DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “…a coherent signal generated by interference of an LO..” LO is not explicitly defined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaChapelle et al. (US 20220291349 A1; hereafter LaChapelle) in view of SHAH et al. (US 20220334231 A1; hereafter SHAH), and further in view of Satyan et al. (US 20140104593 A1; hereafter Satyan).
As of Claim 1: LaChapelle teaches a hybrid LiDAR system (¶0096 and note that a hybrid pulsed/coherent lidar system in which the light source 110 emits LO light 430 and pulses of light 400, where each emitted pulse of light 400 is coherent with a corresponding portion of the LO light 430.) comprising: a light source configured to generate reference light; a first transmitting part configured to modulate the reference light to generate a pulse signal; a second transmitting part configured to modulate a frequency of the reference light to generate a frequency-modulated signal (¶¶0025,0041,0047-0050 and note that a lidar system 100 may be a FMCW lidar system where the emitted light from the light source 110 (e.g., output beam 125 in FIG. 1 or FIG. 3) includes frequency-modulated light. A pulsed lidar system is a type of lidar system 100 in which the light source 110 emits pulses of light, and the distance to a remote target 130 is determined based on the round-trip time-of-flight for a pulse of light to travel to the target 130 and back. Another type of lidar system 100 is a frequency-modulated lidar system, which may be referred to as a frequency-modulated continuous-wave (FMCW) lidar system. A FMCW lidar system uses frequency-modulated light to determine the distance to a remote target 130 based on a frequency of received light (which includes emitted light scattered by the remote target) relative to a frequency of local-oscillator (LO) light.).
SHAH is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced SHAH teaches a lidar system includes a light source configured to emit (i) local-oscillator light and (ii) pulses of light. The lidar system also includes a receiver configured to detect the local-oscillator light and a received pulse of light, the received pulse of light including a portion of one of the emitted pulses of light scattered by a target located a distance from the lidar system that would have prompted a predictable variation of LaChapelle by applying SHAH’s known principal of a single optical detector configured to receive a reflected pulse signal and a reflected frequency-modulated signal generated by the pulse signal and the frequency- modulated signal (¶¶0043,0081,0097,0101,0106,0224) ;wherein the single optical detector comprises: a first receiving part configured to detect a coherent signal generated by interference of an LO signal of the second transmitting part and the reflected frequency-modulated signal (¶¶0054,0186); and a second receiving part provided adjacent to the first receiving part and configured to detect the reflected pulse signal (¶¶0043,0081,0097,0101,0106,0224 and note that FIG. 28 illustrates an example two-sided detector 340 indicating transmitted and reflection portions of a received pulse of light 410 and LO light 430. The received pulse of light 410 (which is part of the input light 135) enters the detector 340 through AR coating 344-1 of input side 1, which may have a reflectivity of less than 5% at the wavelength of input light 135. LO light 430 enters the detector 340 through PR coating 344-2 of input side 2, which may have a reflectivity between 10% and 99% at the wavelength of LO light 430. The wavelengths of the LO light 430 and the input light 135 may be approximately equal. The transmitted portion of the received pulse of light 410-T represents the portion of the received pulse of light 410 that is transmitted into the active region 341 of the detector 340. The reflected portion of the received pulse of light 410-R represents the portion of the received pulse of light 410 that is reflected at the PR coating 344-2 of input side 2. The transmitted portion of LO light 430-T represents the portion of LO light 430 that is transmitted through the PR coating 344-2 of input side 2.).
