DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communication filed on 10/06/2026. Currently claims 1-15 are pending in the application; with claims 14-15 withdrawn from consideration.
ELECTION / RESTRICTION
Applicant's election of Group I, claims 1-13, with traverse, drawn to a method in the reply filed on 10/06/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground of independent and distinct inventions. However, as discussed in the restriction requirement, in this case the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different method, therefore, the inventions are distinct. Additionally, the inventions are classified in different areas and the search required for group I is not required for group II and vice versa. Therefore, search and examination of the entire application cannot be conducted without serious burden and the restriction as indicated is proper. Applicants request for rejoinder is noted. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102 as being anticipated over Lappe et al. (DE 102008019176 A1), hereafter, referred to as “Lappe”.
Regarding claim 1, Lappe teaches in Fig. 1, an apparatus for producing plastic material containers having a producing apparatus configured for producing plastic preforms and with a forming apparatus which is configured for forming the plastic preforms into the plastic containers, wherein the producing apparatus comprises a variety of producing units for the production of the plastic preforms (para. [0040-0041]) and the forming equipment has a large number of forming stations (Fig. 1, (elements 35)) for forming the plastic preforms into the plastic containers and with a transport device which is configured for transporting the plastic preforms produced by the producing equipment to the forming device, wherein the device has a first spectral analysis device (para. [0041]: "Upstream with respect to heating device 33, an infrared absorption test device is provided, which is marked in its entirety with the reference number 6") which is configured for the inspection and/or analysis of at least one area of the equipment manufactured by the manufacturing device to form plastic preforms, wherein this first spectral analysis device is located between the manufacturing device and the forming device (Fig. 1) and wherein this first spectral analysis device (para. [0028]: "Spectroscope", para. [0031]: "Preferably, the radiation detector device is located in relation to the preform to be examined in relation to the radiation device in order to detect the light transmitted by the preform. detecting and analyzing") is suitable and intended for the spectral analysis of the radiation impinging on it.
Regarding claim 2, Lappe teaches in Fig. 1, an apparatus, wherein the first spectral analysis device is configured for detecting predetermined spectral areas of the radiation, by teaching that the absorption examination device preferably has a further radiation device which emits radiation in a wavelength range between 2000 nm and 3000 nm. This further radiation device is used in particular for the investigation of water inclusions or water content in the preforms produced. Preferably, a plurality of such further radiation means are provided, which examine the water content at several areas of the preform (para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 3, Lappe teaches in Fig. 1, an apparatus, wherein the first spectral analysis device has a radiation device which is configured to irradiate the plastics material preforms and a radiation detector device which is configured for detecting radiation emitted by the radiation device and passing through the plastics material preforms; by teaching that the radiation detector device is arranged opposite with respect to the examined preforms to pass through the preform to detect and analyze transmitted light (para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 5, Lappe teaches in Fig. 1, an apparatus, wherein the apparatus has a memory device in which a plurality of spectral data characteristic of the plastics material preforms is stored; by teaching in an advantageous embodiment that characteristic of the infrared absorption coefficient values compared with values stored in a memory device. In this way it can be checked on the basis of this comparison whether a measured absorptance differs from a nominal value to this way to be able to intervene appropriately in the process, for example, to the appropriate container to be able to separate out of the manufacturing process (para. [0020]).
Regarding claim 9, Lappe teaches in Fig. 1, an apparatus, wherein the transport device is configured for transporting the plastics material preforms individually from the production device to the forming device; by teaching in Fig. 1 that subsequently, these preforms 10 are transported via a transport device 32 (as a chute), which passes through a heater 33, to subsequently in a blowing device 34 to be expanded to plastic containers (para. [0040]).
Regarding claim 10, Lappe teaches in Fig. 1, an apparatus, wherein the apparatus has a cooling device which is configured for cooling the plastics material preforms produced by the production device by mentioning “aftercolling” (post-cooling) station in a molding device (para. [0012]).
