DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Priority
Foreign priority claimed to IN202311035748, filed 05/23/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS's) submitted on 08/18/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 14-16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al. (US 2022/0239681 A1, Newman hereinafter), in view of Sobrier et al. (US 12,563,060 B1, Sobrier hereinafter).
For claim 1, Newman teaches a computer-implemented method of detecting security posture of a cloud environment (Abstract; para 0006, 0066), the method comprising: detecting a triggering criterion (para 0047, 0023, 0049, 0052 - one or more new databases detected based on new network and new account in the cloud or based on policy associated with discovering of databases, wherein the databases are discovered to be already inventoried or new);
in response to the triggering criterion, automatically discovering a plurality of databases in the cloud environment (para 0047-0049, 0052 - one or more new databases detected based on new network and new account in the cloud);
deploying a log analyzer microservice on the plurality of databases, each log analyzer microservice, being configured to scan a respective database log that represents database activities on a respective database of the plurality of databases (para 0027-0028, 0038, 0055 - activity data in logs maintained by each of the plurality of databases are monitored or analyzed by service of monitoring proxy); and
receiving analysis results from the log analyzer microservice (para 0023, 0030, 0033, 0037-0038, 0042, 0047, 0049, 0052 - result data generation or extraction as logs or audit data, analysis and security result data of database activities based on new network and new account in the cloud or based on policy associated with discovering of databases).
Although Newman discloses deploying proxy process as a lightweight service similar to microservice, which may be extended into provisioning of multiple instances of such processes or services as an obvious extension well-known in the art, Newman does not explicitly teach, however Sobrier teaches deploying a plurality of analyzer microservices, receiving analysis results from the plurality of analyzer microservices (col. 4 lines 14-17; col. 16 lines13-22; col. 16 lines 48-54; col. 17 lines 15-22; col. 26 lines 58-62 - microservices for variety of tasks, including data collection and analysis similar to logs or audit analysis and results). Based on Newman in view of Sobrier, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize teachings of Sobrier in the system of Newman, in order to deploy multiple instances of services or microservices as a lightweight entity implementation thereby improving system’s data logging capabilities in an efficient way to improve system’s features of data analysis and anomaly detection, and making system more secure.
For claim 2, Newman in view of Sobrier teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above. Newman further discloses further comprising: receiving a request to on-board a cloud account in the cloud environment, wherein the cloud account includes the plurality of databases, each respective database, of the plurality of databases, including a database log generator configured to generate the respective database log that represents the database activities on the respective database; and detecting the triggering criterion based on the on-boarding of the cloud account (para 0023, 0030, 0033, 0037-0038, 0042, 0047, 0049, 0052 - result data generation or extraction as logs or audit data, analysis and security result data of database activities based on new network and new account in the cloud or based on policy associated with discovering of databases).
For claim 3, Newman in view of Sobrier teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above. Newman further discloses wherein the respective database log comprises at least one of an audit log or a transaction log (para 0030, 0037-0038, 0047, 0080 - activity data generation into logs or audit data).
For claim 6, Newman in view of Sobrier teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above. Although Newman discloses issues such as malicious query detection (para 0031) potentially leading to data access violations, problem identification and remediation for prevention and correction is part and partial of any data security initiative is widely well-known in the art, Newman does not appear to explicitly disclose, however Sobrier discloses detecting at least one database issue based on the at least one of a performance criterion or a security criterion, wherein generating the action signal comprises controlling a remedial action component to perform a remedial action relative to the database issue (col. 4 lines 4-17; col. 5 lines 44-50). Based on Newman in view of Sobrier, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize teachings of Sobrier in the system of Newman, in order to utilize database issue mitigation and remediation which is very well-known in database security, thereby securing database system for further prevention of issues thereby improving secure data availability.
For claim 7, Newman in view of Sobrier teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above in the method of claim 6. Newman further discloses wherein the at least one database issue comprises a malicious query (para 0005, 0031).
