DATAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
regarding claim 1, in each of lines 6, 12 and 13 change accordingly: “the prescribed central axis”
regarding claim 4, in each of lines 4, 7, 14, 16 and 18 change accordingly: “the prescribed central axis”
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the prescribed central axis must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0011093 A1 (Gerendas) in view of Pub. No.: US 2013/0247575 A1 (Patel) and Pub. No.: US 2019/0093892 A1 (Rimmer).
Regarding claim 1, Gerendas discloses (see fig. 1; and 2 or 3) a combustor (the combustor shown in fig. 1 with combustor wall 4) for a gas turbine engine (see title) that is placed in a compressed air chamber (see annotated figure below; compressed air from compressor of the gas turbine engine enters the annotated compressed air chamber at an inlet at the location of the stator vane 9 of the compressor outlet; see par. 3) of the gas turbine engine 10 to generate combustion gas (fuel and air are combusted in the combustor and expanded in a turbine of the gas turbine engine wherein entry to the turbine is at turbine stator vane 8; see par. 3), the combustor being provided with a liner 2,4,5 that defines a combustion chamber (see annotated figures below) therein; a prescribed central axis 15, the liner comprising: a thick wall portion (see annotated figures below) provided in a part of a wall of the liner (the part at the location of the thick wall portion), the thick wall portion (see annotated figures below) extending circumferentially (into and out of the page of fig. 1); an air guide portion (see annotated figures below) that extends from the thick wall portion (see annotated figure below) along the wall of the liner so as to define a gap (see annotated figures below) jointly with an inner surface (see annotated figures below) of the wall of the liner (see annotated figures below); a plurality of first cooling air holes 6 passed through the wall and opening to the gap (see annotated figures below). Gerendas further discloses (see annotated figures above) the liner 2,4,5 includes an end wall 2,5 substantially orthogonal (see annotated figures above) to the central axis (see annotated figures above) and a peripheral wall 4 extending along the central axis (see annotated figures above) and connected to (see annotated figures above) the end wall via a first end part (see annotated figures above) of the peripheral wall so as to join a main part (see annotated figures above) of the peripheral wall 4 with the end wall 2,5, the thick wall portion (see annotated figures above) is provided in a junction portion (see shaded horizontal and vertical shape in annotated figure above) between the first end part (see annotated figures above) of the peripheral wall 4 and the end wall (see annotated figures above), and the air guide portion (see annotated figures above) extends from the thick wall portion (see annotated figures above) radially substantially in parallel with the end wall (see annotated figure below).
[AltContent: textbox (compressed air chamber)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (combustion chamber)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (combustion chamber)][AltContent: textbox (end
wall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (outer peripheral wall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (inner peripheral wall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (main part)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (inner peripheral edge)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (symmetric mirror line)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (GERENDAS FIG. 1)]
Gerendas does not explicitly disclose the combustion chamber around the prescribed central axis (Gerendas is silent as to whether the combustion chamber is a can-type or an annular-type combustion chamber); the thick wall portion extending around the central axis; a plurality of second cooling air holes passed through the thick wall portion; the first end part is curved; the end wall and the peripheral wall being formed integrally with each other (Gerendas is silent this); the thick wall portion being formed integrally with the end wall (Gerendas is silent this); and the air guide portion being formed integrally with the thick wall portion (Gerendas is silent this).
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (thick wall portion (this can apply to fig. 3 also))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (air guide portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (inner surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (gap)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (first end part)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (main part)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (end wall)][AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (end wall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (outer peripheral edge)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (line of symmetry)][AltContent: arrow]
Patel teaches (see figs. 1 and 2) a gas turbine engine 10 and further teaches a combustion chamber 22 (of annular combustor 16; see par. 13) around a prescribed central axis (see that the annotated combustion chamber 22 extends circumferentially in an annular manner around the annotated central axis). It is further noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 at 1395 (U.S. 2007) (MPEP 2143 I.B.).
