DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application and are subject to examination herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/12/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0368317 to Shultze Selting et al. (hereinafter Schultze) (cited by Applicant in IDS filed on 10/12/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Schultze discloses a method for adjusting a header (harvesting head 2) (Abstract; Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0030], [0031], [0034]-[0040]) mounted on an agricultural harvester (Para. [0001]),
wherein the header (harvesting head 2) (Abstract; Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0030], [0031], [0034]-[0040]) includes a central section (middle section 4) (Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) and at least one side wing section (side section(s) 6; Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]),
wherein the at least one side wing section (side section(s) 6; Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) extends between an inner portion (e.g., portion closest from middle section 4) (see Figs. 1-4) and an outer portion (e.g., portion farthest from middle section 4) (see Figs. 1-4),
wherein the inner portion (e.g., portion closest from middle section 4) (see Figs. 1-4) of the at least one side wing section (side section(s) 6; Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) is pivotally coupled (Figs. 3-4; Claim 1) to the central section (middle section 4) (Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]),
wherein a ground engaging device (sensor(s) 10) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 3, 4; Paras. [0031], [0034]-[0036], [0039], [0040]) is mounted on the at least one side wing section (side section(s) 6; Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) adjacent (see Figs. 1, 4) the outer portion (e.g., portion farthest from middle section 4) (see Figs. 1-4),
wherein the ground engaging device (sensor(s) 10) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 3, 4; Paras. [0031], [0034]-[0036], [0039], [0040]) has an adjustable height (see Para. [0031]), the method comprising the steps of:
determining a flex position (e.g., position based on bending angle) (Paras. [0016], [0017], [0039], [0040]) of the at least one side wing section (side section(s) 6; Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) relative to the central section (middle section 4) (Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) ;
determining whether the flex position (e.g., position based on bending angle) (Paras. [0016], [0017], [0039], [0040]) of the at least one side wing section (side section(s) 6; Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) exceeds a first threshold (e.g., whether “limit value” is exceeded) (Paras. [0016], [0017], [0039], [0040]; Claim 1); and
if it is determined that the flex position (e.g., position based on bending angle) (Paras. [0016], [0017], [0039], [0040]) of the at least one side wing section (side section(s) 6; Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) exceeds the first threshold (e.g., whether “limit value” is exceeded) (Paras. [0016], [0017], [0039], [0040]; Claim 1), decreasing the flex position (e.g., position based on bending angle) (Paras. [0016], [0017], [0039], [0040]).
Regarding claim 2, Schultze discloses the method of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Schultze discloses a method further comprising the steps of:
determining a measured height (ground distance 30) (Figs. 3, 4; Paras. [0001], [0006], [0021], [0039], [0040]; Claim 1) of the central section (middle section 4) (Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) of the header (harvesting head 2) (Abstract; Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0030], [0031], [0034]-[0040]); and
if it is determined that the flex position (e.g., position based on bending angle) (Paras. [0016], [0017], [0039], [0040]) of the at least one side wing section (side section(s) 6; Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) does not exceed the first threshold (e.g., whether “limit value” is exceeded) (Paras. [0016], [0017], [0039], [0040]; Claim 1), sending the measured height (ground distance 30) (Figs. 3, 4; Paras. [0001], [0006], [0021], [0039], [0040]; Claim 1) of the central section (middle section 4) (Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) as a central Automatic Header Height Control (AHHC) signal (adjusting signal) (Abstract; Paras. [0001], [0009], [0010], [0018], [0020], [0039]) to the agricultural harvester (Para. [0001]).
Regarding claim 3, Schultze discloses the method of claim 2 (see above). Furthermore, Schultze discloses a method wherein the step of decreasing the flex position (e.g., position based on bending angle) (Paras. [0016], [0017], [0039], [0040]) comprises adjusting (Para. [0020]) the central AHHC signal (Para. [0020]) before sending the adjusted central AHHC signal (adjusting signal) (Abstract; Paras. [0001], [0009], [0010], [0018], [0020], [0039]) to the agricultural harvester (adjusting signal) (Abstract; Paras. [0001], [0009], [0010], [0018], [0020], [0039]).
