Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
First user interface
Individual providers
Second user interface view
Connection sequence
Subset of providers
Search bar
Claims will be given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification. However, since above claim terms are not included in the specification, for this first examination on the merits, the plain, ordinary and customary meaning according to the understanding of one of ordinary skill in the art will be assumed, see MPEP 2111.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elkherj (US 2017/0060930) in view of Livesay (US 2018/0060497) in view of Collins (US 2012/0012648) in view of Bramnick (US 5,903,753).
Examiner Note: Hereafter, above references will be entered as reference combination A.
Regarding claim 2, Elkherj discloses:
responsive to a first user input, providing, for presentation at a user device, a first user interface view comprising a first user interface element for connecting to an electronic health record system of a provider;
Elkherj (2017/0060930) [0097] Additionally, if a recommended service for a user is health insurance, and a user record for the user includes descriptive text (e.g., written by an employee interacting with the user), or structured data which identifies, that the user recently switched to an employer that offers bad health insurance, the system can increase a likelihood of the user connecting with health insurance.
determining a set of providers that provide medical care, wherein individual providers of the set of providers are associated with individual electronic health record systems;
Elkherj discloses the elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Livesay discloses:
Livesay (US 2018/0060497) [0021] FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating a system for quality data extraction, alignment, and reporting, including generating a patient-centered quality measure in accordance with an illustrative embodiment. In alternative embodiments, fewer, additional, and/or different components may be present. The system 100 includes practices and providers that use electronic health records (EHR) systems 102, 104, 106, and 108. The EHRs 102, 104, 106, 108 may be similar or different EHR systems. In this way, different types of EHRs can send quality reporting data within the system, and the system can align data from any type of EHR/practice/provider. In the system 100, the EHRs 102, 104, 106, 108 generate data in the QRDA format.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elkherj to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Livesay for the purpose of providing a system for quality data extraction, alignment, and reporting, including generating a patient-centered quality measure.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to look to the analogous art of Livesay. Livesay is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, i.e., electronic health records. The skilled artisan would have expected reasonable success when combining the teachings of Elkherj and Livesay.
providing, for presentation at the user device, a second user interface view comprising a subset of providers of the set of providers;
Elkherj discloses the elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Collins discloses:
Collins US 2012/0012648 [0027] The health care provider interface 132 may handle all incoming and outbound communications with the one or more health care providers 120A, 120N. Because each health care provider 120A, 120N may have different system, authorization, or authentication requirements (e.g., different APIs), the health care provider interface 132 may collectively identify a plurality of interfaces with different health care providers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elkherj to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Collins for the purpose of the health care provider interface 132 may handling all incoming and outbound communications with the one or more health care providers.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to look to the analogous art of Collins. Collins is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, i.e., health care providers. The skilled artisan would have expected reasonable success when combining the teachings of Elkherj and Collins.
responsive to a second user input that selects a first provider of the subset of providers, initiating a connection sequence for connecting to a first electronic health record system of the first provider.
Elkherj discloses the elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Bramnick discloses:
Bramnick US 5,903,753 claim 6:
an application program interface, interconnected with the first and second service providers, responsive to a program call from the first program requesting data in the data set by selecting the first service provider when said requested data is in the first subset and selecting the second service provider when said requested data is in the second subset, routing the program call to the selected service provider and returning to the first program the data provided by the selected service provider in response to the program call.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elkherj to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Bramnick for the purpose of routing the program call to the selected service provider.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to look to the analogous art of Bramnick. Bramnick is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, i.e., selecting a first service provider and selecting a second service provider based on whether the data is in the first subset or in the second subset.
The skilled artisan would have expected reasonable success when combining the teachings of Elkherj and Bramnick.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Wad (US 8,375,048).
Regarding claim 3, reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the second user interface view comprises a search bar for searching for providers not included in the subset of providers. However, Wad discloses:
Wad column 3 lines 45-60, The front-end processor 10 includes a query processor component 124. The processor component 124 determines what steps should be used to execute the query. The query processor 124 parses the query on its individual elements by identifying the individual words of the query and any query language keywords that are embedded in a query. A query augmentation module 280 can be called by a query preprocessor 214 to augment a query with augmentation terms and/or weighting values for query terms that may be helpful during federation or results ranking. Federation is the process of evaluating a query on numerous data sources often in parallel. During federation results are sought from sources maintained internally by the search engine provider as well as external providers.
