DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In particular independent claim 1, lines 1+, recites: “…one or more features and short-term time window”; “…one or more user intent embeddings…”; it is unclear as to the underlined claim limitations.
Independent claims 12 and 20, recites similar claim limitations and hence discussed on the same ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12-14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LIN et al (2021/0374577).
As to claims 1-3, LIN discloses systems and methods for cross-domain action prediction, generating action sequence embeddings based on autoencoder trained to utilized the action sequence embeddings and further discloses a computer-implemented method for generating recommendations, the method comprising:
Generating (figs.1-9, Server or Service Switch Classifier “SSC”, [0002-0007] and [0023-0035]), based on one or more features and a short-term time window, an input feature sequence(s); generating, based on the input feature sequence, one or more user intent embeddings using a first machine learning model (Service Switch Classifier Model “SSCM”); and generating, based on the input feature sequence and the one or more user intent embeddings, one or more recommendations using a second machine learning model; and, wherein the one or more features comprises one or more categorical features and one or more numerical features (figs.1-9, Abstract, [0002-0007], [0023-0035] and [0037-0059), SSC collects past user actions (interactions and/or other interactive actions) sequence(s), that occur within a threshold timespan, across various media content type services, accessing shopping websites, various streaming services: news, sports, movies, VOD, PPV, other provider or content, etc., specific topics: variety of domain topics, that maybe interested to the user, purchases, etc., are collected as past user action sequences, defined as action chains; and utilized as heterogeneous inputs or comprehensive understanding of human behavior; past actions sequence(s) are series of actions, in which users switch between domains/services given intent transitions due to the information collected in prior domains/services; SSCM is trained to predict user intents or switches to recommend actions to users that relate to the service(s) or domain(s), uses categorical information and/or vectors and various threshold(s); and generating, based on the one or more numerical features and the one or more numerical features, one or more interaction features; generating, based on the one or more interaction features and the short-term time window, one or more short-term interest features; and generating, based on the one or more short-term interest features and the one or more interaction features, the input feature sequence ([0002-0007], [0023-0035] and [0037-0059), SSC collects past user actions (interactions and/or other interactive actions) sequence(s), that occur within a threshold timespan, across various media content type services, accessing shopping websites, various streaming services: news, sports, movies, VOD, PPV, other provider or content, etc., specific topics.
As to claims 5-8, LIN further discloses concatenating the one or more short-term interest features and the one or more interaction features, wherein generating the one or more user intent embeddings using the first machine learning model comprises: generating, based on the input feature sequence, one or more processed input features using one or more fully connected and normalization layers; generating, based on the one or more processed input features, an intent encoding using an intent encoding transformer; generating, based on the intent encoding, one or more intent predictions using one or more fully connected layers; and generating, based on intent predictions, the one or more user intent embeddings using one or more attention layers; wherein generating the intent encoding comprises using a causal mask ([0047-0055]) and wherein generating the one or more user intent embeddings comprises aggregating the one or more intent predictions ([0002-0007], [0023-0035] and [0037-0059), note remarks in claims 1-3.
As to claims 9-10, LIN further discloses wherein generating the one or more recommendations using the second machine learning model comprises: generating, based on the one or more user intent embeddings, one or more concatenated features using one or more concatenation layers; generating, based on the one or more concatenated features, one or more processed concatenated features using one or more fully connected and normalization layers; generating, based on the one or more processed concatenated features, an item encoding using an item encoding transformer; and generating, based on the item encoding, the one or more recommendations using one or more fully connected layers and wherein the first machine learning model is trained based on an intent loss computed using the one or more user intent embeddings and one or more ground truth intents; and the second machine learning model is trained based on a content item loss computed using the one or more recommendations and one or more ground truth recommendations ([0002-0007], [0023-0035] and [0037-0059), note remarks in claims 1-3.
As to claims 12-14, the claimed “One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors…” is composed of the same structural elements that were discussed with respect to claims 1-3.
Claims 16-18 are met as previously discussed in claims 5-8.
Claims 19 is met as previously discussed in claims 9-10.
As to claim 20, the claimed “A system…” is composed of the same structural elements that were discussed with respect to claims 1-3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 4, 11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN et al (2021/0374577) in view of GHARIBSHAH et al (2024/0161165).
As to claims 4 and 15, LIN discloses all the claim limitation as discussed with respect to claims 3 and 14 respectively using encoder and other time information markers, BUT appears silent as to processing the input feature sequence using timestamp-based positional encoding.
However, in the same field of endeavor, GHARIBSHAH discloses cross-domain recommendation via contrastive learning of user behaviors in attentive sequence models and further discloses where the input feature sequence uses timestamp-based positional encoding (figs.1-8, [0064-0067]).
Hence it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of GHARIBSHAH into the system of LIN to use the most efficient or recent timestamped dataset for processing of information efficiently.
As to claim 11, LIN discloses all the claim limitation as discussed with respect to claim 10, including using some probability function to determine other predictions ([0042-0044] and [0054-0055]), BUT appears silent as to wherein: the intent loss is a binary cross-entropy loss; and the content item loss is a weighted cross-entropy loss function
However, in the same field of endeavor, GHARIBSHAH further discloses wherein: the intent loss is a binary cross-entropy loss; and the content item loss is a weighted cross-entropy loss function ([0054-0057]).
Hence it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of GHARIBSHAH into the system of LIN to use other functions to predict results with a desired application.
Conclusion
/ANNAN Q SHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424
ANNAN Q. SHANG