DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 14 January 2024 for application number 19/020,926. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, Claims.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on the following dates are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the Examiner: 11/7/25; 5/9/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, 13-16, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Supikov et al. (US 2024/0355047) in view of Bilcu et al. (US 2013/0222645) in view of Fan et al. (NPL titled “LightGaussian: Unbounded 3D Gaussian Compression with 15x Reduction and 200+ FPS”).
Regarding claim 1, Supikov discloses a method comprising: a Gaussian splat (fig. 3, par. 27).
Although Supikov further discloses Spherical Harmonic (SH) coefficients of a Gaussian splat being RGB colors (fig. 2; par. 27), Supikov does not explicitly disclose applying a color space transform to Spherical Harmonic (SH) coefficients of a Gaussian splat; calculating view-dependent YUV components using the transformed SH coefficients.
In the same field of endeavor, Bilcu discloses applying a color space transform from RGB to YUV (). Therefore Bilcu discloses applying a color space transform to Spherical Harmonic (SH) coefficients of a Gaussian splat; calculating view-dependent YUV components using the transformed SH coefficients (pars. 173-174).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with motivation to modify Supikov to include the teachings of Bilcu in order to match one image to another (Bilcu, par. 70).
Supikov and Bilcu does not explicitly disclose eliminating redundant SH coefficients.
In the same field of endeavor, Fan discloses eliminating redundant SH coefficients (fig. 1; p. 1; section 1. Introduction).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with motivation to modify Supikov and Bilcu to include the teachings of Fan in order to reduce the size (Fan, fig. 1; p. 1).
Regarding claim 2, see teachings of claim 1. Supikov further discloses receiving the Gaussian splat (figs. 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 3, see teachings of claims 1 and 2. Supikov further discloses wherein receiving the Gaussian splat includes acquiring the Gaussian splat using one or more camera devices (figs. 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 4, see teachings of claims 1 and 2. Supikov further discloses wherein receiving the Gaussian splat includes receiving the Gaussian splat from another device (par. 80, where the display receives the Gaussian splat from the one or more cameras).
Regarding claim 6, see teachings of claim 1. Supikov further discloses wherein the Gaussian splat comprises geometry including position, scale and rotation, and attributes including the SH coefficients and opacity (pars. 26-28).
Regarding claim 7, see teachings of claim 1. Fan further discloses wherein eliminating the redundant SH coefficients reduces memory requirements by approximately 50% (fig. 1; p. 1).
Regarding claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Supikov further discloses a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured for processing the application (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1 and 11.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 12, 17, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 17, none of the references, alone or in combination, discloses wherein eliminating the redundant SH coefficients includes retaining base colors, retaining the SH coefficients for the Luma (Y) component, but eliminating the SH coefficients for the Chroma (U and V) component.
Regarding claim 20, none of the references, alone or in combination, discloses wherein eliminating the redundant SH coefficients reduces 48 SH coefficients to 18 SH coefficients.
Prior Art not relied upon: Please refer to the references listed in attached PTO-892, which are not relied upon for the claim rejections, since these references are pertinent to the disclosure.
Conclusion
/NGUYEN T TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486