Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-10, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Won US 2023/0047516.
1. Won discloses (see Figures 1-3) a display device 100 comprising: a display panel 110; a frame 130 positioned behind the display panel (see Figures 2, 30, 31, 38 and 39); a first guide panel (side frame 140) positioned between the display panel and the frame (see Figures 30 and 31), and extending along one side (the upper side) of the display panel (see Figure 24); a second guide panel (bracket 170) positioned between the display panel and the frame (see Figures 38 and 39), and extending along the other side (the lower side) of the display panel (see Figure 24); and an optical layer (backlight unit 120) positioned between the display panel and the frame (see Figures 3, 30, 31, 38, 39 and paragraphs 0156 and 0162) and providing light to the display panel (paragraph 0072, wherein the second guide panel is detachably coupled to the first guide panel (see Figure 23 and paragraph 0139), wherein the display panel and the frame are coupled to the first and second guide panels (see Figures 30, 31, 38, 39 and paragraphs 0135, 0139 and 0140).
5. Won discloses (see Figures 1-3) the display device 100 of claim 1, wherein the display panel comprises (see Figs 1 and 26): a first short side SS2; a second short side SS1 opposite to the first short side; a first long side LS1 connecting the first short side and the second short side; and a second long side LS2 opposite to the first long side, and connecting the first short side and the second short side, wherein the first guide panel (side frame 140 Fig 26) comprises (see Fig 1 and 13): a first part SS2 extending along the first short side (left side of display viewed from user); a second part SS1 extending along the second short side (right side of display panel viewed from user perspective); and a third part LS1 extending along the first long side (upper side of display panel), wherein the second guide panel (bracket 170) extends along the second long side LS2 (see Fig 24 and 26; lower side of display panel).
6. Won discloses (see Figures 1-3) the display device 100 of claim 1, wherein the first guide panel (side frame 140 Fig 26) comprises (see Fig 1 and 13): a first part SS2 extending along the left side of panel (left side of display viewed from user); a second part SS1 extending along the extending along an upper side of the display panel (right side of display panel viewed from user perspective); and a third part LS1 extending along the first long side (upper side of display panel), wherein the second guide panel (bracket 170) extends along a lower side of the display panel (LS2, see Fig 24 and 26; lower side of display panel).
7. Won discloses (see Figures 1-3) the display device 100 of claim 6, wherein the first and second guide panels (side frame 140 and bracket 170) are symmetrical with respect to a reference line extending vertically through a center of the first and second guide panels (see Fig 24).
8. Won discloses (see Figures 1-3) the display device 100 of claim 6, wherein one end of the second guide panel (bracket 170) is detachably coupled to the first part (detachably coupled to SS2; see Figure 23), wherein the other end of the second guide panel is detachably coupled to the second part (SS1: see Figure 24).
9. Won discloses (see Figures 1-3) the display device 100 claim 8, wherein the second guide panel (bracket 170) comprises: (see Figures 23, 24, 38 and 39) an outer part (the portion of the bracket 170 extending vertically to the plane of the display panel 110; see Figures 38, 39) forming an outer surface (adjacent to the PCB 117 in Figures 38, 39) of the bracket 170; an extension part (the portion of the bracket 170 parallel to the plane of the display panel 110; see Figures 38, 39) protruding from an inner surface of the outer part in a direction intersecting with the outer part (see Figures 38, 39 and 24); a first protruding part (Figure 23: the protrusion inserted into groove 146; figure 24: the left protrusion) protruding upward from a left end of the extension part, and coupled to the first part (see Figure 23); and a second protruding part (Figure 24: the right protrusion) protruding upward from a right end of the extension part, and coupled to the second part (see Figure 24).
10. Won discloses (see Figures 1-3) the display device 100 of claim 1, wherein the first guide panel (bracket 170) comprises: a coupling portion (Figure 23: groove 146) formed at the frame 140, and coupled to the bracket 170 to restrict a front-rear movement of the bracket 170 (this is what the groove is meant for); a first wall (the upper border of the groove 146; see Figure 21) spaced apart from the coupling portion, and coupled to the bracket 170 to restrict up-down and left-right movements of the bracket 170 (this is what the border of the groove is used for); and a second wall (the lower border of the groove 146; see Figure 21) opposite to the first wall with respect to the coupling portion, and coupled to the second guide panel to restrict the up-down and left-right movements of the second guide panel (this is the function of the border groove).
14. Won discloses (see Figures 1-3) the display device 100 of claim 1, wherein the frame 130 comprises a coupling groove (Figures 36, 37: guide groove 130GH) formed at one side of the frame 130 facing an inner surface of the side frame 140, wherein the side frame 140 comprises a coupling protrusion (Figures 36, 37: guide protrusion 140GL) which protrudes from the inner surface of the side frame 140, and to which the coupling groove is hooked (see Figures 36, 37 and paragraph 0171).
