Double Patenting
3. Claims 2, 3, 6, 11, 12, 13, 16 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No:12,342,331 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of instant application are substantially similar to the corresponding claims of above cited US patent.
Regarding claim 2, U.S. Patent No: 12,342,331 B2 teaches an apparatus for wireless communication (see claim 1, preamble), comprising: one or more processors (see claim 1, limitation 1); one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (see claim 1, limitation 2); and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus (see claim 1, limitation 3) to: obtain a management frame, wherein the management frame comprises a multi-band wrapper information element including a field comprising one or more subelements, each subelement comprising at least one of an indication of a first frequency band of one or more frequency bands, an indication of a channel associated with the first frequency band, or one or more operating parameters associated with the first frequency band, and wherein a plurality of elements within each subelement are ordered based at least in part on an element identifier value of each of the plurality of elements (see claim 1, limitation 4); and
output information for transmission via at least the first frequency band or obtain the information communicated via at least the first frequency band (see claim 1, limitation 6).
Regarding claim 3, U.S. Patent No: 12,342,331 B2 further teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: inherit one or more elements of the plurality of elements from a subelement of the one or more subelements in accordance with a set of inheritance rules (see claim 2).
Regarding claim 6, U.S. Patent No: 12,342,331 B2 further teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the multi-band wrapper information element further includes a common information element comprising one or more common operating parameters for the one or more frequency bands (see claim 1, limitation 4).
Regarding claim 11, U.S. Patent No: 12,342,331 B2 further teaches the
apparatus of claim 2, further comprising: one or more transceivers configured to receive the management frame and transmit the information or receive the information via at least the first frequency band, wherein the apparatus is configured as a wireless communication device (see claim 9).
Regarding claim 12, U.S. Patent No: 12,342,331 B2 teaches an apparatus for wireless communication (see claim 10, preamble), comprising: one or more processors (see claim 10, limitation 1); one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (see claim 10, limitation 2); and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus (see claim 10, limitation 3) to: output a management frame, wherein the management frame comprises a multi-band wrapper information element including a field comprising one or more subelements, each subelement comprising at least one of an indication of a first frequency band of one or more frequency bands, an indication of a channel associated with the first frequency band, or one or more operating parameters associated with the first frequency band, and wherein a plurality of elements within each subelement are ordered based at least in part on an element identifier value of each of the plurality of elements (see claim 10, limitation 4); and output information for transmission via at least the first frequency band or obtain the information communicated via at least the first frequency band (see claim 10, limitation 5).
Regarding claim 13, U.S. Patent No: 12,342,331 B2 further teaches the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the management frame indicates inheritance of one or more elements of the plurality of elements from a subelement of the one or more subelements in accordance with a set of inheritance rules (see claim 11).
Regarding claim 16, U.S. Patent No: 12,342,331 B2 further teaches the
apparatus of claim 12, wherein the multi-band wrapper information element further includes a common information element comprising one or more common operating parameters for the one or more frequency bands (see claim 10, limitation 4).
Regarding claim 21, U.S. Patent No: 12,342,331 B2 further teaches the apparatus of claim 12, further comprising: one or more transceivers configured to transmit the management frame and transmit the information or receive the information via at least the first frequency band, wherein the apparatus is configured as a wireless communication device (see claim 17).
4. Claims 2, 3, 6, 11, 12, 13, 16 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No:11,844,052 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of instant application are substantially similar to the corresponding claims of above cited US patent.
Regarding claim 2, U.S. Patent No: 11,844,052 B2 teaches an apparatus for wireless communication (see claim 23, preamble), comprising: one or more processors (see claim 23, limitation 1); one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (see claim 23, limitation 2); and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus (see claim 23, limitation 3) to:
obtain a management frame, wherein the management frame comprises a multi-band wrapper information element including a field comprising one or more subelements, each subelement comprising at least one of an indication of a first frequency band of one or more frequency bands, an indication of a channel associated with the first frequency band, or one or more operating parameters associated with the first frequency band, and wherein a plurality of elements within each subelement are ordered based at least in part on an element identifier value of each of the plurality of elements (see claim 23, limitation 4); and
output information for transmission via at least the first frequency band or obtain the information communicated via at least the first frequency band (see claim 23, limitation 6).
