DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 10 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5, lines 1-2 recites the limitation “a first pivotable joint”, which should be changed to “the first pivotable joint”.
Claim 5, line 2 recites the limitation “a second pivotable joint”, which should be changed to “the second pivotable joint”.
Claim 10, lines 1-2 recites the limitation “a first pivotable joint”, which should be changed to “the first pivotable joint”.
Claim 10, line 2 recites the limitation “a second pivotable joint”, which should be changed to “the second pivotable joint”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qi et al. CN 107010110 A (page/line numbering used for foreign references below corresponds to the machine-translation preceding the original patent, as attached to the present Office Action – note page numbers of the translation are marked as TP-1, TP-2, etc.).
Regarding independent claim 1, Qi et al. discloses [a dual axle steering system 1 for a vehicle,] (Fig. 1; Page 5, lines 1-27) the steering system comprising:
[a first axle 13 and a second axle 23, wherein both the first axle and the second axle are steerable;] (Fig. 1; Page 5, lines 1-27)
[a first linkage for transmitting steering motion to wheels supported on the first and second axles at a first side of said vehicle;] (Annotation of Fig. 1 below) and
[a second linkage for transmitting steering motion to wheels supported on the first and second axles at a second side of said vehicle;] (Annotation of Fig. 1 below)
[wherein each linkage comprises a fore tie rod 15, 16 for transmitting steering motion to a fore wheel supported on the first axle, an aft tie rod 25, 26 for transmitting steering motion to an aft wheel supported on the second axle, and a connection arrangement between the fore and aft tie rods for transmitting steering motion to the fore and aft tie rods;] (Annotation of Fig. 1 below; Page 5) and
[wherein at least one connection arrangement is articulated.] (Annotation of Fig. 1 below; Page 5)
Annotated Fig. 1 of Qi et al.
Regarding claim 2, Qi et al. further discloses [wherein each of said first and second connection arrangements is articulated.] (Annotation of Fig. 1 above; Page 5, lines 1-27)
Regarding claim 3, Qi et al. further discloses [wherein the first and/or second connection arrangement comprises at least two pivotable joints.] (Annotation of Fig. 1 above; Page 5, lines 1-27)
Regarding claim 17, Qi et al. further discloses [wherein the dual axle steering system is configured for use with an independent suspension system.] (Page 4, lines 26-30)
Regarding claim 20, Qi et al. further discloses [a dual axle steering system 1.] (Fig. 1; Page 5, lines 1-27)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qi et al. in view of Cai et al. US 20230052313 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Qi et al. further discloses [wherein the first and second connection arrangements each comprise: a first arm 13, 14 for connection to the fore tie rod 15, 16; a second arm 23, 24 for connection to the aft tie rod 25, 26.] (Fig. 1; Page 5, lines 1-27)
Qi et al. does not disclose a longitudinal drag link pivotably connected between the first arm and the second arm, such that the first and second connection arrangements further comprise: a first pivotable joint between the first arm and the longitudinal drag link; and a second pivotable joint between the second arm and the longitudinal drag link.
Cai et al. teaches [a longitudinal drag link 28, 60 pivotably connected between the first arm and the second arm,] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0030-0032) [such that the first and second connection arrangements further comprise: a first pivotable joint between the first arm and the longitudinal drag link; and a second pivotable joint between the second arm and the longitudinal drag link;] (Annotated Fig. 1 below; Paragraph 0030-0032) [a second pivotable joint between the first arm and the longitudinal drag link 28, 60;] (Annotated Fig. 1 below; Paragraph 0030-0032) [at least one steering gear, wherein one of the first arm and the second arm of the first connection arrangement is a Pitman arm through which a steering input is directly received via the steering gear,] (Annotated Fig. 1 below; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 1 below, Cai et al. illustrates wherein one of the first arm 64 and the second arm 32 of the first connection arrangement is a Pitman arm through which a steering input is directly received via the steering gear.) and [wherein the other of the first arm and the second arm of the first connection arrangement, and the first and second arms of the second connection arrangement, are idler arms through which a steering input is received via the longitudinal 60, 62 and lateral drag links 26.] (Annotated Fig. 1 below; Paragraph 0022-0023; Paragraph 0030-0032)
Annotated Fig. 1 of Cai et al.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the longitudinal drag link and pivot joint arrangement of Cai et al. with the steering system of Qi et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for articulated movement between the first and second arms while transmitting steering motion between the fore and aft tire rods, thus providing a flexible steering linkage that is able to accommodate relative movement between the steering components.
