DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 and 17-21 are pending
Claims 11 and 17 have been amended
Claim 21 is new
Claim 16 has been canceled
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-8 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boyd et al. US 2004/0084814 (US’814) cited in the IDS filed 1/15/25.
Regarding claim 1, US’814 teaches an automated de-powdering system (unbound powder removal system, abstract), comprising:
a build box defined by a build plate and a plurality of sidewalls, the build plate and the plurality of sidewalls defining a build chamber configured to contain an additive manufacturing build (build chamber, para.18-24, see fig. 2a-b),
the additive manufacturing build comprising one or more objects disposed within a powder build material (object 12 within unbound powder 16, para. 16-24, see fig. 2a-b),
wherein the build plate includes a top side and a bottom side, the bottom side opposite the top side (sliding disk 60 defines the bottom of the build chamber and has a top side defining the floor of the build chamber 28a and a bottom side, para. 26-28, see fig. 2a-c),
wherein the build plate includes at least one passageway extending from the top side to the bottom side (vents 50 in disk 60, para. 25-28, see fig. 2d),
wherein the at least one passageway is defined by at least one passageway sidewall, and wherein the at least one passageway sidewall includes at least one nozzle to direct a fluid into the build chamber to separate at least a portion of the powder build material from the one or more objects (vent 50 and openings 62 have side ways, as shown in fig. 4 and can direct air from air source 70 into the build chamber, para. 33-43 see fig. 5-6);
and at least one fluid source fluidically coupled to the at least one nozzle, the at least one fluid source actuatable to supply the fluid to the at least one nozzle (air source 70 supplies air through openings 62/vents 50 can be turned on and off, para. 33-37, see fig. 4, 5 and 6b).
Regarding claim 5, US’814 teaches the de-powdering system of claim 1. US’814 further teaches a hopper disposed below the build plate, the hopper positioned to collect the portion of the powder build material passing through the at least one passageway (the vacuum system 48 includes a vacuum generator 86 in pneumatic communication with an unbound powder storage chamber 88 wherein unbound powder removed from either the overflow vent 46 or the building chamber 14 by the vacuum system 48 is deposited, para. 26-32, see fig. 2 and 5).
Regarding claim 6, US’814 teaches the de-powdering system of claim 1. US’814 further teaches a transport mechanism actuatable to convey the portion of the powder build material collected by the hopper away from the hopper (the unbound powder storage chamber 88 includes an access door 94, wherein a door is actuatable, (FIG. 1) and a removable receptacle (not shown) therein for collecting the unbound powder 16. Accordingly, the unbound powder 16 can be easily reused by removing the receptacle containing it from the unbound powder Storage chamber 88, and pouring the unbound powder 16 from the receptacle into the source chamber 24, para. 38, see fig. 1, therefore when the door is actuated, the receptacle is able to be conveyed away from the hoper area for reuse)
Regarding claims 7-8, US’814 teaches the de-powdering system of claim 1. US’814 further teaches a shutter assembly movable between an open position and a closed position with respect to the at least one passageway, with regard to claim 7 and wherein the shutter assembly is disposed on the bottom side of the build plate, with regard to claim 8 (The vacuum vents 50 include structures that allow them to be opened and closed. For example, a sliding disk 60 having openings 62 therethrough aligned with the vacuum vents 50 on the floor 28a is operably secured inside the pneumatic chamber 54 adjacent to the upper Surface of the piston 52. The disk 60 is typically in communication with the computer system that can command the disk 60 to an opened position 61 (FIG. 4) wherein the openings 62 in the disk 60 align with the vacuum vents 50, thereby placing the vacuum vents 50 in pneumatic communication with the Vacuum system 48. Alternatively, the disk 60 can be commanded to a closed position 64 (FIG. 3) wherein the openings 62 in the disk 60 do not align with the vacuum vents 50, thereby preventing the vacuum vents 50 from being in pneumatic communication with the vacuum system 48. Para. 27-28, see fig. 3-5).
