DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I, species 1B, 3A (claims 1-7, 10-17) in the reply filed on 3/18/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 is indefinite because it is unclear if “a cooling device” is the same cooling device from claim 10, or if this is a different cooling device. For the purpose of examination they are the same cooling device.
Claim 13 is in definite because it is unclear of “a cooling sleeve” is the same cooling sleeve in claim 11 or if this is a different cooling sleeve. If it is the same cooling sleeve, the claim should read “the cooling sleeve”. For the purpose of examination, they are the same cooling sleeve.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the heating module" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, it will be understood to be “a heating module”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Mankus et al. (2007/0228104A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mankus discloses a solid-state manufacturing method (shown in figure 1), comprising: connecting a solid-state manufacturing tool 72 to a transition spindle 30 for driving through a machine head; starting the solid-state manufacturing device and moving the solid-state manufacturing tool to process along a predetermined route; during solid-state manufacturing process, measuring deformation of a deformation detection region on the transition spindle by a strain gauge 82 to monitor force and/or torque of the transition spindle (paragraph 0033); monitoring temperature of the solid-state manufacturing tool by a first temperature monitoring assembly 84 (paragraph 0035); and monitoring temperature in the deformation detection region (by a second temperature monitoring assembly (in the pin adaptor) (paragraphs 0035-0036) (figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, Mankus discloses wherein the solid-state manufacturing method is a friction stir welding method or a solid-state additive manufacturing method (figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mankus et al. (2007/0228104A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gao et al. (CN216062992U).
Regarding claim 3, Mankus discloses during solid-state manufacturing process, measuring deformation of the deformation detection region on the transition spindle by the strain gauge to monitor force and/or torque on the transition spindle; monitoring temperature of the solid-state manufacturing tool by the first temperature monitoring assembly; and monitoring temperature on the deformation detection region by the second temperature monitoring assembly comprises: an outside of the transition spindle having a control device (paragraphs 0033-0036, figures 1-2)
Mankus discloses transmitting the sensors to the control device 100, but does not specifically state using wireless signals. However, Gao discloses a friction stir welding method that uses wireless transmission for sending strain, force and temperature information to a controller (see computer translation). To one skilled in the art at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to use wireless transmission as it reduces the number of parts (wires) required for the system. This would cut down on production costs.
Regarding claim 4, Mankus discloses an outside of the transition spindle has a control device, and receiving and transmitting wireless signals (taught by Gao) from the strain gauge, the first temperature monitoring assembly, and the second temperature monitoring assembly by the control device during the solid-state manufacturing process comprises: during the solid-state manufacturing process, receiving and transmitting wireless signals from the strain gauge, the first temperature monitoring assembly, and the second temperature monitoring assembly by an integrated circuit board assembly within the control device, and displaying corresponding signals on a terminal, and supplying power to the integrated circuit board assembly by the power supply assembly within the control device (paragraphs 0036-0040).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mankus et al. (2007/0228104A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Landmark (2020/0047280A1).
Regarding claim 5, Mankus does not specifically disclose adhering strain gauges to the deformation detection region on the transition spindle to calibrate the force and/or torque measurements before the start of the solid-state manufacturing process. However, Landmark discloses a friction stir welding method with adhering strain gauges to the deformation detection region on the transition spindle to calibrate the force and/or torque measurements before the start of the solid-state manufacturing process (paragraphs 0004, 0035). To one skilled in the art at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to calibrate prior to starting the welding process to ensure that the proper measurements are detected to prevent an incomplete/incorrect weld.
Claim(s) 10-13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mankus et al. (2007/0228104A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Luo et al. (CN112355464A).
Regarding claim 10, Mankus does not disclose wherein during solid-state manufacturing process, the outside of the transition spindle has a cooling device, by which heat transferred from the solid-state manufacturing tool to the transition spindle is cooled to avoid excessive temperature of the transition spindle. However, Luo discloses a friction stir welding device with cooling device 501, 502 outside of the transition spindle 4 (figure 2, see computer English translation). To one skilled in the art at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to have a cooling device on the outside of the transition spindle to prevent the tool from overheating during use that could damage the tool.
Regarding claim 11, Luo discloses wherein during the solid-state manufacturing process, the outside of the transition spindle 4 has a cooling device, which faces a side of the solid-state manufacturing tool and by which heat transferred from the solid-state manufacturing tool to the transition spindle is cooled to avoid excessive temperature of the transition spindle comprises: the cooling device being a self-cooling assembly 502 (fan) fixedly connected to the outside of the transition spindle, wherein the self-cooling assembly rotates synchronously with the transition spindle during solid-state manufacturing process; or a cooling sleeve 501 rotationally connected to the outside of the transition spindle, the cooling sleeve having a cooling module inside to cool the transition spindle, during solid-state manufacturing process, wherein the transition spindle rotates relative to the cooling sleeve and the cooling sleeve does not rotate (figure 2, see computer translation).
