DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Application No. 19/022,105 filed on January 15, 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending and are directed towards METHOD FOR CONNECTING TO EXTERNAL DISPLAY DEVICE ON BASIS OF BIOMETRIC INFORMATION, AND ELECTRONIC DEVICE.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/15/2025 and 06/17/2025 were Acknowledge. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The use of the term (WI-FI), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “establish connection with the external display device, in response to the request” which is vague and not clear, it is not understood to which request this limitation is referring.
Claim 2 recites the limitation " and the user's iris information…". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the electronic device to receive a request for communication connection” which is vague and not clear, it is not understood this request is the same as one of the two requests in the independent claim or different request.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "identify the iris information stored…". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation " the extracted face feature…". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3-6 and 9-10 rejected by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-11, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oudenhoven et al. US 2023/0308873 A1 (hereinafter “Oudenhoven”) in view of Kim et al. US 2017/0185103 A1 (hereinafter “Kim”).
As per claims 1, 15 and 19, Oudenhoven teaches an electronic device comprising:
a camera (The sensors 112 and 212 of the wearable device 100 and the companion device 200, respectively, can include a vision system. The vision system can include one or more camera modules designed to capture images. Oudenhoven, para [0042]);
communication circuitry (an electronic communication unit 214. Oudenhoven, para [0040];
a display (a human interface unit 216. Oudenhoven, para [0040]);
memory storing one or more computer programs (a data storage unit 208. Oudenhoven, para [0040]; and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to at least one of the camera, the communication circuitry, the display, or the memory, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (The electronic device 200 can be a companion device to the wearable device 100. The companion device 200 can include a housing 202, an internal signal distribution medium 204, a power supply unit 206, a data storage unit 208, a data processing unit 210, a sensor unit 212, an electronic communication unit 214, and a human interface unit 216. The components of electronic device 200 can be substantially similar to, and can include some or all of the features of, the wearable device 100 discussed above. The companion device 200 can communicate with the wearable device 100 via communications link 215.. Oudenhoven, para [0040]), cause the electronic device to:
acquire, based on a request for connection with an external display device, a face image of a user through the camera in a state in which the external display device is worn (The companion device can include a facial recognition system configured to recognize a user's face. Oudenhoven, para [0007]) (a user wearing a head-mounted device with IR filters desires to unlock a companion device, such as a smartphone or tablet, using facial recognition. The user can orient the companion device such that a vision system of the companion device locates the user's face and begins a facial recognition sequence. Oudenhoven, para [0027]),
perform face authentication by comparing the acquired face image with face information stored in the memory (the head-mounted device 100a can be unlocked using biometric authentication, such as a fingerprint, eye, face, or voice recognition. Oudenhoven, para [0047])( the companion device 200 can be unlocked using biometric authentication, such as facial, fingerprint, eye, face, or voice recognition. Oudenhoven, para [0051])( the OFC 234 and/or UFC 238 can activate in response to a vision system or facial recognition system of the companion device 200 at least partially recognizing a face. In some examples, the companion device 200 must establish at least a partial match (e.g., 40-80%) of the authorized user's face before signaling to the smart glasses 100c to activate the OFC 234 and/or UFC 238. Oudenhoven, para [0061]),
establish connection with the external display device, in response to the request (the wearable device is configured to authenticate the user prior to transmitting the signal to the companion device. The companion device can include a facial recognition system configured to recognize a user's face, and the wearable device can be configured to detect the orientation of the gaze when the companion device recognizes the user's face. The wearable device can include a head-mounted device. Oudenhoven, para [0008]).
Oudenhoven does not explicitly teach in case that the face authentication is completed, display, on the display, an authentication code associated with the external display device associated with the stored face information, when the face authentication is completed, receive a request for communication connection with the electronic device from the external display device through the communication circuitry, based on an authentication result of the authentication code in the external display device.
