DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/15/25 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 1/15/25. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (US 2022/0256174).
Regarding claim 19, Zhao discloses a non-transitory program storage device having encoded data representative of an image of a video (see fig. 1; e.g. see ¶ [0327]), the encoded data comprising: an indication specifying an absolute codeword value of a corrective value (e.g. see ¶ [0174], [0228]) for one or more chroma residual scaling parameters (e.g. see ¶ [0174]); and an indication specifying a sign of a corrective value (e.g. see ¶ [0174], [0028]) for one or more chroma residual scaling parameters (e.g. see ¶ [0174]).
Note: The claim discloses “a non-transitory program storage device having encoded data representative of an image of a video”. The claim then recites the content of the data. These data do not add any further structure or functional limitation to the “storage device having encoded data representative of an image of a video”. Hence, these data do not add patentable weight to the claim. It is recommended to either cancel the claim, change to a method claim or add a “non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream with stored instructions to decode the bitstream according to the method of ...” to consider the body of the claim along with incorporating all the limitations of claim 1 to have claim 19 in condition for allowance.
Regarding claim 20, Zhao further discloses wherein the indication specifying the absolute codeword value of the corrective value for one or more chroma residual scaling parameters and the indication specifying the sign of the corrective value for one or more chroma residual scaling parameters are part of an Adaptation Parameter Set (APS) in the encoded data (e.g. see ¶ [0187]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are allowable.
The following is an Examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Claims 1, 6, 10 and 15 discloses a method comprising: decoding an indication specifying an absolute codeword value of a corrective value for one or more chroma residual scaling parameters; decoding an indication specifying a sign of a corrective value for one or more chroma residual scaling parameters; determining the corrective value for one or more chroma residual scaling parameters based on the indication specifying the absolute codeword value and the indication specifying the sign of the corrective value; obtaining one or more luma mapping parameters representative of a slope of a luma forward mapping function applied to a prediction of luma samples; determining one or more corrected luma mapping parameters by adding the corrective value of the one or more chroma residual scaling parameters to the one or more luma mapping parameters; obtaining one or more corrected residual scaling parameters by inverting the one or more corrected luma mapping parameters; scaling chroma residuals using one or more corrected residual scaling parameters; and decoding a video based on the scaled chroma residuals.
The closest prior art Zhao (US 2022/0256174) discloses chroma residual scaling parameters (e.g. see equation in ¶ [0174], and luma mapping parameters representative of a slope of a luma forward mapping function applied to a prediction of luma samples (see fig. 8) but fails to anticipate or render the above underlined limitation obvious.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1. Shingala et al. (US 2020/0389648), discloses luma reshaping for chroma scaling.
2. Song et al. (US 2019/0320191), discloses chroma reshaping with dynamic range.
3. Su (US 2018/0124399), discloses dynamic range video reshaping.
Conclusion
/RICHARD T TORRENTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485