Regarding claim 4, Schultze discloses the method of claim 3 (see above). Furthermore, Schultze discloses a method wherein the adjusted central AHHC signal (adjusting signal) (Abstract; Paras. [0001], [0009], [0010], [0018], [0020], [0039]) is based on the flex position (e.g., position based on bending angle) (Paras. [0016], [0017], [0039], [0040]) of the at least one side wing section (side section(s) 6; Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 5, Schultze discloses the method of claim 4 (see above). Furthermore, Schultze discloses a method further comprising the steps of:
determining whether the adjusted central AHHC signal (adjusting signal) (Abstract; Paras. [0001], [0009], [0010], [0018], [0020], [0039]) is greater than the measured height (ground distance 30) (Figs. 3, 4; Paras. [0001], [0006], [0021], [0039], [0040]; Claim 1) of the central section (middle section 4) (Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) ; and
if it is determined that the adjusted central AHHC signal (adjusting signal) (Abstract; Paras. [0001], [0009], [0010], [0018], [0020], [0039]) is greater than the measured height (ground distance 30) (Figs. 3, 4; Paras. [0001], [0006], [0021], [0039], [0040]; Claim 1) of the central section (middle section 4) (Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]), readjusting the central AHHC signal (adjusting signal) (Abstract; Paras. [0001], [0009], [0010], [0018], [0020], [0039]) back to the measured height (ground distance 30) (Figs. 3, 4; Paras. [0001], [0006], [0021], [0039], [0040]; Claim 1) of the central section (middle section 4) (Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) of the header (harvesting head 2) (Abstract; Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0030], [0031], [0034]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 11, Schultze discloses a system on a header (harvesting head 2) (Abstract; Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0030], [0031], [0034]-[0040]) mounted on an agricultural harvester (Para. [0001]),
wherein the header (harvesting head 2) (Abstract; Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0030], [0031], [0034]-[0040]) includes a central section (middle section 4) (Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) and at least one side wing section (side section(s) 6; Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]),
wherein the at least one side wing section (side section(s) 6; Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) extends between an inner portion (e.g., portion closest from middle section 4) (see Figs. 1-4) and an outer portion (e.g., portion farthest from middle section 4) (see Figs. 1-4),
wherein the inner portion (e.g., portion closest from middle section 4) (see Figs. 1-4) of the at least one side wing section (side section(s) 6; Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) is pivotally coupled (Figs. 3-4; Claim 1) to the central section (middle section 4) (Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) ,
wherein a ground engaging device (sensor(s) 10) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 3, 4; Paras. [0031], [0034]-[0036], [0039], [0040]) is mounted on the at least one side wing section (side section(s) 6; Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) adjacent the outer portion (e.g., portion farthest from middle section 4) (see Figs. 1-4),
wherein the ground engaging device (sensor(s) 10) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 3, 4; Paras. [0031], [0034]-[0036], [0039], [0040]) has an adjustable height, the system comprising:
a flex position sensor for determining a flex position (e.g., position based on bending angle) (Paras. [0016], [0017], [0039], [0040]) of the at least one side wing section (side section(s) 6; Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) relative to the central section (middle section 4) (Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) ;
a processor (evaluation device 16) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0034]-[0036], [0039], [0040]; Claims 1-5) configured to:
determine whether the flex position (e.g., position based on bending angle) (Paras. [0016], [0017], [0039], [0040]) of the at least one side wing section (side section(s) 6; Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) exceeds a first threshold (e.g., whether “limit value” is exceeded) (Paras. [0016], [0017], [0039], [0040]; Claim 1); and
if the processor (evaluation device 16) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0034]-[0036], [0039], [0040]; Claims 1-5) determines that the flex position (e.g., position based on bending angle) (Paras. [0016], [0017], [0039], [0040])of the at least one side wing section (side section(s) 6; Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) exceeds the first threshold (e.g., whether “limit value” is exceeded) (Paras. [0016], [0017], [0039], [0040]; Claim 1), the processor (evaluation device 16) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0034]-[0036], [0039], [0040]; Claims 1-5) is configured to decrease the flex position (e.g., position based on bending angle) (Paras. [0016], [0017], [0039], [0040])of the at least one side wing section (side section(s) 6; Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 12, Schultze discloses the system of claim 11 (see above). Furthermore, Schultze discloses a system wherein the processor (evaluation device 16) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0034]-[0036], [0039], [0040]; Claims 1-5) is configured to:
determine a measured height (ground distance 30) (Figs. 3, 4; Paras. [0001], [0006], [0021], [0039], [0040]; Claim 1) of the central section (middle section 4) (Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) of the header (harvesting head 2) (Abstract; Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0030], [0031], [0034]-[0040]); and
if the processor (evaluation device 16) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0034]-[0036], [0039], [0040]; Claims 1-5) determines that the flex position (e.g., position based on bending angle) (Paras. [0016], [0017], [0039], [0040])of the at least one side wing section does not exceed the first threshold (e.g., whether “limit value” is exceeded) (Paras. [0016], [0017], [0039], [0040]; Claim 1), the processor (evaluation device 16) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0034]-[0036], [0039], [0040]; Claims 1-5) is configured to send the measured height (ground distance 30) (Figs. 3, 4; Paras. [0001], [0006], [0021], [0039], [0040]; Claim 1) of the central section (middle section 4) (Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) as a central Automatic Header Height Control (AHHC) signal (adjusting signal) (Abstract; Paras. [0001], [0009], [0010], [0018], [0020], [0039]) to the agricultural harvester (Para. [0001]).
Regarding claim 13, Schultze discloses the system of claim 12 (see above). Furthermore, Schultze discloses a system wherein the processor (evaluation device 16) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0034]-[0036], [0039], [0040]; Claims 1-5) decreases the flex position (e.g., position based on bending angle) (Paras. [0016], [0017], [0039], [0040]) of the at least one side wing section (side section(s) 6; Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) by adjusting (Para. [0020]) the central AHHC signal (adjusting signal) (Abstract; Paras. [0001], [0009], [0010], [0018], [0020], [0039]) before sending the adjusted central AHHC signal (adjusting signal) (Abstract; Paras. [0001], [0009], [0010], [0018], [0020], [0039]) to the agricultural harvester (Para. [0001]).
Regarding claim 14, Schultze discloses the system of claim 13 (see above). Furthermore, Schultze discloses a system wherein the adjusted central AHHC signal (adjusting signal) (Abstract; Paras. [0001], [0009], [0010], [0018], [0020], [0039]) is based on the flex position (e.g., position based on bending angle) (Paras. [0016], [0017], [0039], [0040]) of the at least one side wing section (side section(s) 6; Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 15, wherein the processor (evaluation device 16) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0034]-[0036], [0039], [0040]; Claims 1-5) is configured to:
determine whether the adjusted central AHHC signal (adjusting signal) (Abstract; Paras. [0001], [0009], [0010], [0018], [0020], [0039]) is greater than the measured height (ground distance 30) (Figs. 3, 4; Paras. [0001], [0006], [0021], [0039], [0040]; Claim 1) of the central section (middle section 4) (Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]); and
if the processor (evaluation device 16) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0034]-[0036], [0039], [0040]; Claims 1-5) determines that the adjusted central AHHC signal (adjusting signal) (Abstract; Paras. [0001], [0009], [0010], [0018], [0020], [0039]) is greater than the measured height (ground distance 30) (Figs. 3, 4; Paras. [0001], [0006], [0021], [0039], [0040]; Claim 1) of the central section (middle section 4) (Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]), the processor (evaluation device 16) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0034]-[0036], [0039], [0040]; Claims 1-5) is configured to readjust the central AHHC signal (adjusting signal) (Abstract; Paras. [0001], [0009], [0010], [0018], [0020], [0039]) back to the measured height (ground distance 30) (Figs. 3, 4; Paras. [0001], [0006], [0021], [0039], [0040]; Claim 1) of the central section (middle section 4) (Abstract; Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0033], [0038]-[0040]) of the header (harvesting head 2) (Abstract; Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0030], [0031], [0034]-[0040]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Pat. No. 12,108,704 to Yanke et al.; and U.S. Pat. Pub. Nos. 2022/0264798 to Martin et al.; 2021/0212248 to Kong et al.; 2023/0076926 to Fuchtling et al.; and 2020/0352101 to Pierson et al. relate to header height control systems and methods for harvesters.
/CLAUDE J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671