Regarding claim 5, Qi et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the or each first arm 13, 14 comprises a first pivotable joint between the first arm and the associated fore tie rod 15, 16,] (Fig. 1 of Qi et al.; Page 5, lines 1-27 of Qi et al.) [a second pivotable joint between the first arm and the longitudinal drag link,] (Fig. 1 of Qi et al.; As shown in Fig. 1, Qi et al. illustrates wherein a second pivotable joint is positioned between the first arm 13, 14 and the longitudinal drag link 4.) and [a steering input point 11 configured for engagement with a steering gear, and wherein the steering input point is located so as to form a substantially triangular arrangement with the first and second pivotable joints.] (Fig. 1 of Qi et al.; As shown in Fig. 1, Qi et al. illustrates wherein the steering input point 11 is located so as to form a substantially triangular arrangement with the first and second pivotable joints.)
Regarding claim 6, Qi et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations, including [wherein the steering input point is proximal to an aft end of the first arm.] (Annotated Fig. 1 above; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 1 below, Cai et al. illustrates wherein the steering input point 11 is proximal to an aft end of the first arm 13.)
Regarding claim 7, Qi et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [a lateral drag link 19, 29 between the first connection arrangement and the second connection arrangement.] (Fig. 1 of Qi et al.; Page 5, lines 1-27 of Qi et al.)
Regarding claim 8, Qi et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the lateral drag link extends between the first arm of the first connection arrangement and the first arm of the second connection arrangement.] (Fig. 1 of Qi et al; As shown in Fig. 1, Qi et al. illustrates wherein the lateral drag link extends between the first arm of the first connection arrangement and the first arm of the second connection arrangement.)
Regarding claim 9, Qi et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the lateral drag link is pivotably connected to each first arm at a third pivotable joint.] (Annotated Fig. 1 of Qi et al. above)
Regarding claim 10, Qi et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the or each first arm 13, 14 comprises a first pivotable joint between the first arm and the associated fore tie rod 15, 16,] (Fig. 1 of Qi et al.; Page 5, lines 1-27 of Qi et al.) [a second pivotable joint between the first arm and the longitudinal drag link,] (Fig. 1 of Qi et al.; As shown in Fig. 1, Qi et al. illustrates wherein a second pivotable joint is positioned between the first arm 13, 14 and the longitudinal drag link 4.) and [a steering input point 11 configured for engagement with a steering gear,] (Fig. 1 of Qi et al.) and [wherein the third pivotable joint is located aft of the first pivotable joint.] (Annotated Fig. 1 of Qi et al above)
Regarding claim 11, Qi et al., as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitations, including the steering system arrangement recited in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 13, Qi et al., as modified, does not explicitly disclose the second arm of the first connection arrangement being a pitman arm through which a steering input is directly received through a third steering gear. However, according to MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (B) (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)), the mere duplication of known elements does not confer patentability unless it produces a new and unexpected result. In this case, Qi et al., as modified already discloses first arms of the first and second connection arrangements configured as Pitman arms though which steering input is directly received thorough respective steering gears. The extension of this configuration to include a third steering gear directly driving the second arm of the first connection arrangement would have been an obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art, as it merely duplicates an existing structure without introducing an unexpected benefit. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Qi et al., as modified to include the third steering gear and configure the second arm of the first connection arrangement as a Pitman arm to provide direct steering input to the second arm without yielding an unexpected result.
Regarding claim 14, Qi et al., as modified, does not explicitly disclose the second arm of the second connection arrangement being a pitman arm through which a steering input is directly received through a fourth steering gear. However, according to MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (B) (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)), the mere duplication of known elements does not confer patentability unless it produces a new and unexpected result. In this case, Qi et al., as modified already discloses first arms of the first and second connection arrangements configured as Pitman arms though which steering input is directly received thorough respective steering gears. The extension of this configuration to include a fourth steering gear directly driving the second arm of the second connection arrangement would have been an obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art, as it merely duplicates an existing structure without introducing an unexpected benefit. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Qi et al., as modified to include the fourth steering gear and configure the second arm of the second connection arrangement as a Pitman arm to provide direct steering input to the second arm without yielding an unexpected result.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qi et al. in view of Cai et al. and further in view of Larson et al. US 20040245739 A1.
