Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (lDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KOBAYASHI; Hideto (US 20210014389 A1, hereinafter “KOBAYASHI”).
Regarding claim 1, KOBAYASHI teaches a control apparatus (Figs. 2&5: electronic terminal 300) comprising:
a communication unit (Figs. 1-5: communication unit 392) that communicates with an image capture apparatus (Figs. 1-5, [0051]: The communication unit 392 is capable of transmitting and receiving data to and from the wirelessly connected camera body 100 using the antenna.);
a transmission unit (Figs. 1-5: a transmission unit 392a) that transmits a control instruction to the image capture apparatus (Figs. 2&5, [0051]: Upon acquiring a transmission packet, the transmission unit 392a modulates a data string, generates a signal, and transmits the signal using the antenna.);
a reception unit (Figs. 1-5: a reception unit 392b) that receives, from the image capture apparatus, a second image (Figs. 2&5, [0070]-[0071]: the reception unit 392b of the electronic terminal 300 receives live-view images ImF-1 to ImF-n (with low-resolution see [0003]) from the camera body 100) in which data amount is smaller than that of a first image shot by the image capture apparatus (Figs. 2&5, [0070]-[0071]&[0076]: At the same time, in accordance with the imaging request signal from the electronic terminal 300, the body controller 140 drives the imaging element 110 and the shutter 180 to execute an imaging operation, acquires a captured image Im1 (with high-resolution see [0003]));
a display unit (Figs. 1-5: display unit 305) that displays a list of the second images received from the image capture apparatus (Figs. 4&5, [0067]-[0068]: In the electronic terminal 300, upon receiving the live-view image via the reception unit 392b, the terminal controller 301 causes the display unit 305 to display the received live-view images ImF-1 to ImF-n (list of frames));
and a control unit (Figs. 1-5: terminal controller 301) that notifies the image capture apparatus of the second image selected from the list (Figs. 4-6, [0071]&[0075]: In the electronic terminal 300, the terminal controller 301: selects an image frame that corresponds to the timing of transmission of the imaging request, i.e., an image frame Im2 acquired at a timing near the actual captured image, from among the received live-view images ImF-1 to ImF-n; performs a reduction process to reduce a size of the selected image frame Im2; and stores the reduced-size image frame Im2 in the thumbnail image storage unit 302a (FIG. 2) (S112). The list display of the thumbnail images may be implemented by: requesting information for the list display of the thumbnail image from the camera-body 100 side, due to the user tapping a thumbnail image 305b; and acquiring the information.).
Regarding claim 2, KOBAYASHI teaches the control apparatus according to claim 1, in addition KOBAYASHI discloses further comprising a storage unit that stores the second image received from the image capture apparatus when the control instruction is transmitted (Figs. 4-6, [0071]&[0075]: In the electronic terminal 300, the terminal controller 301: selects an image frame that corresponds to the timing of transmission of the imaging request, i.e., an image frame Im2 acquired at a timing near the actual captured image, from among the received live-view images ImF-1 to ImF-n; performs a reduction process to reduce a size of the selected image frame Im2; and stores the reduced-size image frame Im2 in the thumbnail image storage unit 302a (FIG. 2) (S112). The list display of the thumbnail images may be implemented by: requesting information for the list display of the thumbnail image from the camera-body 100 side, due to the user tapping a thumbnail image 305b; and acquiring the information.).
Regarding claim 3, KOBAYASHI teaches the control apparatus according to claim 2, in addition KOBAYASHI discloses further comprising:
an imaging unit that captures an image (Figs. 1-2, [0027]: imaging element 110 captures an image of a subject, generates image data, and outputs the image data.);
wherein the reception unit receives a live view image generated by the imaging unit from the image capture apparatus (Figs. 2&5, [0070]-[0071]: the reception unit 392b of the electronic terminal 300 receives live-view images ImF-1 to ImF-n from the camera body 100),
the display unit displays the live view image received from the image capture apparatus (Figs. 4&5, [0067]-[0068]: In the electronic terminal 300, upon receiving the live-view image via the reception unit 392b, the terminal controller 301 causes the display unit 305 to display the received live-view images ImF-1 to ImF-n),
and the control unit updates the live view image displayed on the display unit to the live view image received from the image capture apparatus (Figs. 1-2&5, [0068]: the body controller 140 of the camera body 100 continues to generate the live-view image and transmit the same to the electronic terminal 300 as long as no stop request signal, etc., is received from the electronic terminal 300.).