Regarding claim 21, US’814 teaches the de-powdering system of claim 1. US’814 further teaches wherein the one or more nozzles are configured having an angular orientation such that the one or more nozzles direct fluid upwardly into the build chamber (reduced size opening of disk 60 in floor 28a are oriented normal to the floor to direct pressurized air from air source 70 upward into build chamber 14 when valve 100 is in second position 106, para. 40-43, see fig. 5 and 6B. The examiner notes that the claim does not recite what the nozzle is angled relative to, or by how many degrees. Any nozzle that is pointed in some direction has an “angular orientation” US’814’s nozzle points strain up at a 90° angle to the build plate and that is an angular orientation that directs fluid upwardly into the build chamber)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’814 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Muller et al. US 2015/0258744 (US’744) cited in IDS filed 8-5-25.
Regarding claim 2, US’814 teaches the de-powdering system of claim 1.
US’814 does not teach wherein the at least one passageway comprises at least one funnel-shaped passageway.
US’744 teaches a device for unpacking a component produced by means of an additive manufacturing (para. 1). The unpacking includes holes in the build plate that are openable and closable (para. 52-59). FIGS. 4 a and 4 b schematically show another closing mechanism. According to this embodiment of the invention, the closing mechanism has a number of closures corresponding to the number of through-holes 13 of the construction platform 7, here in the form of plugs 17″ which are arranged underneath the construction platform. The plugs 17″ are formed to selectively close (see FIG. 4 a) and release (see FIG. 4 b) a respectively associated particulate material drain through-hole 13, and are vertically movable relative to the construction platform 7 between a closing position, in which the respective plug 17″ is received in the associated particulate material drain through-hole, and an opening position, in which the respective closure is moved downwards out of the associated particulate material drain through hole 13 and releases the associated particulate material drain through-hole 13. The plugs 17″ are moved relative to the construction platform 7 from the closing position into the opening position, so as to let the fluidized, unconsolidated particulate material drain off downwards through the particulate material drain through-holes 13. the through holes have a upside-down funnel shape (para. 126-127, see fig. 4a-b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of US’814 to include wherein the at least one passageway comprises at least one funnel-shaped passageway because US’744 teaches this is an alternative configuration for the nozzles of US’814 and simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (B).
Claim(s) 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’814 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Andre et al WO 2022/018447 (WO’447) cited in the IDS filed 8-5-25.
Regarding claim 3, US’814 teaches the de-powdering system of claim 1. US’814 further teaches a cover disposed over the build chamber (lid 92 placed over the top of the building chamber 14, para. 35-36, see fig. 5-6) and the fluid source being actuatable (the disks 60, 72a, 72b can be in communication with the computer System, which commands each disk 60, 72a, 82b to align either the large or small openings therethrough with the respective vents 98 based on the commanded position of the valves 100, 102. the air source 70 being activated with the air vents disks 72a, 72b being commanded to their opened positions 76, thereby allowing pressurizing air to enter the building chamber 14 through the air vents 68 while unbound powder 16 continues to exit the building chamber 14 through the vacuum vents 50, para. 36-45).
US’814 does not teach the cover fluidically coupled to the at least one fluid source, the at least one fluid source to supply the fluid to the build chamber via the cover.