However, Kim teaches in case that the face authentication is completed, display, on the display, an authentication code associated with the external display device associated with the stored face information (Whether the device accessing the hand-attached wearable device is registered in advance is verified for the short-range wireless communication by using identification information including a unique number, an MAC address, a personal identification number (Pin) code, and the like. In addition to the aforementioned identification information, the verification may be performed by using a public key based electronic signature authentication, an encoding authentication, an authentication using various proximity sensors, an authentication using a code such as a QR code, an authentication using an NFC chip or an RFID chip, a user identification module (UIM), a subscriber identity module (SIM), a universal user identity module (USIM), a smart card, and the like. Kim, para [0140-0141]),
when the face authentication is completed, receive a request for communication connection with the electronic device from the external display device through the communication circuitry, based on an authentication result of the authentication code in the external display device (a technique called pairing has been widely used for mutual secure wireless communication, and the verification may be performed by inputting the PIN code or automatically performing the pairing technique. Kim, para [0142])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of Oudenhoven in view of Kim. One would be motivated to do so, to enhance the security of the system using secure pairing technique.
As per claims 2, 16 and 20, Oudenhoven and Kim teach the electronic device of claims 1, 15 and 19, wherein, in a security area of the memory, the user's face information and the user's iris information are stored in association with device information of the external display device (The authentication data can include secure authentication credential data associated with the user. The secure authentication credential data can include information uniquely identifying the user or a user account associated with the user, such as a username, or a unique token associated with the user. The user identification data can be sent in secure or unsecure form. The secure authentication credential data can include user identity verification data, such as user password data or a token representing the user password data. The user identify verification data can be sent in secure form. Oudenhoven, para [0089]) (facial recognition is often accomplished by using a structure light source to create a 3D contour map of the face. Similarly, eye tracking and iris authentication locate and track reflections placed on the cornea from an applied light source. Oudenhoven, para [0004]).
As per claims 3 and 17, Oudenhoven and Kim teach the electronic device of claims 2 and 16, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: analyze the acquired face image to extract face feature information, and determine whether the extracted face feature information substantially matches the face information stored in the security area (the wearable device can detect the companion device in response to analyzing data received from a sensor of the wearable device, such as the outward facing camera (OFC) 234 discussed above, which can capture one or more images of the environment of the wearable device. The wearable device can analyze the image, or images, to identify the content corresponding to the companion device and can identify a location and orientation of the companion device based on the image analysis and video tracking algorithms. In some examples, the companion device can be presenting a visual display that can be captured in one or more images captured by the camera of the wearable device, and the wearable device can detect the companion device based on image analysis identifying the visual display presented by the companion device. Oudenhoven, para [0073])( The companion device can include a facial recognition system configured to recognize a user's face, and the wearable device can be configured to detect the orientation of the gaze when the companion device recognizes the user's face. Oudenhoven, para [0008]).
As per claims 4 and 18, Oudenhoven and Kim teach the electronic device of claims 3 and 15, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
in case that the extracted face feature information substantially matches the face information stored in the security area, determine that the face authentication has succeeded (an electronic device that utilizes facial recognition authentication may require a minimum threshold percentage match to unlock the device. Oudenhoven, para [0055])( the OFC 234 and/or UFC 238 can activate in response to a vision system or facial recognition system of the companion device 200 at least partially recognizing a face. In some examples, the companion device 200 must establish at least a partial match (e.g., 40-80%) of the authorized user's face before signaling to the smart glasses 100c to activate the OFC 234 and/or UFC 238. Oudenhoven, para [0061]), and
in case that the extracted face feature information does not substantially match the face information stored in the security area, determine that the face authentication has failed (the companion device may be able to only complete a partial match of the user's face, insufficient to unlock the companion device. Oudenhoven, para [0027]).
As per claim 5, Oudenhoven and Kim teach the electronic device of claim 2. Oudenhoven does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to generate the authentication code, based on the device information of the external display device stored in the security area of the memory in association with the stored face information.