Regarding claim 3, U.S. Patent No: 11,844,052 B2 further teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: inherit one or more elements of the plurality of elements from a subelement of the one or more subelements in accordance with a set of inheritance rules (see claim 32).
Regarding claim 6, U.S. Patent No: 11,844,052 B2 further teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the multi-band wrapper information element further includes a common information element comprising one or more common operating parameters for the one or more frequency bands (see claim 23, limitation 4).
Regarding claim 11, U.S. Patent No: 11,844,052 B2 further teaches the
apparatus of claim 2, further comprising: one or more transceivers configured to receive the management frame and transmit the information or receive the information via at least the first frequency band, wherein the apparatus is configured as a wireless communication device (see claim 34).
Regarding claim 12, U.S. Patent No: 11,844,052 B2 teaches an apparatus for wireless communication (see claim 33, preamble), comprising: one or more processors (see claim 33, limitation 1); one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (see claim 33, limitation 2); and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus (see claim 33, limitation 3) to: output a management frame, wherein the management frame comprises a multi-band wrapper information element including a field comprising one or more subelements, each subelement comprising at least one of an indication of a first frequency band of one or more frequency bands, an indication of a channel associated with the first frequency band, or one or more operating parameters associated with the first frequency band, and wherein a plurality of elements within each subelement are ordered based at least in part on an element identifier value of each of the plurality of elements (see claim 33, limitations 5 & 6); and output information for transmission via at least the first frequency band or obtain the information communicated via at least the first frequency band (see claim 33, limitation 7).
Regarding claim 13, U.S. Patent No: 11,844,052 B2 further teaches the
apparatus of claim 12, wherein the management frame indicates inheritance of one or more elements of the plurality of elements from a subelement of the one or more subelements in accordance with a set of inheritance rules (see claim 32).
Regarding claim 16, U.S. Patent No: 11,844,052 B2 further teaches the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the multi-band wrapper information element further includes a common information element comprising one or more common operating parameters for the one or more frequency bands (see claim 33, limitation 5).
Regarding claim 21, U.S. Patent No: 11,844,052 B2 further teaches the
apparatus of claim 12, further comprising: one or more transceivers configured to transmit the management frame and transmit the information or receive the information via at least the first frequency band, wherein the apparatus is configured as a wireless communication device (see claim 34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 2, 3, 6-13 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta et al. (US Pub. No: 2015/0282032 A1) in view of Cordeiro (US Pub. No: 2014/0010186 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Gupta et al. teach an apparatus for wireless communication (see Abstract and Fig.1, Multiband mobile device 110/apparatus & para [0053]), comprising: one or more processors (see Fig.1, block 122 and para [0058]); one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (see Fig.1, block 124 and para [0059]); and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus (see Fig.1 para [0059]) to: obtain a management frame (see Fig.1 and para [0092] wherein multiband mobile device 110 receiving from multiband AP130, information ("the band condition information") indicating one or more conditions of the plurality of wireless communication bands supported by multiband mobile device 110, is mentioned and also see para [0141] wherein transmitter 134 of multiband AP130 transmitting a Neighbor AP Information Element (IE) including an indication of the selected band to the multiband mobile device 110, is mentioned and also see paragraphs [0195] & [0196] wherein the multiband AP 130 and multiband mobile device 110 may communicate one or more ANQP elements, is mentioned), wherein the management frame comprises a multi-band wrapper information element including a field comprising one or more subelements, each subelement comprising at least one of an indication of a first frequency band of one or more frequency bands, an indication of a channel associated with the first frequency band, or one or more operating parameters associated with the first frequency band (see Figures 5, 6A/6B & para [0219] wherein band information tuple 630 of ANQP message including a band frequency 632, is mentioned, see para [0196] wherein ANQP element from multiband AP 130 to multiband mobile device 110 including a field ("the Subtype field")/subelement, which may identify a type of the ANQP element, which may be configured to include a Subtype value representing a Multiband information element, is mentioned and also see para [0209] wherein a predefined specific Supported band value 502 being assigned to indicate each of the wireless communication bands, is mentioned and also see para [0163]), and
output information for transmission via at least the first frequency band or obtain the information communicated via at least the first frequency band (see para [0222] wherein multiband AP 130 (FIG. 1) may transmit Band Steering Command ANQP message 600 to multiband mobile device 110 (FIG. 1), to direct multiband mobile device 110 to move some or all traffic from a source band defined according to source band information tuple 606 to a target band defined according to target band information tuple 608 and also see para [0215]).