Regarding claim 12, Luo discloses that the cooling device is a self-cooling assembly fixedly connected to the outside of the transition spindle, and a step of synchronizing the rotation of the self-cooling assembly (fan 502) to follow the transition spindle 4 during the solid-state manufacturing comprises: the self-cooling assembly being a semiconductor cooling sheet and/or a fan 502 to dissipate heat from the transition spindle by the semiconductor cooling sheet and/or the fan 502 during the solid-state manufacturing process; and the semiconductor cooling sheet and/or the fan being positioned equally on the outside of the transition spindle to maintain a weight balance at various places of the transition spindle (figure 2, see computer translation).
Regarding claim 13, Luo discloses that the cooling device comprises a cooling sleeve 501 rotationally connected to the outside of the transition spindle, the cooling sleeve has a cooling module inside to cool the transition spindle, during the solid-state manufacturing process, wherein the transition spindle rotates relative to the cooling sleeve, and the cooling sleeve remains stationary comprises: a cooling cavity (inside 501, figure 2) is opened in the cooling sleeve, and during the solid-state manufacturing process, the cooling efficiency is controlled by controlling the temperature or flow rate of the fluid (cooling water) entering the cooling cavity (figure 2, see computer translation).
Regarding claim 15, Mankus discloses monitoring the temperature of the deformation detection region. Luo discloses using a cooling sleeve 501 and a fan 502 in order to avoid temperature differences within the weld seam. Therefore, it is known to monitor the temperature and it is also known to use cooling too adjust the temperature of the weld seam. To one skilled in the art at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to monitor the temperature and increase the cooling to reduce the heat as claimed to prevent overheating and to monitor that the correct weld is being formed.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mankus et al. (2007/0228104A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hidaka et al. (JP2004/358513A).
Regarding claim 14, Mankus does not specifically disclose wherein when the second temperature monitoring assembly monitors that the temperature at the deformation detection region is below the minimum value of a preset temperature range, the heating module is controlled to heat the region. However, Hidaka discloses a friction stir welding tool with temperature monitoring with a detecting means and a temperature control means for controlling a heating temperature in order to optimally maintain the optimum temperature (paragraphs 0020-0035). To one skilled in the art at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to control the temperature as claimed to ensure that the required temperature is maintained to prevent an incomplete or damaged joint.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mankus et al. (2007/0228104A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nelson et al. (2002/0011509A1).
Regarding claim 17, Mankus does not specifically disclose wherein before the solid-state manufacturing process begins, an annular thermal insulation assembly is installed between the transition spindle and the solid-state manufacturing tool to reduce the conduction of heat generated by the solid-state manufacturing tool to the transition spindle during the manufacturing process. However, Nelson discloses a friction stir welding tool with thermal flow barrier 38 between a pin/shoulder 32, 34 and the spindle/shaft 30 (figure 2A, 3, paragraphs 0060, 0069). To one skilled in the art at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to include a thermal insulation as claimed for thermal flow management. It prevents heat from being pulled away from the tool (paragraph 0069). This would ensure that proper heat is being applied to the workpieces during welding to ensure a proper joint.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claim 6, prior art was not found that taught or suggested a method of calibrating the force by placing the transition spindle on a designated mold, with the bottom of the transition spindle fixed, and applying sequentially increasing a force of known magnitude from a top of the transition spindle, and the control device receives the force signal and calibrates the displayed force signal accordingly. Regarding claim 7, prior art was not found that taught or suggested a method of calibrating the torque by placing the transition spindle on a designated mold, with the bottom of the transition spindle fixed, and applying and sequentially increasing a torque of known magnitude from a top of the transition spindle, and the control device receives the torque signal and calibrates the displayed torque signal accordingly. Regarding claim 16, prior art was not found that taught or suggested
wherein in order to achieve constant temperature control of the deformation detection region, before the start of the solid-state manufacturing process, different temperatures are calibrated to obtain the offset value pattern of the strain gauge measurement data at each temperature, to form an error correction curve corresponding to the temperatures and input the error correction curve to the control device, and the correct strain gauge measurement data is derived by referring to the curve.
Conclusion
/ERIN B SAAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735