DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2021/0375043) in view of D2 (U.S. PATENT NO. 12202288).
-Regarding claim 1, D1 discloses a method for texture identification and process parameter generation of objects (see abstract), comprising: obtaining an image of a to-be-identified object (a texture image and a depth image corresponding to the texture image are acquired, [0031]); inputting the image into a texture recognition model to generate a texture recognition result and a mask (texture image is input into the mask region convolutional neural network to output the at least one region of interest on the texture image and the category information and the mask information of each of the at least one region of interest, [0035]); and extracting a central position of the to-be-identified object (binary classification and border regression are performed to select the at least one proposal region, so as to obtain the at least one sample region of interest of the sample image, [0061]); and the mask is an indicative information of location (The mask information of each of the at least one region of interest includes a mask image of each preset category, and the mask image of each preset category is a binary mask image, [0036]) and shape of individual texture regions in the image (the mask information of each of the at least one region of interest is generated by a fully connected convolutional neural network operation in the mask region convolutional neural network, [0061]).
D1 is silent to teaching that stone; along a texture direction; and processing parameters corresponding to a texture of the to-be-identified object from the texture recognition result and the mask; and wherein the texture recognition result comprises a recognition information of the processing parameters. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by D2.
In the same field of endeavor, D2 teaches stone materials (see abstract); along a texture direction (creates a two dimensional modifying mask image based, at least in part, on the examination of the two dimensional top surface 202 of the original engineered stone slab 200, col. 8 lines 42-51); and processing parameters corresponding to a texture of the to-be-identified object from the texture recognition result and the mask (made more detailed in color or movement, resulting in a slab that more closely resembles natural stone, col. 8 lines 58-64); and wherein the texture recognition result comprises a recognition information of the processing parameters (at least one digital printing device 3 adapted to dispense at least one ink on the exposed surface S according to at least one predefined design D, col. 7 lines 45-52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of D1 with the teaching of D2 in order to produce a through bodied slab with detailed printed features on the surface.
-Regarding claim 2, the combination further discloses the texture recognition result further comprises a recognition information of the texture direction (D2, made more detailed in color or movement, resulting in a slab that more closely resembles natural stone, col. 8 lines 58-64).
-Regarding claim 10, D1 discloses a system for texture identification and process parameter generation of object (see abstract), comprising: an acquisition module ( [0031]); an identification module ([0066]); and an extraction module ([0036]); wherein the acquisition module is configured for obtaining an image of a to-be-identified object (a texture image and a depth image corresponding to the texture image are acquired, [0031]); the identification module is configured for equipping with a texture recognition model (texture image processing module 304 is configured to process the texture image by a pre-trained mask region convolutional neural network to determine at least one region of interest on the texture image and category information and mask information of each of the at least one region of interest, [0066]); and the mask is an indicative information of location (The mask information of each of the at least one region of interest includes a mask image of each preset category, and the mask image of each preset category is a binary mask image, [0036]) and shape of individual texture regions in the image (the mask information of each of the at least one region of interest is generated by a fully connected convolutional neural network operation in the mask region convolutional neural network, [0061]); and the extraction module is configured for extracting a central position (binary classification and border regression are performed to select the at least one proposal region, so as to obtain the at least one sample region of interest of the sample image, [0061]).
D1 is silent to teaching that stone; wherein the texture recognition model is configured for generating a texture recognition result and a mask; the texture recognition result comprises a recognition information of the processing parameters; and along a texture direction of the to-be-identified stone and processing parameters corresponding to a texture of the to-be-identified stone. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by D2.
In the same field of endeavor, D2 teaches stone (see abstract); wherein the texture recognition model is configured for generating a texture recognition result and a mask (made more detailed in color or movement, resulting in a slab that more closely resembles natural stone, col. 8 lines 58-64); the texture recognition result comprises a recognition information of the processing parameters; and along a texture direction of the to-be-identified stone and processing parameters corresponding to a texture of the to-be-identified stone (creates a two dimensional modifying mask image based, at least in part, on the examination of the two dimensional top surface 202 of the original engineered stone slab 200, col. 8 lines 42-51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of D1 with the teaching of D2 in order to produce a through bodied slab with detailed printed features on the surface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PING Y HSIEH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664