Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,678 B2. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially similar in scope and they use the same limitations, using varying terminology, and the claims are obvious variants of each other because:
The independent claims 1-3 of the current application include broader limitations of the independent claims 1-3 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,231,678 B2.
The limitations of claims 1-3 of the current application can be read on the limitations of the independent claims 1-3 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,231,678 B2.
Nonetheless, claims 1-3 of the present application made the claim a broader version of claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,678 B2. Therefore, since omission of an element and its function in a combination is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same functions as before (In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963)), claim 1-3 is not patentably distinct from claim 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,678 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2010/0195721 A1) in view of Fu et al. (US 2009/0034618 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a method for decoding a video signal with an image decoding([see in Fig. 2 and abstract]-a video coding method) apparatus, comprising: obtaining collocated picture information from a bitstream, wherein the collocated picture information is information specifying a picture determined as the collocated picture of a current block among reference pictures in a reference picture list([para 0020 and 0064]- when direct_spatial_mv_pred_flag is 0 (temporal mode is used for direct macroblock), motion vector (MV) and reference picture information needs to be retrieved from the co-located MBs. Specifically, the reference pictures used by the co-located MB of the co-located picture needs to be found in reference list 0 of the current slice. Therefore, the picture IDs of the reference pictures used by the co-located MB needs to be compared with those in the reference list 0 of the current slice); determining a collocated picture of the current block based on the collocated picture information ([abstract; [para 0020-0021]]- the decoder then identifies a co-located macroblock of the temporal direct prediction mode macroblock, where the co-located macroblock uses one or more reference pictures. Next, the decoder identifies one or more reference pictures in the reference picture list that match the one or more reference pictures used by the co-located macroblock, where the identifying the one or more reference pictures in the reference picture list uses local picture identifiers); deriving a temporal motion vector based on a motion vector of a collocated block corresponding to the current block in the collocated picture([para 0061]- there are two places where a determination must be made whether two pictures are the same or not. One is in the computation of co-located pictures for obtaining motion vector information of direct MBs in a B slice, and the other is in the strength computation of loop filtering),
Wu does not explicitly disclose wherein, the collocated block is determined based on either a first block including a position of the bottom-right pixel of the current block or a second block including a position of the center pixel of the current block and the collocated block is determined by scanning the first block and the second block according to a predetermined scan order; and generating a prediction motion vector candidate list for the current block by using the temporal motion vector, wherein the collocated picture information is transmitted from an encoder through the bitstream.
In an analogous art, Fu discloses wherein, the collocated block is determined based on either a first block including a position of the bottom-right pixel of the current block or a second block including a position of the center pixel of the current block and the collocated block is determined by scanning the first block and the second block according to a predetermined scan order([see in Fig. 1-2 and 3A]- in FIG.1- 2 shows associated elements for deriving the motion vectors of the direct mode bi-predictive block CurBlk, in which mvL0 and mvL1 are motion vectors to be derived for the current block CurBlk, mvCol is the motion vector of the co-located block ColBlk with respect to the mapped picture MapPic, tb is the picture order distance between the current picture CurPic and the mapped picture MapPic, and td is the picture order distance between the co-located picture ColPic and the mapped picture MapPic. Both tb and td may be derived from the picture order counts of related pictures); and generating a prediction motion vector candidate list for the current block by using the temporal motion vector, wherein the collocated picture information is transmitted from an encoder through the bitstream([Fig. 2]-to obtain the motion vectors mvL0, mvL1 and the associated reference pictures (the co-located picture ColPic and the mapped picture MapPic) as shown in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2. As can be noted from above description of FIG. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Fu to the modified system of Wu a method for decoding blocked-based digitally encoded pictures including direct mode bi-predictive blocks which would improve the efficiency to obtain the motion vectors of a direct mode bi-predictive block, and thus increase the decoding performance [Fu, para 0014].
Regarding claim 2, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 2 have been met in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 3 have been met in claim 1.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art are made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
1. Thoreau et al., US 2009/0016439 A1, discloses coding method by picture block of a video picture sequence.
2. Segall, US 9,749,657 B2, discloses Image decoding using buffer compression for motion vector competition.
3. Chen et al., US 9,485,517 B2, discloses techniques for coding video data.
4. Sugio et al., US 8,982,953 B2, discloses methods of coding input image on a block-by-block basis using inter-picture prediction with reference to coded picture(s).
Conclusion
/MD N HAQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487