Claim Interpretation under 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
"a tensioning system” in Claims 1-3, 11-12 15-16, and 18.
“tensioning element(s)” in Claims 4, 6-12, 14, and 17.
“anchoring element” in Claim 6.
“fixing element” in Claim 6.
The corresponding structure in the specification being:
"tensioning system” - at least one tensioning element with two ends;
- at least an anchoring element configured to receive at least one of the two ends of said tensioning element; and
- at least one fixing element configured to fix the at least one of the two ends of the tensioning element to the at least one anchoring element (Page 7, Para 2).
“tensioning element(s)” – at least one strand (i.e. a tendon or a cable), having preferably the at least one strand two ends attached to the at least one anchoring element (Page 11, Para 3)
“anchoring element(s)” - … a groove for receiving the tensioning elements (Page 6, Para 3)
-anchoring element comprises at least two holes configured to allocate the two ends of a tensioning element (Page 12, Para 2)
“fixing element” – No specific structure described in the specification.
Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The recitation of “fixing element” in Claim 6 has been interpreted under 112(f) (see above) to which the specification fails to provide structure associated with the term, and consequently weighs against possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 11-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 11, the recitation of, “the at least one tensioning element” in Line 2 lacks antecedent basis. For the purposes of prior art examination, the recitation is considered to mean, “
Regarding Claim 12, the recitation of, “the at least one tensioning element” in Line 2 lacks antecedent basis. For the purposes of prior art examination, the recitation is considered to mean, “
**Any and all claims rejected above under 112(b), if rejected with art below under sections 102 and/or 103, is/are rejected as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6,11-12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McNichols et al (US 2018/0258997 A1) hereinafter referred to as McNichols.
Regarding Claim 1, McNichols discloses a wind turbine comprising:
- a hub (rotor hub, Para 34 Lines 5);
- at least one blade (blades, Para 34 Line 5); and
- at least one pitch bearing (blade pitch bearing, Para 34 Line 4) to connect the at least one blade to the hub (implicit from blade pitch bearing arrangement, Para 34 Lines 3-5), the at least one pitch bearing comprising at least an inner ring (16, figure 1A also reproduced above) and an outer ring (12, figure 1A also reproduced above), wherein the wind turbine further comprises at least a tensioning system (see tensioning system formed by strap, mount plate 104, and nut, figure 6 also reproduced/annotated above) disposed at least partially on the outer ring of the at least one pitch bearing (see figure 6) exerting a radial compression force to at least a part of the outer ring of the at least one pitch bearing (recitation considered as functional language where the disclosure is capable of performing the recited function, see figure 6 configuration, and Para 20 Lines 7-12 i.e. tension in the strap(s) introduces compressive forces towards rotational center of the bearing ring);
wherein the outer ring comprises a flat surface proximate to the at least one blade (see blade side, figure 6) and a flat surface proximate to the hub (see hub side opposite to blade side, figure 6);
wherein at least 50% of a force generated by the tensioning system is applied closer to the flat surface proximate to the blade than to the flat surface proximate to the hub (recitation considered as functional language where the disclosure is capable of performing the recited function, see annotated strap which is part of the considered tensioning system above generating the tensioning force through the adjustment of the opposite end nut, Note: only the blade side strap is relied upon for part of the recited tensioning system).
Regarding Claim 2, McNichols discloses that at least 70% of the force generated by the tensioning system is applied closer to the flat surface proximate to the blade than to the flat surface proximate to the hub (functional language limitation, where the disclosure is capable of performing the recited function, see discussion in Claim 1 above).
Regarding Claim 3, McNichols discloses that at least 90% of the force generated by the tensioning system is applied closer to the flat surface proximate to the blade than to the flat surface proximate to the hub (functional language limitation, where the disclosure is capable of performing the recited function, see discussion in Claim 1 above).
Regarding Claim 4, McNichols discloses that the tensioning system comprises at least one tensioning element (see strap, annotated figure 6) with two ends (see annotated figure 6).
Regarding Claim 5, McNichols discloses that the at least one tensioning element with two ends comprises at least one strand (see strap formed of strands, annotated figure 6).