Regarding claim 4, KOBAYASHI teaches the control apparatus according to claim 3, in addition KOBAYASHI discloses wherein the second image is the live view image (Figs. 2&5, [0070]-[0071]: the reception unit 392b of the electronic terminal 300 receives live-view images ImF-1 to ImF-n from the camera body 100),
the control instruction is a shooting instruction of an image (Figs. 4-5, [0069]-[0071]: in the electronic terminal 300, when a manipulation of the imaging button 305c (FIG. 5) by the user is received from the manipulation unit 303 (S110), the terminal controller 301 generates an imaging request signal and transmits the same to the camera body 100 via the transmission unit 392a.),
and the storage unit stores identification information of the shooting instruction transmitted to the image capture apparatus and the live view image immediately before transmission of the shooting instruction (Figs. 2&5, [0070]-[0073]&[0075]: In the electronic terminal 300, the terminal controller 301: selects an image frame that corresponds to the timing of transmission of the imaging request, i.e., an image frame Im2 acquired at a timing near the actual captured image, from among the received live-view images ImF-1 to ImF-n. The imaging frame Im2 acquired at each instance of imaging is stored in the thumbnail image storage unit 302a shown in FIG. 2. The capture image transmission request signal includes identification information pertaining to a requested captured image.).
Regarding claim 5, KOBAYASHI teaches the control apparatus according to claim 3, in addition KOBAYASHI discloses wherein the second image is the live view image (Figs. 2&5, [0070]-[0071]: the reception unit 392b of the electronic terminal 300 receives live-view images ImF-1 to ImF-n from the camera body 100),
the control instruction is a shooting instruction of an image (Figs. 4-5, [0069]-[0071]: in the electronic terminal 300, when a manipulation of the imaging button 305c by the user is received from the manipulation unit 303 (S110), the terminal controller 301 generates an imaging request signal and transmits the same to the camera body 100 via the transmission unit 392a.),
and the storage unit stores a file name of the first image shot by the image capture apparatus in response to the shooting instruction and the live view image immediately after transmission of the shooting instruction (Figs. 1-5, [0075]: The terminal controller 301 of the electronic terminal 300 transmits a captured image transmission request signal to the camera body 100 via the transmission unit 392a through TCP due to a manipulation to select the desired thumbnail image from among the thumbnail images displayed as a list. The capture image transmission request signal includes identification information pertaining to a requested captured image. In the camera body 100, the body controller 140 transmits a response signal to the electronic terminal 300 via the transmission unit 191a. The body controller 140 reads data of a captured image that corresponds to the identification information from among the captured images stored in the flash memory 142 (S115), and transmits the data to the electronic terminal 300 via the transmission unit 191a.).
Regarding claim 6, KOBAYASHI teaches the control apparatus according to claim 3, in addition KOBAYASHI discloses wherein the second image is a thumbnail image (the thumbnail image is generated from the image frame of the live-view image and is displayed), the control instruction is a shooting instruction of an image ([0069]: in the electronic terminal 300, when a manipulation of the imaging button 305c (FIG. 5) by the user is received from the manipulation unit 303 (S110)), and the storage unit stores identification information of the first image shot by the image capture apparatus in response to the shooting instruction ([0071]-[0075]: in accordance with the imaging request signal from the electronic terminal 300, the body controller 140 drives the imaging element 110 and the shutter 180 to execute an imaging operation, acquires a captured image Im1 (FIG. 5), and stores the same in the flash memory 142 (FIG. 1) (S111).) and a thumbnail image generated from the first image ([0071]-[0075]: Storage unit 302a stores the thumbnail image and corresponding identification information).
Regarding claim 7, KOBAYASHI teaches the control apparatus according to claim 4, in addition KOBAYASHI discloses wherein the control unit discards the second image stored in the storage unit when ending the control of the image capture apparatus ([0082]: the camera body 100 executes an imaging operation in accordance with an imaging request and acquires the captured image Im1; and the electronic terminal 300 acquires, in lieu of the captured image, the image frame Im2 acquired from the live-view image in accordance with the timing of the imaging request, and reduce a size of the image frame Im2 to be a thumbnail image and stores the thumbnail image. Examiner notes that Im2 are only stored in association with captured image Im1 from the camera 100).
Regarding claim 8, KOBAYASHI teaches the control apparatus according to claim 1, in addition KOBAYASHI discloses wherein the second image includes a moving image or a still image ([0027]-[0028]: Operations performed by the imaging element 110 include operations to capture static images and/or video images. And The liquid-crystal monitor 120 is capable of selectively displaying both static images and video images.).
