DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11315540 B2; claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11830469 B2; and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No.12223940 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are an obvious wording variation of the patented claim language as mapped in the table below.
Application 19/021106
U.S. Patent No. 11315540 B2
U.S. Patent No. 11830469 B2
U.S. Patent No.12223940 B2
Claim 1
See Claim: 1,4
See Claim: 1
See Claim: 1,2
Claim 2
See Claim: 7
See Claim: 9
See Claim: 13
Claim 3
See Claim: 7
See Claim: 9
See Claim: 13
Claim 4
See Claim: 12
See Claim: 1
See Claim: 3
Claim 5
See Claim: 7
See Claim: 16
See Claim: 19
Claim 6
See Claim: 6
See Claim: 11
See Claim: 15
Claim 7
See Claim: 3
See Claim: 5
See Claim: 7
Claim 8
See Claim: 2
See Claim: 6
See Claim: 8
Claim 9
See Claim: 1,4
See Claim: 7
See Claim: 9
Claim 10
See Claim: 7
See Claim: 9
See Claim: 13
Claim 11
See Claim: 7
See Claim: 9
See Claim: 13
Claim 12
See Claim: 7
See Claim: 7
See Claim: 11
Claim 13
See Claim: 7
See Claim: 16
See Claim: 19
Claim 14
See Claim: 2
See Claim: 6
See Claim: 8
Claim 15
See Claim: 6
See Claim: 4
See Claim: 6
Claim 16
See Claim: 13,17
See Claim: 12
See Claim: 16
Claim 17
See Claim: 1
See Claim: 13
See Claim: 17
Claim 18
See Claim: 7
See Claim: 16
See Claim: 19
Claim 19
See Claim: 13,17
See Claim: 12
See Claim: 16,18
Claim 20
See Claim: 13,17
See Claim: 18
See Claim: 20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, 13 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shinmen et al (US 20210067863 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Shinmen discloses a system for reducing noise, comprising:
a first detector (fig.32 #320-2) configured to detect a noise transmitted to a user from a first sound pathway, and determine a noise signal for representing the noise, wherein the first detector is an air conduction microphone and the first sound pathway is an air conduction pathway (Par.[0300] FF-NS microphone #320-2 detects noise on a first sound pathway from a noise source to the FF-NS microphone);
a second detector (fig.32 #320-3) configured to determine an error signal (Par.[0301] ear canal microphone #320-3 captures an error signal within the ear canal of a user);
a processor (fig.31 #331; Par.[0315]) configured to determine a noise correction signal based on the error signal and the noise signal (Par.[0344-0346] noise correction signals are generated by a signal processing unit #331 based on both the FF-NC microphone #320-2 l and FB-NC microphone #320-1 signals); and
a bone conduction speaker (fig.32 #310) configured to generate a sound based on the noise correction signal, wherein the sound is used to reduce the noise and is transmitted to the user through a second sound pathway, and the second sound pathway is a bone conduction pathway (Par.[0347] noise correction signals are output via driver #310 to interfere with noise N within the ear canal of the user; Par.[0569] the audio output unit #310 may be a bone conduction speaker, wherein a sound pathway of the output noise correction signal is a bone conduction pathway).
With respect to claim 2, Shinmen discloses the system of claim 1, wherein to determine the noise correction signal based on the error signal and the noise signal, the processor performs operations including:
determining a first transfer function of the air conduction pathway (fig.32 #404 “F2”; Par.[0329]);
determining a second transfer function of the bone conduction pathway (fig.32 #403 “F1”; Par.[0328]);
determining an amplitude adjustment coefficient corresponding to the air conduction pathway (fig.32 #414 “-ɑ”) and the bone conduction pathway (fig.32 #411 “-ß1”) based on the first transfer function and the second transfer function; and
determining the noise correction signal at least based on the error signal, the noise signal, and the amplitude adjustment coefficient corresponding to the air conduction pathway and the bone conduction pathway (Par.[0344-0345]).
With respect to claim 3, Shinmen discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the first transfer function of the air conduction pathway is determined based on a sound intensity of a received noise of the user and a sound intensity of the noise transmitted to the user through the air conduction pathway, and the second transfer function of the bone conduction pathway is determined based on a sound intensity of received sound of the user and a sound intensity of the sound transmitted to the user through the bone conduction pathway (Par.[0344-0345]).
With respect to claim 5, Shinmen discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the noise signal includes a plurality of sub-band noise signals having different frequency bands, and the noise correction signal includes a plurality of sub-band noise correction signals. It is an inherent fact that environmental noise comprises components within different frequency bands and that the noise correction signal generated by Shinmen would comprise an anti-phase signal within corresponding frequency bands of the noise signal.
With respect to claim 6, Shinmen discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor includes a modulator configured to perform amplitude modulation and/or phase modulation (Par.[0446] the device may comprise a wireless communication unit #170 for performing at least an amplitude modulation (AM)).
With respect to claim 7, Shinmen discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the second detector is an error microphone (Par.[0322] “FB-NC microphone 320-1 as an error microphone of FB-NC”).
With respect to claim 8, Shinmen discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the error signal corresponds to a superposition of a primary sound field and a secondary sound field, the primary sound field corresponds to the noise, and the secondary sound field corresponds to the sound (Par.[0324] the error signal is a result of interference between the noise correction signal, environment noise, and desired sound, therefore the error signal corresponds to the superposition of sound fields corresponding to noise and desired sound).
