DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of invention and/or species, and corresponding claims (1-11) is acknowledged. The election has been made with traverse. Non-elected claims are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant's arguments are not persuasive because they amount to a general allegation and fails distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors upon which the applicant relies for his or her conclusion that the requirement is in error. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
+---------------------------------------------------------------+
| APPARATUS FOR PRODUCING PLASTIC PREFORMS |
| |
| +---------------------------------------------------------+ |
| | PRODUCTION DEVICE | |
| | +---------------------------------------------------+ | |
| | | PRODUCTION UNITS (Plurality) | | |
| | | - Each produces a 1-piece plastic preform | | |
| | | with a main body and a threaded portion | | |
| | +---------------------------------------------------+ | |
| +---------------------------------------------------------+ |
| |
| +---------------------------------------------------------+ |
| | REMOVAL DEVICE (Jointly removes preforms) | |
| | +---------------------------------------------------+ | |
| | | CARRIER | | |
| | | - Holds the removed plastic preforms | | |
| | +---------------------------------------------------+ | |
| | +---------------------------------------------------+ | |
| | | TRANSPORT DEVICE | | |
| | | - Transports carrier + preforms jointly in a | | |
| | | predefined transport direction | | |
| | +---------------------------------------------------+ | |
| +---------------------------------------------------------+ |
| |
| +---------------------------------------------------------+ |
| | INSPECTION DEVICE (Inspects preforms) | |
| | +---------------------------------------------------+ | |
| | | INFRARED IMAGE RECORDING DEVICE (At least 1) | | |
| | | - Records spatially resolved image of a region | | |
| | | of a plurality of produced preforms | | |
| | | - Outputs measured value characteristic of a | | |
| | | physical property | | |
| | +---------------------------------------------------+ | |
| +---------------------------------------------------------+ |
+---------------------------------------------------------------+
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
production units
removal device
transport device
assignment device
cooling device
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In reference to claim 1, the limitation “a removal device that is configured for jointly removing the plastic preforms manufactured by the production device from this production device” is unclear as to what “jointly” means in the claim.
Jointly means doing something together, sharing ownership, or cooperating as a group.
The claim does not explain what is being done together. Thus, it is impossible to resolve the metes and bounds of the claim.
In claim 7, an “assignment device” is an undefined structure and is not an art recognized term. The term is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f), however, the specification lacks an adequate, clearly linked structure, material, or act to perform the function.
Note: Claims 2-11 are also rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naitove (Plastics Tech. (a trade periodical) article published in 2020 titled “Blow Molding: Online PET Preform Inspection Uses AI to ‘Self-Learn’”1) and in view of SACMI400 (Youtube video of SACMI production unit related to the above cited article2) in view of Sieradzki (US 20250001671 A1)
In reference to claim 1 and 11, Naitove discloses “12 cameras to check PET bottle preforms”.
Naitove shows that the preforms have threads.
Naitove does not demonstrate the production of the bottles, however, the production of PET bottle preforms occurs using a production device having production units having molds that produce the preforms and then the preforms are removed from the molds. This is generic terminology. The specific feature of the apparatus as claimed including the functionally configured element are show in cited youtube video which shows an apparatus comprising a production device comprising a production unit having a carrier and transporting means as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate the prefrom inspection tool of Naitove into the apparatus of SACMI in order to inspect the preforms to improve quality.
The above cited prior art does not describe the camera as an infrared camera.
In the same field, Sieradzki shows that infrared cameras are used for inspecting preforms (abstract) in order to enabled improved quality control (e.g., paragraph 35: “By creating the two-dimensional thermal image 38, temperature measurements of the heated preform 12 may be readily and easily ascertained before the preform 12 is transferred to the blow molding station and molded into the final container. In some instances, the thermal images 36, 38 and/or the graph 42 may indicate that a preform 12 has “cool regions” 44 or “warm regions” 46. Such regions 44, 46 may result in blowouts during blow molding, thus requiring remedial action during the heating of the preform 12.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use as the camera in the combination an infrared camera to improve the quality control of the apparatus.
In reference to claim 2-3 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1. See video at around 1:55.
In reference to claim 4 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1. See Sieradzki at “thermal imaging” (title, abstract). “thermal imaging” encompasses the claimed range.
In reference to claim 5 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
See Sieradzki at paragraph 35.
In reference to claim 6 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
Inspection of the preforms would occur when the preforms are out of the mold because the mold would obscure full imaging.
In reference to claim 7-9 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
See Sieradzki at element 34 (a computer) and;
See Naitove at “artificial intelligence (AI) to “self-learn” all the required QC checks”
In reference to claim 10 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
See video around 4:30.
Conclusion
Any prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See references cited in applied prior art for further background. As a whole these references and appropriate secondary and tertiary references are believed sufficient to provide the skilled reader with the opportunity to learn about the technical background requisite to appreciate the body of knowledge needed to understand and communicate regarding the technology at issue.
Examiner has utilized USPTO approved search resources, such as EIC or external tools, beyond routine search tools and/or leveraged experts in the field. Examiner has cited and explained the relevance of prior art not used in rejections but pertinent to the claims or disclosure. Examiner has provided detailed search documentation through detailed Search Notes, such as annotated search results that identify which data sets were reviewed. When citing the prior art examiner has used annotations clearly in prior art rejections such as, using item-to-item matching to the prior art, pairing exact claim language to particular language used in the prior art, and/or clearly explaining examiner’s interpretation as to how a citation maps to claim language especially when there is not a one-to-one matching of terms.
/NICHOLAS KRASNOW/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
1 https://www.ptonline.com/products/blow-molding-online-pet-preform-inspection-uses-ai-to-self-learn
2 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wer8tEKGbow