Regarding claim 9, KOBAYASHI teaches an image capture apparatus (Figs. 1-5: camera system 1) comprising:
a communication unit that communicates with a control apparatus (Figs. 1-5, [0035]: communication unit 191 and an electronic terminal 300);
a reception unit (Figs. 1-5: reception unit 191b) that receives a control instruction from the control apparatus (Figs. 1-5, [0063]: receiving connection request signal from the electronic terminal 300 via the reception unit 191b);
a transmission unit (Figs. 1-5: transmission unit 191a) that transmits, to the control apparatus, a second image in which a data amount is smaller than that of a first image shot by the image capture apparatus (Figs. 2-5, [0070]: the body controller 140 transmits a response signal to the electronic terminal 300 via the transmission unit 191a. At the same time, in accordance with the imaging request signal from the electronic terminal 300, the body controller 140 drives the imaging element 110 and the shutter 180 to execute an imaging operation, acquires a captured image Im1 (FIG. 5), and stores the same in the flash memory 142 (FIG. 1) (S111). The body controller 140 continuously generates the live-view image and transmits the same to the electronic terminal 300 through UDP (S122, S124, . . . ).);
a storage unit (Figs. 1-5: flash memory 142) that stores the first image shot in response to the control instruction (Figs. 1-5, [0070]: in accordance with the imaging request signal from the electronic terminal 300, the body controller 140 drives the imaging element 110 and the shutter 180 to execute an imaging operation, acquires a captured image Im1 (FIG. 5), and stores the same in the flash memory 142 (FIG. 1) (S111). The body controller 140 continuously generates the live-view image and transmits the same to the electronic terminal 300 through UDP (S122, S124, . . . ).);
and a control unit (Figs. 1-6: body controller 140) that executes, in response to receiving a notification of the second image from the control apparatus, a predetermined processing related to the first image associated with the notified second image (Figs. 1-5, [0075]: The terminal controller 301 of the electronic terminal 300 transmits a captured image transmission request signal to the camera body 100 via the transmission unit 392a through TCP due to a manipulation to select the desired thumbnail image from among the thumbnail images displayed as a list. The capture image transmission request signal includes identification information pertaining to a requested captured image. In the camera body 100, the body controller 140 transmits a response signal to the electronic terminal 300 via the transmission unit 191a. The body controller 140 reads data of a captured image that corresponds to the identification information from among the captured images stored in the flash memory 142 (S115), and transmits the data to the electronic terminal 300 via the transmission unit 191a.).
Regarding claim 10, KOBAYASHI teaches the image capture apparatus according to claim 9, in addition KOBAYASHI discloses wherein the second image is a live view image generated by an imaging unit (Figs. 1-5, [0066]: the body controller 140 generates the live-view image (S102, S104) and transmits the live-view image through UDP),
the control instruction is a shooting instruction of an image (Figs. 4-5, [0069]-[0071]: in the electronic terminal 300, when a manipulation of the imaging button 305c by the user is received from the manipulation unit 303 (S110), the terminal controller 301 generates an imaging request signal and transmits the same to the camera body 100 via the transmission unit 392a.),
the transmission unit transmits the live view image to the control apparatus (Figs. 1-5, [0066]: the body controller 140 generates the live-view image (S102, S104) and transmits the live-view image through UDP, via the transmission unit 191a.).,
and the storage unit stores identification information of the shooting instruction received from the control apparatus and the first image shot in response to the shooting instruction (Figs. 1-5, [0075]: The terminal controller 301 of the electronic terminal 300 transmits a captured image transmission request signal to the camera body 100 via the transmission unit 392a through TCP due to a manipulation to select the desired thumbnail image from among the thumbnail images displayed as a list. The capture image transmission request signal includes identification information pertaining to a requested captured image. In the camera body 100, the body controller 140 transmits a response signal to the electronic terminal 300 via the transmission unit 191a. The body controller 140 reads data of a captured image that corresponds to the identification information from among the captured images stored in the flash memory 142 (S115), and transmits the data to the electronic terminal 300 via the transmission unit 191a.).
