DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application and are subject to examination herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/22/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2022/0151141 to Nebel et al. (hereinafter Nebel) in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0002893 to Heinzmann et al. (hereinafter Heinzmann).
Regarding claim 1, Nebel discloses a riding lawnmower (electric mower 10) (Figs. 1-3, 5; Paras. [0026]-[0033], [0035], [0038]-[0039], [0043]-[0045]) comprising:
a frame (frame 12) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0026], [0028], [0030]);
a seat (operator seat 16) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0026], [0028], [0035], [0039], [0041]-[0042], [0044]) supported by the frame;
a cutting implement (implement 18) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0026], [0028], [0031], [0043]) supported by the frame (frame 12) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0026], [0028], [0030]), the cutting implement (implement 18) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0026], [0028], [0031], [0043]) driven by a cutting implement motor (left blade motor 44, right blade motor 46 and/or implement motor 114) (Figs. 3, 6; Paras. [0031], [0033], [0036], [0039], [0041], [0043]-[0044]);
a wheel (left drive wheel 22 and/or right drive 24) (Figs. 1-3, 5; Paras. [0026], [0029]-[0030]) rotatably driven by a wheel motor (left traction motor 26 and/or right traction motor 28) (Figs. 5-6; Paras. [0026], [0033], [0035], [0041]-[0042]); and
a controller (left traction controller 82 and/or right traction controller 84) (Fig. 6; Paras. [0033], [0035], [0037], [0040]-[0042], [0045]) in electrical communication with the wheel motor (left traction motor 26 and/or right traction motor 28) (Figs. 5-6; Paras. [0026], [0033], [0035], [0041]-[0042]) to control operation of the wheel motor (left traction motor 26 and/or right traction motor 28) (Figs. 5-6; Paras. [0026], [0033], [0035], [0041]-[0042]).
However, Nebel does not expressly disclose:
a wiring harness defining a user input connector, wherein the wiring harness is in electrical communication with the controller;
a user input movable in at least one direction, wherein the user input receives input from a user to affect steering control of the lawnmower, wherein the user input receives input from a user to affect steering control
wherein the user input is swappable between at least two different types of user inputs, and wherein the controller is configured to self-configure between the at least two different types of user inputs.
Nevertheless, Heinzmann in an analogous art of controls for controlling a work machine teaches:
a wiring harness defining a user input connector (e.g., standardized electrical connection for attachment to a work machine via a standardized base, such as electrical connection 92 and associated wiring to base electronic controller 94 and/or CAN bus wiring harness) (Fig. 6; Paras. [0038], [0042]), wherein the wiring harness (e.g., standardized electrical connection for attachment to a work machine via a standardized base, such as electrical connection 92 and associated wiring to base electronic controller 94 and/or CAN bus wiring harness) (Fig. 6; Paras. [0038], [0042]) is in electrical communication with the controller (e.g., base electrical controller 94 and/or CAN bus) (Fig. 6; Paras. [0037]-[0038]);
a user input (joystick 40, 68, button-style input devices 59 and/or variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0026]-[0028], [0030], [0036]-[0037], [0039], [0041]) movable in at least one direction (joystick body 42 movable in at least one direction, button-style input devices 59 movable in at least one direction and/or variable wheel input device 61 movable in at least one direction) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0026]-[0028], [0030], [0036]-[0037], [0039], [0041]), wherein the user input (joystick 40, 68, button-style input devices 59 and/or variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0026]-[0028], [0030], [0036]-[0037], [0039], [0041]) receives input from a user to affect steering control (Paras. [0004], [0023]-[0024]), wherein the user input receives input (joystick 40, 68, button-style input devices 59 and/or variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0026]-[0028], [0030], [0036]-[0037], [0039], [0041]) from a user to affect steering control (Paras. [0004], [0023]-[0024])
