DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/04/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-19 remain pending in the application and claims 17-19 are a newly added claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devitt et al. US 4556863 in view of Hoyle et al. US 5270698 and further in view of Noguchi US 20150155743.
Regarding claim 1, Devitt et al. teach An emergency flash switch device, comprising: a housing configured for installation within a wall switch box; a line; a load; a neutral; (Devitt et al. US 4556863 abstract; col. 1 lines 5-10 and 65-68; col. 2 lines 1-24; col. 3 lines 4-58; col. 4 lines 66-68; col. 5 lines 1-57; col. 7 lines 46-55; col. 8 lines 1-45; figures 1-7;)
FIG. 1 is an exploded view showing the components comprising the switch apparatus. The apparatus has a plastic housing or body 10 having an open front 11 over which a metal strap 12 and plastic cover 13 lie. Both strap 12 and cover 13 are secured to body 10 by rivets (not shown) passing through holes 14 (best seen in FIG. 2) in the end walls of the body and through holes 15 and 16 of cover 13 and strap 12 respectively. Screws 17 also passing through the strap are then used to hold the switch apparatus within the switch box (Devitt et al. col. 3 lines 14-23). A switching mechanism mounted within said cavity comprised of: conducting means positionable either between an alternating power source and the load so that the load is on continuously, at a neutral position so that the load is off continuously, or between said alternating power source and said electronic circuit so that the load is switched on and off continuously at said predetermined frequency and said predetermined duty cycle (Devitt et al. col. 7 lines 46-55). As shown in the figure 6 of Devitt et al. reference a hot line 23, load 55 and neutral line.
Devitt et al. do not explicitly teach a power converter; a timing and control circuit; a switching mechanism; an on button; an on switch; wherein the on switch is configured to close when the on button is pressed, and the timing and control circuit is configured to apply a signal of correct state to activate the switching mechanism and close a circuit between the line and the load; an off button; an off switch; wherein the off switch is configured to close when the off button is pressed, and the timing and control circuit is configured to apply a signal of correct state to deactivate the switching mechanism and open the circuit between the line and the load; an emergency sequence activator button separate from the on button and the off button; an emergency sequence activator switch; wherein the emergency sequence activator switch is configured to close when the emergency sequence activator button is pressed; wherein activation of the emergency sequence activator switch causes the timing and control circuit to control the switching mechanism independently of a current state of the on switch and the off switch; wherein the timing and control circuit is configured to disregard inputs from the on switch and the off switch while an emergency sequence is active; and wherein the timing and control circuit causes the switching mechanism to repeatedly alternate between an activated state and a deactivated state to produce a visual emergency signal from at least one electrically connected device.
Hoyle et al. teach a power converter; a timing and control circuit; (Hoyle et al. US 5270698 abstract; col. 3 lines 48-68; col. 4 lines 1-66; col. 6 lines 18-44 and 53-68; col. 7 lines 1-68; figures 1-9)
The primary components housed within enclosure 30 include (1) a switch mechanism portion 62, which is operated by the rocker switch described above (or by a lever switch or other suitable switch), (2) a convertor network portion 64, which provides a DC power supply to (3) a timer portion 66 which controls (4) a driver portion 68, which, in turn, controls the activation of (5) a switcher portion 70. As the switcher portion 70 is alternately activated and deactivated by the timer and driver portions, it permits the periodic flow of current from lead 16 to lead 18 through light bulb 14, causing light bulb 14 to flash on and off (Hoyle et al. col. 7 lines 29-40).
a switching mechanism; an on button; an on switch; wherein the on switch is configured to close when the on button is pressed, and the timing and control circuit is configured to apply a signal of correct state to activate the switching mechanism and close a circuit between the line and the load;
Rocker switch 40 can be manually operated to select one of three positions "on", "off", or "flash". To facilitate its operation, a suitable legend is provided on the outwardly facing surface of the rocker switch; as shown in FIG. 3, the end portions 58, 59 may display the words "on" and "off", and the middle position 60 the word "help". The middle portion or panel 60 may preferably be translucent so that, as will be described below, a flashing light (e.g., an LED or small neon light bulb) mounted within the interior of case 32 can shine therethrough to provide a visual indication that the "help" position has been selected and activated (Hoyle et al. col. 7 lines 12-23). Switch mechanism portion 62 includes selectors 72, 72,, which are movable by the rocker switch between "off" positions 73, 73', in which the selectors are physically removed from contact with lead 16 so as to interrupt the flow of current therethrough, to "flash" and "on" positions 74, 74' and 75, 75', in which selector 72 is in contact with lead 16 so as to permit the flow of current therethrough to switcher portion 70. Driver portion 68 provides a control function which periodically actuates switcher portion 70; when switcher portion 70 is actuated, current is permitted to flow through lead 16 to light bulb 14 and lead 18, causing light bulb 14 to be lit (Hoyle et al. col. 7 lines 45-57).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets rocket switch 40 show in the figures 2-3 comprise 3 buttons as follow: button 58 for on position, button 59 for off position and button 60 for help (emergency) position. Examiner interprets when the button 58 press on, the switch mechanism portion 62 in the figure 4 will turn a selector to the close position and provide power to turn on the light bulb.
an off button; an off switch; wherein the off switch is configured to close when the off button is pressed, and the timing and control circuit is configured to apply a signal of correct state to deactivate the switching mechanism and open the circuit between the line and the load;
Rocker switch 40 can be manually operated to select one of three positions "on", "off", or "flash". To facilitate its operation, a suitable legend is provided on the outwardly facing surface of the rocker switch; as shown in FIG. 3, the end portions 58, 59 may display the words "on" and "off", and the middle position 60 the word "help". The middle portion or panel 60 may preferably be translucent so that, as will be described below, a flashing light (e.g., an LED or small neon light bulb) mounted within the interior of case 32 can shine therethrough to provide a visual indication that the "help" position has been selected and activated (Hoyle et al. col. 7 lines 12-23). Switch mechanism portion 62 includes selectors 72, 72,, which are movable by the rocker switch between "off" positions 73, 73', in which the selectors are physically removed from contact with lead 16 so as to interrupt the flow of current therethrough, to "flash" and "on" positions 74, 74' and 75, 75', in which selector 72 is in contact with lead 16 so as to permit the flow of current therethrough to switcher portion 70. Driver portion 68 provides a control function which periodically actuates switcher portion 70; when switcher portion 70 is actuated, current is permitted to flow through lead 16 to light bulb 14 and lead 18, causing light bulb 14 to be lit (Hoyle et al. col. 7 lines 45-57). FIG. 5 shows a first embodiment of flasher circuit used to implement the block diagram of FIG. 4. 120 volt AC power supply lead 16 is connected via junction 84 to the "flash" and "on" contacts 74, 75. When the primary selector 72 is moved to the primary "off" contact 73, secondary selector 72' is simultaneously moved to secondary "off" contact 73'; in this position, selector 72 is physically removed from contact with lead 16, and power to the whole of circuit 80 is interrupted so that light bulb 14 remains unlit (Hoyle et al. col. 8 lines 1-10).
an emergency sequence activator button separate from the on button and the off button; an emergency sequence activator switch; wherein the emergency sequence activator switch is configured to close when the emergency sequence activator button is pressed; wherein activation of the emergency sequence activator switch causes the timing and control circuit to control the switching mechanism independently of a current state of the on switch and the off switch; and wherein the timing and control circuit causes the switching mechanism to repeatedly alternate between an activated state and a deactivated state to produce a visual emergency signal from at least one electrically connected device.
