DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/10/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1:
This claim recites the limitation that the first printing unit is “configured to move in a direction with reference to the housing.” Examiner was unable to find such a teaching in the underlying written description. Upon review of the specification, these appear to be the most relevant teachings:
“One or more driving units configured to move a print medium P in a direction (e.g., a - x axis direction) with reference to the housing 110 …” (paragraph 47);
“The first printing unit 300 may be on the movement path of the print medium P …” (paragraph 77);
“As the print medium P moves in the direction (e.g., the -x axis direction) by the driving unit 500, the print area PA1 may arrive at the first printing unit 300. The first printing unit 300 may print the color image having CYMK colors onto the print area PA1” (paragraph 103); and
“The first printing unit 300 may be on the movement path of the print medium P, and may print the color image having CYMK colors onto the first print area of the print medium P. The print medium P accommodated in the internal space of the housing 110 may be moved to the first printing unit 300 by the driving unit 500. The first printing unit 300 may print the color image having CYMK colors onto the first print area of the print medium P that has arrived at the first printing unit 300” (paragraph 121).
Moreover, the instant Figures do not depict a first printing unit that is configured to move with reference to the housing (see esp. Figs. 5-8).
Regarding claims 2-7:
These claims fail to remedy the deficiencies of claim 1, and therefore also fail to meet the requirements of this statute.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10:
This claim recites the limitation "the marker" (line 3 of the claim). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehrlich (DE102013100456A1) in view of Bouchard et al. (US 2002/0191066 A1).
Please refer to the machine generated English translation for citations from the Ehrlich reference.
Regarding claims 1 and 8 (as best understood):
Ehrlich discloses a printing apparatus comprising:
a first printing unit (first printing device 48) configured to print a color image having cyan, yellow, magenta, and black colors, through a digital method, onto a first print area (sections 114, 114’, 114’’) of a print medium (foil tape 34) moving in a direction (paragraph 87 & Figs. 3-4);
a second printing unit (second printing device 58) located on a movement path of the print medium (Fig. 3) and configured to apply white ink (the background color may be white, according to paragraphs 58, 63) onto a second print area (sections 116, 116’: paragraph 70 & Fig. 4); and
a processor (of control unit 46) configured to control an operation of at least one of the printing unit and the second printing unit (paragraph 66, 68),
wherein the second printing area comprises at least an area of the first printing area (paragraph 70 & Fig. 4).
Ehrlich does not expressly disclose that the printing apparatus comprises a housing.
However, Bouchard et al. disclose a printing apparatus comprising a housing (enclosure 602) through which a print medium (receiver 210) moves to be printed by a plurality of printing units (print head assemblies 612: Fig. 6). Bouchard et al. teach that such a housing provides protection against the environment (paragraph 108).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ehrlich’s printing apparatus to include a housing, such as taught by Bouchard et al.
Regarding claim 2:
Ehrlich’s modified apparatus comprises all the limitations of claim 1, and Ehrlich also discloses that, after the color image has been printed onto the first printing area by the first printing unit, the white ink is applied onto the second print area by the second printing unit (paragraph 69 & Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3:
Ehrlich’s modified apparatus comprises all the limitations of claim 1, and Ehrlich also discloses that the second printing unit is apparat from the first printing unit in a direction in which the print medium moves (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4:
Ehrlich’s modified apparatus comprises all the limitations of claim 1, and Ehrlich also discloses that the second printing unit comprises:
an ink ribbon (thermal transfer ribbon 62) comprising the white ink (paragraphs 63, 69);
a first roll (feeder roll 64) around which an end of the ink ribbon is wound (paragraph 69 & Fig. 3);
a second roll (receiving roll 68) around which the other end of the ink ribbon is wound (paragraph 69 & Fig. 3); and
a thermal transfer head (thermal printhead 72) configured to thermally transfer the white ink from the ink ribbon onto the second print area (paragraph 69 & Figs. 3-4),
wherein after the white ink has been thermally transferred from the ink ribbon, which is unwound from the first roll, to the second print area, the ink ribbon, from which the white ink has been peeled off, is wound around the second roll (paragraph 69 & Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9:
Ehrlich’s modified method comprises all the limitations of claim 8, and Ehrlich also discloses that the second printing unit comprises an ink ribbon (thermal transfer ribbon 62) comprising the white ink (paragraphs 63, 69), a first roll (feeder roll 64) around which an end of the ink ribbon is wound (paragraph 69 & Fig. 3), a second roll (receiving roll 68) around which the other end of the ink ribbon is wound (paragraph 69 & Fig. 3), and a thermal transfer head (thermal printhead 72) configured to thermally transfer the white ink from the ink ribbon onto the second print area (paragraph 69 & Figs. 3-4), and
wherein the printing of the white ink onto the second print area by the second printing unit comprises:
initiating an operation of the second printing unit (inherent to “heated at specific points”: paragraph 69);
controlling the ink ribbon to be unwound from the first roll and then wound around the second roll (paragraph 69 & Fig. 3); and
thermally transferring the white ink, by the thermal transfer head, from the ink ribbon onto the second print area (paragraph 69 & Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehrlich as modified by Bouchard et al., as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Bruckner et al. (US 2022/0194073 A1).
Regarding claim 5:
Ehrlich’s modified apparatus comprises all the limitations of claim 4, but does not expressly disclose the particulars of the ink ribbon.
However, Bruckner et al. disclose a printing apparatus comprising a thermal transfer printing unit (10) having an ink ribbon (color foil 11) that allows for image formation in a digitally controlled manner (paragraph 143), the ink ribbon having a first surface (of ink 11b) comprising the color ink and being in contact with at least an area of a print medium by a thermal transfer head (12) during thermal transfer (paragraph 143 & Fig. 2), and a second surface (of support 11a) that does not comprise the color ink and is in contact with the thermal transfer head during thermal transfer (paragraph 143 & Fig. 2).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the thermal transfer ink ribbon taught by Bruckner et al. into Ehrlich’s modified apparatus, so as to enable the desired image formation.
Claim(s) 6-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehrlich as modified by Bouchard et al., as applied to claims 1/9 above, and further in view of Eoka (US 2012/0218369 A1).
Regarding claims 6-7 and 10:
Ehrlich’s modified apparatus comprises all the limitations of claims 1/9, but does not expressly disclose a sensor configured to generate a trigger signal in response to a marker printed on the print medium.
However, Eoka disclose a printing apparatus that determines a print start position (paragraph 26) by including a sensor (sensor 143A-B) located on a movement path of a print medium (Fig. 2) and configured to generate a trigger signal in response to a register mark printed onto the print medium (on medium 3: paragraph 26), wherein a processor is configured to initiate an operation of the second printing unit based on the generated trigger signal (paragraph 26).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a sensor, such as that taught by Eoka, into Ehrlich’s modified printing apparatus.
Communication with the USPTO
SHELBY L. FIDLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/SHELBY L FIDLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853