DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-18 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a lock for locking the anchor piles relative to the fastener” in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 112117957 A, Kawabe.
Regarding claim 1
Kawabe a support structure (corresponding to fixing tool 1) for at least one solar panel (30) [Figs. 8, 9 and 16, paras. 0117, 0121-0127 and 0131], comprising at least one support post (corresponding to screw pile 36) provided with a fastener (corresponding to main body 2) associated with anchor piles (corresponding to fixing piles 20) to be driven into soil (ground 50) [Figs. 8-9 and 16, paras. 0090 and 0101], wherein the support post (36) extends beyond the fastener (2), opposite to the at least one solar panel (30), in order to be driven into the soil (50) [Figs. 8-9, 16, para. 0124].
Kawabe, Figs. 8 and 9
The limitation “for at least one solar panel” is considered intended use and is given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. Since the structure of the prior art is the same as the one claimed, the same is considered capable of performing the intended use. A preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See in re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951).
Regarding claim 2
Kawabe teaches the support structure as set forth above, wherein the fastener (2) comprises a fitting (corresponding to pair of split cylindrical portions 3) added onto the support post (36) [Fig. 7 and para. 0124].
Regarding claim 3
Kawabe teaches the support structure as set forth above, wherein the fastener (2) comprises two half-fittings (two split cylindrical portions 3) [Fig. 7 and para. 0124].
Regarding claim 4
Kawabe teaches the support structure as set forth above, wherein the two half- fittings (3) are assembled to each other by one or more of the anchor piles (20) [Figs. 7-14].
Regarding claim 7
Kawabe teaches the support structure as set forth above, wherein the support post (36) is formed by a profile [Figs. 8-9 and 16].
Regarding claim 8
Kawabe teaches the support structure as set forth above, wherein the anchor piles (20) are inclined relative to the support post (36) [Figs. 8-9 and 16].
Regarding claim 9
Kawabe teaches the support structure as set forth above, wherein the angle between one of the anchor piles (20) and the support post (support port is extends in the direction of the large cylinder part 3) measures at least 15° (20° to 45°)[Figs. 2a-2b and 7-10, para. 100].
Regarding claim 10
Kawabe teaches the support structure as set forth above, further comprising a lock (corresponding to screws and bolts) for locking the anchor piles (20) relative to the fastener (2) (“aligning the two threaded holes and fixing them with a fastening screw, the fixing pile 20 and the small-diameter cylindrical portion 10 are firmly integrated”) [para. 0118].
Regarding claim 11
Kawabe teaches the support structure as set forth above, wherein an end of the support post (36) opposite to the solar panel (30) is tapered (see front end part 37) [Figs. 8-9 and 16, para. 0121].
Regarding claim 12
Kawabe a method for mounting a support structure (corresponding to fixing tool 1) for at least one solar panel (30) [Figs. 8, 9 and 16, paras. 0117, 0121-0127 and 0131], the method comprising:
driving at least one support post (corresponding to screw pile 36) of the support structure into the soil (ground 50) [Figs. 8-9 and 16, paras. 0090 and 0101],
providing a fastener (corresponding to main body 2) associated with anchor piles (corresponding to fixing piles 20) for anchoring said support post (36) (“fixing piles 20 are piles for embedding in the ground 51 in order to be used together with the main body 2 to firmly fix (prevent from falling off) the screw piles 36 or the like…”) [Figs. 8-9 and 16, paras. 0090, 0101 and 0117]; and
driving said anchor piles (20) into the soil (50) [Figs. 8-9 and 16, para. 0117].
Regarding claim 13
Kawabe teaches the mounting method as set forth above, comprising drilling at least one of the fastener (2) and the support post (36) to accommodate a joint (screw or bolt) for fixing the fastener (2) to the support post (36) [Fig. 7, paras. 0096 and 0124].
Regarding claim 14
Kawabe a system comprising a solar panel (30) and a support structure (corresponding to fixing tool 1) [Figs. 8, 9 and 16, paras. 0117, 0121-0127 and 0131], the support structure (1) comprising:
at least one support post (corresponding to screw pile 36) provided with a fastener (corresponding to main body 2) associated with anchor piles (corresponding to fixing piles 20) to be driven into soil (ground 50) [Figs. 8-9 and 16, paras. 0090 and 0101], wherein
the support post (36) extends beyond the fastener (2), opposite to the at least one solar panel (30), in order to be driven into the soil (50) [Figs. 8-9, 16, para. 0124].
Kawabe, Fig. 16
Regarding claim 15
Kawabe teaches the system as set forth above, wherein the fastener (2) comprises a fitting (corresponding to pair of split cylindrical portions 3) added onto the support post (36) [Fig. 7 and para. 0124].
Regarding claim 16
Kawabe teaches the system as set forth above, wherein the fastener (2) comprises two half-fittings (two split cylindrical portions 3) [Fig. 7 and para. 0124].
Regarding claim 17
Kawabe teaches the system as set forth above, wherein the two half- fittings (3) are assembled to each other by one or more of the anchor piles (20) [Figs. 7-14].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawabe, as applied to claims 1-4 and 7-17 above, and further in view of DE 10 2013 006 530 A1, Beck.
Regarding claims 5 and 18
Kawabe teaches the support structure as set forth above, wherein the support post (36) extends beyond the fastener (2), opposite to the at least one solar panel (30) [Figs. 8-9 and 16].
Kawabe is silent to the support post (36) extending by at least 50 cm.
Beck teaches a support structure for a solar panel (see photovoltaic module 6), comprising a support post (2) that extends beyond a fastener (plate), opposite to the at least one solar panel (6), by at least 50 cm (known lengths for support posts include lengths of about 80 cm to 110 cm for short supports, and about 150 cm up to 300 cm or more for long supports) [Pages 2-4].
Beck further teaches that the length of the post is selected such that high stability against wind loads in all directions is achieved while taking into consideration the cost of materials [Pages 3-4].
Kawabe and Beck are analogous inventions in the field of support structures for solar panels. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the intention to modify the support post of Kawabe such that is extends beyond the fastener, opposite to the at least one solar panel, by at least 50 cm, as disclosed in Beck, for the purpose of providing a reliable installation in which posts have lengths that allow them to be driven into the ground such that they can withstand wind loads in all directions.
Further, absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results with respect to the length that the support post extends beyond the fastener, opposite the at least one solar panel (a result-effective variable), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to optimize said parameter through routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired stability while minimizing cost of materials. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claim 6
Kawabe is silent to the support post (36) being hollow.
Beck teaches a support structure for a solar panel, wherein support posts may be constructed as hollow cylinders in order to reduce the cost of materials [Abstract and page 3].
Kawabe and Beck are analogous inventions in the field of support structures for solar panels. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the intention to modify the support post of Kawabe to be hollow, as disclosed in Beck, for the purpose of reducing the cost of materials.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2018/0367085 A1, Russel teaches a support structure for a solar panel (312) comprising a support post (308) driven intro the ground (306), and a fastener [Figs. 3-4, paras. 0086 and 0089].
US 2015/0211200 A1, Nishioka et al. teaches a support structure (1) comprising a fastener (2a) associated with anchor piles (3) to be driven into soil (ground) [Figs. 1-2, paras. 0024-0025].
/MAYLA GONZALEZ RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721