Examiner Note: Providers not included in the subset of providers mapped to external providers
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Wad for the purpose of calling a query augmentation module by a query preprocessor to augment a query with augmentation terms.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Finkelstein (US 2017/0109570)
Regarding claim 4, reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the connection sequence comprises connecting to a gateway of the first electronic health record system. However, Finkelstein discloses:
Finkelstein [0037] In certain preferred embodiments, the system may be configured to obtain at least an identity of a casualty that has not pre-registered by accessing images retained in a social network. In other embodiments, the invention may also provide interfaces or a gateway to the participants Electronic Health Record.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Finkelstein for the purpose of downloading health data via a gateway.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Finkelstein in view of Daub (US 2015/0088545) in view of Jung (US 9,747,579)
Regarding claim 5, reference combination A in view of Finkelstein discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein connecting to the gateway comprises receiving, via a third user interface view, user credentials associated with the first electronic health record system. However, Daub discloses:
Daub [0048] Authentication database 135 may store information used in an authentication process, for example user identifiers, passwords, access privileges, user preferences, user statistics, and the like. User database 140 maintains user information and credentials for health records management system 115 users (e.g., user 105).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A in view of Finkelstein to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Daub for the purpose of storing information used in an authentication process, for example user identifiers, passwords, access privileges, user preferences, user statistics.
Arguably, Daub discloses third user interface view. However, Jung discloses:
Jung column 3 lines 57-62, Another embodiment provides a system. The system includes an electronic device having a plurality of user interfaces, an assistance file having a content related to the electronic device, and an assistance manager.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A in view of Finkelstein to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Jung for the purpose of providing assistance corresponding to the query through a second interface associated with the electronic device [abstract].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Finkelstein in view of Higgs (US 2017/0011174).
Regarding claim 6, reference combination A in view of Finkelstein discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose downloading, to the user device, health record data from the gateway. However, Higgs discloses:
Higgs claim 14, A method for transferring patient medical records comprising the steps of: inserting an initiator in a web enabling device, said initiator having a server-side application; executing a client-side application in the web enabling device's processor, accessing through the client-side application a cloud-based personal health records module, said client-side application for web access to a cloud device for connecting and communicating with said cloud-based personal health records module, and downloading a patient's patient data from said cloud-based personal health records
Examiner Note: gateway = cloud-based personal health records module
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A in view of Finkelstein to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Higgs for the purpose of executing a client-side application in the web enabling device's processor and accessing through the client-side application a cloud-based personal health records module.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Finkelstein in view of Higgs in view of Sirleaf (US 2011/0071852) in view of Jung.
Regarding claim 7, reference combination A in view of Finkelstein in view of Higgs discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose indexing the health record data according to a set of predefined categories; and
providing, for presentation at the user device, a third user interface view that identifies the set of predefined categories. However, Sirleaf discloses:
Sirleaf [0039] In some embodiments the first patient health record 140 is stored within the first local database using a first system identifier 150 corresponding to the first patient. For example, the database may index health records according to corresponding system identifiers, which may include an alphanumeric string representing a specific patient. In certain cases the system identifiers do not include personally identifiable information (e.g., they are random or otherwise arbitrary strings), so that records can be accessed and retrieved without the need for personally identifiable information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A in view of Finkelstein in view of Higgs to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Sirleaf for the purpose of providing identifiers which do not include personally identifiable information (e.g., they are random or otherwise arbitrary strings), so that records can be accessed and retrieved without the need for personally identifiable information.
Arguably, Sirleaf discloses third user interface view. However, Jung discloses:
Jung column 3 lines 57-62, Another embodiment provides a system. The system includes an electronic device having a plurality of user interfaces, an assistance file having a content related to the electronic device, and an assistance manager.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A in view of Finkelstein to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Jung for the purpose of providing assistance corresponding to the query through a second interface associated with the electronic device [abstract].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Fowler (US 9,973,455)
Regarding claim 8, reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein determining the set of providers that provide the medical care comprises determining the set of providers based on at least one of a location associated with the user device, an association between the set of providers and user information associated with the user device, or based on a feature of each provider of the set of providers. However, Fowler discloses:
Fowler clam 9. A computer-implemented method, comprising: determining that a trigger event has been detected, the trigger event corresponding to a change in medical responsibility for a patient; evaluating aspects of the trigger event to identify a medical provider to receive (i) a notification about the trigger event and (ii) a first tailored version of a medical message corresponding to the patient; accessing an authorized medical provider list stored in a central database; evaluating the authorized medical provider list to determine that the medical provider is authorized to receive the first tailored version of the medical message corresponding to the patient, other authorized medical providers being authorized to receive other tailored versions of the medical message; determining a medical provider feature associated with the medical provider and corresponding to a medical provider parameter included in a set of messaging rules
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Fowler for the purpose of evaluating the authorized medical provider list to determine that the medical provider is authorized to receive the first tailored version of the medical message corresponding to the patient, other authorized medical providers being authorized to receive other tailored versions of the medical message.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elkherj (US 2017/0060930) in view of Livesay (US 2018/0060497) in view of Collins (US 2012/0012648) in view of Bramnick (US 5,903,753).
