Priority
This application is a continuation application of USSN 18/391,876 filed December 21, 2023, which was a continuation application of USSN 17/734,331 filed May 2, 2022, which was a continuation application of USSN 16/662,126 filed October 24, 2019 now US Patent 11,357,778, which was a continuation application of USSN 15/872,307 filed January 16, 2018, which was a continuation application of USSN 14/844,041 filed September 3, 2015 now US Patent 9,931,341, which was a continuation application of USSN 14/364,320 filed June 11, 2014 which was a national stage filing under 35 USC 371 of PCT/EP2012/075294 filed December 12, 2012, which claimed priority to PCT/IB2011/003253 filed December 12, 2011
Claims Status
Claims 1 and 2 are pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by
Guagnano, Journal of American Chemical Society, 27 October 2011, vol. 54, No. 20, pages 7066-7083 (copy previously can be found in copending Application No. 14/364,320).
Guagnano teaches oral administration of an effective amount of 1h (NVP-BGJ-398) which is structurally identical to the compound recited in claims 1 and 2, to tumor-bearing rats at doses 5, 10, and 15 mg/kg. See pages 7072, right column, and Figure 7. Guagnano reports that administration of the compound produced antitumor activity, including nearly complete tumor stasis at 5 mg/kg and tumor regression at higher doses. See pages 7071-7073.
Accordingly, Guagnano expressly teaches administration of a therapeutically effective amount of the claimed compound to a mammalian subject in need of treatment.
Moreover, the instant specification identifies BGJ-398 as being administered at about 1-10 mg/kg, preferably 2-8 mg/kg, and more preferably about 4-6 mg/kg. Thus, the 5 mg/kg dose disclosed by Guagnano falls squarely within the specification’s more preferred therapeutic effective dosage range. The foregoing further supports that Guagnano discloses the positively recited administration step, including administration of a therapeutically effective amount of the claimed compound.
Accordingly, the recitations of “thereby treating achondroplasia” (claim 1) and “thereby treating hypochondroplasia” (claim 2) are interpreted as statements of the intended therapeutic results of the positively recited administration step, rather than requiring additional affirmative method steps. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, these clauses do not further limit the claimed administration step. See Bristol-Meyers Squibb Co. v. Ben Venue Laboratories, 246 F.3d 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2001).
To the extent Guagnano discloses administration of a therapeutically effective amount to a subject in need thereof, the reference teaches the positively recited administering limitations. Accordingly, the disease-specific intended results do not independently distinguish the claimed methods form the prior art.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being un-patentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,931,341 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The U.S. patent claims teach a method for treating a FGFR3-related skeletal disease which comprises the step of administering a therapeutically effective amount of at least one antagonist of the FGFR3 tyrosine kinase receptor of formula
or a composition comprising such an antagonist, to a subject in need thereof, and treating the FGFR3-related skeletal disease in said subject, wherein the FGFR3-related skeletal disease is achondroplasia. The claims of the U.S. patent anticipate the instant claim.
Accordingly, the recitations of “treating hypochondroplasia” (claim 2). To the extent U.S. patent discloses administration of a therapeutically effective amount to a subject in need thereof, the reference teaches the positively recited administering limitations. Accordingly, the disease-specific intended results do not independently distinguish the claimed methods form the prior art.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being un-patentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US11357778B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The U.S. patent claims teach a method for treating hypochondroplasia which comprises the step of administering a therapeutically effective amount of at least one antagonist of the FGFR3 tyrosine kinase receptor of formula
or a composition comprising such an antagonist to said subject. The claims of the U.S. patent anticipate the instant claim.
Regarding the recitations of “treating achondroplasia” (claim 1). To the extent U.S. patent discloses administration of a therapeutically effective amount to a subject in need thereof, the reference teaches the positively recited administering limitations. Accordingly, the disease-specific intended results do not independently distinguish the claimed methods form the prior art.
Conclusion
Claims 1 and 2 are not allowed.
/JEAN P CORNET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628