Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson et al. (US 2022/0212627) in view of Hilton et al. (US 2017/0069154).
Regarding claim 1, Nilsson teaches a device for a motor vehicle for locking and/or unlocking an object, wherein Nilsson teaches a “remote lock 40” for locking a remote unit configured to be detachably connected to a vehicle, such as “a trailer, cargos, a roof box, a cycle carrier, a padlock, a bike lock and a caravan” (paras. 0054, 0057, 0089). Nilsson further teaches that the remote lock may be used to lock/unlock a device to the remote unit, such as “a bike to a bike holder” (paras. 0026-0027, 0093).
Nilsson teaches a lock, wherein the remote lock 40 comprises an “electrically operable locking latch 42” configured to move the remote lock between locked and unlocked positions (paras. 0088, 0092).
Nilsson teaches a communication unit configured to send and receive radio signals, wherein the remote lock 40 comprises a “first wireless communication unit 41” configured to connect the remote lock to the central locking unit 10 via a second wireless communication unit 11 of the central locking unit, and the wireless communication unit may comprise transmitter/receiver/transceiver/antenna circuitry (paras. 0082-0087).
Nilsson teaches wherein the communication unit is configured to receive a radio signal comprising a locking request or an unlocking request from a user of a central locking system of the motor vehicle, the radio signal being received from a vehicle communication unit, wherein Nilsson teaches that the user may use a mobile device, which may be a “key fob,” to control the vehicle lock and the connected remote lock by means of the centralized locking system, and the remote lock receives a “regulating signal from the central locking unit” instructing the remote lock to change between locked and unlocked positions (paras. 0059, 0064-0067, 0096-0098).
Nilsson teaches a control unit configured to lock and/or unlock the lock based on the received radio signal, wherein Nilsson teaches that the remote lock 40 comprises “controlling circuitry 43” controlled based on received inputs from the wireless communication unit 41 communicating with the central locking unit 10 to cause movement of the locking hatch 42 between locked and unlocked states (paras. 0090-0092).
Nilsson does not expressly teach wherein the device is configured to be couplable to the motor vehicle in a manner that allows variation in the position of the device with respect to the motor vehicle by locking of the lock.
However, Hilton teaches a modular bike lock comprising a locking mechanism and a securement mechanism, wherein the securement mechanism is configured to “wrap around at least a portion of a bicycle” and includes a locking end configured to engage the locking mechanism to lock the bike lock (paras. 0004, 0017, 0021). Hilton further teaches that the securement mechanism may be a chain, rod, or other flexible and/or rigid component used to secure a bike to a bike rack or other structure, and that the user may “position the securement mechanism” around at least a portion of a bike or other object and insert the latch into the locking mechanism (paras. 0021, 0033, 0041). Hilton also teaches that the bike lock is mountable on a support structure, such as a bike rack or other structure (paras. 0004, 0017, 0022, 0040).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nilsson’s remote lock, which may be used as a bike lock or to lock a bike to a bike holder, to include Hilton’s securement mechanism configured to wrap around the bicycle/object and engage the locking mechanism, in order to allow the lock to secure the object to a support structure at different available positions and accommodate different bicycle/object geometries. The combination would have resulted in the claimed device being couplable to the motor vehicle, e.g., to a vehicle-mounted bike holder or other vehicle support structure, in a manner that allows variation in the position of the device with respect to the motor vehicle by locking of the lock.
Regarding claim 2 and 11, the combination of Nilsson and Hilton teaches the device of claim 1. Hilton further teaches wherein the device is configured to be decouplable from the motor vehicle by unlocking of the lock, wherein Hilton teaches that the securement mechanism includes a latch inserted into the locking mechanism to secure the bike lock, and that upon receiving an unlock command, the locking mechanism releases the latch and unlocks the bike lock (paras. 0021, 0023, 0035, 0043). Hilton further teaches that the securement mechanism is positioned around a portion of a bike or other object and inserted into the locking mechanism, thereby allowing the bike or other object to be released when the lock is unlocked (paras. 0033, 0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious that, in the combination of Nilsson and Hilton, unlocking the lock would release the securement mechanism so that the device/object may be decoupled from the vehicle-mounted support structure.
Regarding claim 3 and 12, the combination of Nilsson and Hilton teaches the device of claim 1. Hilton further teaches wherein the device is configured to be couplable to the motor vehicle in at least a plurality of locking positions, the plurality of locking positions comprising at least three different locking positions, at least five different locking positions, or a substantially continuous range of locking positions, by locking of the lock, wherein Hilton teaches that the securement mechanism may be “chains, rods, and/or other flexible and/or rigid components” used to secure a bike to a bike rack or other structure (para. 0021). Hilton also teaches that the user may “position the securement mechanism” around at least a portion of a bike or other object and insert the latch into the locking mechanism to lock the bike lock (paras. 0033, 0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious that, in the combination of Nilsson and Hilton, the flexible/wrappable securement mechanism would allow the lock to be coupled to the vehicle-mounted support structure at a plurality of different locking positions, including a substantially continuous range of positions, depending on where the securement mechanism is wrapped around the object and support structure.