With respect to claim 9, Shinmen discloses a method for reducing noise, comprising:
determining a noise signal by detecting, by a detector, a noise transmitted to a user from a first sound pathway, wherein the detector is an air conduction microphone and the first sound pathway is an air conduction pathway (Par.[0300] FF-NS microphone #320-2 detects noise on a first sound pathway from a noise source to the FF-NS microphone);
determining a noise correction signal, by a processor, based on an adaptive adjustment process and the noise signal (Par.[0344-0346] noise correction signals are generated by a signal processing unit #331 based on both the FF-NC microphone #320-2 l and FB-NC microphone #320-1 signals)(Par.[0359-0361] As shown in figure 33, the noise cancellation process may be performed via an adaptive adjustment process by adaptive control unit #415) ; and
generating a sound, by a bone conduction speaker, based on the noise correction signal, wherein the sound is used to reduce the noise and is transmitted to the user through a second sound pathway, and the second sound pathway is a bone conduction pathway (Par.[0347] noise correction signals are output via driver #310 to interfere with noise N within the ear canal of the user; Par.[0569] the audio output unit #310 may be a bone conduction speaker, wherein a sound pathway of the output noise correction signal is a bone conduction pathway).
With respect to claim 10, Shinmen discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the determining a noise correction signal, by a processor, based on an adaptive adjustment process and the noise signal comprises:
determining a first transfer function of the air conduction pathway (fig.32 #404 “F2”; Par.[0329]);
determining a second transfer function of the bone conduction pathway (fig.32 #403 “F1”; Par.[0328]);
determining an amplitude adjustment coefficient corresponding to the air conduction pathway (fig.32 #414 “-ɑ”) and the bone conduction pathway (fig.32 #411 “-ß1”) based on the first transfer function and the second transfer function; and
determining the noise correction signal at least based on the adaptive adjustment process, the noise signal, and the amplitude adjustment coefficient corresponding to the air conduction pathway and the bone conduction pathway (Par.[0344-0345]).
With respect to claim 11, Shinmen discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the first transfer function of the air conduction pathway is determined based on a sound intensity of a received noise of the user and a sound intensity of the noise transmitted to the user through the air conduction pathway, and the second transfer function of the bone conduction pathway is determined based on a sound intensity of received sound of the user and a sound intensity of the sound transmitted to the user through the bone conduction pathway (Par.[0344-0345]).
With respect to claim 13, Shinmen discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the noise signal includes a plurality of sub-band noise signals having different frequency bands, and the noise correction signal includes a plurality of sub-band noise correction signals. It is an inherent fact that environmental noise comprises components within different frequency bands and that the noise correction signal generated by Shinmen would comprise an anti-phase signal within corresponding frequency bands of the noise signal.
With respect to claim 15, Shinmen discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the processor includes a modulator configured to perform amplitude modulation and/or phase modulation (Par.[0446] the device may comprise a wireless communication unit #170 for performing at least an amplitude modulation (AM)).
With respect to claim 16, Shinmen discloses a system for reducing noise, comprising:
a detector configured to generate a noise signal, wherein the noise signal indicates a second noise perceived by a user and the second noise includes a residual sound in an inner ear of the user (Par.[0301] ear canal microphone #320-3 captures a residual error signal within the ear canal of a user);
a processor configured to determine a noise correction signal based on the noise signal (Par.[0344-0346] noise correction signals are generated by a signal processing unit #331 based on both the FF-NC microphone #320-2 l and FB-NC microphone #320-1 signals); and
a speaker configured to generate a sound based on the noise correction signal, wherein the speaker is a bone conduction speaker, and the sound is transmitted to the user through a bone conduction pathway (Par.[0347] noise correction signals are output via driver #310 to interfere with noise N within the ear canal of the user; Par.[0569] the audio output unit #310 may be a bone conduction speaker, wherein a sound pathway of the output noise correction signal is a bone conduction pathway).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinmen et al (US 20210067863 A1) in view of Seagriff et al (US 20180226064 A1).
With respect to claim 18, Shinmen discloses the system of claim 16, however does not disclose expressly wherein the system further comprises one or more filters configured to decompose the noise signal into one or more sub-band noise signals.
Seagriff discloses a system for reducing noise comprising a detector (fig.6 #26) configured to generate a noise signal, wherein the noise signal indicates a second noise perceived by a user and the second noise includes a residual sound in an inner ear of the user, and wherein the system further comprises one or more filters (fig.6 #52) configured to decompose the noise signal into one or more sub-band noise signals (Par.[0082-0083] feedback residual noise signals are decomposed into frequency sub-bands for comparing to frequency sub-bands of the noise signal #40 in order to perform adjustments on each sub-band of the anti-noise signal).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the sub-band processing of Seagriff in the feedback processing of Shinmen. The motivation for doing so would have been to adjust the anti-noise signal to cancel residual noise within the ear canal on a frequency sub-band basis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 12, 14, 17 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and upon filing a Terminal Disclaimer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhong et al (US 9324313 B1) discloses a system for implementing bone conduction-based noise cancellation for air-conducted sound.
JASON R. KURR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2695
/JASON R KURR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695