Gupta et al. is silent in teaching the above apparatus comprising wherein a plurality of elements within each subelement are ordered based at least in part on an element identifier value of each of the plurality of elements.
However, Cordeiro teaches an apparatus (see Abstract and Fig.1) comprising wherein a plurality of elements within each subelement are ordered based at least in part on an element identifier value of each of the plurality of elements (see Fig.4 and para [0024] wherein Response frame 304 including more of multiband elements (MBEs), is mentioned and also in each multiband element 404 including a BSSID field to indicate the BSSID, a channel number field 414 to indicate an available channel, a band ID field 412 to indicate the associated frequency band of the available channel, and a beacon interval field 416 to indicate a size of a beacon interval size of the channel. is mentioned and, see para [0025] wherein the status code field 406 may include a status code that may indicate to a receiving station 102 that the order of the two or more multiband elements 404 in the response frame 304 is an order that the station 102 is to use to attempt to associate or reassociate with the central controller 104, is mentioned also see paragraphs [0026] & [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Gupta et al. to have a plurality of elements within each subelement being ordered based at least in part on an element identifier value of each of the plurality of elements, disclosed by Cordeiro in order to provide an effective mechanism for efficiently providing multiband operations within non-coextensive frequency bands for plurality of stations joining a network that is managed by the central controller and also managing use of these different frequency bands to provide a better quality of service for users and an improved user experience in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 12, Gupta et al. teach an apparatus for wireless communication (see Abstract and Fig.1, Multiband AP 130/apparatus), comprising: one or more processors (see Fig.1, block 142 and para [0058]); one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (see Fig.1, block 144 and para [0059]); and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus (see Fig.1 and para [0059]) to:
output a management frame (see para [0088] wherein controller 138 of multiband AP130 selecting/generating a first band to be used by multiband mobile device 110 to communicate traffic of one or more first traffic types, is mentioned , also see para [0141] wherein transmitter 134 of multiband AP130 transmitting/outputting a Neighbor AP Information Element (IE) including an indication of the selected band to the multiband mobile device 110, is mentioned and also see paragraphs [0196] & [0234]), wherein the management frame comprises a multi-band wrapper information element including a field comprising one or more subelements, each subelement comprising at least one of an indication of a first frequency band of one or more frequency bands, an indication of a channel associated with the first frequency band, or one or more operating parameters associated with the first frequency band (see Figures 5, 6A/6B & para [0219] wherein band information tuple 630 of ANQP message including a band frequency 632, is mentioned, see para [0196] wherein ANQP element from multiband AP 130 to multiband mobile device 110 including a field ("the Subtype field")/subelement, which may identify a type of the ANQP element, which may be configured to include a Subtype value representing a Multiband information element, is mentioned and also see para [0209] wherein a predefined specific Supported band value 502 being assigned to indicate each of the wireless communication bands, is mentioned and also see para [0163]), and
output information for transmission via at least the first frequency band or obtain the information communicated via at least the first frequency band (see paragraphs [0141] wherein the transmitter 134 of multiband AP130 transmitting a Neighbor AP Information Element (IE) including an indication of the selected band to the multiband mobile device 110, is mentioned and also see paragraphs [0052] & [0131]).
Gupta et al. is silent in teaching the above apparatus comprising wherein a plurality of elements within each subelement are ordered based at least in part on an element identifier value of each of the plurality of elements.
