The following final office action is in response to the reply filed April 13, 2026.
Drawings
The drawing correction filed April 13, 2026 has been approved.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because “at” on lines 8 and 9 brings the clarity of the claim into question because it is unclear what spatial relationship the applicant is attempting to set forth. Does “at” mean adjacent to or mounted on?
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Recitations such as “applied to a scissor door” on line 1 of claim 1 render the claims indefinite because it is unclear what the applicant is attempting to set forth. How is a hinge assembly “applied” to a scissor door? Is the applicant attempting to positively recite the scissor door as an element of the invention.
Recitations such as “a second axis” on line 2 of claim 6 render the claims indefinite because it is unclear if the applicant is referring to the second axis set forth above or is attempting to set forth another second axis in addition to the one set forth above.
Recitations such as “a first axis” on line 6 of claim 7 render the claims indefinite because it is unclear if the applicant is referring to the first axis set forth above or is attempting to set forth another first axis in addition to the one set forth above.
Recitations such as “a second axis” on line 2 of claim 10 render the claims indefinite because it is unclear if the applicant is referring to the second axis set forth above or is attempting to set forth another second axis in addition to the one set forth above.
Recitations such as “a second axis” on line 2 of claim 19 render the claims indefinite because it is unclear if the applicant is referring to the second axis set forth above or is attempting to set forth another second axis in addition to the one set forth above.
Recitations such as “a first axis” on lines 5-6 of claim 20 render the claims indefinite because it is unclear if the applicant is referring to the first axis set forth above or is attempting to set forth another first axis in addition to the one set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-7, 11-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 113107294.
With respect to claim 1, CN 113107294 discloses a hinge assembly 100 (fig. 9) of a scissor door, the hinge assembly comprising:
a mounting base 1 (fig. 2) provided with a first mounting portion 12 (fig. 3) and a second mounting portion 13 (fig. 3) spaced apart from each other;
a connection base 2 provided with a first connection portion (labeled below) and a second connection portion (labeled below) spaced apart from each other;
a first rotation member 4 (fig. 2) rotatably connected to the first mounting portion 12 and provided with a first hinge portion (labeled below);
a second rotation member 6 (figs. 2 and 5) rotatably connected to the second mounting portion 13 and provided with a second hinge portion 62 (fig. 5), the second hinge portion 62 being rotatably connected to the second connection portion, and
a first hinge arm 3 having a first end (labeled below) and a second end (labeled below), the first end being rotatably connected to the first hinge portion, and the second end being rotatably connected to the first connection portion, wherein:
the first rotation member 4 is rotatable relative to the first mounting portion 12 about a first axis; and
the first hinge arm 3 is rotatable relative to the first rotation member 4 about a second axis, the first axis intersecting with the second axis (note that the first and second axes are perpendicular to one another) at a first intersection,
wherein the hinge assembly further comprises a second hinge arm 5 having a third end (labeled below) and a fourth end (labeled below), the third end being rotatably connected to the second hinge portion 62, and the fourth end being rotatably connected to the second connection portion.
With respect to claim 4, the second rotation member 6 is rotatable about a third axis (labeled below) relative to the second mounting portion 13; and the second hinge arm 5 is rotatable about a fourth axis (labeled below) relative to the second rotation member 6, the first axis, the third axis, and the fourth axis intersecting at a second intersection (labeled below), and the first intersection being non-coincident with the second intersection.
With respect to claim 5, the second hinge arm 5 is rotatable about a fourth axis (labeled below) relative to the second rotation member 6; and the second hinge arm 5 is rotatable about a fifth axis (labeled below) relative to the second connection portion, the fourth axis intersecting with the fifth axis at a third intersection (labeled below).
With respect to claim 6, the first hinge arm 3 is rotatable about a second axis (labeled below) relative to the first rotation member 4; the second hinge arm 5 is rotatable about a fifth axis (labeled below) relative to the second connection portion; and the first hinge arm 3 is rotatable about a sixth axis (labeled below) relative to the first connection portion, the second axis, the fifth axis, and the sixth axis being parallel to each other as shown below.
With respect to claim 7, the mounting base 1 is arranged vertically as shown in figure 2; the second mounting portion 13 is located below the first mounting portion 12 and faces towards the connection base 2; the first rotation member 4 is rotatably disposed on the first mounting portion 12 about a first axis (labeled below), the first axis extending vertically; and the second rotation member 6 is rotatably disposed on the second mounting portion 13 about a third axis (labeled below), the third axis extending obliquely downwards from front to rear in a front-rear direction of the scissor door as illustrated below.
With respect to claim 11, the second rotation member 6 is rotatable between a first position, as shown in figure 1, and a second position, as shown in figure 2, relative to the second mounting portion 13 about a third axis (labeled below), the third axis extending in a front-rear direction of the scissor door, wherein when the second rotation member 6 is in the first position (fig. 1), the second hinge portion 62 is located below the third axis; and wherein when the second rotation member 6 is in the second position, as shown in figure 2, the second hinge portion 62 is located above the third axis.
With respect to claim 12, the second rotation member 6 comprises a first segment (labeled below) and a second segment (labeled below) that are sequentially connected, wherein: each of the first segment and the second segment extends along a straight line as shown in figure 5; the first segment is obliquely arranged relative to the second segment, an obtuse angle (labeled below) being formed between the first segment and the second segment; the first segment is connected to the second mounting portion 13; the second hinge portion 62 is formed at the second segment; and the second mounting portion 13 is located at a side of the second rotation member 6 corresponding to an interior angle of the second rotation member 6.