wherein the user input (joystick 40, 68, button-style input devices 59 and/or variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0026]-[0028], [0030], [0036]-[0037], [0039], [0041]) is swappable (Paras. [0008], [0041]) between at least two different types of user inputs (compare Fig. 4 having joystick 40 with four button-style input devices 59 and one continuously variable wheel input device 61 and Fig. 5 having joystick 68 with five button-style input devices 59 and one variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-5; Para. [0028]), and wherein the controller is configured to self-configure between the at least two different types of user inputs (Abstract; Paras. [0007], [0009], [0024], [0026],[0030], [0039]-[0040], [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the riding lawnmower disclosed in Nebel with the interchangeable user inputs taught in Heinzmann with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide interchangeable controllers, each having different configurations optimized to the operator and/or the particular operating parameters and/or requirements of the selected work tool (e.g., riding lawnmower), as taught by Heinzmann (Abstract; Paras. [0006], [0024], [0042]) and to allow for easy replacement of a broken user input device (e.g., joystick). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the riding lawnmower disclosed in Nebel with the interchangeable user inputs taught in Heinzmann with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 4, Nebel in view of Heinzmann teaches the riding lawnmower of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Heinzmann teaches that the at least two different types (compare Fig. 4 having joystick with four button-style input devices 59 and one continuously variable wheel input device 61 and Fig. 5 having joystick with five button-style input devices 59 and one variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-5; Para. [0028]) of user inputs (joystick 40, 68, button-style input devices 59 and/or variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0026]-[0028], [0030], [0036]-[0037], [0039], [0041]) are installed on the lawnmower through different pathways (e.g., left hand side of operator with its associated pathway and right hand side of the operator location with its associated pathway) (Paras. [0024], [0030]).
Regarding claim 6, Nebel in view of Heinzmann teaches the riding lawnmower of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Heinzmann teaches an opening (opening in top of threaded nut/toolless securing collar 56) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0027], [0033], [0039]) through which the user input (joystick 40, 68, button-style input devices 59 and/or variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0026]-[0028], [0030], [0036]-[0037], [0039], [0041]) is movable to install and remove the user input (joystick 40, button-style input devices 59 and/or variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0026]-[0028], [0030], [0036]-[0037], [0039], [0041]), and wherein the opening (opening in top of threaded nut/toolless securing collar 56) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0027], [0033], [0039]) is covered by a removable faring (threaded nut/toolless securing collar 56) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0027], [0033], [0039]).
Regarding claim 8, Nebel in view of Heinzmann teaches the riding lawnmower of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Heinzmann teaches that the controller is configured to self-configure based on a connector type of the user input (compare Fig. 4 having joystick 40 with four button-style input devices 59 and one continuously variable wheel input device 61 and Fig. 5 having joystick 68 with five button-style input devices 59 and one variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-5; Para. [0028]) received at the user input connector (e.g., standardized electrical connection for attachment to a work machine via a standardized base, such as electrical connection 92 and associated wiring to base electronic controller 94 and/or CAN bus wiring harness) (Fig. 6; Paras. [0038], [0042]).
Claim(s) 9-10, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinzmann in view of Nebel.
