Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the lead lines for reference characters “100” in figures 1-5, “10” in figure 6, “20” in figure 7, “30” in figure 8, “40” in figure 9, “50” in figure 10, “60” in figure 11 and “1000” in figures 12 and 13 require an arrow head at the end thereof so as to indicate the general structure to which each of the reference characters refers.
Finally, the drawings are objected to because they fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(l) since the lines, numbers, and letters are not sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined as to give the drawings satisfactory reproduction characteristics. For example, see annotated figures below.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because “[p]rovided are” on line 1 can be easily implied and therefore should be deleted. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because “of the scissor door” on line 1 brings the clarity of the claim into question because the preamble of claim 4 does not agree with the preambles of the other dependent claims sans claim 12.
Claim 6 is objected to because “the second hinge arm” on line 3 lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 7 is objected to because “disposed at” on line 5 brings the clarity of the claim into question because it is unclear what spatial relationship the applicant is attempting to set forth. Does “at” mean adjacent to or mounted on?
Claim 7 is objected to because “disposed at” on line 7 brings the clarity of the claim into question because it is unclear what spatial relationship the applicant is attempting to set forth. Does “at” mean adjacent to or mounted on?
Claim 7 is objected to because “front to rear” on line 8 brings the clarity of the claim into question because it is unclear what element(s) of the invention define the “front to rear” to which the applicant is referring.
Claim 8 is objected to because “a vehicle door” on lines 3-4 brings the clarity of the claim into question because it is unclear whether or not the applicant is referring to the scissor door set forth above.
Claim 8 is objected to because “forwards” on line 6 brings the clarity of the claim into question because it is grammatically incorrect. Did the applicant mean to recite “forward”?
Claim 8 is objected to because “disposed at” on line 7 brings the clarity of the claim into question because it is unclear what spatial relationship the applicant is attempting to set forth. Does “at” mean adjacent to or mounted on?
Claim 9 is objected to because “front-rear direction” on line 2 brings the clarity of the claim into question because it is unclear if the applicant is referring to the forwards direction set forth in claim 8 or is attempting to set forth another direction in addition to the one set forth above.
Claim 11 is objected to because “is at” on line 4 brings the clarity of the claim into question because it is unclear what the applicant is attempting to set forth. Is the applicant attempting to set forth that the second rotation member is in the first position?
Claim 11 is objected to because “is at” on line 6 brings the clarity of the claim into question because it is unclear what the applicant is attempting to set forth. Is the applicant attempting to set forth that the second rotation member is in the second position?
Claim 12 is objected to because “of the scissor door” on line 1 brings the clarity of the claim into question because the preamble of claim 12 does not agree with the preambles of the other dependent claims sans claim 4.
Claim 14 is objected to because “a scissor door” on line 1 of claim 1 brings the clarity of the claim into question because it is unclear if the scissor door on line 1 of claim 1 is the same as the vehicle door set forth on line 3 of claim 14 or is in addition to the vehicle door on line 3 of claim 14. Note that all of the limitations of claim 1 have been included into claim 14 via the recitation of “claim 1” on line 4 of claim 14.
Claim 14 is objected to because “is fixed at” on line 5 brings the clarity of the claim into question because it is unclear what spatial relationship the applicant is attempting to set forth. Is the applicant attempting to set forth that the mounting base is fixed to the vehicle body?
Claim 14 is objected to because “is fixed at” on line 6 brings the clarity of the claim into question because it is unclear what spatial relationship the applicant is attempting to set forth. Is the applicant attempting to set forth that the connection base is fixed to the vehicle body?
Claim 17 is objected to because “of the scissor door” on line 1 brings the clarity of the claim into question because it does not agree with the preamble of claim 14.
Claim 19 is objected to because “the second hinge arm” on line 3 brings the clarity of the claim into question because it lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 20 is objected to because “front to rear” on line 8 brings the clarity of the claim into question because it is unclear what element(s) of the invention define the “front to rear” to which the applicant is referring.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 113107294.