Examiner Note: Hereafter, above references will be entered as reference combination A.
Regarding claim 9, Elkherj discloses:
responsive to a first user input, providing, for presentation at a user device, a first user interface view comprising a first user interface element for connecting to an electronic health record system of a provider;
Elkherj (2017/0060930) [0097] Additionally, if a recommended service for a user is health insurance, and a user record for the user includes descriptive text (e.g., written by an employee interacting with the user), or structured data which identifies, that the user recently switched to an employer that offers bad health insurance, the system can increase a likelihood of the user connecting with health insurance.
determining a set of providers that provide medical care, wherein individual providers of the set of providers are associated with individual electronic health record systems;
Elkherj discloses the elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Livesay discloses:
Livesay (US 2018/0060497) [0021] FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating a system for quality data extraction, alignment, and reporting, including generating a patient-centered quality measure in accordance with an illustrative embodiment. In alternative embodiments, fewer, additional, and/or different components may be present. The system 100 includes practices and providers that use electronic health records (EHR) systems 102, 104, 106, and 108. The EHRs 102, 104, 106, 108 may be similar or different EHR systems. In this way, different types of EHRs can send quality reporting data within the system, and the system can align data from any type of EHR/practice/provider. In the system 100, the EHRs 102, 104, 106, 108 generate data in the QRDA format.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elkherj to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Livesay for the purpose of providing a system for quality data extraction, alignment, and reporting, including generating a patient-centered quality measure.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to look to the analogous art of Livesay. Livesay is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, i.e., electronic health records. The skilled artisan would have expected reasonable success when combining the teachings of Elkherj and Livesay.
providing, for presentation at the user device, a second user interface view comprising a subset of providers of the set of providers;
Elkherj discloses the elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Collins discloses:
Collins US 2012/0012648 [0027] The health care provider interface 132 may handle all incoming and outbound communications with the one or more health care providers 120A, 120N. Because each health care provider 120A, 120N may have different system, authorization, or authentication requirements (e.g., different APIs), the health care provider interface 132 may collectively identify a plurality of interfaces with different health care providers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elkherj to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Collins for the purpose of the health care provider interface 132 may handling all incoming and outbound communications with the one or more health care providers.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to look to the analogous art of Collins. Collins is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, i.e., health care providers. The skilled artisan would have expected reasonable success when combining the teachings of Elkherj and Collins.
responsive to a second user input that selects a first provider of the subset of providers, initiating a connection sequence for connecting to a first electronic health record system of the first provider.
Elkherj discloses the elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Bramnick discloses:
Bramnick US 5,903,753 claim 6:
an application program interface, interconnected with the first and second service providers, responsive to a program call from the first program requesting data in the data set by selecting the first service provider when said requested data is in the first subset and selecting the second service provider when said requested data is in the second subset, routing the program call to the selected service provider and returning to the first program the data provided by the selected service provider in response to the program call.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elkherj to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Bramnick for the purpose of routing the program call to the selected service provider.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to look to the analogous art of Bramnick. Bramnick is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, i.e., selecting a first service provider and selecting a second service provider based on whether the data is in the first subset or in the second subset.
The skilled artisan would have expected reasonable success when combining the teachings of Elkherj and Bramnick.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Wad (US 8,375,048).
Regarding claim 10, reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the second user interface view comprises a search bar for searching for providers not included in the subset of providers. However, Wad discloses:
Wad column 3 lines 45-60, The front-end processor 10 includes a query processor component 124. The processor component 124 determines what steps should be used to execute the query. The query processor 124 parses the query on its individual elements by identifying the individual words of the query and any query language keywords that are embedded in a query. A query augmentation module 280 can be called by a query preprocessor 214 to augment a query with augmentation terms and/or weighting values for query terms that may be helpful during federation or results ranking. Federation is the process of evaluating a query on numerous data sources often in parallel. During federation results are sought from sources maintained internally by the search engine provider as well as external providers.