Regarding claim 4 and 13, the combination of Nilsson and Hilton teaches the device of claim 1. Hilton further teaches further comprising a mechanism for varying the coupling surface between the device and the motor vehicle and/or the object, wherein Hilton teaches a securement mechanism that may be “chains, rods, and/or other flexible and/or rigid components” used to secure a bike to a bike rack or other structure (para. 0021). Hilton further teaches that the user may “position the securement mechanism” around at least a portion of a bike or other object and insert the latch into the locking mechanism to lock the bike lock (paras. 0033, 0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious that, in the combination of Nilsson and Hilton, the securement mechanism provides a mechanism for varying the coupling surface between the lock and the object/support structure because the securement mechanism may be wrapped or positioned around different portions of the bike/object and support structure to secure the object in different positions.
Regarding claim 5 and 14, the combination of Nilsson and Hilton teaches the device of claim 1. Hilton further teaches wherein the device is configured to be coupled to the motor vehicle so as to be movable with respect to the motor vehicle when the lock is in a locked state, wherein Hilton teaches that the securement mechanism may be “chains, rods, and/or other flexible and/or rigid components” used to secure a bike to a bike rack or other structure (para. 0021). Hilton further teaches that the user may “position the securement mechanism” around at least a portion of a bike or other object and insert the latch into the locking mechanism, which locks automatically in response to receiving the locking end/latch within the locking mechanism (paras. 0033, 0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious that, in the combination of Nilsson and Hilton, the device would remain movable with respect to the vehicle-mounted support structure when locked because the chain/flexible securement mechanism permits movement relative to the support structure while still securing the object to the support structure.
Regarding claim 6 and 15, the combination of Nilsson and Hilton teaches the device of claim 1. Hilton further teaches wherein the device is configured as a U-lock, a folding lock, a chain lock, a cable lock, or a textile lock, wherein Hilton teaches that the bike lock includes one or more securement mechanisms, and that the securement mechanisms may be “chains, rods, and/or other flexible and/or rigid components” used to secure a bike to a bike rack or other structure (para. 0021).
Therefore, it would have been obvious that, in the combination of Nilsson and Hilton, the device is configured as a chain lock because Hilton expressly teaches using a chain-type securement mechanism for the bike lock.
Regarding claim 7 and 16, the combination of Nilsson and Hilton teaches the device of claim 1. Nilsson further teaches wherein the communication unit is configured to send and receive UHF radio signals, and wherein the received radio signal is a UHF radio signal, wherein Nilsson teaches that the remote lock 40 comprises a “first wireless communication unit 41” configured to connect the remote lock 40 to the central locking unit 10 via a second wireless communication unit 11, and that the first and second wireless communication units may be “Bluetooth” units (paras. 0082-0083). Nilsson further teaches that the wireless communication unit 41 may comprise transmitter/receiver/transceiver/antenna circuitry for wirelessly detecting and connecting to the central locking unit 10 and receiving controlling signals from the central locking unit for controlling the status of the remote lock (paras. 0082, 0087).
Bluetooth communication is understood to operate in the UHF radio band. Therefore, Nilsson teaches or at least renders obvious the communication unit being configured to send and receive UHF radio signals, including receiving a UHF radio signal from the central locking unit.
Regarding claim 8 and 17, the combination of Nilsson and Hilton teaches the device of claim 1. Nilsson further teaches wherein the motor vehicle further comprises a mount configured to receive a bicycle, and wherein the device is configured as a bicycle lock or as a wheel boot, wherein Nilsson teaches that the remote unit connected to the vehicle may be a “bicycle holder” or “cycle carrier,” and that the remote lock may be configured to lock and unlock a “bike lock” or to lock/unlock a device to the remote unit, such as “a bike to a bike holder” (paras. 0057, 0089, 0093). Hilton further teaches a modular bike lock having a securement mechanism used to secure a bike to a bike rack or other structure (paras. 0017, 0021, 0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious that, in the combination of Nilsson and Hilton, the motor vehicle includes a bicycle holder/cycle carrier configured to receive a bicycle, and the device is configured as a bicycle lock for locking the bicycle to the bicycle holder/cycle carrier.
