DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al (US 20160133052 A1).
RE claim 19, Choi teaches An information processing device that communicates with a mobile terminal, the information processing device comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a program (Figs 1-2, 4, abstract, [0037], [0098], [0045]) which, when executed by the processor, causes the information processing device to:
execute display control processing to control a display to display a virtual space where a virtual screen regarding the mobile terminal is placed in a real space, wherein in the display control processing (Figs 4-6, 12, [0100], [0102]-[0103], [0111]), in a case where an application regarding the mobile terminal is started, a virtual screen of the application regarding the mobile terminal is placed in the virtual space (Figs 1, 5-6, [0119], [0130]-[0132]).
RE claim 20, Choi teaches wherein in the display control processing, in a case where the application regarding the mobile terminal is started, the virtual screen of the application regarding the mobile terminal is placed at a front in the display ([0111]-[0112]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-16, 18, 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US 20160133052 A1), and further in view of Robertson et al (US 12266069 B1).
RE claim 1, Choi teaches An information processing device that communicates with a mobile terminal, the information processing device comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a program (Figs 1-2, 4, abstract, [0037], [0098], [0045]) which, when executed by the processor, causes the information processing device to:
execute display control processing to control a display to display a virtual space where a virtual screen regarding the mobile terminal is placed in a real space (Figs 4-6, 12, [0100], [0102]-[0103], [0111], [0188]);
and execute instruction acquisition processing to acquire an instruction to place the virtual screen regarding the mobile terminal in the virtual space (Figs 8-12, [0146]) and detecting movement of the mobile terminal ([0129]) and moving items of the display ([0181]).
Choi is silent RE: wherein in the display control processing, in a case where a movement of the mobile terminal is detected, a position where the virtual screen regarding the mobile terminal placed in the virtual space is displayed is changed to a position corresponding to a position of the mobile terminal, the movement of which is detected.
However Robertson teaches a virtual content anchored to a movable real object is moved based on movement of the movable object in a virtual space in Figs 3-5, col 1 lines 53-60, col 15 lines 29-37, col 5 lines 52-59 provide a realistic, immersive, or otherwise desirable user experience. This can be equally applied to the virtual interface tied to the mobile device in order provide a realistic, immersive, or otherwise desirable user experience by moving the virtual interface in the virtual space with the corresponding movement of the device upon detecting the movement of the terminal, as readily recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Choi a system and method of wherein in the display control processing, in a case where a movement of the mobile terminal is detected, a position where the virtual screen regarding the mobile terminal placed in the virtual space is displayed is changed to a position corresponding to a position of the mobile terminal, the movement of which is detected, as set forth above applying Robertson, to provide a realistic, immersive, or otherwise desirable user experience, and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
RE claim 2, Choi as modified by Robertson teaches wherein in the display control processing, in a case where there is a plurality of mobile terminals, in response to at least any of the plurality of mobile terminals being moved, positions where virtual screens each regarding a different one of the plurality of mobile terminals are displayed are changed according to positional relationships among the plurality of mobile terminals (Choi Figs 3-4, 9-11, [0188] and Robertson Figs 3-5, col 1 lines 53-60, col 15 lines 29-37, col 5 lines 52-59).
RE claim 3, Choi as modified by Robertson teaches wherein in the display control processing, in a case where there is a plurality of mobile terminals, in response to at least any of the plurality of mobile terminals being moved, positions where virtual screens regarding the plurality of mobile terminals are displayed are changed in such a manner that the virtual screens are arranged in clusters each regarding different one of the plurality of mobile terminals according to positional relationships among the plurality of mobile terminals (Choi [0111], [0148]-[0150], [0188]).
RE claim 5, Choi as modified by Robertson teaches wherein in the display control processing, in response to movement of the mobile terminal, the position where the virtual screen regarding the mobile terminal is displayed and a position where a virtual screen regarding the information processing device is displayed are changed (Choi Figs 4-5, 9-11, [0111], [0188] and Robertson Figs 3-5, col 1 lines 53-60, col 15 lines 29-37, col 5 lines 52-59).