For claim 14, Newman teaches a computing system, comprising: at least one processor; and memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor, wherein the instructions, (Fig. 1-2; Abstract; para 0006-0007, 0019-0021, 0066), when executed, cause the computing system to: detect a triggering criterion (para 0047, 0023, 0049, 0052 - one or more new databases detected based on new network and new account in the cloud or based on policy associated with discovering of databases, wherein the databases are discovered to be already inventoried or new);
in response to the triggering criterion, automatically discover a plurality of databases in the cloud environment (para 0047-0049, 0052 - one or more new databases detected based on new network and new account in the cloud);
configure an orchestration engine to deploy a log analyzer microservice on the plurality of databases, each log analyzer microservice, being configured to scan a respective database log that represents database activities on a respective database of the plurality of databases (para 0027-0028, 0038, 0055 - activity data in logs maintained by each of the plurality of databases are monitored or analyzed by service of monitoring proxy); and
receive analysis results from the log analyzer microservice (para 0023, 0030, 0033, 0037-0038, 0042, 0047, 0049, 0052 - result data generation or extraction as logs or audit data, analysis and security result data of database activities based on new network and new account in the cloud or based on policy associated with discovering of databases).
Although Newman discloses deploying proxy process as a lightweight service similar to microservice, which may be extended into provisioning of multiple instances of such processes or services as an obvious extension well-known in the art, Newman does not explicitly teach, however Sobrier teaches deploying a plurality of analyzer microservices, receiving analysis results from the plurality of analyzer microservices (col. 4 lines 14-17; col. 16 lines13-22; col. 16 lines 48-54; col. 17 lines 15-22; col. 26 lines 58-62 - microservices for variety of tasks, including data collection and analysis similar to logs or audit analysis and results). Based on Newman in view of Sobrier, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize teachings of Sobrier in the system of Newman, in order to deploy multiple instances of services or microservices as a lightweight entity implementation thereby improving system’s data logging capabilities in an efficient way to improve system’s features of data analysis and anomaly detection, and making system more secure.
For claim 15, Newman in view of Sobrier teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above. Newman further discloses further comprising instructions, when executed, further cause the computing system to: receive a request to on-board a cloud account in the cloud environment, wherein the cloud account includes the plurality of databases, each respective database, of the plurality of databases, including a database log generator configured to generate the respective database log that represents the database activities on the respective database; and detect the triggering criterion based on the on-boarding of the cloud account (para 0023, 0030, 0033, 0037-0038, 0042, 0047, 0049, 0052 - result data generation or extraction as logs or audit data, analysis and security result data of database activities based on new network and new account in the cloud or based on policy associated with discovering of databases).
For claim 16, Newman in view of Sobrier teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above. Newman further discloses wherein the respective database log comprises at least one of an audit log or a transaction log (para 0030, 0037-0038, 0047, 0080 - activity data generation into logs or audit data).
For claim 19, Newman in view of Sobrier teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above. Although Newman discloses issues such as malicious query detection (para 0031) potentially leading to data access violations, problem identification and remediation for prevention and correction is part and partial of any data security initiative is widely well-known in the art, Newman does not appear to explicitly disclose, however Sobrier discloses detecting at least one database issue based on the at least one of a performance criterion or a security criterion, wherein generating the action signal comprises controlling a remedial action component to perform a remedial action relative to the database issue (col. 4 lines 4-17; col. 5 lines 44-50). Based on Newman in view of Sobrier, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize teachings of Sobrier in the system of Newman, in order to utilize database issue mitigation and remediation which is very well-known in database security, thereby securing database system for further prevention of issues thereby improving secure data availability.
For claim 20, Newman in view of Sobrier teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above in the system of claim 19. Newman further discloses wherein the at least one database issue comprises a malicious query (para 0005, 0031).
Claims 4-5, 8, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al. (US 2022/0239681 A1, Newman hereinafter), in view of Sobrier et al. (US 12,563,060 B1, Sobrier hereinafter), and further in view of Royal et al. (US 2024/0126607 A1, Royal hereinafter).
For claim 4, Newman in view of Sobrier teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above in the method of claim 3. Newman in view of Sobrier do not appear to explicitly disclose, however Royal discloses wherein the respective database log comprises a slow query log that records details of queries that take more than a threshold amount of time to execute on the respective database (para 0013, 0035-0040, 0054, 0069, 0137; Fig. 4D - query response time as workload or performance characteristic which is triggered due to slower queries or longer response time which are first logged or recorded pertaining to execution metrics that are more than threshold amount). Based on Newman in view of Sobrier and Royal, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize teachings of Royal in the system of Newman in view of Sobrier, in order to utilize database logging and analysis processes which are very well-known in the database query security, performance and optimization, thereby incorporating proactive anomaly detection for sensitive databases and thus securing the database system.
