DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 9, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Larry P. LaPointe U.S. Patent Publication 20158/0076881 A1 (LaPointe).
Regarding claim 1, LaPointe discloses a zero gravity and zero wall sofa frame which can be switched between a sitting position and a lying position, comprising: A base (Element 20); A seat frame movably arranged on the base (Element 10); A first drive mechanism to drive the base to move back and forth relative to the base (Figure 13 Element 30), wherein the first drive mechanism is provided on the base ([0035]); A backrest assembly convertible between an upright state and an inclined state, wherein the base and the seat frame are hinged with the backrest assembly, and when the seat frame moves forward relative to the base, the backrest assembly changes from the upright state to the inclined state, and when the seat frame moves backward relative to the base, the backrest assembly changes from the inclined state to the upright state (Figure 1-10); A foot rest assembly (Element 26) convertible between a retracted state and an extended state; and A push rod (Element 28), wherein both the seat frame and the push rod are hinged to the foot rest assembly; when the push rod moves forward relative to the seat frame, the foot rest assembly is converted from the contracted state to the extended state, and when the push rod moves backward relative to the seat frame, the foot rest assembly is converted from the extended state to the contracted state; wherein, the sofa frame further comprises: A second drive mechanism (Element 56) that is connected with the push rod to drive the push rod to move back and forth relative to the seat frame ([0036]).
Regarding claim 5, LaPointe discloses the zero gravity and zero wall sofa frame wherein the second drive mechanism is an electric telescopic rod, a motor of which is arranged on the seat frame, and the telescopic rod body is hinged with the push rod ([0035-0036], Figure 8 Element 60. 62. 56).
Regarding claim 6, LaPointe discloses the zero gravity and zero wall sofa frame wherein the second drive mechanism is a drive rod; The first drive mechanism is connected with the rear end of the drive rod to drive the drive rod to move back and forth, and the front end of the drive rod is hinged with the push rod ([0034-0037]).
Regarding claim 9, LaPointe discloses the zero gravity and zero wall sofa frame wherein there are two foot rest assemblies which are arranged oppositely on the left and right (Figure 6 Element 24a and 24b).
Regarding claim 14, LaPointe discloses the zero gravity and zero wall sofa frame wherein there are two backrest assemblies which are arranged oppositely on the left and right (Element 18 with right and left).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 7, 8, 10-13, and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/SHIN H KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636