However, Kim teaches cause the electronic device to generate the authentication code, based on the device information of the external display device stored in the security area of the memory in association with the stored face information (Whether the device accessing the hand-attached wearable device is registered in advance is verified for the short-range wireless communication by using identification information including a unique number, an MAC address, a personal identification number (Pin) code, and the like. In addition to the aforementioned identification information, the verification may be performed by using a public key based electronic signature authentication, an encoding authentication, an authentication using various proximity sensors, an authentication using a code such as a QR code, an authentication using an NFC chip or an RFID chip, a user identification module (UIM), a subscriber identity module (SIM), a universal user identity module (USIM), a smart card, and the like. Kim, para [0140-0141]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of Oudenhoven in view of Kim. One would be motivated to do so, to enhance the security of the system using secure pairing technique.
As per claims 8 and 14, Oudenhoven and Kim teach the electronic device of claims 2 and 11, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
identify the iris information stored in the security area of the memory in association with the stored face information (The wearable device, by a user-facing camera, can determine or detect the orientation of the user's gaze based on one or more optical tracking metrics, such as pupil, iris, corneal tracking, gaze detection, and/or glint detection. The wearable device can also determine or detect the duration that the user's eye or gaze has been oriented in a particular way or a projected gaze path. Oudenhoven, para [0075]),
receive an iris image from the external display device through the communication channel established with the external display device (authentication credentials are provided to the companion device from the primary or wearable device based at least in part on whether the detected orientation of the user's gaze satisfies a condition. Step 408 can be substantially similar to step 308 of FIG. 3. In response to detecting the companion device, determining that an orientation of the companion device is consistent with an intent to access the companion device, and determining that an orientation of the user's eye is consistent with the user looking at the companion device, the wearable device can emit, transmit, or provide information, for example including authentication credentials, via an electronic communication or transmission component, such as any of those discussed herein. Oudenhoven, para [0089]), and
compare the identified iris information with the received iris image to perform iris authentication (an electronic device that utilizes facial recognition authentication may require a minimum threshold percentage match to unlock the device. An IR filter on eyewear may make it impossible to reach the minimum threshold match. Further, many facial recognition platforms require the user to be looking at the companion device to initiate an unlock sequence. Oudenhoven, para [0055]).
As per claims 9 and 14, Oudenhoven and Kim teach the electronic device of claims 8 and 11, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
in case that iris feature information extracted from the iris image substantially matches the identified iris information, determine that the iris authentication of the user has succeeded (an electronic device that utilizes facial recognition authentication may require a minimum threshold percentage match to unlock the device. Oudenhoven, para [0055]) ( the OFC 234 and/or UFC 238 can activate in response to a vision system or facial recognition system of the companion device 200 at least partially recognizing a face. In some examples, the companion device 200 must establish at least a partial match (e.g., 40-80%) of the authorized user's face before signaling to the smart glasses 100c to activate the OFC 234 and/or UFC 238. Oudenhoven, para [0061]), and
in case that the iris authentication has succeeded, complete connection with the external display device (an electronic device that utilizes facial recognition authentication may require a minimum threshold percentage match to unlock the device. Oudenhoven, para [0055]).
As per claim 10, Oudenhoven and Kim teach the electronic device of claim 8, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
in case that iris feature information extracted from the iris image does not substantially match the identified iris information, determine that the iris authentication of the user has failed (the companion device may be able to only complete a partial match of the user's face, insufficient to unlock the companion device. Oudenhoven, para [0027]),
in case that the iris authentication has failed, request an iris image acquired by recapturing the user's iris from the external display device, and receive the iris image acquired by recapturing the user's iris according to the request and perform iris authentication again (operational sequence, a user wearing a head-mounted device with IR filters desires to unlock a companion device, such as a smartphone or tablet, using facial recognition. The user can orient the companion device such that a vision system of the companion device locates the user's face and begins a facial recognition sequence. Because the user's eyes are occluded by the IR filters, the companion device may be able to only complete a partial match of the user's face, insufficient to unlock the companion device. The head-mounted device and the companion device can exchange electronic communications or transmissions to prompt a vision system of the head-mounted device to determine or detect an orientation of a gaze of the user, for example, via a user-facing camera. The orientation of a gaze or gaze direction of the user can correspond to what the user is looking at or the line of sight of the user. In some examples, this can be referred to as the eye pose (e.g., a determination of the direction in which the eye is looking). The pose or orientation of the eye can be determined based on the positions of ocular characteristics, such as the pupil, iris, cornea, glints, and other ocular characteristics. The position of the ocular characteristics can be determined relative to the head-mounted device, the eyelids or face of the user, or relative to the natural static direction of the eye. Oudenhoven, para [0027]).