Regarding claim 9, Heinzmann discloses a method of retrofitting a work device between a plurality of different user inputs (compare Fig. 4 having joystick 40 with four button-style input devices 59 and one continuously variable wheel input device 61 and Fig. 5 having joystick 68 with five button-style input devices 59 and one variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-5; Para. [0028]), the method comprising:
removing a cover (threaded nut/toolless securing collar 56) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0027], [0033], [0039]) of the work device to expose an opening (opening in top of threaded nut/toolless securing collar 56) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0027], [0033], [0039]) such that an existing user input (first joystick 40, button-style input devices 59 and/or variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0026]-[0028], [0030], [0036]-[0037], [0039], [0041]) currently coupled to the work device is accessible through the opening (opening in top of threaded nut/toolless securing collar 56) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0027], [0033], [0039]);
physically uncoupling (e.g., via uncoupling mechanical connection 46 of base 44 from joystick 40) (Fig. 6; Para. [0039]) the existing user input (first joystick 40, button-style input devices 59 and/or variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0026]-[0028], [0030], [0036]-[0037], [0039], [0041]) from the work device;
electrically uncoupling a connector (first electrical connection 90) (Figs. 6-7; Paras. [0037]-[0038], [0040]-[0041]) of the existing user input (first joystick 40, button-style input devices 59 and/or variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0026]-[0028], [0030], [0036]-[0037], [0039], [0041]) from a user input connector (e.g., standardized electrical connection for attachment to a work machine via a standardized base, such as electrical connection 92 and associated wiring to base electronic controller 94 and/or CAN bus wiring harness) (Fig. 6; Paras. [0038], [0042]) associated with a wire harness of the work device (e.g., standardized electrical connection for attachment to a work machine via a standardized base, such as electrical connection 92 and associated wiring to base electronic controller 94 and/or CAN bus wiring harness) (Fig. 6; Paras. [0038], [0042]);
physically coupling (e.g., via coupling mechanical connection 46 of base 44 to joystick 40) (Fig. 6; Para. [0039]) a new user input (second joystick 68, button-style input devices 59 and/or variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0026]-[0028], [0030], [0036]-[0037], [0039], [0041]) to the work device; and
electrically coupling the new user input (second joystick 68, button-style input devices 59 and/or variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0026]-[0028], [0030], [0036]-[0037], [0039], [0041]) to the work device by connecting a connector (first electrical connection 90) (Figs. 6-7; Paras. [0037]-[0038], [0040]-[0041]) of the new user input (second joystick 68, button-style input devices 59 and/or variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0026]-[0028], [0030], [0036]-[0037], [0039], [0041]) to the user input connector (e.g., standardized electrical connection for attachment to a work machine via a standardized base, such as electrical connection 92 and associated wiring to base electronic controller 94 and/or CAN bus wiring harness) (Fig. 6; Paras. [0038], [0042]).
However, Heinzmann does not expressly disclose that the work device is a lawnmower. Nevertheless, Nebel teaches a work device that is a lawnmower that uses joysticks, wheels, buttons, knobs or handles to send signals to a controller (left traction controller 82 and/or right traction controller 84) (Fig. 6; Paras. [0033], [0035], [0037], [0040]-[0042], [0045]) to direct any one of the systems therein (Para. [0024]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the interchangeable user inputs taught in Heinzmann with the lawnmower taught in Nebel with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow for easy replacement of a broken user input device (e.g., joystick) on the lawnmower. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the interchangeable user inputs taught in Heinzmann with the lawnmower taught in Nebel with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 10, Heinzmann in view of Nebel teaches the method of claim 9 (see above). Furthermore, Heinzmann discloses a method wherein a controller (left traction controller 82 and/or right traction controller 84) (Fig. 6; Paras. [0033], [0035], [0037], [0040]-[0042], [0045]) is configured to self-configure (Abstract; Paras. [0007], [0009], [0024], [0026],[0030], [0039]-[0040], [0042]) from a configuration associated with the existing user input (first joystick 40, button-style input devices 59 and/or variable wheel input device 61, such as the one depicted in Fig. 4) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0026]-[0028], [0030], [0036]-[0037], [0039], [0041]) to a configuration associated with the new user input (second joystick 68, button-style input devices 59 and/or variable wheel input device 61, such as the one depicted in Fig. 5) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0026]-[0028], [0030], [0036]-[0037], [0039], [0041]) in response to electrically coupling the new user input (second joystick 68, button-style input devices 59 and/or variable wheel input device 61, such as the one depicted in Fig. 5) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0026]-[0028], [0030], [0036]-[0037], [0039], [0041]) to the work device.