Regarding claim 11, Lappe teaches in Fig. 1, an apparatus, wherein at least the first or a second spectral analysis device is configured for determining at least one value which is characteristic of physical properties of the plastics material preforms; by teaching to investigate the infrared absorption behavior (para. [0019]), which determines “water content” of the preforms (para. [0024]).
Regarding claim 12, Lappe teaches in Fig. 1, an apparatus, wherein the apparatus has a heating device for heating the plastics material preforms produced by the production device; by teaching heater (element 33) (para. [0040-0041]).
Regarding claim 13, Lappe teaches in Fig. 1, an apparatus, wherein the apparatus has a discharge device that is configured for ejecting individual plastics material preforms from the transport path between the production device and the forming device; by teaching a discharge device with which individual containers can be discarded (ejected) from the device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Lappe et al. (DE 102008019176 A1), in view of Fischer et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0191688 A1), hereafter, referred to as “Fischer”.
Regarding claim 4, Lappe teaches in Fig. 1, an apparatus, has a first spectral analysis device which is configured for inspecting at least one area of the preform. But Lappe fails to explicitly teach, wherein the apparatus has a second spectral analysis device which is configured for inspecting at least one area of the plastics material containers produced by the forming device. However, Fischer teaches an apparatus, wherein an evaluation device configured to use measurement results of the first evaluation device and the second evaluation device to determine at least one value which is determined for an absorption behaviour and/or a transmission behaviour of the plastic preforms and/or of the plastic containers produced from these plastic preforms (claim 13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Fisher, and combine the feature of a second spectral analyzer, wherein the apparatus has a second spectral analysis device which is configured for inspecting at least one area of the plastics material containers produced by the forming device, because that would allow to determine the physical property (water content) of the final product (KSR Rationale A, MPEP 2143). Since both the references deal with plastic preforms and containers, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the combination.
Regarding claim 6, Lappe, in view of Fischer teaches an apparatus, wherein the apparatus has an assignment device that is configured for assigning to each inspected plastics material preform the production unit that has produced this plastics material preform and/or the apparatus has an assignment device that is configured for assigning to each inspected plastics material preform the forming station that will form this plastics material preform into a plastics material container; by Fischer teaching that an allocation device 16 is preferably provided which allocates to each plastic preform detected and/or inspected by the detection device 6 a specific forming station in which this plastic preform is later blown into a plastic container. This assignment makes it possible to individually adapt the parameters with which this plastic preform is formed to this plastic preform (para. [0074]).
Regarding claim 7, Lappe, in view of Fischer teaches an apparatus, wherein the apparatus has a control device for controlling the production device, wherein this control device is configured for controlling the production device and/or the apparatus has a control device for controlling the forming device, wherein this control device is configured for controlling the forming device of the plastics material preforms; by Fischer teaching that the forming device has a control device which controls the fom1ing processes, in particular separately for each forming station (para. [0057]), and particularly preferably, the control device is suitable and intended for controlling and/or regulating the forming processes depending on measurement results of the detection devices. For example, blowing pressures as well as the time sequence with which the plastic preforms are applied with them can be adjusted. Also, for example, a movement of the abovementioned stretching rod can be adapted to the values measured by the detection devices. Particularly preferably, the control device allows individual control of the forming process for each individual plastic preform (para. [0058]).
Regarding claim 8, Lappe, in view of Fischer teaches an apparatus, wherein the apparatus has a first inspection device which is configured for inspecting at least one area of the plastics material preforms produced by the production device, wherein this first inspection device has an image recording device which is configured for recording a spatially resolved image of a plurality of plastics material preforms; by Fischer teaching that the recorded data of the absorption and/or transmission of the plastic preforms are stored and preferably stored for a plurality of plastic preforms. From this stored data, statistics can be formed, for example regarding the absorption and/or transmission of a specific batch of plastic preforms (para. [0022]). In addition, the recorded data of the absorption and/or transmission can be assigned to the individual inspected plastic preforms. In this way, it is possible to reject certain individual plastic preforms or to treat individual plastic preforms differently, especially in a subsequent blowing process (para. [0023]).
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD M AMEEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742