As per claim 11, Oudenhoven teaches an electronic device comprising:
a camera; communication circuitry; a display; memory storing one or more computer programs; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to at least one of the camera, the communication circuitry, the display, or the memory, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (The electronic device 100 can be a wearable device, such as a head-mounted device. In some example, the wearable device 100 can be a head-mounted device for use in virtual reality, mixed reality, augmented reality, augmented virtuality, or computer-generated reality. The wearable device 100 can include a housing 102, an internal signal distribution medium 104, a power supply unit 106, a data storage unit 108, a data processing unit 110, a sensor unit 112, an electronic communication unit 114, and a human interface unit 116. The wearable device 100 can implement one or more aspects of the methods. Oudenhoven, para [0030]), cause the electronic device to:
detect whether the electronic device is worn on a user (the wearable device can be configured to detect the orientation of the gaze when the companion device recognizes the user's face. The wearable device can include a head-mounted device. Oudenhoven, para [0008]),
transmit a request for connection with the external electronic device through the communication circuitry, based on the extracted device information (the wearable device can detect the companion device in response to receiving data from the companion device indicating a request to unlock the companion device. For example, a request to authenticate the companion device. Oudenhoven, para [0074]), and
establish connection with the external electronic device, in response to the request (the wearable device is configured to authenticate the user prior to transmitting the signal to the companion device. Oudenhoven, para [0008]).
Oudenhoven does not explicitly teach capture an authentication code displayed on a display of an external electronic device through the camera in a state in which the electronic device is worn on the user, authenticate the authentication code to extract device information of the external electronic device from the authentication code.
However, Kim teaches capture an authentication code displayed on a display of an external electronic device through the camera in a state in which the electronic device is worn on the user(Whether the device accessing the hand-attached wearable device is registered in advance is verified for the short-range wireless communication by using identification information including a unique number, an MAC address, a personal identification number (Pin) code, and the like. In addition to the aforementioned identification information, the verification may be performed by using a public key based electronic signature authentication, an encoding authentication, an authentication using various proximity sensors, an authentication using a code such as a QR code, an authentication using an NFC chip or an RFID chip, a user identification module (UIM), a subscriber identity module (SIM), a universal user identity module (USIM), a smart card, and the like. Kim, para [0140-0141]),
authenticate the authentication code to extract device information of the external electronic device from the authentication code (a technique called pairing has been widely used for mutual secure wireless communication, and the verification may be performed by inputting the PIN code or automatically performing the pairing technique. Kim, para [0142])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of Oudenhoven in view of Kim. One would be motivated to do so, to enhance the security of the system using secure pairing technique.
Claim(s) 6-7, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oudenhoven et al. US 2023/0308873 A1 (hereinafter “Oudenhoven”) in view of Kim et al. US 2017/0185103 A1 (hereinafter “Kim”) and further in view of Akazawa US 2021/0127037 A1 (hereinafter “Akazawa”).
As per claims 6 and 12, Oudenhoven and Kim teach the electronic device of claims 1 and 11. Oudenhoven does not explicitly teach wherein the authentication code is acquired by encrypting a service set identifier (SSID) of the external display device corresponding to the stored face information and an SSID of the electronic device with a public key of the external display device.