Regarding claim 15, Heinzmann discloses a plurality of swappable user inputs (compare Fig. 4 having joystick 40 with four button-style input devices 59 and one continuously variable wheel input device 61 and Fig. 5 having joystick 68 with five button-style input devices 59 and one variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-5; Para. [0028]) each configured to be separately coupled to a work device to affect steering control (Paras. [0004], [0023]-[0024]) of the work device, wherein the plurality of swappable user inputs (compare Fig. 4 having joystick 40 with four button-style input devices 59 and one continuously variable wheel input device 61 and Fig. 5 having joystick 68 with five button-style input devices 59 and one variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-5; Para. [0028]) comprises at least two different types of user inputs (compare Fig. 4 having joystick 40 with four button-style input devices 59 and one continuously variable wheel input device 61 and Fig. 5 having joystick 68 with five button-style input devices 59 and one variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-5; Para. [0028]), and wherein each of the plurality of swappable user inputs (compare Fig. 4 having joystick 40 with four button-style input devices 59 and one continuously variable wheel input device 61 and Fig. 5 having joystick 68 with five button-style input devices 59 and one variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-5; Para. [0028]) comprises:
an engagement feature (e.g., mechanical connection 46 of base 44 from joystick 40) (Fig. 6; Para. [0039]) to removably secure the user input (joystick 40, 68, button-style input devices 59 and/or variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0026]-[0028], [0030], [0036]-[0037], [0039], [0041]) to the work device;
a control implement (joystick body 42, 70 movable in at least one direction, button-style input devices 59 movable in at least one direction and/or variable wheel input device 61 movable in at least one direction) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0026]-[0028], [0030], [0036]-[0037], [0039], [0041]) which receives an input from a user riding on the work device;
a sensor (e.g., sensor in switches, linear sliders, toggles, dials, rotary knobs, thumbwheels, triggers, or other manually operated actuators, or any suitable combination of different types of control input devices) (Figs. 4-6; Paras. [0026], [0031]) that detects a state of the control implement (joystick body 42, 70 movable in at least one direction, button-style input devices 59 movable in at least one direction and/or variable wheel input device 61 movable in at least one direction) (Figs. 4-7; Paras. [0026]-[0028], [0030], [0036]-[0037], [0039], [0041]); and
a connector (first electrical connection 90) (Figs. 6-7; Paras. [0037]-[0038], [0040]-[0041]) in electrical communication with the sensor (e.g., sensor in switches, linear sliders, toggles, dials, rotary knobs, thumbwheels, triggers, or other manually operated actuators, or any suitable combination of different types of control input devices) (Figs. 4-6; Paras. [0026], [0031]) to transmit detected information from the sensor (e.g., sensor in switches, linear sliders, toggles, dials, rotary knobs, thumbwheels, triggers, or other manually operated actuators, or any suitable combination of different types of control input devices) (Figs. 4-6; Paras. [0026], [0031]) to a wiring harness of the work device (e.g., standardized electrical connection for attachment to a work machine via a standardized base, such as electrical connection 92 and associated wiring to base electronic controller 94 and/or CAN bus wiring harness) (Fig. 6; Paras. [0038], [0042]),
wherein the connector (first electrical connection 90) (Figs. 6-7; Paras. [0037]-[0038], [0040]-[0041]) is configured to be removably installable at the wiring harness (e.g., standardized electrical connection for attachment to a work machine via a standardized base, such as electrical connection 92 and associated wiring to base electronic controller 94 and/or CAN bus wiring harness) (Fig. 6; Paras. [0038], [0042]), and wherein each of the different types of user inputs (compare Fig. 4 having joystick 40 with four button-style input devices 59 and one continuously variable wheel input device 61 and Fig. 5 having joystick 68 with five button-style input devices 59 and one variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-5; Para. [0028]) has a different type of connector (first electrical connection 90) (Figs. 6-7; Paras. [0037]-[0038], [0040]-[0041]) such that a controller (e.g., base electrical controller 94 and/or CAN bus) (Fig. 6; Paras. [0037]-[0038]) of the work device is able to self-configure (Abstract; Paras. [0007], [0009], [0024], [0026],[0030], [0039]-[0040], [0042]) to control the work device based on the connector type installed at the wiring harness (e.g., standardized electrical connection for attachment to a work machine via a standardized base, such as electrical connection 92 and associated wiring to base electronic controller 94 and/or CAN bus wiring harness) (Fig. 6; Paras. [0038], [0042]).
