Detailed Office action
The communication dated 6/3/2026 has been entered and fully considered. Claim 16 is withdrawn from examination. Claims 1-16 remain pending
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I (claims 1-15) in the reply filed on 6/3/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the amendment overcomes the restriction requirement. This is not found persuasive because the amendment does not positively recite that the apparatus of Invention I is used in the method of Invention II. It only recites providing the apparatus and not using it. Therefore, the restriction requirement of 4/8/2026 stands as is. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claim 16 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5 and 11 recites the limitation “a piece good” in line 2. This limitation is already recited in the independent claim 1. Therefore, it is not clear that the limitation in claim 5/11 is the same as that in claim 1 or a different one. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner interprets both limitations to be the same. Claims 6-8 are dependent on claim 5 and are rejected as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over COSSEY (US-2022/0185527), hereinafter COSSEY, in view of DE (DE-19750204-A1 and its English translation), hereinafter DE. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claim 1, COSSEY discloses A label device for applying a label to a piece good {[abstract]}, comprising:
a movable arm {[0020] note the robotic arm, [FIG. 1] 116/118 and note that is moveable along axis 122};
and a function end provided on the movable arm, wherein the function end is configured to hold a label {[0022] note end effector is the function end, [0023] note label retainer};
wherein the movable arm is displaceable between a hold state, in which a label can be held on the function end, and an application state, in which the function end can come into contact with the piece good to apply the label to the piece good {[0023] note holding by negative pressure, [0031] note contacting the package that is the application state}.
COSSEY, however, is silent on a fixed base and that the moveable arm is moveably mounted on the fixed base.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to labeling device, DE discloses a fixed base; moveable arm movably mounted on the fixed base {[0001] note support frame is the fixed base, [0026]/[FIG. 2] note support frame 18 is fixed, [0029] note move along x-axis on guide rails 60 and 60’, [FIG. 2] note label applicator 26 is mounted on the frame and it can move in the horizontal direction on the guide rails 60 and 60’}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of DE in the labeling device of COSSEY and have moveably mounted the movable arm 116/118 of COSSEY on a fixed frame so that this arm can move horizontally to reach the packages 114a-c {[FIG. 1]}. COSSEY discloses that its moveable arm is capable of extending transverse to the vertical motion path {[0048]}, therefore such modification enables further reach of this arm in the horizontal direction.
Also as disclosed by DE, such system enables the automatic operation to place the labels quickly and reliably {[0003], [0021]}.
Regarding claim 2, modified COSSEY discloses wherein the function end is configured to hold the label via a vacuum {[0023] note suction or negative pressure or vacuum}.
Regarding claims 3 and 9, modified COSSEY discloses wherein the function end is configured to come into mechanical contact with the piece good in the application state {[0031] note contacting the package}.
Regarding claims 4 and 10, modified COSSEY discloses wherein the function end is configured to have a different shape in the application state than in the hold state {[0034] note contact creates a force and changes the orientation of the function end}.
Regarding claims 5 and 11, modified COSSEY discloses wherein the movable arm is configured to follow, at least temporarily, a path of movement of a piece good to be labeled in the application state {[FIG. 1] note modified 116 in modified COSSEY can move horizontally along the conveyor (not numbered) that carries packages 114}.
Regarding claims 6 and 12, modified COSSEY discloses further comprising: a control unit which is configured to obtain or detect label information and, based thereon, to control the movable arm and/or the function end such that the label can be applied to the piece good based on the label information {[0031] note “label is retained” is the label information}.
Regarding claims 7 and 13, modified COSSEY discloses further comprising: a sensor device configured to detect a piece good to be labeled in order to obtain label information {[0031] note sensor detecting label applied to package or piece good thus detecting piece good as well}.
Regarding claims 8 and 14, DE discloses wherein the label device is configured to recognize a position of an applied label and to store the result in the label information {[0005], [0033] note storage in the memory}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of DE in the modified labeling device of COSSEY and have had the sensor recognizes the position of the label and store it in the memory. As disclosed by DE, such position sensing enables the automatic operation to place the labels accurately {[0003]}.
Regarding claim 15, modified COSSEY discloses A label system, comprising: a labeling device according to claim 1; and a conveyor which is configured to transport piece goods in a transport direction to the label device {see claim 1, [FIG. 1] note the conveyor (not numbered)}.
Conclusion
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748