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (end wall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (thick wall portion (this can apply to fig. 3 also))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (extends from the thick wall portion radially substantially in parallel with the end wall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (air guide portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (central axis)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (combustion chamber 22; also see fig. 2 showing “22” “22”))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (combustion chamber 22)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (location of thick wall portions 46 location with respect to structure 28 (see here and fig. 2) )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to substitute the combustor type of Patel with a combustion chamber extending around the prescribed axis, or in other words an annular combustor for the combustor type of Gerendas for the purpose of substituting one known element for another in order to provide the expected result of providing a volume for combustion of fuel and air of the combination.
Patel teaches (see figs. 2 and 3A) a thick wall portion 46 extending around the central axis (radially inward and radially outward thick wall portions 46, see fig. 2, extend circumferentially around the annotated central axis above in an annular manner; structure 40a in fig. 3A is a segment of structure 40, called a heat shield 40, wherein the there are two segments extending 360 degrees and thus annularly, see par. 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Gerendas in view of Patel with the thick wall portion extending around the central axis as taught by Patel in order to facilitate providing for mounting of the annotated end wall shown in Gerendas annotated figures above and for sealing (i.e. to dissuade air going through first cooling holes 6 of Gerendas in view of Patel (see annotated figures above) from flowing radially inward (see Gerendas par. 4, top, and par. 25, bottom)
Rimmer teaches (see figs. 1, 3 and 5) a gas turbine engine 10 and further teaches a plurality of cooling air holes 49B,76 passed through a thick wall portion (portion at location of cooling holes 49b,76) (of a wall of combustor liner portion 46,48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Gerendas in view of Patel with a plurality of second cooling air holes passed through the thick wall portion as taught by Rimmer in order to facilitate minimize smoke production during combustion thereby reducing emissions (see Rimmer par. 63, top and par. 69, top) and to provide cooling (see par. 53, top and par. 60, middle).
Patel teaches (see annotated figure below) a first end part (of peripheral wall 20B) is curved (see annotated figure below). It is further noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 at 1395 (U.S. 2007) (MPEP 2143 I.B.).
[AltContent: textbox (first end part (of outer peripheral wall 20B))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (first end part (of inner peripheral wall 20A))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (main part)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (main part)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (line of symmetry regarding for example thick wall portions at 46)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to substitute the curved shape of the first end part of Patel for the shape of the first end part of Gerendas in view of Patel and Rimmer for the purpose of substituting one known element for another in order to provide the expected result of providing connecting portions of a combustor liner of the combination.
The recitations “the end wall and the peripheral wall being formed integrally with each other”, “the thick wall portion being formed integrally with the end wall” and “the air guide portion being formed integrally with the thick wall portion” are met by Gerendas in view of Patel and Rimmer because the structure thereof is an assembly of parts. There is no special definition (MPEP 2173.01 I.) explained in applicant specification regarding what is meant by “integral”. Thus formed integrally is interpreted consistent with the plain meaning. For example integral can be interpreted as “composed of constituent parts” (Merriam-Webster online).
Regarding claim 4, Gerendas discloses (see fig. 1; and 2 or 3) a combustor (the combustor shown in fig. 1 with combustor wall 4) for a gas turbine engine (see title) that is placed in a compressed air chamber (see annotated figure above; compressed air from compressor of the gas turbine engine enters the annotated compressed air chamber at an inlet at the location of the stator vane 9 of the compressor outlet; see par. 3) of the gas turbine engine 10 to generate combustion gas (fuel and air are combusted in the combustor and expanded in a turbine of the gas turbine engine wherein entry to the turbine is at turbine stator vane 8; see par. 3), the combustor being provided with a liner 2,4,5 that defines a combustion chamber (see annotated figures above) therein; a prescribed central axis 15, the liner comprising: a thick wall portion (see annotated figures above) provided in a part of a wall of the liner (the part at the location of the thick wall portion), the thick wall portion (see annotated figures above) extending circumferentially (into and out of the page of fig. 1); an air guide portion (see annotated figures above) that extends from the thick wall portion (see annotated figure above) along the wall of the liner so as to define a gap (see annotated figures above) jointly with an inner surface (see annotated figures above) of the wall of the liner (see annotated figures above); a plurality of first cooling air holes 6 passed through the wall and opening to the gap (see annotated figures above).