However, Heinzmann does not expressly disclose that the work device is a lawnmower. Nevertheless, Nebel teaches a work device that is a lawnmower that uses joysticks, wheels, buttons, knobs or handles to send signals to a controller (left traction controller 82 and/or right traction controller 84) (Fig. 6; Paras. [0033], [0035], [0037], [0040]-[0042], [0045]) to direct any one of the systems therein (Para. [0024]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the interchangeable user inputs taught in Heinzmann with the lawnmower taught in Nebel with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow for easy replacement of a broken user input device (e.g., joystick) on the lawnmower. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the interchangeable user inputs taught in Heinzmann with the lawnmower taught in Nebel with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 17, Heinzmann in view of Nebel teaches the plurality of swappable user inputs of claim 15 (see above). Furthermore, Heinzman teaches that the connectors (first electrical connection 90) (Figs. 6-7; Paras. [0037]-[0038], [0040]-[0041]) of each of the different types of user inputs is compatible with a single user input connector (e.g., standardized electrical connection for attachment to a work machine via a standardized base, such as electrical connection 92 and associated wiring to base electronic controller 94 and/or CAN bus wiring harness) (Fig. 6; Paras. [0038], [0042]) associated with the wiring harness (e.g., standardized electrical connection for attachment to a work machine via a standardized base, such as electrical connection 92 and associated wiring to base electronic controller 94 and/or CAN bus wiring harness) (Fig. 6; Paras. [0038], [0042]).
Regarding claim 18, Heinzmann in view of Nebel teaches the plurality of swappable user inputs of claim 15 (see above). Furthermore, Heinzman teaches that at least one of the swappable user inputs comprises a single control implement (e.g., handle body 42) (Fig. 4, 6-7; Paras. [0024], [0026]-[0028], [0030], [0036]-[0037], [0039], [0041]) (for example, “If two joysticks are employed, the functions of each may be distributed between the two joysticks according to any suitable arrangement . . . one joystick . . . may be configured to operate the basic functions of the work machine, such as locomotion of the machine itself . . . .” (Para. [0024])), wherein at least one of the swappable user inputs (compare Fig. 4 having joystick 40 with four button-style input devices 59 and one continuously variable wheel input device 61 and Fig. 5 having joystick 68 with five button-style input devices 59 and one variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-5; Para. [0028]) comprises a plurality of control implements (compare Fig. 4 having joystick 40 with four button-style input devices 59 and one continuously variable wheel input device 61 and Fig. 5 having joystick 68 with five button-style input devices 59 and one variable wheel input device 61) (Figs. 4-5; Para. [0028]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5, 7, 11-14, 16 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Pat. No. 6,341,821 to Rousseau (cited by Applicant in IDS filed on 10/22/2025) relates to an ergonomic armrest and joystick assembly that allows swapping between left and right sides. U.S. Pat. No. 4,702,520 to Whisler et al. relates to an adjustable armrest with integral vehicle controls. U.S. Pat. No. 7,857,090 to Ruhter et al. relates to an auxiliary input arrangement for a construction vehicle. U.S. Pat. No. 5,326,063 to Stevens relates to a swing-away joystick assembly for an armrest. European Pat. Pub. No. EP 2 832 583 A2 to Dubiez (cited by Applicant in IDS filed on 10/22/2025) relates to a joystick controller that is releasably secured to an armrest.
/CLAUDE J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671