Examiner Note: Providers not included in the subset of providers mapped to external providers
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Wad for the purpose of calling a query augmentation module by a query preprocessor to augment a query with augmentation terms.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Finkelstein (US 2017/0109570)
Regarding claim 11, reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the connection sequence comprises connecting to a gateway of the first electronic health record system. However, Finkelstein discloses:
Finkelstein [0037] In certain preferred embodiments, the system may be configured to obtain at least an identity of a casualty that has not pre-registered by accessing images retained in a social network. In other embodiments, the invention may also provide interfaces or a gateway to the participants Electronic Health Record.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Finkelstein for the purpose of downloading health data via a gateway.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Finkelstein in view of Daub (US 2015/0088545) in view of Jung (US 9,747,579)
Regarding claim 12, reference combination A in view of Finkelstein discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein connecting to the gateway comprises receiving, via a third user interface view, user credentials associated with the first electronic health record system. However, Daub discloses:
Daub [0048] Authentication database 135 may store information used in an authentication process, for example user identifiers, passwords, access privileges, user preferences, user statistics, and the like. User database 140 maintains user information and credentials for health records management system 115 users (e.g., user 105).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A in view of Finkelstein to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Daub for the purpose of storing information used in an authentication process, for example user identifiers, passwords, access privileges, user preferences, user statistics.
Arguably, Daub discloses third user interface view. However, Jung discloses:
Jung column 3 lines 57-62, Another embodiment provides a system. The system includes an electronic device having a plurality of user interfaces, an assistance file having a content related to the electronic device, and an assistance manager.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A in view of Finkelstein to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Jung for the purpose of providing assistance corresponding to the query through a second interface associated with the electronic device [abstract].
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Finkelstein in view of Higgs (US 2017/0011174).
Regarding claim 13, reference combination A in view of Finkelstein discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprise additional computer- executable instructions that, when executed by the processor of the user device, cause the user device to perform additional operations comprising downloading, to the user device, health record data from the gateway.
However, Higgs discloses:
Higgs claim 14, A method for transferring patient medical records comprising the steps of: inserting an initiator in a web enabling device, said initiator having a server-side application; executing a client-side application in the web enabling device's processor, accessing through the client-side application a cloud-based personal health records module, said client-side application for web access to a cloud device for connecting and communicating with said cloud-based personal health records module, and downloading a patient's patient data from said cloud-based personal health records
Examiner Note: gateway = cloud-based personal health records module
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A in view of Finkelstein to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Higgs for the purpose of executing a client-side application in the web enabling device's processor and accessing through the client-side application a cloud-based personal health records module.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Finkelstein in view of Higgs in view of Sirleaf (US 2011/0071852) in view of Jung.
Regarding claim 14, reference combination A in view of Finkelstein in view of Higgs discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprise additional computer- executable instructions that, when executed by the processor of the user device, cause the user device to perform additional operations comprising: indexing the health record data according to a set of predefined categories; and providing, for presentation at the user device, a third user interface view that identifies the set of predefined categories.
However, Sirleaf discloses:
Sirleaf [0039] In some embodiments the first patient health record 140 is stored within the first local database using a first system identifier 150 corresponding to the first patient. For example, the database may index health records according to corresponding system identifiers, which may include an alphanumeric string representing a specific patient. In certain cases the system identifiers do not include personally identifiable information (e.g., they are random or otherwise arbitrary strings), so that records can be accessed and retrieved without the need for personally identifiable information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A in view of Finkelstein in view of Higgs to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Sirleaf for the purpose of providing identifiers which do not include personally identifiable information (e.g., they are random or otherwise arbitrary strings), so that records can be accessed and retrieved without the need for personally identifiable information.
Arguably, Sirleaf discloses third user interface view. However, Jung discloses:
Jung column 3 lines 57-62, Another embodiment provides a system. The system includes an electronic device having a plurality of user interfaces, an assistance file having a content related to the electronic device, and an assistance manager.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A in view of Finkelstein to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Jung for the purpose of providing assistance corresponding to the query through a second interface associated with the electronic device [abstract].