15. Won discloses (see Figures 1-3) the display device 100 of claim 14, wherein the first guide panel 140 further comprises: (see Figure 36, 37 and paragraph 0151) an inner part (inner frame 143) to which the display panel is coupled; and an outer part (outer frame 141) which intersects with the inner part, and at which the coupling protrusion is formed; wherein an outer surface of the outer part (in Figures 36, 37: the inclined portion 140l, the inclined portion at the bottom of outer frame 141 and the vertical portion connecting the two inclined portions) comprises a first surface (said vertical portion) opposite to a first portion of an inner surface of the outer part (141) at which the coupling protrusion is formed (see Figures 36, 37); and a second surface (said inclined portion 1401) opposite to a second portion of an inner surface of the outer part (141) at which the inner part (143) is formed, wherein the second surface forms an incline with respect to the first surface (see Figures 36, 37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won in view of Kim US 2018/0364515.
2. Won discloses (see Figures 1-3) the display device 100 of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the second guide panel 170 coupled to the first guide panel 140 with a hook. Kim teaches a hook as a coupler (paragraph 0121). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to use the hook of Kim in the device of Won to provide an alternate securing means for attaching the first and second light guide panels to ensure the panels remain in place.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won in view of Shin US 2016/0377908.
3. Won discloses (see Figures 1-3) the display device 100 of claim 1, wherein the optical layer (backlight unit 120) comprises: a substrate (122) positioned on a front surface of the frame (130); a light source (124) mounted on the substrate; and a diffusion plate (125; see paragraphs 0118-0120) between the display panel and the light source; wherein the frame comprises a flat portion on which the substrate is positioned (see Figure 39). Won fails to further teach: a support portion supporting the diffusion plate, wherein the flat portion forms a step lowered from the support portion; and a bent portion bent from an edge of the support portion, wherein the bent portion is coupled to the first and second guide panels. The use of the back frame as support for the diffuser is well known in the art of display backlights, for example, see Shin (see Figures 2-5) in which the bottom chassis 60 comprises a flat portion (bottom part 61), on which the substrate 12 with the light source 11 is mounted (see Figure 2), a support portion (Figure 4: the horizontal portion of the bottom chassis 60) supporting the diffusion plate 30 (see Figure 4), wherein the flat portion forms a step lowered from the support portion (see Figures 2 and 4), and a bent portion (Figure 5: bush part 68) bent from an edge of the support portion, wherein the bent portion is coupled (see also Figure 7) to the segmented frame 80 (see Figure 10) which corresponds to the side frame 140 and the bracket 70 in Won. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to look to Shin and utilize having the bottom chassis 60 comprises a flat portion (bottom part 61), on which the substrate 12 with the light source 11 is mounted (see Figure 2), a support portion (Figure 4: the horizontal portion of the bottom chassis 60) supporting the diffusion plate 30 (see Figure 4), wherein the flat portion forms a step lowered from the support portion (see Figures 2 and 4), and a bent portion (Figure 5: bush part 68) bent from an edge of the support portion, wherein the bent portion is coupled (see also Figure 7) to the segmented frame 80 (see Figure 10) in with Won to provide a desirable configuration to render the backlight illumination more uniform.
4. Won discloses (see Figures 1-3) the display device 100 of claim 1, wherein the optical layer (backlight 120) comprises: a light guide plate (123) positioned on the frame (130); a substrate (122) extending along one side of the light guide plate (see Figure 15); and a light source (124) mounted on the substrate, and providing light to the one side of the light guide plate; wherein the frame comprises a flat portion supporting the light guide plate (see Figure 38). Won fails to further teach a bent portion is coupled to the first and second guide panels. Shin teaches a bent portion (Figure 5: bush part 68) bent from an edge of the support portion, wherein the bent portion is coupled (see also Figure 7) to the segmented frame 80 (see Figure 10) which corresponds to the side frame 140 and the bracket 70 in Won. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to look to Shin and utilize having the bent portion (Figure 5: bush part 68) bent from an edge of the support portion, wherein the bent portion is coupled (see also Figure 7) to the segmented frame 80 (see Figure 10) in with Won to provide an alternate, desirable attachment means for the device of Won.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
11. Won discloses (see Figures 1-3) the display device 100 of claim 1, but fails to further teach wherein the first guide panel comprises: a first outer part forming an outer surface of the first guide panel; a first inner part intersecting with the first outer part; and a coupling portion including a coupling hole, and protruding from a rear surface of the first inner part, wherein the second guide panel comprises: a second outer part forming an outer surface of the second guide panel; a second inner part intersecting with the second outer part; and a coupling rib including a hook, and protruding from a rear surface of the second inner part, wherein the hook is hooked to the coupling hole.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim US 10754087 discloses a first guide panel configured to include a vertical portion, in which a first receiving hole is formed, and a second guide panel disposed on the horizontal portion and configured to include a first protrusion, which is combined with the first receiving hole, and a second protrusion which is combined with the second receiving hole.
Jeong US 9897748 discloses a display device that includes a display panel, backlight unit, and an optical frame.
/EVAN P DZIERZYNSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875