WO’447 teaches methods and systems for removing powder from one or more additively manufactured (AM) parts or a powder cake containing one or more AM parts (abstract). The de-powdering chamber 12 includes an inlet 24 configured to introduce a flow of fluid into the de-powdering chamber 12 located on top of the build chamber lid. In alternative embodiments, the de-powdering chamber 12 may include two or more such inlets 24. As will be described in more detail below, flow of fluid through the inlet 24 can be used to agitate/ remove powder 20, and also to move AM parts 14 or to cool a powder cake 16 and AM parts 14 within the de- powdering chamber 12. the inlet 24 includes a moveable nozzle (not shown) for directing a flow of fluid to different areas of the de-powdering chamber 12. In exemplary embodiments, the system is configured to detect the location of one or more AM parts 14 within the de-powdering chamber 12 (e.g. via a camera, ultrasound, laser or other mechanism/device), and to actuate the moveable nozzle to direct a flow of fluid towards the identified location. This makes it possible to increase the rate of de-powdering or agitation/movement of parts 14, since fluid can be directed towards AM parts 14, rather than vacant spaces in the de-powdering chamber 12 (page 23-24, fig. 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of US’814 to include the cover fluidically coupled to the at least one fluid source, the at least one fluid source to supply the fluid to the build chamber via the cover because WO’447 teaches it makes it possible to increase the rate of de-powdering or agitation/movement of parts, since fluid can be directed towards AM parts rather than vacant spaces in the de-powdering chamber and use of known technique to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (C).
Regarding claim 4, US’814 teaches the de-powdering system of claim 1.
US’814 does not teach at least one screen extending over the at least one passageway.
WO’447 teaches methods and systems for removing powder from one or more additively manufactured (AM) parts or a powder cake containing one or more AM parts (abstract). The separating arrangement comprises a screen located within the collection chamber or between the collection chamber and the interface device, wherein the screen is configured to isolate non-recoverable (i.e. large) removed powder particles from reusable (i.e. small) removed powder particles. the separating arrangement may be a screen (not shown) located within the collection chamber 18 or between the collection chamber 18 and the interface device 22 (page 20 28-29, see fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of US’814 to include at least one screen extending over the at least one passageway because WO’447 teaches it can isolate non-recoverable (i.e. large) removed powder particles from reusable (i.e. small) removed powder particles and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’814 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mironets et al. US 2016/0001364 (US’364).
Regarding claims 9-10, US’814 teaches the de-powdering system of claim 1.US’814 further teaches at least one fluid line fluidically coupled to the at least one nozzle (see fig. 1-5), with regard to claims 9-10.
US’814 does not teach wherein the at least one fluid line comprises at least one trap portion, with regard to claim 9 and wherein the at least one fluid line comprises at least one trap portion formed within the build plate, with regard to claim 10.
US’364 teaches atmosphere control in an additive manufacturing environment (para. 1). Environmental control chamber 18 may provide an inert build atmosphere in chamber 12 by filling chamber 12 with an inert gas through, for instance, duct 20 in the direction of arrow 21. The gas may be transported into chamber 12 with blower system 118 in chamber 18. In order to continually provide a fresh environment, gas entering chamber 12 induct 20 is returned to environmental control chamber 18 through duct 22 in the direction of arrow 23. Gas returning through duct 22 naturally contains loose powder from the additive manufacturing build process. As a result, gas entering chamber 12 through duct 20 needs to be filtered. Filter system 120 is a required component of environmental control chamber 18 for powder based additive manufacturing (para. 13). Wherein a filter reads on a trap
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of US’814 to include herein the at least one fluid line comprises at least one trap portion, with regard to claim 9 and wherein the at least one fluid line comprises at least one trap portion formed within the build plate, with regard to claim 10 because US’364 teaches filters can be used in additive manufacturing chamber environments to prevent loose powder from entering ducts of gas supply lines and use of known technique to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (C).
Claim(s) 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyd et al. US 2004/0084814 (US’814) in view of Andre et al WO 2022/018447 (WO’447) cited in the IDS filed 8-5-25.