For claim 5, Newman in view of Sobrier and Royal teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above in the method of claim 4. Newman further discloses wherein each log analyzer microservice is configured to analyze the respective database log based on one or more of: a query execution time, a sensitive data profile wherein each log analyzer microservice is configured to analyze the respective database log based on one or more of: a query execution time, a sensitive data profile, a user permission associated with a data access request in the respective database, or a time series pattern of queries representing at least one of a query count, a query type, or a query user (para 0004, 0051). Additionally (although not a required claim limitation), Newman in view of Sobrier do not appear to explicitly disclose, however Royal discloses wherein each log analyzer microservice is configured to analyze the respective database log based on a query execution time (Fig. 4D; para 0013, 0035-0040, 0054, 0069 - query execution response time as workload or performance characteristic).
For claim 8, Newman in view of Sobrier teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above in the method of claim 7. Newman in view of Sobrier do not appear to explicitly disclose, however Royal discloses wherein the malicious query comprises a query to sensitive data that is executed more than a threshold number of times (para 0013, 0035-0040, 0054, 0069, 0137; Fig. 4D - number of queries or transactions as workload or performance characteristic, which are first logged or recorded pertaining to execution metrics that are more than threshold amount). Based on Newman in view of Sobrier and Royal, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize teachings of Royal in the system of Newman in view of Sobrier, in order to utilize various database access and response metrics which are very well-known in the database query security, performance and optimization, thereby incorporating proactive anomaly detection for sensitive databases and thus securing the database system.
For claim 17, Newman in view of Sobrier teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above in the system of claim 16. Newman in view of Sobrier do not appear to explicitly disclose, however Royal discloses wherein the respective database log comprises a slow query log that records details of queries that take more than a threshold amount of time to execute on the respective database (para 0013, 0035-0040, 0054, 0069, 0137; Fig. 4D - query response time as workload or performance characteristic which is triggered due to slower queries or longer response time which are first logged or recorded pertaining to execution metrics that are more than threshold amount). Based on Newman in view of Sobrier and Royal, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize teachings of Royal in the system of Newman in view of Sobrier, in order to utilize database logging and analysis processes which are very well-known in the database query security, performance and optimization, thereby incorporating proactive anomaly detection for sensitive databases and thus securing the database system.
For claim 18, Newman in view of Sobrier and Royal teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above in the system of claim 17. Newman further discloses wherein each log analyzer microservice is configured to analyze the respective database log based on one or more of: a query execution time, a sensitive data profile, a user permission associated with a data access request in the respective database, or a time series pattern of queries representing at least one of a query count, a query type, or a query user (para 0004, 0051). Additionally (although not a required claim limitation), Newman in view of Sobrier do not appear to explicitly disclose, however Royal discloses wherein each log analyzer microservice is configured to analyze the respective database log based on a query execution time (Fig. 4D; para 0013, 0035-0040, 0054, 0069 - query execution response time as workload or performance characteristic).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al. (US 2022/0239681 A1, Newman hereinafter), in view of Sobrier et al. (US 12,563,060 B1, Sobrier hereinafter), and further in view of Jha et al. (US 2024/0020391 A1, Jha hereinafter).
For claim 9, Newman in view of Sobrier teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above. Newman in view of Sobrier do not appear to explicitly disclose, however Jha discloses determining that the database activities match a pre-defined risk signature (Fig. 4B, 4C; para 0019, 0023, 0035-0038 - vulnerability or risk signature associated with various activities related to database and other system access violations). Based on Newman in view of Sobrier and Jha, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize teachings of Jha in the system of Newman in view of Sobrier, in order to utilize well-known security elements such as signatures as identification means for determining risk factors associated with various system activities, thereby securing system components.
Claim 10, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al. (US 2022/0239681 A1, Newman hereinafter), in view of Jha et al. (US 2024/0020391 A1, Jha hereinafter).
For claim 10, Newman teaches a computer-implemented method of detecting security posture of a cloud environment (Abstract; para 0006, 0066), the method comprising: receiving a request to analyze a database in a cloud environment; parsing a database query log corresponding to the database to obtain a parser result, wherein the database query log includes a set of log entries representing database queries on the respective database (para 0008, 0027-0028, 0038, 0049, 0055 - monitoring proxy is requested to be instantiated for analyzing activity data in logs maintained by each of the plurality of databases are monitored or analyzed by service of monitoring proxy, wherein the logs are analyzed and parsed or checked for further determinations based on queries), and each log entry of the set of log entries identifies a requestor and a target dataset on the database (para 0023, 0047-0049, 0052, 0062, 0064, 0077 - one or more new databases detected based on new network and new account in the cloud, wherein one or more new databases and the respective datasets accessed by the requesting user); and
generating an analysis result representing the one or more query instance and generating an output representing the analysis results (para 0023, 0030, 0033, 0037-0038, 0042, 0047, 0049, 0052 - result data generation or extraction as logs or audit data, analysis and security result data of database activities based on new network and new account in the cloud or based on policy associated with discovering of databases).
