DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 5 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2 and 5 recite “through-openings” for “radial lugs,” while also reciting “through-openings” for “motor carrier.” Examiner suggests differentiating between the two “through-openings” to prevent confusion.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-9, 11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Devermann et al. (US 2020/0195079 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Devermann discloses an electric motor (1), comprising:
sealing elements (66, 72, 94);
a motor carrier (5) having an electronics compartment (housing circuit board 92) for accommodating motor electronics (92), said motor carrier (5) having through-openings (96) formed therein and said sealing elements (75) being disposed in said through-openings (96);
a stator (10) fastened to said motor carrier (5) and having a stator winding (42), a stator main body (18, 20) with an annular main body part (18) and radially outwardly directed stator teeth (20);
a coil or winding insulation (50, 66) disposed on a side of said stator (10) facing said motor carrier (5) or on said side of said stator (10) facing said motor carrier (5) and on a side facing away from said motor carrier (5) on said stator main body (18, 20; ¶ [0048]) thereof;
said annular main body part (18) of said stator main body (18, 20) forms a receiving or mounting space (FIG. 2), in which axially oriented contact pins (45) are disposed which make contact or can make contact with said stator winding (conductor ends 45 is part of the stator winding) and are guided into said electronics compartment (92) via said sealing elements (75) in said through-openings (96) of said motor carrier (5), wherein said sealing elements (75) are mechanically pretensioned (by aligning means 70, 71) by means of said stator (10) fastened to said motor carrier (5) or by means of said stator main body (18, 20) and/or by means of said coil or winding insulation (50, 66); and
a rotor circulating around said stator (10) about a rotation axis (¶ [0042]).
Regarding claim 8/1, Devermann was discussed above in claim 1. Devermann further discloses said through-openings (96) of said motor carrier (5) provided to accommodate said sealing elements (75) for said axially oriented contact pins (45) have a conical or cone-shaped opening portion that tapers towards said electronics compartment (FIG. 6); and/or
each of said sealing elements (75) has a plurality of radial ribs (76) on an outer circumference; and/or
each of said sealing elements (75) is conical or frustoconical shaped (FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 9/8, Devermann was discussed above in claim 8. Devermann further discloses each of said through-openings (96) of said motor carrier (5) has a cylindrical opening portion (at the bottom near centering means 97) which adjoins said conical or cone-shaped opening portion (FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 11/1, Devermann was discussed above in claim 1. Devermann further discloses fastening elements (7), wherein said stator (10) being fastened to said motor carrier (5) by means of said fastening elements (10) while at a same time generating a pretension on or for said sealing elements (75) through which said axially oriented contact pins (45) pass; and/or
wherein said stator main body (18, 20) has fastening lugs (¶ [0043]) with through-openings formed therein for said fastening elements (7) on said annular main body part (18; FIG. 2), said fastening lugs projecting into said receiving or mounting space (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 12/1, Devermann was discussed above in claim 1. Devermann further discloses the electric motor (1) is a radiator fan motor of a motor vehicle (¶ [0032]).
Regarding claim 14/11, Devermann was discussed above in claim 11. Devermann further discloses said fastening elements (7) are screws (¶ [0043]).
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Best et al. (US 8,415,846 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Best discloses an electric motor (electric external rotor motor), comprising:
sealing elements (49);
a motor carrier (12) having an electronics compartment for accommodating motor electronics (motor controller), said motor carrier (12) having through-openings (19) formed therein and said sealing elements (49) being disposed in said through-openings (19);
a stator (1) fastened to said motor carrier (12) and having a stator winding (4), a stator main body (2) with an annular main body part (FIG. 2) and radially outwardly directed stator teeth (FIG 2);
a coil or winding insulation (3) disposed on a side of said stator (1) facing said motor carrier (12) or on said side of said stator (1) facing said motor carrier (12) and on a side facing away from said motor carrier (12) on said stator main body (2) thereof;
said annular main body part of said stator main body (2) forms a receiving or mounting space (FIG. 1), in which axially oriented contact pins (21) are disposed which make contact or can make contact with said stator winding (4) and are guided into said electronics compartment (motor controller) via said sealing elements (49) in said through-openings (19) of said motor carrier (12), wherein said sealing elements (49) are mechanically pretensioned by means of said stator (1) fastened to said motor carrier (12) or by means of said stator main body (2) and/or by means of said coil or winding insulation (3); and
a rotor (7) circulating around said stator (1) about a rotation axis (6).