Regarding claim 11, US’814 teaches an automated de-powdering method (unbound powder removal system, abstract), comprising:
securing a cover to a build box (lid 92 placed over the top of the building chamber 14, para. 35-36, see fig. 5-6),
the box fluidically coupled to a fluid source (air source 70 can direct air into the chamber, para. 33-43),
the build box containing an additive manufacturing build with one or more objects disposed within a powder build material (object 12 within unbound powder 16, para. 16-24, see fig. 2a-b);
securing a hopper to a build plate of the build box (unbound powder storage chamber 88 wherein unbound powder removed from the building chamber 14 by the vacuum system 48 is deposited, sliding disk 60 defines the bottom of the build chamber and has a top side defining the floor of the build chamber 28a and a bottom side, para. 26-28, see fig. 2a-c),
the hopper fluidically coupled to a vacuum source (the vacuum system 48 includes a vacuum generator 86 in pneumatic communication with an unbound powder storage chamber 88 wherein unbound powder removed from either the overflow vent 46 or the building chamber 14 by the vacuum system 48 is deposited, para. 32, see fig. 2 and 5),
wherein the build plate includes a top side and a bottom side, the bottom side opposite the top side (sliding disk 60 defines the bottom of the build chamber and has a top side defining the floor of the build chamber 28a and a bottom side, para. 26-28, see fig. 2a-c),
wherein the build plate includes at least one passageway extending from the top side to the bottom side (vents 50 in disk 60, para. 25-28, see fig. 2d),
wherein the at least one passageway is defined by at least one passageway sidewall, and wherein the at least one passageway sidewall includes at least one nozzle to direct a fluid into the build chamber to separate at least a portion of the powder build material from the one or more objects (vent 50 and openings 62 have side ways, as shown in fig. 4 and can direct air from air source 70 into the build chamber, para. 33-43 see fig. 5-6);
and actuating at least one of the fluid source or the vacuum source to separate at least a portion of the powder build material from the one or more objects (as shown in FIG. 5, the vacuum vents 50 can be in the side walls 66 of the building chamber 14 and the air vents 68 can be on the floor 28a of the building chamber 14. In such case, pneumatic tube 80 is flexible and runs from the air source 70 to the air vents 68 on the moveable floor 28a of the building chamber 14, and pneumatic tube 56 operably engages the vacuum system 48 and the vacuum vents 50 positioned on the side walls 66 of the building chamber 14, para. 25-28, 40, see fig. 6b),
the portion of the powder build material separated from the one or more objects leaving the build box via the one or more passageways into the hopper (see fig. 5 and 6b the vacuum vents draw air and unbound particles from the chamber and into the storage chamber, para. 25-44).
US’814 does the cover fluidically coupled to the fluid source.
WO’447 teaches methods and systems for removing powder from one or more additively manufactured (AM) parts or a powder cake containing one or more AM parts (abstract). The de-powdering chamber 12 includes an inlet 24 configured to introduce a flow of fluid into the de-powdering chamber 12 located on top of the build chamber lid. In alternative embodiments, the de-powdering chamber 12 may include two or more such inlets 24. As will be described in more detail below, flow of fluid through the inlet 24 can be used to agitate/ remove powder 20, and also to move AM parts 14 or to cool a powder cake 16 and AM parts 14 within the de- powdering chamber 12. the inlet 24 includes a moveable nozzle (not shown) for directing a flow of fluid to different areas of the de-powdering chamber 12. In exemplary embodiments, the system is configured to detect the location of one or more AM parts 14 within the de-powdering chamber 12 (e.g. via a camera, ultrasound, laser or other mechanism/device), and to actuate the moveable nozzle to direct a flow of fluid towards the identified location. This makes it possible to increase the rate of de-powdering or agitation/movement of parts 14, since fluid can be directed towards AM parts 14, rather than vacant spaces in the de-powdering chamber 12 (page 23-24, fig. 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of US’814 to include the cover fluidically coupled to the fluid source because WO’447 teaches it makes it possible to increase the rate of de-powdering or agitation/movement of parts, since fluid can be directed towards AM parts rather than vacant spaces in the de-powdering chamber and use of known technique to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (C).