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Fowler (US 9,973,455)
Regarding claim 15, reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein determining the set of providers that provide the medical care comprises determining the set of providers based on at least one of a location associated with the user device, an association between the set of providers and user information associated with the user device, or based on a feature of each provider of the set of providers. However, Fowler discloses:
Fowler clam 9. A computer-implemented method, comprising: determining that a trigger event has been detected, the trigger event corresponding to a change in medical responsibility for a patient; evaluating aspects of the trigger event to identify a medical provider to receive (i) a notification about the trigger event and (ii) a first tailored version of a medical message corresponding to the patient; accessing an authorized medical provider list stored in a central database; evaluating the authorized medical provider list to determine that the medical provider is authorized to receive the first tailored version of the medical message corresponding to the patient, other authorized medical providers being authorized to receive other tailored versions of the medical message; determining a medical provider feature associated with the medical provider and corresponding to a medical provider parameter included in a set of messaging rules
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Fowler for the purpose of evaluating the authorized medical provider list to determine that the medical provider is authorized to receive the first tailored version of the medical message corresponding to the patient, other authorized medical providers being authorized to receive other tailored versions of the medical message.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elkherj (US 2017/0060930) in view of Livesay (US 2018/0060497) in view of Collins (US 2012/0012648) in view of Bramnick (US 5,903,753).
Examiner Note: Hereafter, above references will be entered as reference combination A.
Regarding claim 16, Elkherj discloses:
a memory configured to store computer-executable instructions; and a processor configured to access the memory and execute the computer-executable instructions to at least:
Elkherj [0013]
responsive to a first user input, providing, for presentation at a user device, a first user interface view comprising a first user interface element for connecting to an electronic health record system of a provider;
Elkherj (2017/0060930) [0097] Additionally, if a recommended service for a user is health insurance, and a user record for the user includes descriptive text (e.g., written by an employee interacting with the user), or structured data which identifies, that the user recently switched to an employer that offers bad health insurance, the system can increase a likelihood of the user connecting with health insurance.
determining a set of providers that provide medical care, wherein individual providers of the set of providers are associated with individual electronic health record systems;
Elkherj discloses the elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Livesay discloses:
Livesay (US 2018/0060497) [0021] FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating a system for quality data extraction, alignment, and reporting, including generating a patient-centered quality measure in accordance with an illustrative embodiment. In alternative embodiments, fewer, additional, and/or different components may be present. The system 100 includes practices and providers that use electronic health records (EHR) systems 102, 104, 106, and 108. The EHRs 102, 104, 106, 108 may be similar or different EHR systems. In this way, different types of EHRs can send quality reporting data within the system, and the system can align data from any type of EHR/practice/provider. In the system 100, the EHRs 102, 104, 106, 108 generate data in the QRDA format.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elkherj to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Livesay for the purpose of providing a system for quality data extraction, alignment, and reporting, including generating a patient-centered quality measure.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to look to the analogous art of Livesay. Livesay is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, i.e., electronic health records. The skilled artisan would have expected reasonable success when combining the teachings of Elkherj and Livesay.
providing, for presentation at the user device, a second user interface view comprising a subset of providers of the set of providers;
Elkherj discloses the elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Collins discloses:
Collins US 2012/0012648 [0027] The health care provider interface 132 may handle all incoming and outbound communications with the one or more health care providers 120A, 120N. Because each health care provider 120A, 120N may have different system, authorization, or authentication requirements (e.g., different APIs), the health care provider interface 132 may collectively identify a plurality of interfaces with different health care providers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elkherj to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Collins for the purpose of the health care provider interface 132 may handling all incoming and outbound communications with the one or more health care providers.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to look to the analogous art of Collins. Collins is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, i.e., health care providers. The skilled artisan would have expected reasonable success when combining the teachings of Elkherj and Collins.
responsive to a second user input that selects a first provider of the subset of providers, initiating a connection sequence for connecting to a first electronic health record system of the first provider.
Elkherj discloses the elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Bramnick discloses:
Bramnick US 5,903,753 claim 6:
an application program interface, interconnected with the first and second service providers, responsive to a program call from the first program requesting data in the data set by selecting the first service provider when said requested data is in the first subset and selecting the second service provider when said requested data is in the second subset, routing the program call to the selected service provider and returning to the first program the data provided by the selected service provider in response to the program call.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elkherj to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Bramnick for the purpose of routing the program call to the selected service provider.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to look to the analogous art of Bramnick. Bramnick is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, i.e., selecting a first service provider and selecting a second service provider based on whether the data is in the first subset or in the second subset.
