DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “anti-skid protrusions” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The “anti-skid protrusions” are unclear. For examination purposes, any protrusion can in contact with the bag can be considered “anti-skid.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Berkoff (US 5,435,648).
Regarding claim 1, Berkoff discloses a clamp (26) for sealing bag bodies for heating, comprising an integrally formed clamp body (30), wherein one or more clamping grooves (34 or 35) penetrate through and are formed in one side of the clamp body in a length direction; and the clamp body is a microwave-heatable clamp body made of a material applicable to microwave oven heating. See Figs. 5-11 and Abstract.
Regarding claim 3, a vertical section of each of the clamping grooves in the length direction is linear. See Figs. 5-10.
Regarding claim 4, a vertical section of each of the clamping grooves in the length direction is curved. See Figs. 5-10.
Regarding claim 5, a filleted corner is disposed on an edge of an opening of each of the clamping grooves. See Fig. 9.
Regarding claim 6, guide slopes (Fig. 10, at 35) inclined from outside to inside are respectively located on opposite groove walls at an opening of each of the clamping grooves.
Regarding claim 7, anti-skid protrusions (34 or 35) are positioned on opposite groove walls at an opening of each of the clamping grooves. See Fig. 10.
Regarding claim 10, the side of the clamp body opposite the clamping grooves is an arc surface. See Fig. 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berkoff as applied above in further view of Usevitch et al. (US 2023/0358342).
Regarding claim 2, Berkoff does not disclose the material as claimed. Usevitch, which is drawn to a clamp, discloses a clamp body being a wooden clamp body or a bamboo clamp body. See [0070]. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have the clamp body of Berkoff be wood, as disclosed by Usevitch, in order to have clamp with a higher heat resistance. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use wood or bamboo in order to have a high heat resistant clamp body, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 5, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berkoff as applied above.
Regarding claim 5, in the case that Berkoff does not disclose a filleted corner, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a filleted corner disposed on an edge of an opening of each of the clamping grooves since there is no invention in merely changing the shape or form of an article without changing its function except in a design patent. See Eskimo Pie Corp. v. Levous et al., 3 USPQ 23.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Berkoff discloses the claimed invention except for the claimed dimensions. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the width of each of the clamping grooves be 2-8 mm, and the depth of each of the clamping grooves be ½ to ⅘ of the width of the clamp body, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Notice of References Cited.
/DEREK J BATTISTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734