DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 12, 18, 19, 24, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DiMaio et al. (US 2009/0036902, hereinafter DiMaio ‘902).
In re claim 11, DiMaio ‘902 teaches an apparatus to treat a patient, the apparatus comprising:
a first arm configured to couple to a treatment probe having an elongate axis;
a second arm configured to couple to an imaging probe comprising an ultrasound probe having an elongate axis (0045) that at least partially defines a sagittal image plane (0045, note a 3D include at least a sagittal image plane; 0170, 0172);
a processor configured to:
display an ultrasound image obtained with the imaging probe on a screen of a user interface to enable a user to align the treatment probe with the imaging probe (fig. 22A; 0127);
move the treatment probe to a plurality of physical locations (0049, 0052, 0090, 0091, 0095-0099);
receive a plurality of user inputs on the ultrasound image corresponding to translation of the treatment probe from a first physical position to a second physical position (0090, 0091, 0095-0099, 0108-0116);
determine mapping of image coordinates to physical coordinates in response to the plurality of user inputs on the ultrasound image (009-0099, 0112, 0118-0120, 0131, 0154).
In re claim 12, DiMaio ‘902 teaches wherein the processor is configured to: prompt the user to identify a first location in an image proximate the treatment probe tip at a first physical position; receive an input that the first location proximate the treatment probe tip has been identified in the ultrasound image with the probe tip at the first physical position; provide a first marker identifying the first location in the ultrasound image proximate the probe tip; prompt the user to identify a second location in the ultrasound image corresponding to a second physical position proximate the probe tip, the second physical position different from the first physical position; receive an input that the probe tip has been identified in the second location in the ultrasound image; and provide a second marker identifying the second location in the ultrasound image (0091-0099).
In re claim 18, DiMaio ‘902 teaches wherein the processor is configured to measure image coordinates of the treatment probe at a plurality of physical locations corresponding to movement of the tip of the treatment probe (0049, 0053, 0058, 0059, 0060, 0090, 0113, 0127, 0131).
In re claim 19, DiMaio ‘902 teaches wherein the plurality of physical locations comprises a plurality of axial locations (0170, 0173, 0152, 0154, also in a 3D real world and imaging world, axial location always there).
In re claim 24, DiMaio ‘902 teaches wherein the mapping function comprises a rotation angle to rotate the image shown to a user to compensate for an angle of the treatment probe (450) with respect to an imaging probe (0061, 0091, 0096, 0140, 0165, 0167, 0168).
In re claim 25, DiMaio ‘902 teaches wherein the ultrasound image comprises a real time ultrasound image (0049, 0118, 0119, 0120, 0121).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiMaio ‘902 in view of Makower et al. (US 2005/0240147, hereinafter Makower ‘147)
In re claim 13, DiMaio ‘’902 teaches wherein the treatment probe comprises an elongate carrier coupled to a linkage, but fails to teach wherein an elongate support connected to the treatment probe is configured to remain stationary in the image when the treatment probe moves to the plurality of locations.
Makower ‘147 teaches wherein an elongate support connected to the treatment probe is configured to remain stationary in the image when the treatment probe moves to the plurality of locations (0152, fig. 3G, 532, and 540, note that 532 can remain stationary while 540 moves because 540 is a separate tube; 0157, 0199, 0200; and it would have been obvious when 532 and the like is stationary, the image of it is stationary.).
Furthermore:
In re claim 14, Makower ‘147 teaches wherein the elongate support comprises a reference marker visible in the image (0152, fig. 3G, 536).
In re claim 15, Makower ‘147 teaches wherein the reference marker comprises a plurality of markers spaced apart at regular intervals to define distances in the image (0152, fig. 3G, 536).
In re claim 16, Makower ‘147 teaches wherein the plurality of markers comprises a plurality of openings formed in the elongate support (0152, fig. 3G, 536 is on 532).
In re claim 17, Makower ‘147 teaches wherein the plurality of openings is connected to an aspiration channel to remove material from a surgical site (0152).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of DiMaio ‘902 to include the features of Makower ‘147 in order to remove unwanted material while advancing targeted instrument.
Claim(s) 20, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiMaio ‘902 in view of Azure (US 2009/0076494, hereinafter Azure ‘494).
In re claim 20, DiMaio ‘902 fails to teach wherein the treatment probe comprises an energy source to release energy from the probe at the plurality of locations.
Azure ‘494 teaches wherein the treatment probe comprises an energy source to release energy from the probe at the plurality of locations (0056, 0057, 0059, 0060).
In re claim 26, Azure ‘494 also teaches wherein the treatment probe tip comprises an energy source configured to direct energy from the energy source radially outward from the probe tip (0014, 0037, 0047, 0057, 0058, 0060).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of DiMaio ‘902 to include the features of Azure ‘494 in order to precisely control the energy application to the target tissue, and control thermal effects in the desired heating ranges.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiMaio ‘902 and Azure ‘494 in view of Nixon et al. (US 2009/0171371, hereinafter Nixon ‘371).
In re claim 21, DiMaio ‘902 and Azure ‘494 fails to teach further comprising: an attachment device coupled to the treatment probe, the attachment device comprising a measurement scale configured to indicate a physical position of the energy source; wherein the processor is configured to show, on a display, a scale overlaid on an ultrasound image to view the energy source moving in relation to the scale shown on the display. Note that DiMaio ‘902 and Azure ‘494 as shown above teach the energy source of the treatment probe and its physical position. The combine device fails to teach the attachment device comprising a measurement scale as such.
Nixon ‘371 teaches a similar system (see fig.1) as DiMaio ‘902 and teaches an attachment device coupled to the treatment probe, the attachment device comprising a measurement scale configured to indicate a physical position of the treatment probe
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of DiMaio ‘902 to include the features of Azure ‘494 in order to precisely control the energy application to the target tissue, and control thermal effects in the desired heating ranges, and to include the features of Nixon ‘371 in order to allow more precise movement.
Claim(s) 22, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiMaio ‘902 in view of Nixon ‘371.
In re claims 22-23, DiMaio ‘902 fails to teach claim 22: wherein the processor comprises instructions for a mapping function comprising one or more scaling factors to scale the image coordinates to the physical coordinates, and fails to teach claim 23: wherein the mapping function comprises the one or more scaling factors and a fixed aspect ratio.
Nixon ‘371 teaches claim 22: wherein the processor comprises instructions for a mapping function comprising one or more scaling factors to scale the image coordinates to the physical coordinates (fig. 15-18, 0080-0088), and fails to teach claim 23: wherein the mapping function comprises the one or more scaling factors and a fixed aspect ratio (fig. 15-18, 0080-0088).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of DiMaio ‘902 to include the features of Nixon ‘371 in order to allow more precise movement.
Conclusion
/BO JOSEPH PENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797