Regarding claim 9, Nilsson teaches a system for a motor vehicle for locking and/or unlocking an object, wherein Nilsson teaches a vehicle system 100 comprising a vehicle 2, one or more remote units 4 detachably connected to the vehicle, and a central locking system 1, wherein the remote lock 40 is configured to lock/unlock remote units such as “a trailer, cargos, a roof box, a cycle carrier, a padlock, a bike lock and a caravan” (paras. 0054-0057, 0089).
Nilsson teaches the claimed device including a lock, wherein Nilsson teaches a remote lock 40 having an “electrically operable locking latch 42” configured to move the remote lock between locked and unlocked positions (paras. 0088, 0092).
Nilsson teaches a communication unit configured to send and receive radio signals, wherein the remote lock 40 comprises a “first wireless communication unit 41” configured to connect the remote lock 40 to the central locking unit 10 via a second wireless communication unit 11, and the wireless communication unit may comprise transmitter/receiver/transceiver/antenna circuitry (paras. 0082-0087).
Nilsson teaches wherein the communication unit is configured to receive a radio signal comprising a locking request or an unlocking request from a user of a central locking system of the motor vehicle, the radio signal being received from a vehicle communication unit, wherein Nilsson teaches that the user may use a mobile device, which may be a “key fob,” to control the vehicle lock and connected remote lock by means of the centralized locking system, and that the remote lock receives a “regulating signal from the central locking unit” instructing the remote lock to change between locked and unlocked positions (paras. 0059, 0064-0067, 0096-0098).
Nilsson teaches a control unit configured to lock and/or unlock the lock based on the received radio signal, wherein Nilsson teaches that the remote lock 40 comprises “controlling circuitry 43” controlled based on received inputs from the wireless communication unit 41 communicating with the central locking unit 10 to cause movement of the locking hatch 42 between locked and unlocked states (paras. 0090-0092).
Nilsson further teaches a central locking system of the motor vehicle configured to be controlled by way of a wireless remote control, wherein Nilsson teaches that the mobile device may be a “key fob” associated with the vehicle and configured to control the vehicle lock and connected remote lock by means of the centralized locking system (para. 0059).
Nilsson does not expressly teach wherein the device is configured to be couplable to the motor vehicle in a manner that allows variation in the position of the device with respect to the motor vehicle by locking of the lock.
However, Hilton teaches a modular bike lock comprising a locking mechanism and a securement mechanism, wherein the securement mechanism is configured to “wrap around at least a portion of a bicycle” and includes a locking end configured to engage the locking mechanism to lock the bike lock (paras. 0004, 0017, 0021). Hilton further teaches that the securement mechanism may be “chains, rods, and/or other flexible and/or rigid components” used to secure a bike to a bike rack or other structure, and that the user may “position the securement mechanism” around at least a portion of a bike or other object and insert the latch into the locking mechanism (paras. 0021, 0033, 0041).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nilsson’s vehicle central locking system and remote lock, which may be used as a bike lock or to lock a bike to a bike holder, to include Hilton’s securement mechanism configured to wrap around the bicycle/object and engage the locking mechanism, in order to allow the lock to secure the object to a support structure at different available positions and accommodate different bicycle/object geometries. The combination would have resulted in the claimed system including a device couplable to the motor vehicle, e.g., to a vehicle-mounted bike holder or other vehicle support structure, in a manner that allows variation in the position of the device with respect to the motor vehicle by locking of the lock.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Nilsson and Hilton teaches the system of claim 9. Nilsson further teaches wherein the wireless remote control comprises a separate function for locking and/or unlocking the device independently of the door lock systems of the motor vehicle connected to the central locking system, wherein Nilsson teaches that the user interface may display various control options including “lock/unlock a specific lock connected to the central locking system” and “only the remote lock” (para. 0064). Nilsson further teaches that the user is enabled to lock/unlock “only the remote lock” or lock/unlock all locks connected to the central locking system simultaneously (para. 0066).
Regarding claim 18, Nilsson teaches a device for a motor vehicle for securing an object, wherein Nilsson teaches a remote lock 40 for locking a remote unit configured to be detachably connected to a vehicle, and the remote lock may be configured to lock/unlock “a trailer, cargos, a roof box, a cycle carrier, a padlock, a bike lock and a caravan” (paras. 0054, 0057, 0089). Nilsson further teaches that the remote lock may be used to lock/unlock a device to the remote unit, such as “a bike to a bike holder” (paras. 0026-0027, 0093).
Nilsson teaches a lock, wherein the remote lock 40 comprises an “electrically operable locking latch 42” configured to move the remote lock between locked and unlocked positions (paras. 0088, 0092).
Nilsson teaches a communication unit configured to send and receive radio signals, wherein the communication unit is configured to receive a radio signal from a vehicle communication unit, the radio signal comprising a command for securing or releasing the object, wherein Nilsson teaches that the remote lock 40 comprises a “first wireless communication unit 41” configured to connect the remote lock to the central locking unit 10 via a second wireless communication unit 11, and that the remote lock receives a “regulating signal from the central locking unit” instructing the remote lock to change between locked and unlocked positions (paras. 0082-0087, 0096-0098).
