Detailed Action
The communications received 01/14/2025 have been filed and considered by the Examiner. Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Katayama et al (US 5,954,920) hereinafter KAT.
As for claim 1, KAT teaches a fiber paper [Abstract] comprising a first fiber which comprises a polyarylester fiber (a polyethylene or polypropylene with an aryl group) [col. 9 l. 50-col. 10 l. 28; col. 11 l. 5-20] with a diameter of 0.1 to 3 um (0.5-3 um which falls within the claimed range), a length of 0.2 mm to 5mm (0.2-5 mm which is the claimed range) [col. 6 l. 10-33] and an aspect ratio of 800-1200 (800-1200 which is the claimed range) [col. 6 l. 33-40].
As for claim 2, KAT teaches claim 1 and wherein compositions of the polyarylester fiber comprise a polymer of an aromatic hydroxy carboxylic acid (such as naphthalene dicarboxylic acid and biphyldicarboxylic acid) [col. 10 l. 29-60]; and/or compositions of the polyarylester fiber comprise a copolymer of an aromatic hydroxy carboxylic acid, an aromatic dicarboxylic acid, an aromatic diol, and an aliphatic diol (such as naphthalene dicarboxylic acid and biphyldicarboxylic acid, aliphatic dicarboxylic acid) [col. 10 l. 29-60]; and /or a mass proportion of the polyarylester fiber is 5% to 100% (the pulp comprises 5-100% weight which would be used to form the paper) [Abstract].
As for claim 5, KAT teaches a method for preparing a fiber paper which is the fiber paper according to claim 1, comprising:
mixing and spinning an island component and a sea component to obtain a sea-island fiber, the island component comprising a polyarylester [col. 7 l. 35-col. 8 l. 25];
removing the sea component in the sea-island fiber to obtain pulps of polyarylester fiber [col. 7 l. 35-41];
and papermaking the pulps of the polyarylester fiber to obtain a fiber paper (wet forming the paper) [Abstract].
As for claim 6, KAT teaches claim 5 and wherein the sea component to the island component ranges from 35:65 to 80:20 (30:70 to 80:20 which falls within the claimed range) [col. 8 l. 10-25].
As for claim 7, KAT teaches claim 5 and wherein the sea component comprises at least one of a modified polyester, polyethylene, polystyrene, nylon 66 [col. 8 l. 40-55; col. 9 l. 5-15].
As for claim 8, KAT teaches claim 7, wherein the sea component in the sea-island fiber is removed by an impregnation method; and/or the sea component is the polystyrene [col. 8 l. 40-55; col. 9 l. 5-15], a solvent for the impregnation method comprising at least one of a toluene and a xylene [col. 8 l. 34-col. 9 l. 6]; and/or the sea component is the modified polyester which is an alkali-decreased polyester, a ratio of an alkali decomposition rate of the alkali-decreased polyester to that of the polyester being more than 1000 [col. 9 l. 6-30], and the solvent for the impregnation method comprising an alkali solution [col. 9 l. 6-30].
As for claim 9, KAT teaches claim 8 and wherein a raw material for the modified polyester comprises a dimethyl isophthalate-5-sodium sulfonate (dimethyl sodium 5-sulfoisophthalate) and a polyethylene glycol [col. 15 l. 35-50]; and/or a molar ratio of the dimethyl isophthalate-5-sodium sulfonate to the polyethylene glycol is (2- 4): (6 - 8).
As for claim 10, KAT teaches claim 8 and wherein a concentration of the alkali solution ranges from 2 g/L to 400 g/L (2-60 g/L which falls within the claimed range) [col. 11 l. 39-55]; and/or an impregnation temperature of the alkali solution ranges from 70 degrees Celsius to 100 degrees Celsius [col. 11 l. 55-59].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAT.
As for claim 3, KAT teaches claim 1 and further comprising a second fiber (short cut fibers) which has a diameter of 8-10 um (10-25 um which overlaps the claimed range) [col. 6 l. 61], a length of pulps of 2-30 mm (less than 5 mm which overlaps the claimed range, as the lengths of the short fibers are otherwise not disclosed they are understood to have the lengths of the overall pulp they are mixed into) [col. 1 l. 64 – col. 2 l. 5], and an aspect ratio of 130-500 (130-500 which is the range) [col. 7 l. 1-5].
As for claim 4, KAT teaches claim 3 and wherein compositions of the second fiber comprise a polyarylester (as it can be a same composition as that of the pulp) [col. 6 l. 52-58]; and/or a mass proportion of the second fiber is 25% to 75%.
In accordance with the MPEP, ‘ In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)’ therefore the overlapping range is obvious [see e.g. MPEP 2144.05(I)].
Conclusion
/E.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/RITA P ADHLAKHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711