Regarding claim 12, the modified method of US’814 teaches the de-powdering method of claim 11. US’814 further teaches actuating a shutter assembly to open the one or more passageways (The vacuum vents 50 include structures that allow them to be opened and closed. For example, a sliding disk 60 having openings 62 therethrough aligned with the vacuum vents 50 on the floor 28a is operably secured inside the pneumatic chamber 54 adjacent to the upper Surface of the piston 52. The disk 60 is typically in communication with the computer system that can command the disk 60 to an opened position 61 (FIG. 4) wherein the openings 62 in the disk 60 align with the vacuum vents 50, thereby placing the vacuum vents 50 in pneumatic communication with the Vacuum system 48. Alternatively, the disk 60 can be commanded to a closed position 64 (FIG. 3) wherein the openings 62 in the disk 60 do not align with the vacuum vents 50, thereby preventing the vacuum vents 50 from being in pneumatic communication with the vacuum system 48. Para. 27-28, see fig. 3-5).
Regarding claim 13, the modified method of US’814 teaches the de-powdering method of claim 11. US’814 further teaches actuating at least one agitation mechanism with respect to the build box to induce vibrations into the additive manufacturing build (a vibration generator 96 is operably secured to the building chamber 14 Such that when activated, the vibration generator 96 vibrates the building chamber 14 to loosen unbound powder within the chamber para. 31-37).
Regarding claim 14, the modified method of US’814 teaches the de-powdering method of claim 11. US’814 further teaches collecting, via the hopper, the portion of the powder build material separated from the one or more objects (unbound powder removed from either the overflow vent 46 or the building chamber 14 by the vacuum system 48 is deposited in the storage chamber 88, para. 32-37, see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, the modified method of US’814 teaches the de-powdering method of claim 11. US’814 further teaches further comprising conveying the portion of the powder build material collected by the hopper away from the hopper (the unbound powder storage chamber 88 includes an access door 94 (FIG. 1) and a removable receptacle (not shown) therein for collecting the unbound powder 16. Accordingly, the unbound powder 16 can be easily reused by removing the receptacle containing it from the unbound powder Storage chamber 88, and pouring the unbound powder 16 from the receptacle into the source chamber 24, para. 38, see fig. 1)
Claim(s) 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyd et al. US 2004/0084814 (US’814) in view of Andre et al WO 2022/018447 (WO’447).
Regarding claim 17, US’814 teaches an automated de-powdering system (unbound powder removal system, abstract), comprising:
a build box defined by a build plate and a plurality of sidewalls, the build plate and the plurality of sidewalls defining a build chamber configured to contain an additive manufacturing build (build chamber, para.18-24, see fig. 2a-b),
the additive manufacturing build including one or more objects suspended within a powder build material (object 12 within unbound powder 16, para. 16-24, see fig. 2a-b), and
wherein the build plate includes a top side and a bottom side, the bottom side opposite the top side (sliding disk 60 defines the bottom of the build chamber and has a top side defining the floor of the build chamber 28a and a bottom side, para. 26-28, see fig. 2a-c),
wherein the build plate includes at least one passageway extending from the top side to the bottom side (vents 50 in disk 60, para. 25-28, see fig. 2d),
wherein the at least one passageway is defined by at least one passageway sidewall, and wherein the at least one passageway sidewall includes at least one nozzle to direct a fluid into the build chamber to separate at least a portion of the powder build material from the one or more objects (vent 50 and openings 62 have side ways, as shown in fig. 4 and can direct air from air source 70 into the build chamber, para. 33-43 see fig. 5-6);
a cover couplable to the build box (lid 92 placed over the top of the building chamber 14, para. 35-36, see fig. 5-6),
the build box fluidically couplable to a fluid source (air source 70 can direct air into the chamber, para. 33-43)
a hopper couplable to the build plate, the hopper fluidically coupled to a vacuum source (unbound powder storage chamber 88 wherein unbound powder removed from the building chamber 14 by the vacuum system 48 is deposited, sliding disk 60 defines the bottom of the build chamber and has a top side defining the floor of the build chamber 28a and a bottom side, para. 26-32, see fig. 2a-c).