Regarding Claim 6, McNichols discloses that
- at least one anchoring element (104, figure 6) configured to receive at least one of the two ends of said tensioning element (see annotated figure 6); and
- at least one fixing element part (see nut on one end of strap, annotated figure 6) configured to fix the at least one of the two ends of the tensioning element to the at least one anchoring element (see figure 6).
Regarding Claim 11, McNichols discloses that the outer ring of the at least one pitch bearing comprises a perimeter (see figure 6) and the at least one tensioning element generating more than 50% of the force generated by the tensioning system and applied closer to the flat surface proximate to the blade than to the flat surface proximate to the hub comprises a length that completely covers the perimeter of the outer ring (see another embodiment where strap 108 covers the entire perimeter of outer ring 102, figure 9).
Regarding Claim 12, McNichols discloses that the outer ring of the at least one pitch bearing comprises a perimeter (see figure 6) and the at least one tensioning element generating more than 50% of the force generated by the tensioning system and applied closer to the flat surface proximate to the blade than to the flat surface proximate to the hub comprises a length that partially covers the perimeter of the outer ring (partial cover of the perimeter of the outer ring best seen from figure 7).
Regarding Claim 14, McNichols discloses a wind turbine comprising:
- a hub (rotor hub, Para 34 Lines 5);
- at least one blade (blades, Para 34 Line 5); and
- at least one pitch bearing (blade pitch bearing, Para 34 Line 4) to connect the at least one blade to the hub (implicit from blade pitch bearing arrangement, Para 34 Lines 3-5), the at least one pitch bearing comprising at least an inner ring (16, figure 1A also reproduced above) and an outer ring (12, figure 1A or 102, figure 4 also reproduced above), wherein the wind turbine further comprises at least a tensioning system (see tensioning system formed by strap, mount plate 104, and nut 112, figure 6 also reproduced/annotated above) disposed at least partially on the outer ring of the at least one pitch bearing (see figure 6),
wherein the outer ring comprises a flat surface proximate to the at least one blade (see blade side, figure 6) and a flat surface proximate to the hub (see hub side opposite to blade side, figure 6);
wherein the tensioning system comprises at least one tensioning element (see strap, annotated figure 6) at least partially surrounding the outer ring (best seen from figure 7);
wherein at least 50% of the at least one tensioning element is located more proximate to the flat surface proximate to the blade than to the flat surface proximate to the hub (see entirety of strap located proximate to the blade than to the flat surface proximate to the hub, annotated figure 6).
Regarding Claim 15, McNichols discloses a wind turbine comprising:
- a hub (rotor hub, Para 34 Lines 5);
- at least one blade (blades, Para 34 Line 5); and
- at least one pitch bearing (blade pitch bearing, Para 34 Line 4) to connect the at least one blade to the hub (implicit from blade pitch bearing arrangement, Para 34 Lines 3-5), the at least one pitch bearing comprising at least an inner ring (16, figure 1A also reproduced above) and an outer ring (12, figure 1A or 102, figure 4 also reproduced above), wherein the wind turbine further comprises at least a tensioning system (see tensioning system formed by strap, mount plate 104, and nut 112, figure 6 also reproduced/annotated above) disposed at least partially on the outer ring of the at least one pitch bearing (see figure 6),
wherein the outer ring comprises a flat surface proximate to the at least one blade (see blade side, figure 6) and a flat surface proximate to the hub (see hub side opposite to blade side, figure 6);
wherein at least 50% of the height of the outer ring covered by the tensioning system is located more proximate to the flat surface proximate to the blade than to the flat surface proximate to the hub (see strap located more proximate to the flat surface proximate to the blade than to the flat surface proximate to the hub, annotated figure 6).
Regarding Claim 16, McNichols discloses a wind turbine comprising:
- a hub (rotor hub, Para 34 Lines 5);
- at least one blade (blades, Para 34 Line 5); and
- at least one pitch bearing (blade pitch bearing, Para 34 Line 4) to connect the at least one blade to the hub (implicit from blade pitch bearing arrangement, Para 34 Lines 3-5), the at least one pitch bearing comprising at least an inner ring (16, figure 1A also reproduced above) and an outer ring (12, figure 1A or 102, figure 4 also reproduced above), wherein the wind turbine further comprises at least a tensioning system (see tensioning system formed by strap, mount plate 104, and nut 112, figure 6 also reproduced/annotated above) disposed at least partially on the outer ring of the at least one pitch bearing (see figure 6)
wherein the outer ring comprises a flat surface proximate to the at least one blade (see blade side, figure 6) and a flat surface proximate to the hub (see hub side opposite to blade side, figure 6);
wherein an area of the lateral surface of the outer ring covered by at least 50% of the tensioning system is located closer to the flat surface proximate to the blade than to the flat surface proximate to the hub (see strap located more proximate to the flat surface proximate to the blade than to the flat surface proximate to the hub, annotated figure 6).