With respect to claim 1, CN 113107294 discloses a hinge assembly 100 (fig. 9) of a scissor door, the hinge assembly comprising:
a mounting base 1 (fig. 2) provided with a first mounting portion 12 (fig. 3) and a second mounting portion 13 (fig. 3) spaced apart from each other;
a connection base 2 provided with a first connection portion (labeled below) and a second connection portion (labeled below) spaced apart from each other;
a first rotation member 4 (fig. 2) rotatably connected to the first mounting portion 12 and provided with a first hinge portion (labeled below);
a second rotation member 6 (figs. 2 and 5) rotatably connected to the second mounting portion 13 and provided with a second hinge portion 62 (fig. 5), the second hinge portion 62 being rotatably connected to the second connection portion, and
a first hinge arm 3 having a first end (labeled below) and a second end (labeled below), the first end being rotatably connected to the first hinge portion, and the second end being rotatably connected to the first connection portion.
With respect to claim 2, the first rotation member 4 is rotatable relative to the first mounting portion 12 about a first axis; and the first hinge arm 3 is rotatable relative to the first rotation member 4 about a second axis, the first axis intersecting with the second axis (note that the first and second axes are perpendicular to one another) at a first intersection.
With respect to claim 3, a second hinge arm 5 having a third end (labeled below) and a fourth end (labeled below), the third end being rotatably connected to the second hinge portion 62, and the fourth end being rotatably connected to the second connection portion.
With respect to claim 4, the second rotation member 6 is rotatable about a third axis (labeled below) relative to the second mounting portion 13; and the second hinge arm 5 is rotatable about a fourth axis (labeled below) relative to the second rotation member 6, the first axis, the third axis, and the fourth axis intersecting at a second intersection (labeled below), and the first intersection being non-coincident with the second intersection.
With respect to claim 5, the second hinge arm 5 is rotatable about a fourth axis (labeled below) relative to the second rotation member 6; and the second hinge arm 5 is rotatable about a fifth axis (labeled below) relative to the second connection portion, the fourth axis intersecting with the fifth axis at a third intersection (labeled below).
With respect to claim 6, the first hinge arm 3 is rotatable about a second axis (labeled below) relative to the first rotation member 4; the second hinge arm 5 is rotatable about a fifth axis (labeled below) relative to the second connection portion; and the first hinge arm 3 is rotatable about a sixth axis (labeled below) relative to the first connection portion, the second axis, the fifth axis, and the sixth axis being parallel to each other as shown below.
With respect to claim 7, the mounting base 1 is arranged vertically as shown in figure 2; the second mounting portion 13 is located below the first mounting portion 12 and faces towards the connection base 2; the first rotation member 4 is rotatably disposed at the first mounting portion 12 about a first axis (labeled below), the first axis extending vertically; and the second rotation member 6 is rotatably disposed at the second mounting portion 13 about a third axis (labeled below), the third axis extending obliquely downwards from front to rear as illustrated below.
With respect to claim 11, the second rotation member 6 is rotatable between a first position, as shown in figure 1, and a second position, as shown in figure 2, relative to the second mounting portion 13 about a third axis (labeled below), the third axis extending in a front-rear direction, wherein when the second rotation member 6 is at the first position (fig. 1), the second hinge portion 62 is located below the third axis; and wherein when the second rotation member 6 is at the second position, as shown in figure 2, the second hinge portion 62 is located above the third axis.
With respect to claim 12, the second rotation member 6 comprises a first segment (labeled below) and a second segment (labeled below) that are sequentially connected, wherein: each of the first segment and the second segment extends along a straight line as shown in figure 5; the first segment is obliquely arranged relative to the second segment, an obtuse angle (labeled below) being formed between the first segment and the second segment; the first segment is connected to the second mounting portion 13; the second hinge portion 62 is formed at the second segment; and the second mounting portion 13 is located at a side of the second rotation member 6 corresponding to an interior angle of the second rotation member 6.
With respect to claim 13, a support rod 7 having two ends respectively hinged to the mounting base 1 and the connection base 2 for driving the connection base 2 to move relative to the mounting base 1.
With respect to claim 14, CN 113107294 further discloses a vehicle, comprising: a vehicle body 200 (fig. 9); a vehicle door 300; and the hinge assembly 100, wherein the mounting base 1 is fixed at the vehicle body 200; and wherein the connection base 2 is fixed at the vehicle door 300 (fig. 9).
With respect to claim 15, the first rotation member 4 is rotatable relative to the first mounting portion 12 about a first axis (labeled below); and the first hinge arm 3 is rotatable relative to the first rotation member 4 about a second axis (labeled below), the first axis intersecting with the second axis at a first intersection (labeled below).