Rocker switch 40 can be manually operated to select one of three positions "on", "off", or "flash". To facilitate its operation, a suitable legend is provided on the outwardly facing surface of the rocker switch; as shown in FIG. 3, the end portions 58, 59 may display the words "on" and "off", and the middle position 60 the word "help". The middle portion or panel 60 may preferably be translucent so that, as will be described below, a flashing light (e.g., an LED or small neon light bulb) mounted within the interior of case 32 can shine therethrough to provide a visual indication that the "help" position has been selected and activated (Hoyle et al. col. 7 lines 12-23). Having provided an overview of the system of the present invention, the electrical circuits employed therein will now be described. FIG. 4 shows a block diagram of the flasher system, with the surrounding enclosure 30 being indicated by a broken line image. The primary components housed within enclosure 30 include (1) a switch mechanism portion 62, which is operated by the rocker switch described above (or by a lever switch or other suitable switch), (2) a convertor network portion 64, which provides a DC power supply to (3) a timer portion 66 which controls (4) a driver portion 68, which, in turn, controls the activation of (5) a switcher portion 70. As the switcher portion 70 is alternately activated and deactivated by the timer and driver portions, it permits the periodic flow of current from lead 16 to lead 18 through light bulb 14, causing light bulb 14 to flash on and off. Inasmuch as switcher portion 70 is switching 120 volt AC household current, light bulb 14 can be an ordinary 120 volt light bulb, and there is no need to provide special low-voltage lightbulbs for use with the system of the present invention (Hoyle et al. col. 7 lines 24-44). Switch mechanism portion 62 includes selectors 72, 72,, which are movable by the rocker switch between "off" positions 73, 73', in which the selectors are physically removed from contact with lead 16 so as to interrupt the flow of current therethrough, to "flash" and "on" positions 74, 74' and 75, 75', in which selector 72 is in contact with lead 16 so as to permit the flow of current therethrough to switcher portion 70. Driver portion 68 provides a control function which periodically actuates switcher portion 70; when switcher portion 70 is actuated, current is permitted to flow through lead 16 to light bulb 14 and lead 18, causing light bulb 14 to be lit (Hoyle et al. col. 7 lines 45-57). Then, when primary selector 72 is moved into contact with the primary "flash" contact 74, and secondary selector 72' moves into contact with secondary "flash" contact 74', power flows from lead 16 via selector 72, junction 92, and lead portion 16c, to the first side of a triac 94. As is well known to those skilled in the art, a triac is a form of relay capable of switching a high voltage, high current circuit on and off. Since the triac 140 is capable of switching 120 volt AC current, there is no need for a transformer or other bulky device to step the current down to some lower voltage, thereby keeping the overall physical size of circuit 80 small enough to fit within a housing which is mountable in a conventional light switch junction box (Hoyle et al. col. 8 lines 11-24).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets rocket switch 40 show in the figures 2-3 comprise 3 buttons as follow: button 58 for on position, button 59 for off position and button 60 for help (emergency activator button) position. Examiner interprets when the button 60 press, the switch will turn a selector to the flash position and the power is alternating on and off for the light flashing on and off.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute a rocket switch with three buttons position as taught by Hoyle et al. reference into the switch apparatus of Devitt et al. reference and the result of the substitution would be predictable for triggering an emergency flashing light.
The combination of Devitt et al. and Hoyle et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the timing and control circuit is configured to disregard inputs from the on switch and the off switch while an emergency sequence is active.
Noguchi teaches wherein the timing and control circuit is configured to disregard inputs from the on switch and the off switch while an emergency sequence is active; (Noguchi US 20150155743 abstract; paragraphs [0029]-[0037]; [0040]-[0042]; figures 1-10)
In accordance with the fluorescent lamp type LED illumination device 10 according to the present invention, when AC power supply from the main power source is interrupted in case of power shutdown, for example, even if the LED's 22 are lightened by the first power supply circuit 13 in the normal illumination mode (the first normal illumination mode), this is compulsorily switched to the second power supply circuit 20 so that the LED's are lightened by the battery 19 so as to become usable as an emergency light. The Building Standards Act of Japan requires that the emergency lights should be installed in commercial facility, industrial facility and accommodations, which are illumination devices for assuring necessary illumination to the evacuation route in a room interior or along corridors, in case of power supply shutdown. Under these legal obligations, an emergency light should be kept lightened at a constant luminous intensity (more than one lux, for example, when measured on a floor) for a period of several dozens of minutes to several hours, regardless of ON/OFF of the external switch 27. For this purpose, there is a third power line to be used for detection of the power supply shutdown, in addition to two AC power lines to be used for the normal illumination. By designing such, even after the external switch 27 is turned off for the normal light-out, it is possible to realize a power supply shutdown by detecting that there is electricity flow in the power-supply-shutdown detection line, thereby lighting the interior LED illumination device 10 as the emergency light (Noguchi par. 42).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to provide emergency light remaining illuminate regardless of on/off of the external switch taught by Noguchi reference into the switch apparatus of Devitt et al. and Hoyle et al. reference in order for user to be aware of an emergency situation within an environment.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al. and Noguchi disclose The device of claim 1, further comprising: wherein when the emergency sequence activator switch is closed, the timing and control circuit is configured to apply a continuous alternating signal to the switching mechanism which alternately closes and opens a connection between the line and the load which supplies and removes power to the at least one electrically connected lighting device in response to the alternating signal when the on switch is in a closed or open position or when the off switch is in a closed or open position.