Regarding Claim 17, McNichols discloses a wind turbine comprising:
- a hub (rotor hub, Para 34 Lines 5);
- at least one blade (blades, Para 34 Line 5); and
- at least one pitch bearing (blade pitch bearing, Para 34 Line 4) to connect the at least one blade to the hub (implicit from blade pitch bearing arrangement, Para 34 Lines 3-5), the at least one pitch bearing comprising at least an inner ring (16, figure 1A also reproduced above) and an outer ring (12, figure 1A or 102, figure 4 also reproduced above), wherein the wind turbine further comprises at least a tensioning system (see tensioning system formed by strap(s), mount plate 104, and nut(s) 112, figure 6 also reproduced/annotated above) disposed at least partially on the outer ring of the at least one pitch bearing (see figure 6)
exerting a radial compression force to at least a part of the outer ring of the at least one pitch bearing (recitation considered as functional language where the disclosure is capable of performing the recited function, see figure 6 configuration, and Para 20 Lines 7-12 i.e. tension in the strap(s) introduces compressive forces towards rotational center of the bearing ring);
wherein the outer ring comprises a flat surface proximate to the at least one blade (see blade side, figure 6) and a flat surface proximate to the hub (see hub side opposite to blade side, figure 6);
wherein tensioning elements (see strap(s) 108, figure 6) are located along at least 20% of the height (H, annotated figure 6) of the outer ring (see annotated figure 6).
Regarding Claim 18, McNichols discloses a wind turbine comprising:
- a hub (rotor hub, Para 34 Lines 5);
- at least one blade (blades, Para 34 Line 5); and
- at least one pitch bearing (blade pitch bearing, Para 34 Line 4) to connect the at least one blade to the hub (implicit from blade pitch bearing arrangement, Para 34 Lines 3-5), the at least one pitch bearing comprising at least an inner ring (16, figure 1A also reproduced above) and an outer ring (12, figure 1A or 102, figure 4 also reproduced above), wherein the wind turbine further comprises at least a tensioning system (see tensioning system formed by strap(s), mount plate 104, and nut(s) 112, figure 6 also reproduced/annotated above) disposed at least partially on the outer ring of the at least one pitch bearing (see figure 6),
wherein the outer ring comprises a flat surface proximate to the at least one blade (see blade side, figure 6) and a flat surface proximate to the hub (see hub side opposite to blade side, figure 6);
wherein the tensioning system covers at least 50% of the outer surface of the outer ring that is more proximate to the flat surface proximate to the blade than to the flat surface proximate to the hub (see annotated figure 6).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McNichols in view of and Larson et al (US 8,322,928 B2) hereinafter referred to Larson.
Regarding Claim 13, McNichols discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above but does not disclose the at least one pitch bearing comprises at least two rolling races comprising a first rolling race more proximate to the flat surface proximate to the blade and a second rolling race more proximate to the flat surface proximate to the hub.
Larson relates to pitch bearings for a wind turbine which is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and teaches of a pitch bearing arrangement comprises at least two rolling races (see 19, figure 2 also reproduced below), comprising a first rolling race more proximate to the flat surface proximate to the blade and a second rolling race more proximate to the flat surface proximate to the hub (see figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one pitch bearing of McNichols with the two rolling races arrangement taught by Larson, and thereby have the at least one pitch bearing comprises at least two rolling races comprising a first rolling race more proximate to the flat surface proximate to the blade and a second rolling race more proximate to the flat surface proximate to the hub. Doing so provides the benefit of increasing load capacity of the pitch bearing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20150086359 A1 discloses a wind turbine blade comprising a pitch bearing assembly (see 50, figure 3).
/Sabbir Hasan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745