However, Cordeiro teaches an apparatus (see Abstract and Fig.1) comprising wherein a plurality of elements within each subelement are ordered based at least in part on an element identifier value of each of the plurality of elements (see Fig.4 and para [0024] wherein Response frame 304 including more of multiband elements (MBEs), is mentioned and also in each multiband element 404 including a BSSID field to indicate the BSSID, a channel number field 414 to indicate an available channel, a band ID field 412 to indicate the associated frequency band of the available channel, and a beacon interval field 416 to indicate a size of a beacon interval size of the channel is mentioned, see para [0025] wherein the status code field 406 of the response frame may include a status code that may indicate to a receiving station 102 that the order of the two or more multiband elements 404 in the response frame 304 is an order that the station 102 is to use to attempt to associate or reassociate with the central controller 104, is mentioned and also see paragraphs [0026] & [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above apparatus of Gupta et al. to have a plurality of elements within each subelement being ordered based at least in part on an element identifier value of each of the plurality of elements, disclosed by Cordeiro in order to provide an effective mechanism for efficiently providing multiband operations within non-coextensive frequency bands for plurality of stations joining a network that is managed by the central controller and also managing use of these different frequency bands to provide a better quality of service for users and an improved user experience in wireless communication system.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Gupta et al. and Cordeiro together teach the apparatus of claims 2/12, respectively.
Gupta et al. further teach the apparatus of claims 2/12, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: inherit one or more elements of the plurality of elements from a subelement of the one or more subelements in accordance with a set of inheritance rules/wherein the management frame indicates inheritance of one or more elements of the plurality of elements from a subelement of the one or more subelements in accordance with a set of inheritance rules (see para [0215] wherein the Band Steering Command ANQP message may include source band information relating to a band communication is to be steered form (“source band”), and target band information relating to a band to which communication is to be steered (“target band”), is mentioned, and also see Fig.6A and para [0217] wherein Band Steering Command ANQP message 600 may include a bit 602 to indicate whether Band Steering Command ANQP message 600 includes a source band information tuple 606, and a bit 604 to indicate/identify whether Band Steering Command ANQP message 600 includes a target band information tuple 608, is mentioned, all of which includes & is equivalent to “inheriting one or more elements of the plurality of elements from a subelement of the one or more subelements in accordance with a set of inheritance rules” and also see paragraphs [0209] &[0222]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Gupta et al. and Cordeiro together teach the apparatus of claims 2/12, respectively.
Gupta et al. further teach the apparatus of claims 2/12, wherein the multi-band wrapper information element further includes a common information element comprising one or more common operating parameters for the one or more frequency bands (see Fig.6B and paragraphs [0162] & [0163] wherein the band selection assistance information including performance-related/operating parameters of multiband mobile device 110, is mentioned).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Gupta et al. and Cordeiro together teach the apparatus of claims 2/12, respectively.
Gupta et al. further teach the apparatus of claims 2/12, wherein the first frequency band corresponds to a first communication link between a wireless station (STA) and a wireless access point (AP) (see Fig.1 and para [0219] wherein band information tuple 630 of ANQP message including a band frequency 632, is mentioned and also see para [0230] wherein communicating/link between the AP and the mobile device over the selected wireless communication band, is mentioned).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Gupta et al. and Cordeiro together teach the apparatus of claims 7/17, respectively.
Gupta et al. further teach the apparatus of claims 7/17, wherein the management frame is obtained/outputted via the first communication link corresponding to the first frequency band or a second communication link corresponding to an alternate frequency band (see Fig.1 and para [0219] wherein band information tuple 630 of ANQP message including a band frequency 632, is mentioned and also see para [0230] wherein communicating/link between the AP and the mobile device over the selected wireless communication band, is mentioned and also see para [0229]).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Gupta et al. and Cordeiro together teach the apparatus of claims 2/12, respectively.