Thus far Gerendas does not explicitly disclose the combustion chamber around the prescribed central axis (Gerendas is silent as to whether the combustion chamber is a can-type or an annular-type combustion chamber); the thick wall portion extending around the central axis; a plurality of second cooling air holes passed through the thick wall portion.
Patel teaches (see figs. 1 and 2) a gas turbine engine 10 and further teaches a combustion chamber 22 (of annular combustor 16; see par. 13) around a prescribed central axis (see that the annotated combustion chamber 22 extends circumferentially in an annular manner around the annotated central axis). It is further noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 at 1395 (U.S. 2007) (MPEP 2143 I.B.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to substitute the combustor type of Patel with a combustion chamber extending around the prescribed axis, or in other words an annular combustor for the combustor type of Gerendas for the purpose of substituting one known element for another in order to provide the expected result of providing a volume for combustion of fuel and air of the combination.
Patel teaches (see figs. 2 and 3A) a thick wall portion 46 extending around the central axis (radially inward and radially outward thick wall portions 46, see fig. 2, extend circumferentially around the annotated central axis above in an annular manner; structure 40a in fig. 3A is a segment of structure 40, called a heat shield 40, wherein the there are two segments extending 360 degrees and thus annularly, see par. 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Gerendas in view of Patel with the thick wall portion extending around the central axis as taught by Patel in order to facilitate providing for mounting of the annotated end wall shown in Gerendas annotated figures above and for sealing (i.e. to dissuade air going through first cooling holes 6 of Gerendas in view of Patel (see annotated figures above) from flowing radially inward (see Gerendas par. 4, top, and par. 25, bottom)
Rimmer teaches (see figs. 1, 3 and 5) a gas turbine engine 10 and further teaches a plurality of cooling air holes 49B,76 passed through a thick wall portion (portion at location of cooling holes 49b,76) (of a wall of combustor liner portion 46,48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Gerendas in view of Patel with a plurality of second cooling air holes passed through the thick wall portion as taught by Rimmer in order to facilitate minimize smoke production during combustion thereby reducing emissions (see Rimmer par. 63, top and par. 69, top) and to provide cooling (see par. 53, top and par. 60, middle).
The combination teaches the combustor (the combustor shown in Gerendas fig. 1 with combustor wall 4) consists of an annular combustor (by way of the teachings of Patel in this claim 4 analysis above regarding par. 13 of Patel) including an annular end wall (the annotated end wall of Gerendas is annular by way of the teachings of Patel that structures 24 and 40 (comprised of segments 40a) being annular, see par. 27, of annular combustor 16) substantially orthogonal to the central axis 15 (see annotated Gerendas figure 1 above) and having an outer peripheral edge (see Gerendas annotated figures above) and an inner peripheral edge (see Gerendas annotated figures above), an outer peripheral wall (see Gerendas annotated figures above) extending along the central axis 15 and connected to the outer peripheral edge (see Gerendas annotated figures above) of the end wall (see Gerendas annotated figures above) via a first end part (see annotated Patel figure above) thereof (see annotated Patel figure above) so as to join a main part (see Gerendas and Patel annotated figures above) of the outer peripheral wall with the end wall, and an inner peripheral wall (see Gerendas and Patel annotated figures above) extending along the central axis 15 (of Gerendas) and connected to the inner peripheral edge (see Gerendas annotated figures above) of the end (see Gerendas annotated figures above) wall via a first end part (see annotated Patel figure above) thereof (see annotated Patel figure above) so as to join a main part (see Gerendas and Patel annotated figures above) of the inner peripheral wall (see Gerendas and Patel annotated figures above) with the end wall (see Gerendas annotated figures above), the thick wall portion (the thick wall portion is annular as taught in this claim 4 analysis above) is provided in each of junction portions (there is an inner corresponding junction portion of Gerendas because the structure is symmetric and this shown by way of with annotated dashed line above regarding Patel annotated figure above, and corresponding line of symmetry in Gerendas annotated figure above) between the first end part of the outer peripheral wall and the end wall and between the first end part of the inner peripheral wall and the end wall, and the air guide portion (see annotated figures above) extends from each of the thick wall portions radially substantially in parallel with the end wall (see annotated figures above). The combination does not teach thus far that the first end part of the outer peripheral wall is curved and the first end part of the inner peripheral wall is curved.