In view of the motivations such as providing compact detector arrangement in which received LiDAR light and LO light are supplied to a common detector from different sides to perform coherent detection thereby further reducing receiver complexity and provide simultaneous acquisition of short-range pulse and long-range coherent information and one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of LaChapelle.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Satyan is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Satyan teaches detection apparatus and method for FMCW LIDAR employ signals that are modified so that low-cost and low-speed photodetector arrays, such as CCD or CMOS cameras, can be employed for range detection. The LIDAR is designed to measure the range to one or more targets and includes a single mode swept frequency laser (SFL), whose optical frequency is varied with time, as a result of which, a target beam which is reflected back by the one or more targets is shifted in frequency from a reference beam by an amount that is proportional to the relative range to the one or more targets that would have prompted a predictable variation of LaChapelle by applying Satyan’s known principal of a main controller connected to the single optical detector and configured to use the reflected signals acquired by the single optical detector to acquire three- dimensional images (¶¶0036,0037 and note that FIG. 3, a modification of the FMCW LIDAR 10 of FIG. 1A is illustrated which is specifically designed to implement the TomICam concepts disclosed in the '962 application in combination with CS. This embodiment is useful in situations where the total number of targets k, whose ranges and reflectivities are to be determined, is sparse relative to the total number of slices N that are required to provide a full three-dimensional image using the TomICam approach. In this embodiment, a modulator 34 is disposed between the SFL 14 and the target arm 20 and reference arm 24 (also referred to as the local oscillator or LO arm) of the interferometer 16.).
In view of the motivations such as using the 3-D imaging detector arrangement with the hybrid pulse LiDAR arrangement to obtain three-dimensional imaging while benefitting from the complementary characteristics of the two ranging techniques thereby further drastically reducing the number of measurements necessary to generate a full 3-D image, leading to additional advantages such as lower power requirements and image acquisition speeds as disclosed in paragraph 003 of Satyan and one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of LaChapelle.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As of Claim 2: LaChapelle in view of SHAH in view of Satyan further teaches a first beam splitter provided between the light source and the first and second transmitting parts to split the reference light (LaChapelle ¶¶0253).
As of Claim 3: LaChapelle in view of SHAH in view of Satyan further teaches the first transmitting part comprises: a first modulator configured to modulate the reference light to generate the pulse signal; a first amplifier configured to amplify the pulse signal; and a first optical transmission system configured to transmit the pulse signal to an outside (LaChapelle ¶¶0048,0063,0096-0097 and note thata hybrid pulsed/coherent lidar system 100 may include a light source 110 configured to emit pulses of light 400 and LO light 430. The emitted pulses of light 400 may be part of an output beam 125 that is scanned by a scanner 120 across a field of regard of the lidar system 100, and the LO light 430 may be sent to a receiver 140 of the lidar system 100. The light source 110 may include a seed laser that produces seed light 440 and the LO light 430. Additionally, the light source 110 may include an optical amplifier that amplifies the seed light to produce the emitted pulses of light 400. For example, the optical amplifier may be a pulsed optical amplifier that amplifies temporal portions of the seed light to produce the emitted pulses of light 400, where each amplified temporal portion of the seed light corresponds to one of the emitted pulses of light 400. The pulses of light 400 emitted by the light source 110 may have one or more of the following optical characteristics: a wavelength between 900 nm and 2000 nm; a pulse energy between 0.01 μJ and 100 μJ; a pulse repetition frequency between 80 kHz and 10 MHz; and a pulse duration between 0.1 ns and 100 ns. For example, the light source 110 may emit pulses of light 400 with a wavelength of approximately 1550 nm, a pulse energy of approximately 0.50 per pulse, a pulse repetition frequency of approximately 750 kHz, and a pulse duration of approximately 3 ns. As another example, the light source 110 may emit pulses of light with a wavelength from approximately 1500 nm to approximately 1510 nm.).
As of Claim 4: LaChapelle in view of SHAH in view of Satyan further teaches the second transmitting part comprises: a second modulator configured to modulate the reference light to generate a frequency-modulated signal; a second amplifier configured to amplify the frequency-modulated signal; and a second optical transmission system configured to radiate the frequency- modulated signal (LaChapelle ¶¶0049,00077 and note that an optical signal (which may be referred to as a light signal, a light waveform, an optical waveform, an output beam, an emitted optical signal, or emitted light) may include pulses of light, CW light, amplitude-modulated light, frequency-modulated (FM) light, or any suitable combination thereof. Although this disclosure describes or illustrates example embodiments of lidar systems 100 or light sources 110 that produce optical signals that include pulses of light, the embodiments described or illustrated herein may also be applied, where appropriate, to other types of optical signals, including continuous-wave (CW) light, amplitude-modulated optical signals, or frequency-modulated optical signals. For example, a lidar system 100 as described or illustrated herein may be a pulsed lidar system and may include a light source 110 configured to produce pulses of light. Alternatively, a lidar system 100 may be configured to operate as a frequency-modulated continuous-wave (FMCW) lidar system and may include a light source 110 configured to produce CW light or a frequency-modulated optical signal. Also, SHAH ¶¶0063,0069).