RE claim 6, Choi as modified by Robertson teaches wherein in the display control processing, control is performed in such a manner that a virtual screen regarding a mobile terminal which is on a right is displayed on the right, and a virtual screen regarding a mobile terminal which is on a left is displayed on the left (Choi Figs 4-5, 9-11, [0111], [0188] and Robertson Figs 3-5, 10, col 1 lines 53-60, col 15 lines 29-37, col 5 lines 52-59 wherein each of the corresponding virtual screens are displayed based on the position of the mobile device ).
RE claim 7, Choi as modified by Robertson teaches, wherein in the display control processing, control is performed in such a manner that in a case where an orientation of the display is changed, a virtual screen regarding the information processing device is displayed such that the virtual screen moves according to the change in the orientation (Choi Figs 4-5, 9, [0111], [0195] and Robertson Figs 3-5, 10, col 5 lines 32-40).
RE claim 8, Choi as modified by Robertson teaches wherein in the display control processing, control is performed in such a manner that in a case where the mobile terminal moves to outside of an imaging range of a captured image, the virtual screen regarding the mobile terminal that moves to the outside of the imaging range is hidden or minimized (Choi Figs 4-5, 9-11, [0111], [0134]-[0135], [0178], [0195] wherein the interfaces are displayed in different sizes and Robertson Figs 3-5, 10, abstract, col 8 lines 2-9 wherein object outside the view maybe removed or replaced).
RE claim 9, Choi as modified by Robertson teaches wherein in the display control processing, control is performed in such a manner that in a case where a user wears the mobile terminal, the virtual screen regarding the mobile terminal worn by the user is displayed in a front (Choi Figs 4-5, 9-11, [0111], [0178], [0195] and Robertson Figs 3-5, 10, col 5 lines 32-40).
RE claim 10, Choi as modified by Robertson teaches wherein in the display control processing, control is performed in such a manner that in a case where a user wears the mobile terminal, the virtual screen regarding the mobile terminal worn by the user is displayed such that the virtual screen moves according to a change in an orientation of the display (Choi Figs 4-5, 9-11, [0111], [0178], [0195] and Robertson Figs 3-5, 10, col 5 lines 32-40).
RE claim 11, Choi as modified by Robertson teaches wherein in the display control processing, in a case where the position of the mobile terminal is moved backward, a virtual screen regarding the information processing device is displayed in a position closer to the user than the virtual screen regarding the mobile terminal (Choi Figs 4-5, 9-11, [0111], [0178], [0195] and Robertson Figs 3-5, 10, col 5 lines 32-40).
RE claim 12, Choi as modified by Robertson teaches wherein the mobile terminal is a device including a display, and wherein in the display control processing, control is performed in such a manner that in a case where the mobile terminal is placed face down such that the display of the mobile terminal is hidden, the virtual screen regarding the mobile terminal is hidden or minimized (Choi Figs 4-5, 9-11, [0111], [0134]-[0135], [0178], [0195] wherein the interfaces are displayed in different sizes and Robertson Figs 3-5, 10, abstract, col 5 lines 32-40, col 8 lines 2-9).
RE claim 13, Choi as modified by Robertson teaches wherein in the display control processing, control is performed in such a manner that in a case where the mobile terminal is placed such that the display of the mobile terminal is visible from the state where the display of the mobile terminal is placed face down, the virtual screen regarding the mobile terminal is displayed (Choi Figs 4-5, 9-11, [0111], [0178], [0195] wherein the interfaces are displayed in different sizes according to activity and Robertson Figs 3-5, 10, abstract, col 5 lines 32-40, col 8 lines 2-9)..
RE claim 14, Choi as modified by Robertson teaches wherein in the display control processing, control is performed in such a manner that in a case where an instruction to fix a position of a first virtual screen regarding a first mobile terminal is received, the position of the first virtual screen is not changed to a position corresponding to a position of the first mobile terminal, the movement of which is detected, even in a case where the first mobile terminal is moved (Choi Figs 4-5, 9-11, [0111], [0178], and Robertson Figs 3-5, 10, abstract, col 5 lines 32-40, col 8 lines 2-9 wherein visibility/region can be fixed/configured).
