DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cui (“Efficient CO2 absorption by azolide-based deep eutectic solvents,” Chem. Commun., 2019, 55, 1426-1429).
In regards to claims 1-3, Cui teaches a carbon dioxide adsorbent comprising an ionic liquid (Abstract, “Deep eutectic solvents formed by solid azolide ionic liquids and ethylene glycol (EG) can efficiently capture CO2”)
comprising an imidazole-based anion, with R1, R2, and R3 being hydrogen (shown below)
And an aliphatic alcohol, such as ethylene glycol (a polyhydric aliphatic alcoholic solvent)
Or monoethanolamine (an aliphatic monohydric alcohol solvent). See the last full paragraph on page 1426, the paragraph bridging pages 1426 and 1427 as well as scheme 1.
In regards to claim 4, Cui teaches that the ionic liquid can comprise imidazolium (Page 1426, “Zhang et al.37 studied the CO2 absorption capacities of DESs formed by imidazolium-based IL BmimCl and monoethanolamine (MEA) under ambient conditions”).
In regards to claims 5 and 6, Cui teaches an aliphatic monohydric of ethylene glycol and polyhydric alcoholic solvent of monoethanolamine as discussed above, which are C2 aliphatic alcohols.
In regards to claim 7, Cui teaches aliphatic alcohols where the boiling point is 130°C or higher. Ethylene glycol has a boiling point of 197.61°C while monoethanolamine has a boiling point of 170° as evidenced by Pubchem (see attached).
In regards to claim 8, Cui teaches aliphatic alcohols where the heat capacity is 4.9 kJ/kg°C or less. Ethylene glycol has a heat capacity of 2.35 kJ/kg·K which is equivalent to 2.35 kJ/kg·C as evidenced by Elchemy (see attached).
In regards to claim 9, Cui teaches that the carbon dioxide absorption equivalent is 0.7 or more (Page 1428, “The results show that these azolide-based DESs have the tendency to capture one mole of CO2 per mole of solvent”).
In regards to claims 10 and 11, Cui does not explicitly teach that a compound is formed by reacting an adsorbent with carbon dioxide and an aliphatic carbonate. However, the adsorbent of Cui is the same as the adsorbent claimed in the instant application being reacted with CO2. The reaction would proceed with the same mechanism as claimed in the instant application involving an aliphatic carbonate with the alcohol present and produce the product as claimed in the instant application.
/JAANZEB C RAJA/Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736