As of Claim 5: LaChapelle in view of SHAH in view of Satyan further teaches a second beam splitter provided between the second modulator and the second amplifier to split the reference light (SHAH ¶¶0054,0139-0140,0191 and note that he beam-splitter 470 may be arranged to reflect a portion of the output light 472 to produce the seed light 440 and transmit a portion of the output light 472 to produce the LO light 430. Also, receiver 140 that includes two polarization beam-splitters 650. In particular embodiments, a receiver 140 may include a LO-light polarization splitter 650 that splits LO light 430 into two orthogonal polarization components (e.g., horizontal and vertical). Additionally, the receiver 140 may include an input-beam polarization splitter 650 that splits an input beam 135 (which includes a received pulse of light 410) into the same two orthogonal polarization components. In FIG. 19, the LO-light polarization beam-splitter (PBS) 650 splits the LO light 430 into a horizontally polarized LO-light beam 430H and a vertically polarized LO-light beam 430V. Similarly, the input-beam PBS 650 splits the input beam 135 into a horizontally polarized input beam 135H and a vertically polarized input beam 135V.).
As of Claim 6: LaChapelle in view of SHAH in view of Satyan further teaches the second transmitting part further comprises: a signal generation and linearization system provided between the second beam splitter and the second modulator; and a third beam splitter provided between the second beam splitter and the signal generation and linearization system (SHAH ¶¶0140,0191).
As of Claim 7: LaChapelle in view of SHAH in view of Satyan further teaches a transmission mirror provided between the third beam splitter and the first receiving part and configured to provide the LO signal, which is a portion of the frequency- modulated signal, to the first receiving part (SHAH ¶¶0043,0054,0055-0060 and note that lidar system 100 may include one or more optical components configured to reflect, focus, filter, shape, modify, steer, or direct light within the lidar system 100 or light produced or received by the lidar system 100 (e.g., output beam 125 or input beam 135). As an example, lidar system 100 may include one or more lenses, mirrors, filters (e.g., band-pass or interference filters), beam splitters, polarizers, polarizing beam splitters, wave plates (e.g., half-wave or quarter-wave plates), diffractive elements, holographic elements, isolators, optical splitters, couplers, detectors, beam combiners, or collimators. The optical components in a lidar system 100 may be free-space optical components, fiber-coupled optical components, or a combination of free-space and fiber-coupled optical components.).
As of Claim 8: LaChapelle in view of SHAH in view of Satyan further teaches the single optical detector further comprises a rapid optical detector area (SHAH ¶¶0063,0069).
As of Claim 9: LaChapelle in view of SHAH in view of Satyan further teaches each of the first receiving part and the second receiving part further comprises sub-optical detector areas (LaChapelle ¶¶0062,0170,0198 and note that a two-sided detector 340 may be referred to as a detector with two-sided illumination, a detector that is illuminated from two sides, a dual-sided detector, a double-sided detector, or a dual-entry detector. In FIG. 22, the detector 340 has two optical-input sides (input side 1 and input side 2), where input side 1 is located opposite input side 2. The input beam 135 with the received pulse of light 410 is incident on input side 1 of the detector, and the LO light 430 is incident on input side 2 of the detector.).
As of Claim 10: LaChapelle in view of SHAH in view of Satyan further teaches each of the first receiving part and the second receiving part further comprises a transimpedance amplifier (LaChapelle ¶¶0063,0048,0198 and note that receiver 140 may include electronic circuitry that performs signal amplification, sampling, filtering, signal conditioning, analog-to-digital conversion, time-to-digital conversion, pulse detection, threshold detection, rising-edge detection, or falling-edge detection. As an example, receiver 140 may include a transimpedance amplifier that converts a received photocurrent (e.g., a current produced by an APD in response to a received optical signal) into a voltage signal.).
Conclusion
/MEKONNEN D DAGNEW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638