With respect to claim 16, a second hinge arm 5 having a third end (labeled below) and a fourth end (labeled below), the third end being rotatably connected to the second hinge portion 6, and the fourth end being rotatably connected to the second connection portion (labeled below).
With respect to claim 17, the second rotation member 6 is rotatable about a third axis (labeled below) relative to the second mounting portion 13; and the second hinge arm 5 is rotatable about a fourth axis (labeled below) relative to the second rotation member 6, the first axis, the third axis, and the fourth axis intersecting at a second intersection (labeled below), and the first intersection being non-coincident with the second intersection.
With respect to claim 18, the second hinge arm 5 is rotatable about a fourth axis (labeled below) relative to the second rotation member 6; and the second hinge arm 5 is rotatable about a fifth axis (labeled below) relative to the second connection portion, the fourth axis intersecting with the fifth axis at a third intersection (labeled below).
With respect to claim 19, the first hinge arm 3 is rotatable about a second axis (labeled below) relative to the first rotation member 4; the second hinge arm 5 is rotatable about a fifth axis (labeled below) relative to the second connection portion; and the first hinge arm 3 is rotatable about a sixth axis (labeled below) relative to the first connection portion, the second axis, the fifth axis, and the sixth axis being parallel to each other as shown in figure 1 below.
With respect claim 20, the mounting base 1 is arranged vertically as shown in figure 1; the second mounting portion 13 is located below the first mounting portion 12, as shown in figure 3, and faces towards the connection base 2; the first rotation member 4 is rotatably disposed at the first mounting portion 12 about a first axis (labeled below), the first axis extending vertically; and the second rotation member 6 is rotatably disposed at the second mounting portion 13 about a third axis (labeled below), the third axis extending obliquely downwards from front to rear as shown in annotated figure 1 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 113107294 as applied to claims 1-7 and 11-20 above, and further in view of CN 114233126.
With respect to claim 8, CN 114233126 discloses a connection base 20 comprising a first connection plate (labeled below) and a second connection plate (labeled below); the first connection plate extends in a left-right direction and is connected to a vehicle door 300 (fig. 16); the second connection plate is connected to a front side surface of the first connection plate and extends forwards; and a first connection portion (labeled below) and the second connection portion (labeled below) are both disposed at the second connection plate.
With respect to claim 9, CN 114233126 further discloses that the second connection plate which is arranged vertically and extends in a front-rear direction; the second connection plate comprises a first plate segment (labeled below), a bent segment (labeled below), and a second plate segment (labeled below) that are sequentially connected from top to bottom, the first plate segment and the second plate segment being offset from each other in the left-right direction as shown in figure 1, and the first plate segment being connected to the second plate segment by the bent segment as shown in figure 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide CN 113107294 with a second connection plate, as taught by CN 114233126, with a reasonable expectation of success to increase the strength of the connection base.
It should be noted that the second end of the first hinge arm 3 would be connected to the first plate segment and located at a side of the first plate segment facing towards the bent segment in the left-right direction, and the fourth end of the second hinge arm 5 would be connected to the second plate segment and located at a side of the second plate segment facing towards the bent segment in the left-right direction.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 113107294 as applied to claims 1-7 and 11-20 above, and further in view of CN 114059874. CN 113107294 disclose that the first hinge arm 3 is rotatably connected to the first rotation member 4 about a second axis (labeled below).
CN 113107294 is silent concerning the first end and the second end of the first hinge arm being offset from each other in a direction parallel to the second axis; and the first hinge arm further comprises a connection segment, wherein the connection segment has an end connected to the first end and another end extending obliquely towards the second end.
However, CN 114059874 discloses a first hinge arm 30 (fig. 1) comprising a first end (labeled below) and a second end (labeled below) being offset from each other in a direction parallel to a second axis 65 (fig. 1); and the first hinge arm further comprises a connection segment (labeled below), wherein the connection segment has an end connected to the first end and another end extending obliquely towards the second end.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the first hinge arm of CN 113107294 with offset ends and a connection segment, as taught by CN 114059874, with a reasonable expectation of success to position the connection base further away from a center of the vehicle so as to accommodate doors with larger thicknesses.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
/GREGORY J STRIMBU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634