The skilled artisan would have expected reasonable success when combining the teachings of Elkherj and Bramnick.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Wad (US 8,375,048).
Regarding claim 17, reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the second user interface view comprises a search bar for searching for providers not included in the subset of providers. However, Wad discloses:
Wad column 3 lines 45-60, The front-end processor 10 includes a query processor component 124. The processor component 124 determines what steps should be used to execute the query. The query processor 124 parses the query on its individual elements by identifying the individual words of the query and any query language keywords that are embedded in a query. A query augmentation module 280 can be called by a query preprocessor 214 to augment a query with augmentation terms and/or weighting values for query terms that may be helpful during federation or results ranking. Federation is the process of evaluating a query on numerous data sources often in parallel. During federation results are sought from sources maintained internally by the search engine provider as well as external providers.
Examiner Note: Providers not included in the subset of providers mapped to external providers
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Wad for the purpose of calling a query augmentation module by a query preprocessor to augment a query with augmentation terms.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Finkelstein (US 2017/0109570)
Regarding claim 18, reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the connection sequence comprises connecting to a gateway of the first electronic health record system. However, Finkelstein discloses:
Finkelstein [0037] In certain preferred embodiments, the system may be configured to obtain at least an identity of a casualty that has not pre-registered by accessing images retained in a social network. In other embodiments, the invention may also provide interfaces or a gateway to the participants Electronic Health Record.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Finkelstein for the purpose of downloading health data via a gateway.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Finkelstein in view of Daub (US 2015/0088545) in view of Jung (US 9,747,579)
Regarding claim 19, reference combination A in view of Finkelstein discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein connecting to the gateway comprises receiving, via a third user interface view, user credentials associated with the first electronic health record system. However, Daub discloses:
Daub [0048] Authentication database 135 may store information used in an authentication process, for example user identifiers, passwords, access privileges, user preferences, user statistics, and the like. User database 140 maintains user information and credentials for health records management system 115 users (e.g., user 105).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A in view of Finkelstein to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Daub for the purpose of storing information used in an authentication process, for example user identifiers, passwords, access privileges, user preferences, user statistics.
Arguably, Daub discloses third user interface view. However, Jung discloses:
Jung column 3 lines 57-62, Another embodiment provides a system. The system includes an electronic device having a plurality of user interfaces, an assistance file having a content related to the electronic device, and an assistance manager.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A in view of Finkelstein to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Jung for the purpose of providing assistance corresponding to the query through a second interface associated with the electronic device [abstract].
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Finkelstein in view of Higgs (US 2017/0011174).
Regarding claim 20, reference combination A in view of Finkelstein discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose downloading, to the user device, health record data from the gateway. However, Higgs discloses:
Higgs claim 14, A method for transferring patient medical records comprising the steps of: inserting an initiator in a web enabling device, said initiator having a server-side application; executing a client-side application in the web enabling device's processor, accessing through the client-side application a cloud-based personal health records module, said client-side application for web access to a cloud device for connecting and communicating with said cloud-based personal health records module, and downloading a patient's patient data from said cloud-based personal health records
Examiner Note: gateway = cloud-based personal health records module
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A in view of Finkelstein to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Higgs for the purpose of executing a client-side application in the web enabling device's processor and accessing through the client-side application a cloud-based personal health records module.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Fowler (US 9,973,455)
Regarding claim 21, reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein determining the set of providers that provide the medical care comprises determining the set of providers based on at least one of a location associated with the user device, an association between the set of providers and user information associated with the user device, or based on a feature of each provider of the set of providers. However, Fowler discloses:
Fowler clam 9. A computer-implemented method, comprising: determining that a trigger event has been detected, the trigger event corresponding to a change in medical responsibility for a patient; evaluating aspects of the trigger event to identify a medical provider to receive (i) a notification about the trigger event and (ii) a first tailored version of a medical message corresponding to the patient; accessing an authorized medical provider list stored in a central database; evaluating the authorized medical provider list to determine that the medical provider is authorized to receive the first tailored version of the medical message corresponding to the patient, other authorized medical providers being authorized to receive other tailored versions of the medical message; determining a medical provider feature associated with the medical provider and corresponding to a medical provider parameter included in a set of messaging rules
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Fowler for the purpose of evaluating the authorized medical provider list to determine that the medical provider is authorized to receive the first tailored version of the medical message corresponding to the patient, other authorized medical providers being authorized to receive other tailored versions of the medical message.