DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the method comprises forming “a first adhesive layer” on the surface of “a porous metal layer” and contacting the first adhesive layer with “an insulation layer” and forming “a conductive adhesive layer” the surface of the porous metal layer. It is unclear if the adhesive, metal, and insulation layers being referred to are the ones recited as being a part of the interference shielding film.
For sake of further examination, the layers recited in the method will be viewed as the same comprised in the electromagnetic interference shielding film. E.g., the method comprising forming “the first adhesive layer…”
Claims 2-5 are rejected as being dependent upon indefinite claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN112437598A) and further in view of Matsudo et al. (JP2015111669) and Zhu (CN106659108).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Li discloses a method of making a high-shielding electromagnetic interference shielding film comprising an insulating layer (102), porous metal layer (103), and conductive adhesive layer (104). Li teaches the insulating layer comprising a black ink layer which includes an inorganic additive (0058). Li teaches the porous meta layer having a micropore diameter of 30-120 µm, overlaying the diameter of 1 to 120 microns, porosity of 15-30%, overlapping the porosity of 15-30%, tensile strength of ≥20 kgf/mm2, overlapping the claimed equal to or greater than 20 kgf/mm2, and elongation of ≥5%, overlapping the elongation of equal to or greater than 5% (0010). The conductive adhesive layer comprising conductive particles (0015).
In the method, Li teaches the conductive adhesive layer is formed on a surface of the porous metal layer (0080).
Li does not teach the insulation layer having a pencil hardness of 2H to 6H, or a first adhesive layer, where in the method of making the electromagnetic interference shielding film, the first adhesive layer is formed on the surface of the porous metal layer and contacted with the insulation layer and laminated together allowing the first adhesive layer to be located between the insulating layer and the porous metal layer.
Regarding the hardness, Matsudo, in the analogous field of electromagnetic interference shielding films and its preparation method (0001 and 0044), discloses an insulating layer having a pencil hardness of H or higher (0013), overlapping the claimed pencil hardness of 2H to 6H. In particular, Matsudo teaches a hardness of 2H or more being excellent (0074).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious for the insulation layer of Li to have a pencil hardness of H or higher as taught by Matsudo, to maintain flexibility as well as resilience from damage during a heat-press (0013).
Regarding the first adhesive layer, Zhu, in the analogous field of shielding films and its preparation method (0002), teaches an insulating layer comprising a first and second insulating where the second insulating resin layer comprises carbon black and an insulating resin, the insulating resin including acrylic and/or epoxy resin (0035).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious for the insulating layer of Li to include a second insulating resin layer, as taught by Zhu, with the expectation of further enhancing the adhesion between the insulation layers and metal layers (0005).
In the method of preparing the electromagnetic interference shielding film, Li teaches the insulation layer formed on the surface of the porous metal layer (0032), thus, in the combination of Li and Zhu, the second insulating layer would be formed on the surface of the porous metal layer. Zhu further teaches the method including the first insulating layer disposed on a carrier layer and contacting the second insulating resin layer with the first insulating resin layer (0045), thus in the combination of Li in view of Zhu, the second insulating layer would be located between the insulation layer and the porous metal layer, and the porous metal layer would be located between the first adhesive layer and the conductive adhesive layer and the insulating layer would be located between the carrier layer and the second insulating layer.
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses the method of preparing the porous metal layer includes coating an aluminum layer onto a thin film substrate, performing a release treatment on the surface of the aluminum layer and plating the metal coating on the surface of the aluminum layer subjected to the release treatment the plating method comprising sputtering, deposition, water plating, and forming holes in the metal layer by micro-etching and finally peeling off the thin film substrate and aluminum layer together (0024-0027).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches the thin film being polyimide or polyethylene terephthalate and the metal particles are copper, aluminum, lead, nickel, cobalt, tin, silver, iron or gold (0028).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches where the conductive adhesive layer may comprise a double-layer structure in which one adhesive layer is applied to the porous metal layer and the other layer is applied on the one adhesive layer (0061).
Correspondence
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781