DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/15/2025, 4/09/2026, &7/31/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner has considered the information disclosure statements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johansson (US Patent # 4,874,908).
Regarding Claim 1, Johansson discloses a wire harness (i.e. wiring harness 10) comprising:
a plurality of electric wires (i.e. wires 12, 14, 16, 18 & 20); and
a resin member (i.e. at least two spaced pads 22 & 24 which comprise a molded body made of an easily molded thermoplastic material, such as polypropylene, acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) or a polyamide) that has one main body covering the plurality of electric wires and is integrally molded with the plurality of electric wires, wherein
a cross-sectional shape of the main body in a plane orthogonal to an axial direction of the electric wire is a flat shape having a longitudinal direction and a lateral direction, and
the main body has at least one of a first plane that is a plane extending in the longitudinal direction and a second plane that is a plane extending in the lateral direction (Fig. 1-4; Abstract; Column 4, line 63- Column 6, line 23).
Regarding Claim 2, Johansson discloses that the cross-sectional shape of the main body is rectangular, and
the plurality of electric wires are disposed along the longitudinal direction inside the main body (Fig. 1-4; Column 5, line 5-43).
Regarding Claim 3, Johansson discloses that in the main body, corner portions on both sides sandwiching one plane have a chamfered shape (Fig. 2, 7, 8; Column 5, line 22-24; Column 6, line 17-23; Column 8, line 23-28 & 62-68).
Regarding Claim 4, Johansson discloses that the resin member has a protrusion protruding from one plane of the main body, and
the protrusion has two parallel surfaces along a protruding direction of the protrusion (Fig. 25-26; Column 10, line 14-54).
Regarding Claim 5, Johansson discloses a plurality of the resin members, wherein
the plurality of electric wires are exposed between adjacent two of the resin members (Fig. 1; Column 4, line 63- Column 5, line 57).
Regarding Claim 6, Johansson discloses that some electric wires of the plurality of electric wires are drawn out as branch wires (i.e. wires 18 & 20 of branch cable 32) from between the adjacent two of the resin members (Fig. 1; Column 5, line 30-57).
Regarding Claim 7, Johansson discloses that cross-sectional shapes of the plurality of the resin members (i.e. at least two spaced pads 22 & 24) in a plane orthogonal to the axial direction of the electric wire are the same (Fig. 1-2). Pads 22 & 24 are shown to have the same shape.
Regarding Claim 8, Johansson discloses that the plurality of electric wires include an electric wire (i.e. wires 12, 14, & 16) of a first sub harness (i.e. main cable 30) and an electric wire (i.e. wires 18 & 20) of a second sub harness (i.e. branch cable 32), and
one resin member (i.e. pad 24) is molded to both the first sub harness and the second sub harness (Fig. 1; Column 5, line 30-57).
Relevant Cited Art
The cited art in PTO-892 was found during the examiner's search, but was not relied upon for this office action. However, it is still considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure.
Conclusion
/RJA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847