Nilsson teaches a control unit configured to operate the lock based on the received radio signal, wherein Nilsson teaches that the remote lock 40 comprises “controlling circuitry 43” controlled based on received inputs from the wireless communication unit 41 communicating with the central locking unit 10 to cause movement of the locking hatch 42 between locked and unlocked states (paras. 0090-0092).
Nilsson does not expressly teach an adjustable coupling mechanism configured to mechanically connect the device to the motor vehicle at a plurality of selectable positions, wherein the adjustable coupling mechanism comprises at least one arm that is configured to surround or engage an opening in the object and mechanically couple the object to the motor vehicle in a secured state.
However, Hilton teaches a modular bike lock comprising a locking mechanism and a securement mechanism, wherein the securement mechanism is configured to “wrap around at least a portion of a bicycle” and includes a locking end configured to engage the locking mechanism to lock the modular bike lock (paras. 0004, 0017, 0021). Hilton further teaches that the securement mechanism may be “chains, rods, and/or other flexible and/or rigid components” used to secure a bike to a bike rack or other structure (para. 0021). Hilton also teaches that the user may “position the securement mechanism” around at least a portion of a bike or other object and insert the latch into the locking mechanism, which locks the bike lock (paras. 0033, 0041).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nilsson’s remote lock, which may be used as a bike lock or to lock a bike to a bike holder, to include Hilton’s securement mechanism configured to wrap around a bicycle/object and engage a locking mechanism, in order to allow the lock to mechanically secure the object to a support structure at different selectable positions and accommodate different bicycle/object geometries. The combination would have resulted in the claimed adjustable coupling mechanism including an arm/securement mechanism configured to surround the object and mechanically couple the object to the motor vehicle, e.g., to a vehicle-mounted bike holder or support structure, in a secured state.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Nilsson and Hilton teaches the device of claim 18. Nilsson further teaches wherein the communication unit is configured to send and receive ultra-high frequency (UHF) radio signals for wireless communication with the central locking system of the motor vehicle, wherein Nilsson teaches that the remote lock 40 comprises a “first wireless communication unit 41” configured to connect the remote lock 40 to the central locking unit 10 via a second wireless communication unit 11 of the central locking unit 10 (paras. 0082-0084). Nilsson further teaches that the first and second wireless communication units may be “Bluetooth” units, and that the wireless communication unit 41 may receive controlling signals from the central locking unit for controlling the status of the remote lock (paras. 0083, 0087).
Bluetooth communication operates in the UHF radio band. Therefore, Nilsson teaches or at least renders obvious the communication unit being configured to send and receive UHF radio signals for wireless communication with the central locking system of the motor vehicle.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson in view of Hilton, and further in view of Tarman et al (US 2023/0005309)
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Nilsson and Hilton teaches the device of claim 18. Hilton teaches the adjustable coupling mechanism comprising a securement mechanism, such as a chain, rod, or other flexible and/or rigid component, configured to secure a bike to a bike rack or other structure, wherein the user may position the securement mechanism around a portion of a bike or other object and insert the latch into the locking mechanism (paras. 0021, 0033, 0041).
Hilton does not expressly teach wherein the adjustable coupling mechanism comprises releasable teeth configured to allow the arm to adjust its length, enabling the device to accommodate objects of varying dimensions.
Tarman teaches a locking device having a flexible strap for securing the locking device to a support structure, wherein the strap includes a free end that can be selectively inserted through an entry slot in the lock body, and wherein the strap inlucdes a plurality of teeth that engage a locking mechanism to allow the free end to be secured in any of a plurality of positions through the entry slot. See para 0071. Tarman further teaches that a loop is formed by the strap, the size of the loop is adjusted by sliding the free end through the entry slot and lock body to any of a plurality of lengths, and the locking mechanism engages the teeth to secure the strap in a selected location, para 0071. Tarman also teaches that the locking mechanism may be a cam lock having a lock arm that rotates into and/or out of engagement with the teeth on the strap, thereby allowing the locking device to be mounted and dismounted from the support structure, para 0072.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the securement mechanism/arm of the Nilsson-Hilton combination to include Tarman’s toothed adjustable strap and releasable locking mechanism, in order to allow the securement mechanism to be adjusted and locked at difference effective lengths to accommodate objects/support structures of different dimensions. The combination would have resulted in the adjustable coupling mechanism comprising releasable teeth configured to allow the arm to adjust its length, enabling the device to accommodate objects of varying dimensions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
McDowell, III (US 2022/0177207) Fig. 1
/OMEED ALIZADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686