or not a remote user (such as, for example, a competitor athlete, a coach, a trainer, an event organizer, a spectator, or a friend) is tracking the training of athlete 14 in real-time, and/or other criteria. If, based upon these and/or other criteria, upload manager 174 decides to upload the formatted and compressed data, upload manager 174 outputs the data via WAN transceiver 104 and antenna 106 to client computer system 44 and/or server computer system 42 utilizing radio frequency signals 36. In one embodiment, data transmitted to client computer system 44 is typically graphically presented within a display device, and data transmitted to server computer system 42 is typically stored within training journal database 54”, [0071]).
Regarding claim 21, it is noted that Werner does not disclose a stationary position beacon generat[ing] beacon data based on communication with the portable fitness monitoring device. Case however teaches a stationary position beacon and generat[ing] beacon data based on communication with the portable fitness monitoring device (“Additional aspects of this invention relate to data transfer method using, for example, footwear systems and/or data transfer systems, e.g., of the types described above. Such methods may include: (a) activating a data transmission system engaged with an article of footwear (e.g., engaged with the sole member and/or upper member included as part of the article of footwear, engaged with a tag member attached to the article of footwear, etc.); and (b) transmitting data from the article of footwear to a remote system. The transmitted data may include, for example, athletic performance data, data used in monitoring athletic performance, data used in providing targeted and/or customized advertising, etc. Some additional example aspects of this invention include, for example: displaying information to the footwear user and/or others based on the data transmitted by the data transmission system; and/or transmitting data from the remote system to another remote system (e.g., to the wearer of the article of footwear or others), wherein the data transmitted to the second remote system is determined, at least in part, based on the original data transmitted to the remote system.
The activating step may take place in any desired manner and in a wide variety of different ways without departing from this invention. For example, the activating step may be triggered in response to output generated by an accelerometer, a piezoelectric element, a Hall sensor system or other magnetic sensor system, or the like. As additional examples, the activating step may include exposing the article of footwear to radio waves, e.g., at a predetermined frequency, and the transmitting then may occur, e.g., via an RFID system triggered in response to the exposing of the article of footwear to the radio waves. As still additional examples, the activating step may include interacting with a switch or button operatively connected the data transmission system, contacting a sole member of the article of footwear with the ground or other surface (e.g., during a step, landing a jump, as part of a stomping action, etc.), etc.
Methods according to at least some examples of the invention may receive any type of input (e.g., of the types described above) and use that input to trigger the activating step and/or to ultimately trigger data transmission. In accordance with at least some examples of this invention, the input will be received in a wireless manner, such as via a radio antenna, through radio waves, through magnetic fields (or sensed changes in a magnetic field), via contact or interaction with an external member (such as via contact between a sole member of the article of footwear and a surface, pressing a button, etc.), and the like.
Additional methods in accordance with at least some examples of this invention further may include one or more additional steps, such as: (a) identifying a user of the article of footwear based on the data transmitted by the data transmission system; (b) displaying advertising or product information to the user based, at least in part, on the data transmitted by the data transmission system; (c) correlating a presence of a user of the article of footwear with a specific location and/or at a specific time based on the data transmitted by the data transmission system; (d) determining race or event start, finish, and/or intermediate split times for a user of the article of footwear based on the data transmitted by the data transmission system; (e) determining a user's presence at and/or use of a specific piece of exercise equipment, a specific gym or exercise facility, a specific retail sales location, or the like based on the data transmitted by the data transmission system; (f) providing data for a game or reward program based on the data transmitted by the data transmission system; (g) registering a user of the article of footwear for an event or competition based on the data transmitted by the data transmission system; (h) identifying a specific article of footwear (e.g., by owner, by model or style, manufacturer's lot number, GUID, etc.) based on the data transmitted by the data transmission system; (i) providing data indicating athletic performance information associated with use of the article of footwear based on the data transmitted by the data transmission system (e.g., shoe mileage, speed and/or timing information, average speed, average workout times or distances, etc.); (j) activating display or presentation of product specific information (e.g., advertising information) based on data transmitted by the data transmission system; (k) activating display or presentation of user specific or customized product information (e.g., advertising information) based on data transmitted by the data transmission system; (l) displaying information to the user, e.g., route information, timing information, split times, distance information, warning information etc.; or the like”, [0031] – [0034];
“As another example, if desired, the activation system 210 may include a radio frequency identification system ("RFID" system) wherein exposure of the activation system 210 to radio waves will induce transmission of a signal. Optionally, if desired, a single RFID system may be used as both the data transmission system 104 and the activation system 210 wherein exposure of the RFID system antenna to radio waves of the proper frequency will induce a radio transmission, including the desired data, to a remote system 106”, [0044]).