Regarding claim 12, Qi et al., as modified, further discloses [the second arms 32 of the first and second connection arrangements are idler arms through which a steering input is received via the longitudinal drag links 60, 62.] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0030-0032; Paragraph 0045-0046)
Larson et al. teaches [at least two steering gears 136, 140, wherein the first arm of the first connection arrangement is a Pitman arm 152 through which a steering input is directly received via a first steering gear 136,] (Fig. 2; Paragraph 0040 and 0045) [the first arm of the second connection arrangement is a Pitman arm 152 through which a steering input is directly received via a second steering gear 140.] (Fig. 2; Paragraph 0040 and 0045)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the pitman arm arrangement of Larson et al. with the steering system of Qi et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for direct steering input to the first arms of the first and second connection arrangements, thus providing independent steering input to the respective sides of the dual axle steering system.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qi et al. in view of Cai et al., Larson et al., and further in view of Ito et al. US 4418780 A.
Regarding claim 15, Qi et al., as modified does not disclose a hydraulic link between the first linkage and the second linkage, wherein the hydraulic link is between two or more of the steering gears.
Ito et al. teaches [a hydraulic link 26 between the first linkage and the second linkage, wherein the hydraulic link is between two or more of the steering gears.] (Fig. 1; Col. 4, lines 1-47)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the hydraulic link of Ito et al. with the steering system of Qi et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for hydraulic communication between the first and second linkages, thus facilitating coordinated transmission of steering input between the two linkages.
Regarding claim 16, Qi et al., as modified does not disclose a hydraulic link between the fore and aft tie rods of the first and/or second linkage.
Ito et al. teaches [a hydraulic link 26 between the fore and aft tie rods of the first and/or second linkage.] (Fig. 1; As shown in Fig. 1, Ito e al. illustrates a hydraulic link 26 between the fore and aft tie rods of the first and/or second linkage.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the hydraulic link and tie rod arrangement of Ito et al. with the steering system of Qi et al. as modified with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for hydraulic communication between the fore and aft tie rods of the first and/or second linkages, thus facilitating coordinated transmission of steering motion between the fore and aft tie rods.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qi et al. in view of Gonzalez US 8505656 B1.
Regarding claim 18, Qi et al. does not disclose wherein the first and second axles are front axles of a vehicle.
Gonzalez teaches [wherein the first and second axles are front axles of a vehicle.] (Fig. 3-5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the first and second front axles of Gonzalez with the steering system of Qi et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for steering of two axles positioned at the front of the vehicle, thus providing improved steering control for a vehicle having multiple steerable front axles.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qi et al. in view of Cai et al. and further in view of Batz et al. US 10793189 B2
Regarding claim 19, Qi et al., as modified does not disclose wherein the first and second arms are die cast, or wherein the first and second arms are forged.
Batz et al. teaches [wherein the first and second arms are die cast, or wherein the first and second arms are forged.] (Col. 17, lines 35-41; Col. 20, lines 58-63)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the forged first and second arms of Batz et al. with the steering system of Qi et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the first and second arms to be manufactured using established manufactured techniques suitable for producing durable steering components, thus providing structurally suitable arms for the steering connection arrangements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Renfroe et al. US 6709013 B2 – comprises a land vehicle with steerable and independently suspended front wheels having left and right steering levers at the driver position. The left and right steering levers are coupled by lever mechanisms and an elongated rod to move in opposite directions. Left and right fore and aft links extend from the left and right steering levers to the left and right front wheels to transmit steering motion displacement to the steerable front wheels causing rotation of the axles of the wheels about a vertical axis. A controller arm connected to each wheel stub axles is connected to the forward end of a fore and aft link for steering motion of a front wheel. The control arm fore and aft link combination causes each wheel steering motion to have a predetermined relation to motion of the corresponding link.
Preijert et al. US 12319365 B2 – comprises a vehicle steering system comprising a steering wheel, a first and a second steering assembly. The steering assemblies each comprise a steering linkage mechanically connected to a road wheel and a support motor. The steering wheel is configured to control a steering angle of a first road wheel via a first support motor actuating a first steering linkage. A processing circuitry is configured to receive, from the first steering assembly, input signals comprising one or more steering parameter values measured for the first steering assembly. Based on the received first input signals, the processing circuitry is configured to calculate a desired steering angle of a second road wheel and to send control signals to a second support motor so as to actuate a second steering linkage such that the desired steering angle of the second road wheel is obtained
/Mohamed M Medani/Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/JACOB D KNUTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611