and a controller configured to actuate at least one of the fluid source or the vacuum source to separate at least a portion of the powder build material from the one or more objects, the portion of the powder build material separated from the one or more objects leaving the build box via the at least one passageway into the hopper (a computer system controls the system, para. 18-27 and 44-46, unbound powder storage chamber 88 wherein unbound powder removed from the building chamber 14 by the vacuum system 48 is deposited, sliding disk 60 defines the bottom of the build chamber and has a top side defining the floor of the build chamber 28a and a bottom side, para. 26-28, see fig. 2a-c, as shown in FIG. 5, the vacuum vents 50 can be in the side walls 66 of the building chamber 14 and the air vents 68 can be on the floor 28a of the building chamber 14. In such case, pneumatic tube 80 is flexible and runs from the air source 70 to the air vents 68 on the moveable floor 28a of the building chamber 14, and pneumatic tube 56 operably engages the vacuum system 48 and the vacuum vents 50 positioned on the side walls 66 of the building chamber 14, para. 25-28, 40, see fig. 6b).
US’814 does the cover fluidically couplable to the fluid source.
WO’447 teaches methods and systems for removing powder from one or more additively manufactured (AM) parts or a powder cake containing one or more AM parts (abstract). The de-powdering chamber 12 includes an inlet 24 configured to introduce a flow of fluid into the de-powdering chamber 12 located on top of the build chamber lid. In alternative embodiments, the de-powdering chamber 12 may include two or more such inlets 24. As will be described in more detail below, flow of fluid through the inlet 24 can be used to agitate/ remove powder 20, and also to move AM parts 14 or to cool a powder cake 16 and AM parts 14 within the de- powdering chamber 12. the inlet 24 includes a moveable nozzle (not shown) for directing a flow of fluid to different areas of the de-powdering chamber 12. In exemplary embodiments, the system is configured to detect the location of one or more AM parts 14 within the de-powdering chamber 12 (e.g. via a camera, ultrasound, laser or other mechanism/device), and to actuate the moveable nozzle to direct a flow of fluid towards the identified location. This makes it possible to increase the rate of de-powdering or agitation/movement of parts 14, since fluid can be directed towards AM parts 14, rather than vacant spaces in the de-powdering chamber 12 (page 23-24, fig. 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of US’814 to include the cover fluidically couplable to the fluid source because WO’447 teaches it makes it possible to increase the rate of de-powdering or agitation/movement of parts, since fluid can be directed towards AM parts rather than vacant spaces in the de-powdering chamber and use of known technique to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (C).
Regarding claim 18, the modified system of US’814 teaches the de-powdering system of claim 17. US’814 further teaches a shutter assembly, the controller configured to actuate the shutter assembly to place the at least one passageway in either an open position or a closed position (The vacuum vents 50 include structures that allow them to be opened and closed. For example, a sliding disk 60 having openings 62 therethrough aligned with the vacuum vents 50 on the floor 28a is operably secured inside the pneumatic chamber 54 adjacent to the upper Surface of the piston 52. The disk 60 is typically in communication with the computer system that can command the disk 60 to an opened position 61 (FIG. 4) wherein the openings 62 in the disk 60 align with the vacuum vents 50, thereby placing the vacuum vents 50 in pneumatic communication with the Vacuum system 48. Alternatively, the disk 60 can be commanded to a closed position 64 (FIG. 3) wherein the openings 62 in the disk 60 do not align with the vacuum vents 50, thereby preventing the vacuum vents 50 from being in pneumatic communication with the vacuum system 48. Para. 27-28, see fig. 3-5).