Having provided an overview of the system of the present invention, the electrical circuits employed therein will now be described. FIG. 4 shows a block diagram of the flasher system, with the surrounding enclosure 30 being indicated by a broken line image. The primary components housed within enclosure 30 include (1) a switch mechanism portion 62, which is operated by the rocker switch described above (or by a lever switch or other suitable switch), (2) a convertor network portion 64, which provides a DC power supply to (3) a timer portion 66 which controls (4) a driver portion 68, which, in turn, controls the activation of (5) a switcher portion 70. As the switcher portion 70 is alternately activated and deactivated by the timer and driver portions, it permits the periodic flow of current from lead 16 to lead 18 through light bulb 14, causing light bulb 14 to flash on and off. Inasmuch as switcher portion 70 is switching 120 volt AC household current, light bulb 14 can be an ordinary 120 volt light bulb, and there is no need to provide special low-voltage lightbulbs for use with the system of the present invention (Hoyle et al. col. 7 lines 24-44).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al. and Noguchi disclose The device of claim 1, further comprising: wherein the emergency sequence activator switch closes when the emergency sequence activator button is pressed, and the timing and control circuit is configured to apply an alternating signal with a prescribed sequence and a prescribed repetition to the switching mechanism which alternately closes and opens a connection between the line and the load which supplies and removes power to the at least one electrically connected lighting device in response to the alternating signal.
Rocker switch 40 can be manually operated to select one of three positions "on", "off", or "flash". To facilitate its operation, a suitable legend is provided on the outwardly facing surface of the rocker switch; as shown in FIG. 3, the end portions 58, 59 may display the words "on" and "off", and the middle position 60 the word "help". The middle portion or panel 60 may preferably be translucent so that, as will be described below, a flashing light (e.g., an LED or small neon light bulb) mounted within the interior of case 32 can shine therethrough to provide a visual indication that the "help" position has been selected and activated (Hoyle et al. col. 7 lines 12-23). Having provided an overview of the system of the present invention, the electrical circuits employed therein will now be described. FIG. 4 shows a block diagram of the flasher system, with the surrounding enclosure 30 being indicated by a broken line image. The primary components housed within enclosure 30 include (1) a switch mechanism portion 62, which is operated by the rocker switch described above (or by a lever switch or other suitable switch), (2) a convertor network portion 64, which provides a DC power supply to (3) a timer portion 66 which controls (4) a driver portion 68, which, in turn, controls the activation of (5) a switcher portion 70. As the switcher portion 70 is alternately activated and deactivated by the timer and driver portions, it permits the periodic flow of current from lead 16 to lead 18 through light bulb 14, causing light bulb 14 to flash on and off. Inasmuch as switcher portion 70 is switching 120 volt AC household current, light bulb 14 can be an ordinary 120 volt light bulb, and there is no need to provide special low-voltage lightbulbs for use with the system of the present invention (Hoyle et al. col. 7 lines 24-44). Switch mechanism portion 62 includes selectors 72, 72,, which are movable by the rocker switch between "off" positions 73, 73', in which the selectors are physically removed from contact with lead 16 so as to interrupt the flow of current therethrough, to "flash" and "on" positions 74, 74' and 75, 75', in which selector 72 is in contact with lead 16 so as to permit the flow of current therethrough to switcher portion 70. Driver portion 68 provides a control function which periodically actuates switcher portion 70; when switcher portion 70 is actuated, current is permitted to flow through lead 16 to light bulb 14 and lead 18, causing light bulb 14 to be lit (Hoyle et al. col. 7 lines 45-57). Then, when primary selector 72 is moved into contact with the primary "flash" contact 74, and secondary selector 72' moves into contact with secondary "flash" contact 74', power flows from lead 16 via selector 72, junction 92, and lead portion 16c, to the first side of a triac 94. As is well known to those skilled in the art, a triac is a form of relay capable of switching a high voltage, high current circuit on and off. Since the triac 140 is capable of switching 120 volt AC current, there is no need for a transformer or other bulky device to step the current down to some lower voltage, thereby keeping the overall physical size of circuit 80 small enough to fit within a housing which is mountable in a conventional light switch junction box (Hoyle et al. col. 8 lines 11-24).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets rocket switch 40 show in the figures 2-3 comprise 3 buttons as follow: button 58 for on position, button 59 for off position and button 60 for help (emergency activator button) position. Examiner interprets when the button 60 press, the switch will turn a selector to the flash position and the power is alternating on and off for the light flashing on and off.
Regarding claim 9, Devitt et al. teach An emergency flash switch device, comprising: a housing configured for installation within a wall switch box; (Devitt et al. US 4556863 abstract; col. 1 lines 5-10 and 65-68; col. 2 lines 1-24; col. 3 lines 4-58; col. 4 lines 66-68; col. 5 lines 1-57; col. 7 lines 46-55; col. 8 lines 1-45; figures 1-7;)
The switch apparatus of the present invention is capable of being installed using the existing wiring system of a house or other building. It is to be understood that it is contemplated that the switch apparatus is to be installed in a standard switch box mounted in a building wall and that it is to be connected to the porch light and a source of power by a standard two wire cable. When the switch apparatus is inserted into the switch box it is connected to the two wires already in the box normally used to turn the porch light on and off (Devitt et al. col. 3 lines 4-14) . FIG. 1 is an exploded view showing the components comprising the switch apparatus. The apparatus has a plastic housing or body 10 having an open front 11 over which a metal strap 12 and plastic cover 13 lie. Both strap 12 and cover 13 are secured to body 10 by rivets (not shown) passing through holes 14 (best seen in FIG. 2) in the end walls of the body and through holes 15 and 16 of cover 13 and strap 12 respectively. Screws 17 also passing through the strap are then used to hold the switch apparatus within the switch box (Devitt et al. col. 3 lines 14-23). A switching mechanism mounted within said cavity comprised of: conducting means positionable either between an alternating power source and the load so that the load is on continuously, at a neutral position so that the load is off continuously, or between said alternating power source and said electronic circuit so that the load is switched on and off continuously at said predetermined frequency and said predetermined duty cycle (Devitt et al. col. 7 lines 46-55). As shown in the figure 6 of Devitt et al. reference a hot line 23, load 55 and neutral line.
Devitt et al. do not explicitly teach a switching mechanism configured to selectively provide power to at least one electrically connected lighting device; an on switch configured to control a normal lighting mode; an off switch configured to control the normal lighting mode; an emergency sequence activator switch separate from the on switch and the off switch; and a timing and control circuit operatively connected to the switching mechanism, the on switch, the off switch, and the emergency sequence activator switch; wherein activation of the emergency sequence activator switch places the emergency flash switch device into an emergency operating mode; wherein, during the emergency sequence operating mode, the timing and the control circuit controls the switching mechanism regardless of a current state of the on switch and the off switch; wherein the timing and control circuit ignores inputs received from the on switch and the off switch and the off switch while the emergency operating mode is active; and wherein the timing and control circuit repeatedly actuates the switching mechanism to generate a visual emergency signal from the at least one electrically connected lighting device.