Patel teaches (see annotated figure above) a first end part (of outer peripheral wall 20B) is curved (see annotated figure above) and a first end part (of inner peripheral wall 20A) is curved (see annotated figure above). It is further noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 at 1395 (U.S. 2007) (MPEP 2143 I.B.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to substitute the curved shape of the first end part of each of the inner peripheral wall and outer peripheral wall of Patel for the shape of the first end part of each of the inner peripheral wall and outer peripheral wall of Gerendas in view of Patel and Rimmer for the purpose of substituting one known element for another in order to provide the expected result of providing connecting portions of a combustor liner of the combination.
The recitations “the end wall, the outer peripheral wall, and the inner peripheral wall being formed integrally with each other”, “the thick wall portions being formed integrally with the end wall” and “each air guide portion being formed integrally with a corresponding one of the thick wall portions” are met by Gerendas in view of Patel and Rimmer because the structure thereof is an assembly of parts being secured together.
Regarding claim 6, Gerendas in view of Patel and Rimmer teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. Gerendas further discloses (see annotated figure below) the thick wall portion and the air guide portion define inner surfaces which face the combustion chamber and are substantially planar and continuous to each other.
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (end wall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (thick wall portion (this can apply to fig. 3 also))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (air guide portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (“inner surfaces which face the combustion chamber and are substantially planar” and continuous to each other)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (combustion chamber, see annotated Gerendas fig. 1 above)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (smooth outer profile)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (inwardly bulging inner profile (towards inside of the combustion chamber))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (this can also be a part of the end wall)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 7, Gerendas in view of Patel and Rimmer teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. Gerendas further discloses the thick wall portion (see annotated figures above) defines a substantially smooth outer profile (see annotated figures above) and an inwardly bulging inner profile (see annotated figures above) (towards inward to combustion chamber; this is consistent with applicant par. 57).
Regarding claim 12, Gerendas in view of Patel and Rimmer teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. Rimmer teaches that the second cooling air holes 49B,76 are inclined in a circumferential direction (at ± β degrees, see par. 60 and fig. 8).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerendas in view of Patel and Rimmer as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of US Patent 5,129,231 (Becker).
Regarding claim 5, Gerendas in view of Patel and Rimmer teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above including the second cooling holes of the junction portion (at the inner and outer thick wall portions above on either side of the line of symmetry for example in Gerendas annotated fig. 2 above). Rimmer teaches that the second cooling air holes 49B,76 are inclined in a circumferential direction (at ± β degrees, see par. 60). The combination does not teach the second cooling air holes of one of the junction portions are inclined in a different circumferential direction from the second cooling air holes of the other junction portions.
Becker teaches (se fig. a gas turbine engine (see abstract) combustion chamber 50 and further teaches cooling air holes (54, for example the five most radially outward rows) of one of one portion (at a similar location, see holes 76 in fig. 4 of Rimmer) to the junction portion of the combination) are inclined in a different circumferential direction from the cooling air holes (54, most radially inward) of another portion (at a similar location to the other junction portion of the combination). See in fig. 4 that the cooling holes 54 are inclined that correspond with the direction of flow in fig. 2 shown by arrows.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Gerendas in view of Patel and Rimmer with the second cooling air holes of one of the junction portions are inclined in a different circumferential direction from the second cooling air holes of the other junction portions as taught by Becker in order to facilitate improved film cooling of the junction portion thereby extending the life of combustor structures (see Becker col. 1, ll. 60-65 and col. 2, ll. 5-10).
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerendas in view of Patel and Rimmer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pub. No. US 2010/0263384 A1 (Chila).
Regarding claim 9, The combination of Gerendas in view of Patel and Rimmer teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. Gerendas does not disclose the second cooling air holes include a part that is flared from a side of the compressed air chamber to a side of the combustion chamber.
