DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-10 of U.S. Application 19/021468 filed on January 15, 2025 are presented for examination.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on January 15, 2025, July 1, 2025 and February 5, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohira (US 20190238023).
Regarding claim 1, Ohira teaches (see fig. 2 below) a rotor (10) of an electric motor (¶ 21 to ¶ 23; Abstract), comprising:
a shaft (20) extending in an axial direction (¶ 21 to ¶ 23; Abstract);
a rotor core (30) fixed to an outer peripheral surface of the shaft (20) (¶ 21 to ¶ 23; Abstract); and
a first end plate (50) fixed to the outer peripheral surface of the shaft (20) and abutting an end face of the rotor core (30) on a first axial side (Abstract; ¶ 21; ¶ 27 to ¶ 31),
wherein: the outer peripheral surface of the shaft (20) includes a first outer peripheral surface (see annotated fig. 2 below) abutting an inner peripheral surface of the rotor core (30), a second outer peripheral surface (see annotated fig. 2 below) located on the first axial side with respect to the first outer peripheral surface (see annotated fig. 2 below) and having a diameter larger than a diameter of the first outer peripheral surface (Abstract; ¶ 23), and
a first inclined surface (24) located between the first outer peripheral surface (see annotated fig. 2 below) and the second outer peripheral surface (see annotated fig. 2 below) in the axial direction and abutting an inner peripheral surface of the first end plate (50); and the first inclined surface (24) has a diameter increasing from the first outer peripheral surface (see annotated fig. 2 below) toward the second outer peripheral surface (see annotated fig. 2 below) (Abstract; ¶ 23).
Regarding claim 4/1, Ohira teaches (see fig. 2 above) a diameter of an outer peripheral surface of the first end plate (20) is equal to the diameter of the outer peripheral surface of the rotor core (30) (fig. 2; Abstract; ¶ 21 to ¶ 23).
Regarding claim 5/1, Ohira teaches (see fig. 2 above) an end edge of the inner peripheral surface of the first end plate (20) on the first axial side is located on the first inclined surface (24) of the shaft (20) (fig. 2; Abstract; ¶ 21 to ¶ 23).
Regarding claim 6/5/1, Ohira teaches (see fig. 2 above) the end edge of the inner peripheral surface of the first end plate (20) on the first axial side is located on a boundary between the second outer peripheral surface (see annotated fig. 2 above) and the first inclined surface (24) of the shaft (20) (fig. 2; Abstract; ¶ 21 to ¶ 23).
Regarding claim 7/6/5/1, Ohira teaches (see fig. 2 above) an axial dimension of the inner peripheral surface of the first end plate (20) is equal to an axial dimension of the first inclined surface (24) of the shaft (20) (fig. 2; Abstract; ¶ 21 to ¶ 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohira in view of Okamoto (US 20080174200).
Regarding claim 9, Ohira teaches (see fig. 2 above) a manufacturing method of a rotor (10) of an electric motor (Abstract; ¶ 21 to ¶ 23; ¶ 30; ¶ 31),
the rotor (10) including a shaft (20) extending in an axial direction, a rotor core (30) fixed to an outer peripheral surface of the shaft (20) (Abstract; ¶ 21 to ¶ 23), and
a first end plate (50) fixed to the outer peripheral surface of the shaft (20) and abutting an end face of the rotor core (30) on a first axial side (Abstract; ¶ 21; ¶ 27 to ¶ 31),
the outer peripheral surface of the shaft (20) including a first outer peripheral surface (see annotated fig. 2 above), a second outer peripheral surface (see annotated fig. 2 above) located on the first axial side with respect to the first outer peripheral surface (see annotated fig. 2 above) and having a diameter larger than a diameter of the first outer peripheral surface (see annotated fig. 2 above) (Abstract; ¶ 23), and
a first inclined surface (24) located between the first outer peripheral surface (see annotated fig. 2 above) and the second outer peripheral surface (see annotated fig. 2 above) in the axial direction and having a diameter increasing from the first outer peripheral surface (see annotated fig. 2 above) toward the second outer peripheral surface (Abstract; ¶ 23),
the manufacturing method comprising: fixing the first end plate (50) to the first inclined surface (24) of the shaft (20) (¶ 30; ¶ 31).
Ohira does not explicitly teach the manufacturing method comprising: temporarily expanding an inner peripheral surface of the rotor core radially outward and fixing the rotor core to the first outer peripheral surface of the shaft; and temporarily expanding an inner peripheral surface of the first end plate radially outward and fixing the first end plate to the surface of the shaft.
However, Okamoto teaches (see figs. 13A and 13B below) the manufacturing method comprising: temporarily expanding an inner peripheral surface of the rotor core (17) radially outward and fixing the rotor core (17) to the first outer peripheral surface of the shaft (15); and temporarily expanding an inner peripheral surface of the first end plate (20) radially outward and fixing the first end plate (20) to the surface of the shaft (since the rotor core 17 and end plate 20 are shrink-fitted onto the shaft 15, see ¶ 64) in order to provide ease of assembly while improving reliability and production quality of the device (Okamoto, ¶ 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ohira and provide the manufacturing method comprising: temporarily expanding an inner peripheral surface of the rotor core radially outward and fixing the rotor core to the first outer peripheral surface of the shaft; and temporarily expanding an inner peripheral surface of the first end plate radially outward and fixing the first end plate to the surface of the shaft as taught by Okamoto in order to provide ease of assembly while improving reliability and production quality of the device (Okamoto, ¶ 11).
Regarding claim 10/9, Ohira in view of Okamoto teaches the method of claim 9 but does not explicitly teach fixing the first end plate is performed after fixing the rotor core.
However, Okamoto teaches (see figs. 2A and 2B below) fixing the first end plate (20) is performed after fixing the rotor core (17) (¶ 54) in order to provide ease of assembly while improving reliability and production quality of the device (Okamoto, ¶ 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ohira and provide fixing the first end plate is performed after fixing the rotor core as taught by Okamoto in order to provide ease of assembly while improving reliability and production quality of the device (Okamoto, ¶ 11).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 2, 3 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834