DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (US 2023/0200183).
Regarding claim 1, Chang discloses a display device (see figures 1-3, for instance), comprising: a display assembly (elements located on substrate 101), provided with a plurality of display areas (see figure 1), wherein each of the display areas is divided into a plurality of sub-display areas (R-SP, B-SP, G-SP), each of the sub-display areas comprises an information-displaying part (EA) and an information-shielding part (NEA, see figure 3, for instance), and the information-shielding part (NEW) is located beside the information-displaying part (EA); and a microlens array (200), disposed opposite to the display assembly (101), wherein the microlens array (200) comprises a plurality of microlenses (203) respectively opposite to the sub-display areas (R-SP, B-SP, G-SP, see figure 2).
Regarding claim 2, Chang discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the display assembly comprises a display panel, the display panel is provided with the display areas (see figure 1), and the information-displaying part (EA) and the information-shielding part (NEA) each comprise a plurality of pixels.
Regarding claim 4, Chang discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the display assembly comprises: a backlight module ([0050]); and an imaging sheet (102), disposed between the microlens array (200) and the backlight module ([0050]), wherein the imaging sheet is provided with the display areas (see figures 2-3, for instance).
Regarding claim 5, Chang discloses the display device according to claim 4, wherein the display assembly further comprises a shielding layer (119) disposed between the imaging sheet (102) and the backlight module ([0050]), the shielding layer (119) is provided with a plurality of shielding patterns, and the shielding patterns are respectively opposite to the information-shielding parts (NEA) of the sub-display areas.
Regarding claim 6, Chang discloses the display device according to claim 4, wherein the display assembly further comprises a shielding layer (201) disposed between the imaging sheet (102) and the microlens array (203), the shielding layer (201) is provided with a plurality of shielding patterns, and the shielding patterns are respectively opposite to the information-shielding parts (NEA) of the sub-display areas.
Regarding claim 7, Chang discloses the display device according to claim 4, wherein the display assembly further comprises a shielding layer (201) disposed on one side of the microlens array (203) away from the imaging sheet (102), the shielding layer (201) is provided with a plurality of shielding patterns, and the shielding patterns are respectively opposite to the information-shielding parts (NEA) of the sub-display areas.
Regarding claim 8, Chang discloses the display device according to claim 4, wherein the information-shielding part (NEA) of each of the sub-display areas is provided with a light-shielding pattern (119, 201).
Regarding claim 9, Chang discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the information-shielding part (119, NEA) is disposed beside at least one side edge of the information-displaying part (EA).
Regarding claim 10, Chang discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the information-shielding part (119, NEA) surrounds the information-displaying part (EA).
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Parry-Jones et al. (US 2011/0018860).
Regarding claim 1, Parry-Jones discloses a display device (see figures 1-7 and 15-16, for instance), comprising: a display assembly, provided with a plurality of display areas (see figure 7), wherein each of the display areas is divided into a plurality of sub-display areas (each row includes sub-areas with elements 1, 2), each of the sub-display areas comprises an information-displaying part (1) and an information-shielding part (2), and the information-shielding part (2) is located beside the information-displaying part (1); and a microlens array (array of element 4), disposed opposite to the display assembly, wherein the microlens array (array of 4) comprises a plurality of microlenses (4) respectively opposite to the sub-display areas.
Regarding claim 2, Parry-Jones discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the display assembly comprises a display panel (see figure 15, for instance), the display panel is provided with the display areas (12), and the information-displaying part (12) and the information-shielding part (13) each comprise a plurality of pixels.
Regarding claim 3, Parry-Jones discloses the display device according to claim 2, wherein the display assembly further comprises a backlight module (10) disposed opposite to the display panel (17).
Regarding claim 4, Parry-Jones discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the display assembly comprises: a backlight module (10); and an imaging sheet (11), disposed between the microlens array (4) and the backlight module (10), wherein the imaging sheet (11) is provided with the display areas (see figure 15).
Regarding claim 5, Parry-Jones discloses the display device according to claim 4, wherein the display assembly further comprises a shielding layer (13) disposed between the imaging sheet (11) and the backlight module (10), the shielding layer is provided with a plurality of shielding patterns (13), and the shielding patterns are respectively opposite to the information-shielding parts (2) of the sub-display areas.
Regarding claim 6, Parry-Jones discloses the display device according to claim 4, wherein the display assembly further comprises a shielding layer (3) disposed between the imaging sheet (11) and the microlens array (4), the shielding layer (3) is provided with a plurality of shielding patterns (3), and the shielding patterns are respectively opposite to the information-shielding parts (13) of the sub-display areas.
Regarding claim 7, Parry-Jones discloses the display device according to claim 4, wherein the display assembly further comprises a shielding layer (3) disposed on one side of the microlens array (4) away from the imaging sheet (11), the shielding layer is provided with a plurality of shielding patterns (3), and the shielding patterns (3) are respectively opposite to the information-shielding parts (13) of the sub-display areas.
Regarding claim 8, Parry-Jones discloses the display device according to claim 4, wherein the information-shielding part (13) of each of the sub-display areas is provided with a light-shielding pattern (13).
Regarding claim 9, Parry-Jones discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the information-shielding part (13) is disposed beside at least one side edge of the information-displaying part (12).
Regarding claim 10, Parry-Jones discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the information-shielding part (13) surrounds the information-displaying part (12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Parry-Jones.
Regarding claim 3, Chang discloses the display device according to claim 2, wherein the display assembly further comprises a backlight module ([0050]). However, Chang does not expressly disclose wherein the backlight module is disposed opposite to the display panel.
Parry-Jones discloses a display device (see figure 15, for instance), wherein the OLED ([0113]) display assembly (17) further comprises a backlight module (10) disposed opposite to the display panel (11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the backlight module structure of Parry-Jones in the device of Chang. The motivation for doing so would have been to use an adaptable lighting method for transmissive displays while adding little or no extra thickness to the display panel, as taught by Parry-Jones ([0064]).
Conclusion
/NATHANAEL R BRIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871 8/13/2026