With respect to claim 13, a support rod 7 having two ends respectively hinged to the mounting base 1 and the connection base 2 for driving the connection base 2 to move relative to the mounting base 1.
With respect to claim 14, CN 113107294 further discloses a vehicle, comprising: the hinge assembly as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above, a vehicle body 200 (fig. 9); the scissor door 300; wherein the mounting base 1 is fixed to the vehicle body 200; and wherein the connection base 2 is fixed to the scissor door 300 (fig. 9).
With respect to claim 17, the second rotation member 6 is rotatable about a third axis (labeled below) relative to the second mounting portion 13; and the second hinge arm 5 is rotatable about a fourth axis (labeled below) relative to the second rotation member 6, the first axis, the third axis, and the fourth axis intersecting at a second intersection (labeled below), and the first intersection being non-coincident with the second intersection.
With respect to claim 18, the second hinge arm 5 is rotatable about a fourth axis (labeled below) relative to the second rotation member 6; and the second hinge arm 5 is rotatable about a fifth axis (labeled below) relative to the second connection portion, the fourth axis intersecting with the fifth axis at a third intersection (labeled below).
With respect to claim 19, the first hinge arm 3 is rotatable about a second axis (labeled below) relative to the first rotation member 4; the second hinge arm 5 is rotatable about a fifth axis (labeled below) relative to the second connection portion; and the first hinge arm 3 is rotatable about a sixth axis (labeled below) relative to the first connection portion, the second axis, the fifth axis, and the sixth axis being parallel to each other as shown in figure 1 below.
With respect claim 20, the mounting base 1 is arranged vertically as shown in figure 1; the second mounting portion 13 is located below the first mounting portion 12, as shown in figure 3, and faces towards the connection base 2; the first rotation member 4 is rotatably disposed on the first mounting portion 12 about a first axis (labeled below), the first axis extending vertically; and the second rotation member 6 is rotatably disposed on the second mounting portion 13 about a third axis (labeled below), the third axis extending obliquely downwards from front to rear in a front-rear direction of the scissor door 300 as shown in annotated figure 1 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 113107294 as applied to claims 1, 4-7, 11-14 and 17-20 above, and further in view of CN 114233126.
With respect to claim 8, CN 114233126 discloses a connection base 20 comprising a first connection plate (labeled below) and a second connection plate (labeled below); the first connection plate extends in a left-right direction and is connected to a scissor door 300 (fig. 16); the second connection plate is connected to a front side surface of the first connection plate and extends forward in a front-rear direction of the scissor door 300; and a first connection portion (labeled below) and the second connection portion (labeled below) are both disposed on the second connection plate.
With respect to claim 9, CN 114233126 further discloses that the second connection plate which is arranged vertically and extends in a front-rear direction of the scissor door 300; the second connection plate comprises a first plate segment (labeled below), a bent segment (labeled below), and a second plate segment (labeled below) that are sequentially connected from top to bottom, the first plate segment and the second plate segment being offset from each other in the left-right direction as shown in figure 1, and the first plate segment being connected to the second plate segment by the bent segment as shown in figure 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide CN 113107294 with a second connection plate, as taught by CN 114233126, with a reasonable expectation of success to increase the strength of the connection base.
It should be noted that the second end of the first hinge arm 3 would be connected to the first plate segment and located at a side of the first plate segment facing towards the bent segment in the left-right direction, and the fourth end of the second hinge arm 5 would be connected to the second plate segment and located at a side of the second plate segment facing towards the bent segment in the left-right direction.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 113107294 as applied to claims 1, 4-7, 11-14 and 17-20 above, and further in view of CN 114059874. CN 113107294 disclose that the first hinge arm 3 is rotatably connected to the first rotation member 4 about a second axis (labeled below).
CN 113107294 is silent concerning the first end and the second end of the first hinge arm being offset from each other in a direction parallel to the second axis; and the first hinge arm further comprises a connection segment, wherein the connection segment has an end connected to the first end and another end extending obliquely towards the second end.
However, CN 114059874 discloses a first hinge arm 30 (fig. 1) comprising a first end (labeled below) and a second end (labeled below) being offset from each other in a direction parallel to a second axis 65 (fig. 1); and the first hinge arm further comprises a connection segment (labeled below), wherein the connection segment has an end connected to the first end and another end extending obliquely towards the second end.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the first hinge arm of CN 113107294 with offset ends and a connection segment, as taught by CN 114059874, with a reasonable expectation of success to position the connection base further away from a center of the vehicle so as to accommodate doors with larger thicknesses.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the applicant’s argument that CN 113107294 fails to disclose a second hinge arm having a third end being rotatably connected to the second hinge portion, and a fourth end being rotatably connected to the second connection portion, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
As shown in figures 1, 5 and 6, the second hinge arm 5 has multiple ends (labeled below) one of which is a third end (labeled above) which is directly rotatably connected to the second hinge portion 62. The fourth end (labeled above) of the second hinge arm 5 is also rotatably connected to the second connection portion (labeled above as element 21 in figure 7 and figures 1 and 2). This interpretation of the ends of the second hinge arm 5 is analogous to the ends of a trident fork. There is one end at one side of the fork and three ends at the opposite side of the fork.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREGORY J STRIMBU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634