Hoyle et al. teach a switching mechanism configured to selectively provide power to at least one electrically connected lighting device; an on switch configured to control a normal lighting mode; an off switch configured to control the normal lighting mode; an emergency sequence activator switch separate from the on switch and the off switch; (Hoyle et al. US 5270698 abstract; col. 3 lines 48-68; col. 4 lines 1-66; col. 6 lines 18-44 and 53-68; col. 7 lines 1-68; figures 1-9)
Rocker switch 40 can be manually operated to select one of three positions "on", "off", or "flash". To facilitate its operation, a suitable legend is provided on the outwardly facing surface of the rocker switch; as shown in FIG. 3, the end portions 58, 59 may display the words "on" and "off", and the middle position 60 the word "help". The middle portion or panel 60 may preferably be translucent so that, as will be described below, a flashing light (e.g., an LED or small neon light bulb) mounted within the interior of case 32 can shine therethrough to provide a visual indication that the "help" position has been selected and activated (Hoyle et al. col. 7 lines 12-23). Switch mechanism portion 62 includes selectors 72, 72,, which are movable by the rocker switch between "off" positions 73, 73', in which the selectors are physically removed from contact with lead 16 so as to interrupt the flow of current therethrough, to "flash" and "on" positions 74, 74' and 75, 75', in which selector 72 is in contact with lead 16 so as to permit the flow of current therethrough to switcher portion 70. Driver portion 68 provides a control function which periodically actuates switcher portion 70; when switcher portion 70 is actuated, current is permitted to flow through lead 16 to light bulb 14 and lead 18, causing light bulb 14 to be lit (Hoyle et al. col. 7 lines 45-57).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets rocket switch 40 show in the figures 2-3 comprise 3 buttons as follow: button 58 for on position, button 59 for off position and button 60 for help (emergency sequence activator) position. Examiner interprets when the button 58 press on, the switch mechanism portion 62 in the figure 4 will turn a selector to the close position and provide power to turn on the light bulb.
and a timing and control circuit operatively connected to the switching mechanism, the on switch, the off switch, and the emergency sequence activator switch; wherein activation of the emergency sequence activator switch places the emergency flash switch device into an emergency operating mode; and wherein the timing and control circuit repeatedly actuates the switching mechanism to generate a visual emergency signal from the at least one electrically connected lighting device.
Rocker switch 40 can be manually operated to select one of three positions "on", "off", or "flash". To facilitate its operation, a suitable legend is provided on the outwardly facing surface of the rocker switch; as shown in FIG. 3, the end portions 58, 59 may display the words "on" and "off", and the middle position 60 the word "help". The middle portion or panel 60 may preferably be translucent so that, as will be described below, a flashing light (e.g., an LED or small neon light bulb) mounted within the interior of case 32 can shine therethrough to provide a visual indication that the "help" position has been selected and activated. Having provided an overview of the system of the present invention, the electrical circuits employed therein will now be described. FIG. 4 shows a block diagram of the flasher system, with the surrounding enclosure 30 being indicated by a broken line image. The primary components housed within enclosure 30 include (1) a switch mechanism portion 62, which is operated by the rocker switch described above (or by a lever switch or other suitable switch), (2) a convertor network portion 64, which provides a DC power supply to (3) a timer portion 66 which controls (4) a driver portion 68, which, in turn, controls the activation of (5) a switcher portion 70. As the switcher portion 70 is alternately activated and deactivated by the timer and driver portions, it permits the periodic flow of current from lead 16 to lead 18 through light bulb 14, causing light bulb 14 to flash on and off. Inasmuch as switcher portion 70 is switching 120 volt AC household current, light bulb 14 can be an ordinary 120 volt light bulb, and there is no need to provide special low-voltage lightbulbs for use with the system of the present invention. Switch mechanism portion 62 includes selectors 72, 72,, which are movable by the rocker switch between "off" positions 73, 73', in which the selectors are physically removed from contact with lead 16 so as to interrupt the flow of current therethrough, to "flash" and "on" positions 74, 74' and 75, 75', in which selector 72 is in contact with lead 16 so as to permit the flow of current therethrough to switcher portion 70. Driver portion 68 provides a control function which periodically actuates switcher portion 70; when switcher portion 70 is actuated, current is permitted to flow through lead 16 to light bulb 14 and lead 18, causing light bulb 14 to be lit (Hoyle et al. col. 7 lines 1-57). FIG. 5 shows a first embodiment of flasher circuit used to implement the block diagram of FIG. 4. 120 volt AC power supply lead 16 is connected via junction 84 to the "flash" and "on" contacts 74, 75. When the primary selector 72 is moved to the primary "off" contact 73, secondary selector 72' is simultaneously moved to secondary "off" contact 73'; in this position, selector 72 is physically removed from contact with lead 16, and power to the whole of circuit 80 is interrupted so that light bulb 14 remains unlit. Then, when primary selector 72 is moved into contact with the primary "flash" contact 74, and secondary selector 72' moves into contact with secondary "flash" contact 74', power flows from lead 16 via selector 72, junction 92, and lead portion 16c, to the first side of a triac 94. As is well known to those skilled in the art, a triac is a form of relay capable of switching a high voltage, high current circuit on and off. Since the triac 140 is capable of switching 120 volt AC current, there is no need for a transformer or other bulky device to step the current down to some lower voltage, thereby keeping the overall physical size of circuit 80 small enough to fit within a housing which is mountable in a conventional light switch junction box (Hoyle et al. col. 8 lines 1-24).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets rocket switch 40 show in the figures 2-3 comprise 3 buttons as follow: button 58 for on position, button 59 for off position and button 60 for help (emergency) position. Examiner interprets when the button 59 press off, the switch will turn a selector to the open position and the power disconnect that cause the light remains in the off status. Examiner interprets when the button 60 press, the switch will turn a selector to the flash position and the power is alternating on and off for the light flashing on and off.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute a rocket switch with three buttons position as taught by Hoyle et al. reference into the switch apparatus of Devitt et al. reference and the result of the substitution would be predictable for triggering an emergency flashing light.
The combination of Devitt et al. and Hoyle et al. do not explicitly teach wherein, during the emergency sequence operating mode, the timing and the control circuit controls the switching mechanism regardless of a current state of the on switch and the off switch; wherein the timing and control circuit ignores inputs received from the on switch and the off switch and the off switch while the emergency operating mode is active.