Regarding claim 19, the modified system of US’814 teaches the de-powdering system of claim 17. WO’447 further teaches the separating arrangement comprises a screen located within the collection chamber or between the collection chamber and the interface device, wherein the screen is configured to isolate non-recoverable (i.e. large) removed powder particles from reusable (i.e. small) removed powder particles. the separating arrangement may be a screen (not shown) located within the collection chamber 18 or between the collection chamber 18 and the interface device 22 (page 20 28-29, see fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified system of US’814 to include at least one screen element positioned with respect to the at least one passageway to prevent the one or more objects from passing through the at least one passageway because WO’447 teaches it can isolate non-recoverable (i.e. large) removed powder particles from reusable (i.e. small) removed powder particles and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Regarding claim 20, the modified method of US’814 teaches the de-powdering system of claim 17. US’814 further teaches comprising at least one agitation mechanism, wherein the controller is configured to actuate the at least one agitation mechanism with respect to the build box to induce vibrations into the additive manufacturing build (a vibration generator 96 is operably secured to the building chamber 14 Such that when activated, the vibration generator 96 vibrates the building chamber 14 to loosen unbound powder within the chamber. The vibration generator 96 in Some embodiments is usually in communication with the computer System and activated as needed by the computer System para. 31-46).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to independent claims 11 and 17 to include subject matter regarding a passageway including at least one nozzle has changed the scope of claim 1. However, upon further consideration, the teachings of US’814 still appear to read on the claimed invention therefore a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 103 as obvious over US’814 in view of WO’447 which includes both the rejection of claims 11 and 17 as stated in the non-final office action mailed 5-13-26 and additional discussion regarding the teachings of US’814 relating to the features added to claims 11 and 17.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 7-28-26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants statement that Boyd's FIG. 4 is shown since it is of relatively higher magnification and it is substantively similar to each of Boyd's FIG. 2-6 for the reasons discussed below is not an accurate characterization of the figure. US’814’s description of the drawings identifies each figure as depicting a different operating phase, valve or disk state, and vent configurations. These differences are relevant to the claim limitations and by treating fig. 4 as representative of the entire discloser applicant is ignoring a substantial amount of the teachings of US’814. Although there are overlapping features shared between the drawing, the particular embodiment discussed in the nonfinal officiation action discussed features related to the embodiment shown in fig. 5 that includes delivering gas through opening in the build plate, as discussed above and the in the non-final office action. A patent as a reference is not limited to any single embodiment, they are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain, see MPEP 2123.
Applicants’ argument that Boyd in no way teaches a single build plate through which a passageway extends and in which a nozzle is integrated has been considered but is not deemed persuasive. The claim recites “the build plate includes a top side and a bottom side, the bottom side opposite the top side”. “build plate” as defined by the claim is not limited to a structure made of a single piece of material, a build plate can encompass a multipart article, such as disk 60 of US’814, that supports the build material in the build chamber during fabrication. Additionally, claim 1 does not recite any particular shape, sperate material or configuration of the nozzle. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the term nozzle is an opening or constricted outlet through which fluid is discharged and directed. As discussed in US’814 para 43, “The disks 60, 72a, 72b of some embodiments corresponding with the vents 98 typically include two different sized openings that can be aligned with each vent 98 in their respective opened position. One opening is smaller than the other. The smaller opening is aligned with the vent 98 when the vent 98 is providing pressurized air to the building chamber 14. The reduced size of the opening increases the velocity of the air entering the building chamber, thereby facilitating movement of the unbound powder within the chamber”. Claim 1 reads “the at least one passageway sidewall includes at least one nozzle to direct a fluid into the build chamber”. This does not require a separate part to be integrated, as argued by applicant, or otherwise combined with the build plate. “Include” is vague as to how the passageway and nozzle structure are defined and does not clearly define how the nozzle is included. It can read on either a separate nozzle component attached to the sidewall or a portion of the sidewall that is shaped to form the nozzle, such as the constricted outlets of US’814 formed by the sidewall geometry. The transitional term "including" is synonymous with "comprising" "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended, see MPEP 21111.03. As a result, a sidewall portion that constricts the passageway to discharge and direct fluid is part of the sidewall, so the sidewall “includes” that nozzle.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN F BERGNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713