Regarding claim 11, KOBAYASHI teaches the image capture apparatus according to claim 9, in addition KOBAYASHI discloses wherein the second image is a live view image generated by an imaging unit (Figs. 1-5, [0066]: the body controller 140 generates the live-view image (S102, S104) and transmits the live-view image through UDP),
the control instruction is a shooting instruction of an image (Figs. 4-5, [0069]-[0071]: in the electronic terminal 300, when a manipulation of the imaging button 305c by the user is received from the manipulation unit 303 (S110), the terminal controller 301 generates an imaging request signal and transmits the same to the camera body 100 via the transmission unit 392a.),
and the storage unit stores the first image shot in response to the shooting instruction and a file name of the first image ([0070]: in accordance with the imaging request signal from the electronic terminal 300, the body controller 140 drives the imaging element 110 and the shutter 180 to execute an imaging operation, acquires a captured image Im1 (FIG. 5), and stores the same in the flash memory 142 (FIG. 1) (S111).).
Regarding claim 12, KOBAYASHI teaches the image capture apparatus according to claim 9, in addition KOBAYASHI discloses wherein the second image is a thumbnail image ([0087]: the thumbnail image is generated from the image frame of the live-view image and is displayed),
the control instruction is a shooting instruction of an image ([0069]: in the electronic terminal 300, when a manipulation of the imaging button 305c (FIG. 5) by the user is received from the manipulation unit 303 (S110)),
and the storage unit stores the first image shot in response to the shooting instruction and identification information of the first image ([0071]-[0075]: in accordance with the imaging request signal from the electronic terminal 300, the body controller 140 drives the imaging element 110 and the shutter 180 to execute an imaging operation, acquires a captured image Im1 (FIG. 5), and stores the same in the flash memory 142 (FIG. 1) (S111).).
Regarding claim 13, KOBAYASHI teaches the image capture apparatus according to claim 9, in addition KOBAYASHI discloses wherein the image capture apparatus is connected to an image management apparatus by the communication unit (Figs. 1-2: camera system 1, communication units 191392 and electronic terminal 300), and the predetermined processing is processing of transferring the first image associated with the second image notified from the control apparatus to the image management apparatus ([0078]: When the user selects the first thumbnail image by tapping, etc., a captured image request signal is transmitted from the electronic terminal 300 to the camera body 100 (S114), as shown in FIG. 6, and the camera body 100 reads and transmits the captured image that corresponds to the first thumbnail image (S115).).
Regarding claim 14, KOBAYASHI teaches the image capture apparatus according to claim 13, in addition KOBAYASHI discloses wherein when the first image to be transferred to the image management apparatus is in plurals, the control unit performs control so that the first image associated with the second image notified from the control apparatus is preferentially transferred ([0078]: The captured image Im1 stored on the camera-body 100 side and the image frame Im2 stored on the electronic-terminal 300 side are associated, e.g., in the following manner. When the user selects the first thumbnail image by tapping, etc., a captured image request signal is transmitted from the electronic terminal 300 to the camera body 100 (S114), as shown in FIG. 6, and the camera body 100 reads and transmits the captured image that corresponds to the first thumbnail image (S115). ).
Regarding claim 15, KOBAYASHI teaches the image capture apparatus according to claim 14, in addition KOBAYASHI discloses wherein the control instruction is a transfer instruction of an image, and the control unit performs control so as to preferentially transfer the first image associated with the second image notified from the control apparatus when receiving a transfer instruction of the image from the control apparatus ([0078]: When the user selects the first thumbnail image by tapping, etc., a captured image request signal is transmitted from the electronic terminal 300 to the camera body 100 (S114), as shown in FIG. 6, and the camera body 100 reads and transmits the captured image that corresponds to the first thumbnail image (S115). ).
Regarding claim 16, KOBAYASHI teaches the image capture apparatus according to claim 9, in addition KOBAYASHI discloses wherein the second image includes a moving image or a still image ([0027]-[0028]: Operations performed by the imaging element 110 include operations to capture static images and/or video images. And The liquid-crystal monitor 120 is capable of selectively displaying both static images and video images.).
Regarding claim 17, Method claim 17 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 1. Therefore method claim 17, corresponds to apparatus claim 1, is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Regarding claim 18, Method claim 18 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 9. Therefore method claim 18, corresponds to apparatus claim 9, is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1 and in accordance with KOBAYASHI's further teaching on: non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to function as a control apparatus (Figs. 1-2, [0048]: storage unit 302 is a recording medium to store data, a program, and a parameter necessary for the electronic terminal 300 to implement a function.).
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 9 and in accordance with KOBAYASHI's further teaching on: non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to function as a control apparatus (Figs. 1-2, [0026]: body controller 140 uses a flash memory 142 as a memory to store data used in communication with the electronic terminal 300 (FIG. 2), as described below. A GPU, a DSP, an FPGA, an ASIC, and various other processors can also be implemented as the body controller 140.).
Contact
/ABDELAAZIZ TISSIRE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638