Noguchi teaches wherein, during the emergency sequence operating mode, the timing and the control circuit controls the switching mechanism regardless of a current state of the on switch and the off switch; wherein the timing and control circuit ignores inputs received from the on switch and the off switch and the off switch while the emergency operating mode is active; (Noguchi US 20150155743 abstract; paragraphs [0029]-[0037]; [0040]-[0042]; figures 1-10)
In accordance with the fluorescent lamp type LED illumination device 10 according to the present invention, when AC power supply from the main power source is interrupted in case of power shutdown, for example, even if the LED's 22 are lightened by the first power supply circuit 13 in the normal illumination mode (the first normal illumination mode), this is compulsorily switched to the second power supply circuit 20 so that the LED's are lightened by the battery 19 so as to become usable as an emergency light. The Building Standards Act of Japan requires that the emergency lights should be installed in commercial facility, industrial facility and accommodations, which are illumination devices for assuring necessary illumination to the evacuation route in a room interior or along corridors, in case of power supply shutdown. Under these legal obligations, an emergency light should be kept lightened at a constant luminous intensity (more than one lux, for example, when measured on a floor) for a period of several dozens of minutes to several hours, regardless of ON/OFF of the external switch 27. For this purpose, there is a third power line to be used for detection of the power supply shutdown, in addition to two AC power lines to be used for the normal illumination. By designing such, even after the external switch 27 is turned off for the normal light-out, it is possible to realize a power supply shutdown by detecting that there is electricity flow in the power-supply-shutdown detection line, thereby lighting the interior LED illumination device 10 as the emergency light (Noguchi par. 42).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to provide emergency light remaining illuminate regardless of on/off of the external switch taught by Noguchi reference into the switch apparatus of Devitt et al. and Hoyle et al. reference in order for user to be aware of an emergency situation within an environment.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al. and Noguchi disclose The device of claim 9, further comprising: wherein when the emergency sequence activator switch is configured to be closed, the timing and control circuit is configured to apply a continuous alternating signal to the switching mechanism which alternately closes and opens a connection between a line and a load which supplies and removes power to the at least one electrically connected lighting device in response to the alternating signal when the on switch is in a closed or open position or when the off switch is in a closed or open position.
Having provided an overview of the system of the present invention, the electrical circuits employed therein will now be described. FIG. 4 shows a block diagram of the flasher system, with the surrounding enclosure 30 being indicated by a broken line image. The primary components housed within enclosure 30 include (1) a switch mechanism portion 62, which is operated by the rocker switch described above (or by a lever switch or other suitable switch), (2) a convertor network portion 64, which provides a DC power supply to (3) a timer portion 66 which controls (4) a driver portion 68, which, in turn, controls the activation of (5) a switcher portion 70. As the switcher portion 70 is alternately activated and deactivated by the timer and driver portions, it permits the periodic flow of current from lead 16 to lead 18 through light bulb 14, causing light bulb 14 to flash on and off. Inasmuch as switcher portion 70 is switching 120 volt AC household current, light bulb 14 can be an ordinary 120 volt light bulb, and there is no need to provide special low-voltage lightbulbs for use with the system of the present invention (Hoyle et al. col. 7 lines 24-44).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al. and Noguchi disclose The device of claim 9, further comprising: wherein the emergency sequence activator switch closes when an off button is pressed and held, and the timing and control circuit is configured to apply an alternating signal with a prescribed sequence and a prescribed repetition to the switching mechanism which alternately closes and opens a connection between a line and a load which supplies and removes power to the at least one electrically connected lighting device in response to the alternating signal.
Rocker switch 40 can be manually operated to select one of three positions "on", "off", or "flash". To facilitate its operation, a suitable legend is provided on the outwardly facing surface of the rocker switch; as shown in FIG. 3, the end portions 58, 59 may display the words "on" and "off", and the middle position 60 the word "help". The middle portion or panel 60 may preferably be translucent so that, as will be described below, a flashing light (e.g., an LED or small neon light bulb) mounted within the interior of case 32 can shine therethrough to provide a visual indication that the "help" position has been selected and activated (Hoyle et al. col. 7 lines 12-23). Having provided an overview of the system of the present invention, the electrical circuits employed therein will now be described. FIG. 4 shows a block diagram of the flasher system, with the surrounding enclosure 30 being indicated by a broken line image. The primary components housed within enclosure 30 include (1) a switch mechanism portion 62, which is operated by the rocker switch described above (or by a lever switch or other suitable switch), (2) a convertor network portion 64, which provides a DC power supply to (3) a timer portion 66 which controls (4) a driver portion 68, which, in turn, controls the activation of (5) a switcher portion 70. As the switcher portion 70 is alternately activated and deactivated by the timer and driver portions, it permits the periodic flow of current from lead 16 to lead 18 through light bulb 14, causing light bulb 14 to flash on and off. Inasmuch as switcher portion 70 is switching 120 volt AC household current, light bulb 14 can be an ordinary 120 volt light bulb, and there is no need to provide special low-voltage lightbulbs for use with the system of the present invention (Hoyle et al. col. 7 lines 24-44). Switch mechanism portion 62 includes selectors 72, 72,, which are movable by the rocker switch between "off" positions 73, 73', in which the selectors are physically removed from contact with lead 16 so as to interrupt the flow of current therethrough, to "flash" and "on" positions 74, 74' and 75, 75', in which selector 72 is in contact with lead 16 so as to permit the flow of current therethrough to switcher portion 70. Driver portion 68 provides a control function which periodically actuates switcher portion 70; when switcher portion 70 is actuated, current is permitted to flow through lead 16 to light bulb 14 and lead 18, causing light bulb 14 to be lit (Hoyle et al. col. 7 lines 45-57). Then, when primary selector 72 is moved into contact with the primary "flash" contact 74, and secondary selector 72' moves into contact with secondary "flash" contact 74', power flows from lead 16 via selector 72, junction 92, and lead portion 16c, to the first side of a triac 94. As is well known to those skilled in the art, a triac is a form of relay capable of switching a high voltage, high current circuit on and off. Since the triac 140 is capable of switching 120 volt AC current, there is no need for a transformer or other bulky device to step the current down to some lower voltage, thereby keeping the overall physical size of circuit 80 small enough to fit within a housing which is mountable in a conventional light switch junction box (Hoyle et al. col. 8 lines 11-24).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets rocket switch 40 show in the figures 2-3 comprise 3 buttons as follow: button 58 for on position, button 59 for off position and button 60 for help (emergency activator button) position. Examiner interprets when the button 60 press, the switch will turn a selector to the flash position and the power is alternating on and off for the light flashing on and off.
Claims 4-5, 7-8, 12-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devitt et al. US 4556863, in view of Hoyle et al. US 5270698, in view of Noguchi US 20150155743 and further in view of Williams US 20160148474.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al. and Noguchi teach all the limitation in the claim 1.