Newman does not appear to explicitly disclose, however Jha discloses based on parsing the database query log, identifying one or more query instance that match a pre-defined risk signature; generating an analysis result representing the one or more query instance that match the pre-defined risk signature; and generating an output of analysis (Fig. 4B, 4C; para 0019, 0023, 0035-0038, 0060, 0063 - determining and outputting vulnerability or risk signature associated with various activities related to database including queries and other system access violations based on log parsing). Based on Newman in view of Jha, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize teachings of Jha in the system of Newman, in order to utilize well-known security elements such as signatures as identification means for determining risk factors associated with various system activities, thereby securing system components.
For claim 12, Newman in view of Jha teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above. Newman further discloses analyzing the respective database log based on a sensitive data profile (para 0004, 0051). Newman does not appear to explicitly disclose, however Jha discloses wherein the pre-defined risk signature comprises one or more of: a query execution time, a sensitive data profile, or a user permission associated with a data access in the respective database (Fig. 4B, 4C; para 0019, 0035-0038, 0045-0046, 0060, 0063, 0073 - determining and outputting vulnerability or risk signature associated with various activities related to database including queries and other system access violations, wherein the signature is associated with request execution time, data access including permission for unrestricted access). Based on Newman in view of Jha, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize teachings of Jha in the system of Newman, in order to utilize well-known security elements such as signatures as identification means for determining risk factors associated with various system activities such as data access, thereby securing system components.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al. (US 2022/0239681 A1, Newman hereinafter), in view of Jha et al. (US 2024/0020391 A1, Jha hereinafter), and further in view of Royal et al. (US 2024/0126607 A1, Royal hereinafter).
For claim 11, Newman in view of Jha teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above. Newman does not appear to explicitly disclose, however Jha discloses the pre-defined risk signature (Fig. 4B, 4C; para 0019, 0023, 0035-0038, 0060, 0063 - determining and outputting vulnerability or risk signature associated with various activities related to database including queries and other system access violations based on log parsing). Newman in view of Jha do not appear to explicitly disclose, however Royal discloses wherein the pre-defined risk signature defines a threshold level of access attempts of sensitive data by a particular requestor (para 0013, 0026, 0035-0040, 0054, 0069, 0137; Fig. 4D - number of queries or transactions as workload or performance characteristic, which are first logged or recorded pertaining to execution metrics considering operations such as restricted data access that are more than threshold amount). Based on Newman in view of Jha and Royal, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize teachings of Royal in the system of Newman in view of Jha, in order to utilize well-known security elements such as signatures as identification means for determining risk factors associated with various system activities, and to utilize various database access and response metrics which are very well-known in the database query security, performance and optimization, thereby incorporating proactive anomaly detection for sensitive databases and thus securing the database system.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al. (US 2022/0239681 A1, Newman hereinafter), in view of Jha et al. (US 2024/0020391 A1, Jha hereinafter), and further in view of Sobrier et al. (US 12,563,060 B1, Sobrier hereinafter).
For claim 13, Newman in view of Jha teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above. Although Newman discloses issues such as malicious query detection (para 0031) potentially leading to data access violations, problem identification and remediation for prevention and correction is part and partial of any data security initiative is widely well-known in the art, Newman and Jha do not appear to explicitly disclose, however Sobrier discloses detecting at least one database issue based on at least one of a performance criterion or a security criterion; and performing a remedial action relative to the database issue (col. 4 lines 4-17; col. 5 lines 44-50). Based on Newman in view of Jha and Sobrier, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize teachings of Sobrier in the system of Newman and Jha, in order to utilize database issue mitigation and remediation which is very well-known in database security, thereby securing database system for further prevention of issues thereby improving secure data availability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (1) Dinerstein; Yosef - US-20180084007-A1 (performing a security action with regard to an access token); (2) Sreenivasan; Balakrishnan - US-20230018975-A1 (method for governing risk actions); (3) Mork; Peter - US-20110271146-A1 (client application requesting to access a resource based on access tokens); (4) Chang; Hyunseok - US-20210058424-A1 - are cited to show methods, computer program products and systems pertinent to database logging, problem detection and remediation.
/JAYESH M JHAVERI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433