RE claim 15, Choi as modified by Robertson teaches wherein in the display control processing, in a case where the position where the virtual screen is displayed is changed, a front/back relationship of the virtual screen is maintained (Choi Figs 4-5, 9-11, [0111], [0178], and Robertson Figs 3-5, 10, abstract, col 5 lines 32-40, col 8 lines 2-9 wherein visibility/region can be fixed/configured).
RE claim 16, Choi as modified by Robertson teaches wherein the program, when executed by the processor, further causes the information processing device to execute a line-of-sight acquisition processing to acquire a line of sight of a user, and wherein in the display control processing, control is performed in such a manner that in a case where the position where the virtual screen is displayed is changed, a virtual screen to which the line of sight of the user is directed among virtual screens displayed on the display is displayed in front of the user (Choi Figs 4-5, [0107], [0111] and Robertson Figs 3-5, 10, abstract, col 5 lines 32-40, col 8 lines 2-9).
RE claim 18, Choi as modified by Robertson teaches wherein the program, when executed by the processor, further causes the information processing device to execute an image acquisition processing to acquire a captured image, and wherein in the display control processing, an image of a mixed reality space obtained by combining the virtual screen regarding the mobile terminal and the captured image is displayed on the display Choi Figs 4-5, 9-11, [0111], [0178], and Robertson Figs 3-5, 10, abstract, col 5 lines 32-40, col 8 lines 2-9 wherein visibility/region can be fixed/configured).
Claims 21-22 recite limitations similar in scope with limitations of claim 1 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 23 recites limitations similar in scope with limitations of claim 1 as method and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
RE claim 24, Choi as modified by Robertson teaches A non-transitory computer readable medium that stores a program, wherein the program causes a computer to execute the control method according to claim 23 ([0095]).
Claim 25 recites limitations similar in scope with limitations of claim 1 and therefore rejected under the same rationale. In addition Choi teaches An information processing system comprising: a mobile terminal; a display; a display control device configured to control the display (Figs 1-4, [0045], [0055])
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Choi as modified by Robertson, and further in view of Shimuzu (US 20230260235 A1).
RE claim 4, Choi as modified by Robertson is silent RE: wherein in the display control processing, in a case where there is a plurality of virtual screens regarding a predetermined mobile terminal among the plurality of mobile terminals, the plurality of virtual screens regarding the predetermined mobile terminal is displayed in an overlapping manner.
However Shimuzu teaches arrange the plurality of captured images in an overlapping manner for each group in Figs 7-9, abstract, [0105], [0109] to remove visual clutter. This can be equally applied to arrange the plurality of screens in an overlapping manner remove visual clutter as readily recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Choi as modified by Robertson a system and method wherein in the display control processing, in a case where there is a plurality of virtual screens regarding a predetermined mobile terminal among the plurality of mobile terminals, the plurality of virtual screens regarding the predetermined mobile terminal is displayed in an overlapping manner, as set forth above applying Shimuzu, to remove visual clutter and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Choi as modified by Robertson, and further in view of Etwaru (US 20230260235 A1).
RE claim 17, Choi as modified by Robertson teaches wherein in the display control processing, control is performed in such a manner that in a case where positions where a plurality of virtual screens regarding the mobile terminal is displayed are changed, the plurality of virtual screens is displayed based on front/back relationships determined among the plurality of virtual screens ((Choi Figs 4-5, [0107], [0111], and Robertson Figs 3-5, 10, abstract, col 5 lines 32-40, col 8 lines 2-9 etc wherein virtual objects are displayed according to relative positions and depth).
Choi as modified by Robertson is silent RE: according to priorities determined in advance.
However Etwaru teaches displaying application windows/interfaces according to priority rank in Figs 7-9, [0117]-[0119]. This can be equally applied to arrange the plurality of screens in depth order to assist the user identifying important/active screens as readily recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, wherein Choi readily teaches adjusting screen size/position based on gaze time/activity level (Figs 9-11).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Choi as modified by Robertson a system and method displaying according to priorities determined in advance, as set forth above applying Etwaru, to display important screens in order and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (See attached 892).
/Sultana M Zalalee/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614