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Here, both Werner and Case are directed to athletic activity monitoring systems. To modify the Werner invention to add the location based activation and transmission to a remote system as taught by Case would be to combine a prior art element according to a known method to yield a predictable result. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention include the activation and transmission to a remote system of case in the Werner invention. To do so would enable the system to validate traversal of the route and also to automate collection of race result information thereby increasing the perceived value of the system.
Regarding claim 22, Werner discloses the performance data comprises one or more of speed, pace and distance traveled ([0068]).
Regarding claim 25, Werner discloses the server includes or is in communication with a fitness database that includes an account for the participant (“Similarly, portable fitness monitoring device 12 may transmit route and performance information to server computer system 42 for storage in training journal database 54 via Internet 40, BSS 32, and communication tower 30”, [0055]).
Regarding claim 27, Werner discloses a spectator device, wherein the server is configured to provide the performance data to the spectator device (“In addition, a user utilizing a remote client computer system 44, for example, athlete 14, a competitor athlete, a coach, a trainer, an event organizer, a spectator, a friend, or other user, may access real-time or historical performance information regarding the training of athlete 14 via server computer system 42 and Internet 40”, [0040]).
Regarding claim 28, Werner discloses the portable fitness monitoring device is a first portable fitness monitoring device, wherein the system comprises a plurality of portable fitness monitoring devices and the plurality of portable fitness monitoring devices comprises the first portable fitness monitoring device (“The term "remote client computer system" may be used herein to refer to a remotely located stationary client computer system, such as a desktop computer, or a remotely located mobile client computer system, such as, for example, a laptop computer, a mobile phone, a personal digital assistant, or a dedicated portable fitness monitoring device”, [0056]),
and wherein the spectator device is configured to track multiple participants in the fitness activity based on information transmitted to the server by the plurality of portable fitness monitoring devices (“In addition, a user utilizing a remote client computer system 44, for example, athlete 14, a competitor athlete, a coach, a trainer, an event organizer, a spectator, a friend, or other user, may access real-time or historical performance information regarding the training of athlete 14 via server computer system 42 and Internet 40”, [0040]).
Claims 23 & 24 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Werner (pub. no. 20100088023) in view of Case (pub. no. 20070247306) as applied to claim 21 above and further in view of Chou (pub. no. 20020177476).
Regarding claims 23 & 24, it is noted that Werner does not disclose the beacon data is transmitted to the portable fitness device or comprises time- stamped location data. Chou however, teaches the beacon data is transmitted to the portable fitness device and comprises time- stamped location data (“Another way of correcting GPS position is through an RF connection wherever localized position information is broadcast from a station. Different modes of position information can be transmitted for short-range communication applications. As an example, designated short-range wireless communication frequencies called Bluetooth may be used for broadcasting localized position information. Another possible implementation in the future is the use of RF among public agencies to continuously broadcast position information to any mobile receivers capable of interpreting the code. When either a Bluetooth-based network or a local RF network is implemented for position information, and the designated frequency and interpretation code are made available to the public, system 10 will be able to correct its GPS position accordingly. Since the accuracy of such local position information is not as accurate as GPS, GPS data will always override any position calculation based on reflected GPS, re-radiated GPS, or localized position information through Bluetooth or other localized RF systems”, [0074]).
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. Here both Werner and Chou are directed to localization systems using GPS. To modify the Werner invention to include broadcasting localized position information as taught by Chou would be to use a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the broadcasting localized position information of Chou to the Werner invention. To do so would improve the accuracy and reliability of the localization.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 34-49 are allowed.
Claims 26, 29 and 31-33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LAWRENCE S GALKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715