The combination of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al. and Noguchi do not explicitly teach The device of claim 1, further comprising: at least one sensor; wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect an emergency; and wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect at least one of the following: a water leak, a reduced level of air quality, radon, smoke, a door positional change, a window positional change, or motion in an area.
Williams teaches The device of claim 1, further comprising: at least one sensor; wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect an emergency; and wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect at least one of the following: a water leak, a reduced level of air quality, radon, smoke, a door positional change, a window positional change, or motion in an area. (Williams US 20160148474 abstract; paragraphs [0012]-[0021]; [0042]-[0045]; figures 1-5;)
In operation, the switch portion 15 is operationally connected to an existing light switch 35 (toggle type, photocell, or the like) such that when the circuit 30 is not enabled by receipt of an enabling signal, the switch functions normally. One or more listening portions 20 are positioned to monitor the audio speaker elements of one or more emergency alarms, such as smoke detectors, burglar alarms, or the like. The listening portions 20 send an enabling signal to the switch portions 15 when they detect an audio signal meeting a predetermined set of criteria. Once enabled, the circuit 30 overrides and bypasses the switch 35 and sequentially energizes and deenergizes the lights normally controlled by the switch 35 in a predetermined distress or alert pattern. The distress pattern is typically enabled until the switch portion 15 receives a reset or cancellation signal input through the user interface 70. In some embodiments, the enabling signal may be manually sent from the remote control 25 (Williams par. 44).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets smoke detectors as a sensor.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute a smoke detector as taught by Williams reference into the modified system of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al. and Noguchi reference and the result of the substitution would be predictable for triggering an emergency flashing light when detecting an emergency event.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al., Noguchi and Williams disclose The device of claim 1, further comprising: the emergency flash switch device is configured to send a push notification to alert authorities of an emergency when the emergency switch activator switch closes.
A plurality of listening portions 20 may be positioned adjacent or close to respective alarm units positioned in different locations and/or for responding to different types of emergencies. Each listening portion 20 is configured to send an enabling signal to one or more switching portions 15 connected to a switch 35 controlling a respective light fixture or lighting system (Williams par. 19). Once enabled by receipt of the enabling signal, the switching circuit 30 overrides the manual switch 35 to alternately energize the light load 90 to flash a predetermined pattern, such as a Morse code SOS or the like, to get the attention of neighbors and/or passersby to alert them to the emergency so that help may be summoned (Williams par. 20). In other embodiments, the switch portion 15 is provided already connected to a switch 35 for original installation. In some embodiments, the switch portion 15 may be connected directly to a power source, such as a standard 120V AC electrical outlet. In other embodiments, the user interface 25 may include a low battery indicator, on/off switch, signal strength indicator, and an on/off length of time feature after a signal is detected, an emergency call button, and/or a test button. In other embodiments, the user interface 25 is part of a mobile telephone app. The emergency call feature, when actuated, may signal the switch portion 15 to override the lighting to flash the predetermined emergency sequence, and may also initiate a predetermined emergency message via the 911 emergency system or the like (Williams par. 45).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al., Noguchi and Williams disclose The device of claim 1, further comprising: wherein the emergency sequence activator switch is configured to be closed by initiation through receiving command from one of the following: a smart phone, a personal computer, a laptop, or a wireless remote.
The remote control portion 25 includes a user interface 70, a radio circuit 75 connected thereto, and a transceiver 80 for communicating with the switch circuit portion 15 and/or the listening circuit portion 20 (Williams par. 15). The switch circuit 30 is configured to, upon receipt of an initializing signal from the listening circuit portion 25, automatically override the switch 35 to energize and deenergize the connected load 90, typically exterior or interior lighting, in a predetermined pattern (Williams par. 17). In other embodiments, the switch portion 15 is provided already connected to a switch 35 for original installation. In some embodiments, the switch portion 15 may be connected directly to a power source, such as a standard 120V AC electrical outlet. In other embodiments, the user interface 25 may include a low battery indicator, on/off switch, signal strength indicator, and an on/off length of time feature after a signal is detected, an emergency call button, and/or a test button. In other embodiments, the user interface 25 is part of a mobile telephone app. The emergency call feature, when actuated, may signal the switch portion 15 to override the lighting to flash the predetermined emergency sequence, and may also initiate a predetermined emergency message via the 911 emergency system or the like (Williams par. 45).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al. and Williams disclose The device of claim 1, further comprising: wherein the device is connected to a wireless network; a bulb; wherein at least one of a prescribed sequence, a prescribed repetition, or a prescribed color is configured to be applied to the bulb through commands received through a wireless network.
The switch circuit portion 15 includes a switching circuit 30 and a transceiver 40 operationally connected thereto for radio or wireless communication with the listening circuit portion 20 (Williams par. 13). The remote control portion 25 includes a user interface 70, a radio circuit 75 connected thereto, and a transceiver 80 for communicating with the switch circuit portion 15 and/or the listening circuit portion 20 (Williams par. 15) .The switch circuit 30 is configured to, upon receipt of an initializing signal from the listening circuit portion 25, automatically override the switch 35 to energize and deenergize the connected load 90, typically exterior or interior lighting, in a predetermined pattern (Williams par. 17). In other embodiments, the switch portion 15 is provided already connected to a switch 35 for original installation. In some embodiments, the switch portion 15 may be connected directly to a power source, such as a standard 120V AC electrical outlet. In other embodiments, the user interface 25 may include a low battery indicator, on/off switch, signal strength indicator, and an on/off length of time feature after a signal is detected, an emergency call button, and/or a test button. In other embodiments, the user interface 25 is part of a mobile telephone app. The emergency call feature, when actuated, may signal the switch portion 15 to override the lighting to flash the predetermined emergency sequence, and may also initiate a predetermined emergency message via the 911 emergency system or the like (Williams par. 45).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets there is a wireless communication between a remote, switch circuit portion and listening circuit portion via transceiver. Examiner interprets the light bulb 90 mention above flashing in a predetermined pattern as same as a prescribed repetition.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al., Noguchi and Williams disclose The device of claim 9, further comprising: at least one sensor; wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect an emergency; and wherein the at least sensor is configured to detect one of the following: a water leak, a reduced level of air quality, radon, smoke, a door positional change, a window positional change, or motion.