However, Akazawa teaches wherein the authentication code is acquired by encrypting a service set identifier (SSID) of the external display device corresponding to the stored face information and an SSID of the electronic device with a public key of the external display device (The NFC tag data includes an SSID, an encryption key and an IP address which are necessary to perform the Wi-Fi communication. That is, the operator is capable of acquiring the SSID, the encryption key and the IP address for establishing the Wi-Fi communication with the image forming apparatus 1 by performing an operator of holding the portable terminal 6 over the image forming apparatus 1, and thus is capable of starting the Wi-Fi communication between the portable terminal 6 and the image forming apparatus. Akazawa, para [0068]) ( The NFC tag portion 4 sends the SSID and the encryption key to the portable terminal 6 in response to reception of the response data from the portable terminal 6. These data are small in capacity, and therefore, can be sent through the near field wireless communication. The portable terminal 6 is handover-connected to Wi-Fi communication by using the SSID and the encryption key which are received from the NFC tag portion 4. In response to the connection requirement of the Wi-Fi communication from the portable terminal 6, the near field wireless communication between the NFC_R/W portion 36 and the NFC tag portion 4 ends. Akazawa, para [0092]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Oudenhoven in view of Akazawa. One would be motivated to do so, to enhance the security of the system using encrypted SSID in communication.
As per claim 7, Oudenhoven and Kim teach the electronic device of claim 6. Oudenhoven does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to receive a request for communication connection with the electronic device from the external display device through the SSID of the electronic device included in the authentication code, the external display device making the request by authenticating the displayed authentication code.
However, Akazawa teaches cause the electronic device to receive a request for communication connection with the electronic device from the external display device through the SSID of the electronic device included in the authentication code, the external display device making the request by authenticating the displayed authentication code (When the CPU 7 receives the “connection requirement” from the portable terminal 6, i.e., with the CPU 7 detects that the authentication using the SSID and the encryption key is performed, the CPU 7 ends the NFC. Timing when the CPU 7 detected that the authentication by the portable terminal 6 was performed for starting the Wi-Fi communication is timing of an end of the NFC. Akazawa, para [0086])( The NFC tag portion 4 sends the SSID and the encryption key to the portable terminal 6 in response to reception of the response data from the portable terminal 6. These data are small in capacity, and therefore, can be sent through the near field wireless communication. The portable terminal 6 is handover-connected to Wi-Fi communication by using the SSID and the encryption key which are received from the NFC tag portion 4. In response to the connection requirement of the Wi-Fi communication from the portable terminal 6, the near field wireless communication between the NFC_R/W portion 36 and the NFC tag portion 4 ends. Akazawa, para [0092]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Oudenhoven in view of Akazawa. One would be motivated to do so, to enhance the security of the system using encrypted SSID in communication.
As per claim 13, Oudenhoven and Kim teach the electronic device of claim 12. Oudenhoven does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: decrypt the authentication code with a private key of the electronic device to extract the SSID of the electronic device and the SSID of the external electronic device from the authentication code, and in case that the SS1D of the electronic device extracted from the authentication code matches an SSID stored in the memory, request communication connection with the external electronic device through the SSID of the external electronic device extracted from the authentication code.
However, Akazawa teaches decrypt the authentication code with a private key of the electronic device to extract the SSID of the electronic device and the SSID of the external electronic device from the authentication code (When the operator selected the SSID manually, the operator also inputs the encryption key manually. The NFC tag data includes the SSID, and therefore, in response to a touch of the portable terminal 6 to the NFC tag portion 4 by the operator, in addition to the SSID, the encryption key is also sent to the portable terminal 6. Akazawa, para [0082]), and
in case that the SS1D of the electronic device extracted from the authentication code matches an SSID stored in the memory, request communication connection with the external electronic device through the SSID of the external electronic device extracted from the authentication code (authentication of the portable terminal 6 by the image forming apparatus 1 is ended. The portable terminal 6 and the image forming apparatus 1 prepares for wireless communication connection (connection through Wi-Fi communication) for transferring data, by the authentication of the portable terminal 6 performed by the image forming apparatus 1. Akazawa, para [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Oudenhoven in view of Akazawa. One would be motivated to do so, to enhance the security of the system using encrypted SSID in communication.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A. Bao et al. US 2015/0154392 A1 directed to secure face authentication with liveness detection for mobile.
B. Brook et al. US 2021/0051016 A1 directed to device pairing with optical codes.
C. Han et al. US 2016/0173492 A1 directed to authentication method using biometric information and electronic device.
/KHALID M ALMAGHAYREH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492