Gupta et al. further teach the apparatus of claims 2/12, wherein the obtaining of the management frame/outputting the management frame is associated with an association process, a probe operation, or a combination thereof (see para [0184] wherein AP 404 exchanging with mobile device 402 one or more ANQP messages 416 as part of a association steering, for example, to select a band to communicate between mobile device 402 and AP 404, is mentioned and also see para[0219] wherein band information tuple 630 of ANQP message including a band frequency 632, is mentioned).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Gupta et al. and Cordeiro together teach the apparatus of claims 2/12, respectively.
Gupta et al. further teach the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more operating parameters associated with the first frequency band correspond to a wireless station (STA) associated with the first frequency band (see Fig.1, paragraphs [0162] & [0163] wherein the band selection assistance information including performance-related/operating parameters of multiband mobile device 110, is mentioned and also see para [0219] wherein band information tuple 630 of ANQP message including a band frequency 632, is mentioned and also see para [0230] wherein communicating/link between the AP and the mobile device over the selected wireless communication band, is mentioned).
Regarding claims 11 and 21, Gupta et al. and Cordeiro together teach the apparatus of claims 2/12, respectively.
Gupta et al. further teach the apparatus of claims 2/12, further comprising: one or more transceivers (see Fig.1 and para [0056] wherein antennas 120 and/or 140 including any type of antennas/units suitable for transmitting and/or receiving wireless communication signals, is mentioned) configured to receive/transmit the management frame and transmit the information or receive the information via at least the first frequency band, wherein the apparatus is configured as a wireless communication device (see Fig.1 and see para [0222] wherein multiband AP 130 (FIG. 1) may transmit Band Steering Command ANQP message 600 to multiband mobile device 110 (FIG. 1), to direct multiband mobile device 110 to move some or all traffic from a source band defined according to source band information tuple 606 to a target band defined according to target band information tuple 608, is mentioned and also see paragraphs [0092] & [0195]).
8. Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta et al. (US Pub. No: 2015/0282032 A1) in view of Cordeiro (US Pub. No: 2014/0010186 A1) and further in view of KAKANI (US Pub. No: 2011/0065440 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Gupta et al. and Cordeiro together teach the apparatus of claims 2/12, respectively.
Gupta et al. and Cordeiro together yet are silent in teaching the apparatus of claims 2/12, wherein the multi-band wrapper information element further includes an element identifier (ID) field, a length field, and an element ID extension field.
However, KAKANI teaches an apparatus (see Abstract and Fig.1), wherein the multi-band wrapper information element further includes an element identifier (ID) field, a length field and an element ID extension field (see Fig.2 wherein the management frame including length field of information element and stream ID/element identifier (ID) field, is shown and also see paragraphs [0013] & [0016] wherein the information element may include the following field i.e. Length of information element and also stream ID/element identifier (ID), is mentioned and also see para [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Gupta et al. and Cordeiro to have the multi-band wrapper information element further including an element identifier (ID) field, a length field and an element ID extension field, disclosed by KAKANI in order to provide an effective mechanism to efficiently enable negotiating the parameters to be established when switching of at least a portion of the existing data/traffic streams to a new frequency band and thereby providing optimum quality of service for data transmission between wireless devices in multi-band wireless communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 4 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Abouelseoud et al. (US Pub. No: 2019/0222995 A1) disclose mechanisms for utilizing multiple-bands for communicating network announcements and maintaining peer communications.
SEOK (US Pub. No: 2016/0205615 A1) discloses mechanisms for scanning multiple bands in wireless LAN system.
Cariou et al. (US Pub. No: 2020/0351783 A1) disclose mechanisms for multi-band link-aggregation pre-negotiated power save modes for wireless devices in wireless communication system.
KIM et al. (US Pub. No: 2012/0155516 A1) disclose a mobile communication system, and more particularly, to a wireless channel sounder that analyzes the characteristics of the wireless channels and that performs spatial channel modeling based on the results of the analysis.
Davison et al. (US Pub. No: 2009/0003333 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to obtaining identification information for a neighboring network element in wireless communication system.
11. Any response to this office action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed
To:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314.
/SRINIVASA R REDDIVALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 7/22/2026