In operation, the switch portion 15 is operationally connected to an existing light switch 35 (toggle type, photocell, or the like) such that when the circuit 30 is not enabled by receipt of an enabling signal, the switch functions normally. One or more listening portions 20 are positioned to monitor the audio speaker elements of one or more emergency alarms, such as smoke detectors, burglar alarms, or the like. The listening portions 20 send an enabling signal to the switch portions 15 when they detect an audio signal meeting a predetermined set of criteria. Once enabled, the circuit 30 overrides and bypasses the switch 35 and sequentially energizes and deenergizes the lights normally controlled by the switch 35 in a predetermined distress or alert pattern. The distress pattern is typically enabled until the switch portion 15 receives a reset or cancellation signal input through the user interface 70. In some embodiments, the enabling signal may be manually sent from the remote control 25 (Williams par. 44).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets smoke detectors as a sensor.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al., Noguchi and Williams disclose The device of claim 9, further comprising: the emergency flash switch device is configured to send a push notification to alert authorities of an emergency when the emergency flash activator switch closes.
A plurality of listening portions 20 may be positioned adjacent or close to respective alarm units positioned in different locations and/or for responding to different types of emergencies. Each listening portion 20 is configured to send an enabling signal to one or more switching portions 15 connected to a switch 35 controlling a respective light fixture or lighting system (Williams par. 19). Once enabled by receipt of the enabling signal, the switching circuit 30 overrides the manual switch 35 to alternately energize the light load 90 to flash a predetermined pattern, such as a Morse code SOS or the like, to get the attention of neighbors and/or passersby to alert them to the emergency so that help may be summoned (Williams par. 20). In other embodiments, the switch portion 15 is provided already connected to a switch 35 for original installation. In some embodiments, the switch portion 15 may be connected directly to a power source, such as a standard 120V AC electrical outlet. In other embodiments, the user interface 25 may include a low battery indicator, on/off switch, signal strength indicator, and an on/off length of time feature after a signal is detected, an emergency call button, and/or a test button. In other embodiments, the user interface 25 is part of a mobile telephone app. The emergency call feature, when actuated, may signal the switch portion 15 to override the lighting to flash the predetermined emergency sequence, and may also initiate a predetermined emergency message via the 911 emergency system or the like (Williams par. 45).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al., Noguchi and Williams disclose The device of claim 9, further comprising: wherein the emergency sequence activator switch is closed by initiation through receiving commands from one of the following: a smart phone, a personal computer, a laptop, or a wireless remote.
The remote control portion 25 includes a user interface 70, a radio circuit 75 connected thereto, and a transceiver 80 for communicating with the switch circuit portion 15 and/or the listening circuit portion 20 (Williams par. 15). The switch circuit 30 is configured to, upon receipt of an initializing signal from the listening circuit portion 25, automatically override the switch 35 to energize and deenergize the connected load 90, typically exterior or interior lighting, in a predetermined pattern (Williams par. 17). In other embodiments, the switch portion 15 is provided already connected to a switch 35 for original installation. In some embodiments, the switch portion 15 may be connected directly to a power source, such as a standard 120V AC electrical outlet. In other embodiments, the user interface 25 may include a low battery indicator, on/off switch, signal strength indicator, and an on/off length of time feature after a signal is detected, an emergency call button, and/or a test button. In other embodiments, the user interface 25 is part of a mobile telephone app. The emergency call feature, when actuated, may signal the switch portion 15 to override the lighting to flash the predetermined emergency sequence, and may also initiate a predetermined emergency message via the 911 emergency system or the like (Williams par. 45).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al., Noguchi and Williams disclose The device of claim 9, further comprising: wherein the device is connected to a wireless network; a bulb; wherein at least one of a prescribed sequence, a prescribed repetition, or a prescribed color is configured to be applied to the bulb through commands received through a wireless network.
The switch circuit portion 15 includes a switching circuit 30 and a transceiver 40 operationally connected thereto for radio or wireless communication with the listening circuit portion 20 (Williams par. 13). The remote control portion 25 includes a user interface 70, a radio circuit 75 connected thereto, and a transceiver 80 for communicating with the switch circuit portion 15 and/or the listening circuit portion 20 (Williams par. 15) .The switch circuit 30 is configured to, upon receipt of an initializing signal from the listening circuit portion 25, automatically override the switch 35 to energize and deenergize the connected load 90, typically exterior or interior lighting, in a predetermined pattern (Williams par. 17). In other embodiments, the switch portion 15 is provided already connected to a switch 35 for original installation. In some embodiments, the switch portion 15 may be connected directly to a power source, such as a standard 120V AC electrical outlet. In other embodiments, the user interface 25 may include a low battery indicator, on/off switch, signal strength indicator, and an on/off length of time feature after a signal is detected, an emergency call button, and/or a test button. In other embodiments, the user interface 25 is part of a mobile telephone app. The emergency call feature, when actuated, may signal the switch portion 15 to override the lighting to flash the predetermined emergency sequence, and may also initiate a predetermined emergency message via the 911 emergency system or the like (Williams par. 45).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets there is wireless communication between a remote, switch circuit portion and listening circuit portion via transceiver. Examiner interprets the light bulb 90 mentioned above flashing in a predetermined pattern as same as a prescribed repetition.
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devitt et al. US 4556863 in view of Hoyle et al. US 5270698 in view of Noguchi US 20150155743 and further in view of Gregory US 20100265089.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al. and Noguchi teach all the limitation in the claim 1.
The combination of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al. and Noguchi do not explicitly teach The device of claim 1, further comprising: a color change feature wherein the lighting device changes color; wherein the device is connected to a wireless network; and wherein the color change feature is configured to be initiated by the emergency sequence activator switch.
Gregory teaches The device of claim 1, further comprising: a color change feature wherein the lighting device changes color; wherein the device is connected to a wireless network; and wherein the color change feature is configured to be initiated by the emergency sequence activator switch. (Gregory US 20100265089 abstract; paragraphs [0008]-[0010]; [0017]-[0026]; [0028]-[0036]; figures 1-2)
The smart bulb may be activated between its "constant on" and "constant off" modes using a standard light switch. The smart bulb may be activated to its "blinking" mode either by a standard switch or by another device, including automatic activation if a predetermined emergency number is called. The smart bulb may include a receiver for receiving a signal from a remote and/or wireless source so that the smart bulb may be operated as a normal outdoor (e.g., entry) light using the standard switch, but may be operated as an emergency location indicator using another activation device. In some embodiments the smart bulb may be used in this dual-use capacity without the need for the homeowner to purchase additional fixtures or hardware beyond the smart bulb itself (Gregory par. 10). The emergency light or lights (12) are preferably located on the outside of a building where they can easily be seen by emergency personnel. The lights may be adapted to flash to provide a more noticeable indicator. The lights may be "natural" white, or they may be colored red or another warning color. They may have a brightness common to standard porch lights (comparable to one or more 60 W to 100 W bulbs), or they may have a noticeably greater brightness or intensity. The lights are positioned so as to easily be noticed by emergency response personnel. For example, the lights may be on the building itself, or on another, nearby structure such as a mailbox or lamppost (Gregory par. 29).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the flashing light and the greater brightness or intensity as the color change feature that triggering by the emergency switch or remote control switch.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute a smart light bulb as taught by Gregory reference into the modified system of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al. and Noguchi reference and the result of the substitution would be predictable for the system can activate an emergency flashing light either by a wire switch or from a remote wireless control.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al., Noguchi and Gregory disclose The device of claim 9, further comprising: a color change feature wherein the lighting device changes color; wherein the device is connected to a wireless network; and wherein the color change feature is configured to be initiated by the emergency sequence activator switch.