Chila teaches a gas turbine engine (see abstract) and further teaches cooling air holes 26 (located at a similar location to the second cooling air holes of the combination) include a part that is flared (see for example figs. 5-9 and 13A-C) from a side of an air chamber (see location of text “25” in fig. 2) to a side of a combustion chamber (at 14 in fig. 2; see par. 3, top and par. 22, bottom).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Gerendas in view of Patel and Rimmer with the second cooling air holes include a part that is flared from a side of the compressed air chamber to a side of the combustion chamber as taught by Chila in order to facilitate provide optimum cooling and air flow performance (see Chila par. 27).
Regarding claim 10, Gerendas in view of Patel, Rimmer and Chila teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. Chila further teaches cooling air holes each include an upstream portion having a substantially constant inner diameter, and a downstream portion that is flared from a side of the compressed air chamber to a side of the combustion chamber (see cooling holes 26 in fig. 5 showing illustration of diameters D1 and D2 and see figs. 6-8 for example). The cooling holes in figs. 5-8 are examples of cooling holes 26 shown in figs. 2 and 4 (see pars. 6-10 and par. 28, top).
Regarding claim 11, Gerendas in view of Patel, Rimmer and Chila teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. The combination teaches the downstream portion 76 of each second cooling air hole 49B,76 has a cross-sectional shape that is elongated in a circumferential direction.
Rimmer teaches the downstream portion 76 of each second cooling air hole 49B,76 can be inclined or angled in a circumferential direction (at ± β degrees, see par. 60 and fig. 8). Chila teaches in fig. 13A-C that a downstream portion of cooling air hole 26 (see par. 28) has a cross-sectional shape that is elongated in a direction and that the direction corresponds with desired direction of the airflow through the cooling hole (see Chila par. 35. Thus because the desired direction of the cooling flow is in the circumferential direction by way of Chila in this scenario, the angle of the hole in fig. 13C would be in the circumferential direction and thus outlet 54 would be elongated in the circumferential direction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states that the Office appears to consider that a bent part of the heat shield 5 corresponds to the claimed air guide portion. In response the air guide portion is shown below and includes the two portions annotated below. Applicant argues the heat shield 5 that is formed separately from the base plate 2. In response claimed recitations “the end wall and the peripheral wall being formed integrally with each other”, “the thick wall portion being formed integrally with the end wall” and “the air guide portion being formed integrally with the thick wall portion” are met by Gerendas in view of Patel and Rimmer because the structure thereof is an assembly of parts. There is no special definition explained in applicant specification regarding what is meant by “integral”. Thus formed integrally is interpreted consistent with the plain meaning. For example integral can be interpreted as “composed of constituent parts” (Merriam-Webster online). Thus “the end wall and the peripheral wall being formed integrally with each other”, “the thick wall portion being formed integrally with the end wall” and “the air guide portion being formed integrally with the thick wall portion” are met by the combination as shown by the annotated figure below of Gerendas (wherein Gerendas has been modified by Patel to arrive at for example the liner defining the combustion chamber around the prescribed central axis as discussed in the claim 1 analysis above and wherein Gerendas in view of Patel are modified by Rimmer to include the plurality of second cooling holes as discussed in the claim 1 analysis above).
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (thick wall portion (this can apply to fig. 3 also))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (air guide portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (inner surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (gap)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (first end part)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (main part)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (end wall)][AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (end wall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (outer peripheral edge)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (line of symmetry)][AltContent: arrow]
The structure of Gerendas in view of Patel and Rimmer is an assembly of parts. This is consistent with what a gas turbine worker would understand formed integrally to communicate. For instance as one example formed integrally can convey that parts “bolted or otherwise secured together … form an integral structure” (see col. 1, ll. 15-26 of US Patent 3165294). Because the combustor of the combination is formed as a unit such recitations regarding integrally formed are met by the instant prior art.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20210018174 (Lao): (see fig. 8 and par. 30) heat shield 76 integral with end wall 22; and
US 20170370584 A1 (Boardman): (see fig. 2 and par. 30) end wall 114 formed integrally with inner and outer peripheral walls 102,108.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARC AMAR/Examiner, Art Unit 3741 /DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741