Regarding claim 10/1, Best was discussed above in claim 1. Best further discloses connection contacts (see annotation below); and
wherein said stator winding (4) has at least one of winding ends or winding loops (col. 2 ll. 61-62), said axially oriented contact pins (21) are contacted with said connection contacts (connection contacts are part of the contact pins) which are electrically conductively connected to said winding ends or said winding loops (col. 2 ll. 61-62).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devermann et al. (US 2020/0195079 A1) in view of Bitzer (US 8,400,031 B2).
Regarding claim 2/1, Devermann was discussed above in claim 1. Devermann further discloses said stator main body (18, 20),
Devermann does not disclose on said annular main body part, has radial lugs aligned with said through-openings of said motor carrier, which said radial lugs each have a through-opening formed therein for an associated one of said axially oriented contact pins.
Bitzer discloses on said annular main body part (3), has radial lugs (see annotation below) aligned with said through-openings (30) of said motor carrier (15), which said radial lugs each have a through-opening (see annotation below) formed therein for an associated one of said axially oriented contact pins (8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Devermann in view of Bitzer to disclose on said annular main body part, has radial lugs aligned with said through-openings of said motor carrier, which said radial lugs each have a through-opening formed therein for an associated one of said axially oriented contact pins, for the advantages of a reliable sealing and inexpensive manufacturing (col. 1 ll. 45-46).
Regarding claim 3/2, Devermann in view of Bitzer was discussed above in claim 2. Devermann further discloses said stator main body (18, 20) is formed as a laminated core (12; ¶ [0044]) from a first number of stacked laminations.
Devermann does not disclose said radial lugs are formed by a second number of said laminations, wherein said second number is smaller than a total number of said laminations of said stator main body.
Bitzer discloses said radial lugs (see annotation below) are formed by a second number of said laminations (FIG. 2), wherein said second number is smaller than a total number of said laminations of said stator main body (3; FIG. 1; Bitzer discloses “the stator 3 has a conventional design with sheet metal stacks.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Devermann in view of Bitzer to disclose said radial lugs are formed by a second number of said laminations, wherein said second number is smaller than a total number of said laminations of said stator main body, for the advantages of a reliable sealing and inexpensive manufacturing (col. 1 ll. 45-46).
Regarding claim 4/2, Devermann in view of Bitzer was discussed above in claim 2. Devermann further discloses said coil or winding insulation (50, 66) has a number of axially raised insulating pins (69; FIG. 4, centering element 66 is directly attached to the insulation 50) corresponding to a number of said axially oriented contact pins (45), said axially raised insulating pins (69) protrude into said receiving or mounting space formed by said annular main body part (18) of said stator main body (18, 20; FIG. 4, 6) and through which a respective one of said axially oriented contact pins (45) passes (FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 5/4, Devermann was discussed above in claim 4. Devermann does not disclose said axially raised insulating pins of said coil or winding insulation are assigned to said radial lugs of said stator main body and sit in said through-openings of said radial lugs.
Bitzer discloses said axially raised insulating pins (27) are assigned to said radial lugs (see annotation above) of said stator main body (3) and sit in said through-openings (see annotation above) of said radial lugs (FIG. 2).
Devermann would be modified such that the centering means 69 also comprises the raised insulating pins 27 of Bitzer protruding axially upward towards the stator, so that the coil or winding insulation would include axially raised insulating pins.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified said axially raised insulating pins of said coil or winding insulation are assigned to said radial lugs of said stator main body and sit in said through-openings of said radial lugs, for the advantages of a reliable sealing and inexpensive manufacturing (col. 1 ll. 45-46).
Regarding claim 6/4, Devermann was discussed above in claim 4. Devermann further discloses said coil or winding insulation (50, 66) has radially inwardly directed lugs (70, 71); and
said axially raised insulating pins (69) are molded onto said radially inwardly directed lugs (70, 71) of said coil or winding insulation (50, 66).
Regarding claim 7/6, Devermann was discussed above in claim 6. Devermann further discloses said radially inwardly directed lugs (70, 71) of said coil or winding insulation (50, 66) lie against said radial lugs (as modified by Bitzer) disposed on said annular main body part (18) of said stator main body (18, 20) and against associated said sealing elements (72) directly or via molded-on hollow-cylindrical molded parts (FIG. 6).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Best et al. (US 8,415,846 B2) in view of Shi et al. (US 2024/0079923 A1).
Regarding claim 13/10, Best was discussed above in claim 10. Best further discloses said connection contacts are busbar-shaped connection contacts (FIG. 2).
Best does not disclose said axially oriented contact pins are welded with said connection contacts.
Shi discloses said axially oriented contact pins (222) are welded with said connection contacts (122; ¶ [0133]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Best in view of Shi to disclose said axially oriented contact pins are welded with said connection contacts, as welding is well known as an electrical connection method with advantages of increased structural integrity (¶ [0012]).
Conclusion
/MINKI CHANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834