The smart bulb may be activated between its "constant on" and "constant off" modes using a standard light switch. The smart bulb may be activated to its "blinking" mode either by a standard switch or by another device, including automatic activation if a predetermined emergency number is called. The smart bulb may include a receiver for receiving a signal from a remote and/or wireless source so that the smart bulb may be operated as a normal outdoor (e.g., entry) light using the standard switch, but may be operated as an emergency location indicator using another activation device. In some embodiments the smart bulb may be used in this dual-use capacity without the need for the homeowner to purchase additional fixtures or hardware beyond the smart bulb itself (Gregory par. 10). The emergency light or lights (12) are preferably located on the outside of a building where they can easily be seen by emergency personnel. The lights may be adapted to flash to provide a more noticeable indicator. The lights may be "natural" white, or they may be colored red or another warning color. They may have a brightness common to standard porch lights (comparable to one or more 60 W to 100 W bulbs), or they may have a noticeably greater brightness or intensity. The lights are positioned so as to easily be noticed by emergency response personnel. For example, the lights may be on the building itself, or on another, nearby structure such as a mailbox or lamppost (Gregory par. 29).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the flashing light and the greater brightness or intensity as the color change feature that triggered by the emergency switch or remote-control switch.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devitt et al. US 4556863, in view of Hoyle et al. US 5270698, in view of Noguchi US 20150155743 and further in view of Khandelwal et al. US 20050162267.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al. and Noguchi teach all the limitation in the claim 1.
The combination of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al. and Noguchi do not explicitly teach The device of claim 1, wherein the visual emergency signal comprises a prescribed flashing sequence comprising three flashes followed by a pause, wherein the three flashes followed by the pause are continuously repeated until deactivation of the emergency sequence.
Khandelwal et al. teach The device of claim 1, wherein the visual emergency signal comprises a prescribed flashing sequence comprising three flashes followed by a pause, wherein the three flashes followed by the pause are continuously repeated until deactivation of the emergency sequence. (Khandelwal et al. US 20050162267 abstract; paragraph [0003]; [0005]; [0015]; [0038]-[0040]; figures 1-3)
Such systems commonly use a power line communication protocol such as the X-10 protocol to turn home lights and other devices on and off under software control. In the present application, the home automation controller could be used to flash the home lighting on and off in a particular pattern to alert a user when an emergency alert message is incoming (Khandelwal et al. par. 15). Where the system is configured to flash lights for deaf people, patterns of flashing lights based on the alert level attribute may be implemented. For example, if the warning level is 3, the lights may flash three times, followed by a long pause and then a repeat. A warning level of 2 would flash the lights two times, followed by a long pause, and a repeat (Khandelwal et al. par. 38).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the flash three times and a pause as the emergency flashing sequence.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute a light flashing sequence taught by Khandelwal et al. reference into the modified system of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al. and Noguchi reference and the result of the substitution would be predictable for the system can activate an emergency flashing light.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al., Noguchi and Khandelwal et al. disclose The device of claim 1, wherein the visual emergency signal is configured to identify a structure requiring emergency assistance.
Such systems commonly use a power line communication protocol such as the X-10 protocol to turn home lights and other devices on and off under software control. In the present application, the home automation controller could be used to flash the home lighting on and off in a particular pattern to alert a user when an emergency alert message is incoming (Khandelwal et al. par. 15).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devitt et al. US 4556863, in view of Hoyle et al. US 5270698, in view of Noguchi US 20150155743 and further in view of Reeker et al. US 20170223807.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al. and Noguchi teach all the limitation in the claim 1.
The combination of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al. and Noguchi do not explicitly teach The device of claim 1, wherein the emergency sequence is activatable through a wireless communication interface and through the emergency sequence activator button.
Reeker et al. teach The device of claim 1, wherein the emergency sequence is activatable through a wireless communication interface and through the emergency sequence activator button. (Reeker et al. US 20170223807 abstract; [0172]- [0177]; [0208]-[0214]; [0422]; figures 1-11)
FIG. 5 is a schematic drawing of one embodiment of a remote control 500 in communication with a wireless lighting module 510. In the illustrated embodiment, the user selects a channel number on the remote control 500 through a channel number input 520. Exemplary channel number inputs 520 include DIP switches, buttons, dials, knobs, a keypad, an LED touch-screen, or any other known input device. In an alternative embodiment, a user may select more than one channel number to communicate with a plurality of wireless lighting modules. In other alternative embodiments, the channel number may be preprogrammed, randomly generated, or previously stored in a memory. The user then enters a command through a command input 530. Exemplary command inputs 530 include buttons, switches, dials, knobs, a keypad, an LED touch-screen, or any other known input device. The command may be an “on/off” toggle command, an “on” command, an “off” command, a “dim” command, a “brightness” command, a “color change” command, or a timer command (Reeker et al. par. 172). In an alternative embodiment (not shown), the RF transmitter 550 and the RF receiver 560 are replaced with RF transceivers, thus allowing two-way communication. In this embodiment, the remote control is programmed to repeatedly transmit a command signal until a confirmation signal is received. Additionally, the lighting module is programmed to transmit a confirmation signal upon receipt of an RF signal, or upon a decoded channel number matching a module channel number. According to another example, RF transceivers can enable providing the remote control 500 with feedback concerning a state associated with the wireless lighting module 510 (e.g., whether the LEDs 590 are in an “on” state, an “off” state, a color of the LEDs 590, an intensity of the LEDs 590), battery life, and so forth. Moreover, RF transceivers can allow the wireless lighting module 510 to communicate with disparate wireless lighting module(s) (e.g., to repeat signals) (Reeker et al. par. 177).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute a light wireless control taught by Reeker et al. reference into the modified system of Devitt et al., Hoyle et al. and Noguchi reference in order to provide more convenience to user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the remark applicant argues in substance:
Applicant argument: Applicant argues that arts of record Devitt et al. and Hoyle et al. failed to teach or suggest the amended claims as cited in the independent claims 1 and 9.
Examiner response: The presented arguments are rendered moot in view of the new ground rejection necessitated by amendments initiated by applicant. Please see above rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANG D TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686