DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA (America Invents Act). As a result, Applicant is encouraged to review the AIA in the MPEP. Applicant should also note that the wording, requirements, and statutes may have some subtle changes from actions and requirements prior to AIA .
Claims Pending
Claims 42-61, filed on 1 April 2025 will be examined on the merits. Applicant has cancelled claims 1-41.
Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 1 April 2025 has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings, filed on 15 January 2025, have been approved.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 42-44, 46-47, 54, 57-58, the recitations having 112(b) issues in the parent case 15/755,422, such as “incomplete water solution,” “essentially,” “substantially full complement,” “effective,” “effective amount,” “essentially free” and “nutritionally- effective amount” have been acknowledged and have been withdrawn in the Advisory Action filed on 26 August 2024.
The claim limitation “A hydroponic system for feeding a leafy vegetable plant through its foliage, comprising (a) a means for applying a foliar feed formulation to a leaf of a leafy vegetable plant; (b) a means for contacting the roots of the plant with an incomplete water solution or inert medium” in claim 42 uses the phrase “means for” or “step for” or a generic placeholder coupled with functional language, but it is not modified by some structure, material, or acts recited in the claim. Therefore, claim 42 is interpreted per the broadest reasonable interpretation standard as a “means-plus-function” claim, to include application of the foliar feed formulation and contacting the roots of the plant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 42-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raskin et al. (US 5,876,484) in view of Biksa (Grozine- “Hydroponics Foliar Sprays in Gardens” Retrieved from the Internet on 11 February 2026, published on 1 April 2014) and Goodwin (US 2011/0077155).
The claims are broadly drawn to a hydroponic system of feeding a leafy vegetable plant through its foliage by applying a foliar feed formulation to the leaf and contacting the roots of the plant with an incomplete water solution or inert medium that is essentially free of the plant’s required mineral nutrients and the leaf is in contact with a foliar feed formulation comprising a full complement of the plant’s nutritionally required mineral nutrients and an effective amount of a penetrant where the full complement of the plant’s required mineral nutrients is absorbed through the foliage of the plant and not through the roots of the plant and the penetrant is dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO) (a biocompatible polar aprotic solvent) and applying the feed formulation to the leaves with a spray bottle or fog or mist machine or droplet dispenser and a carrier to support the plant such as a raft or cup.
Regarding claims 42-46 and 54-57 and 60, Raskin et al. teach the growth of plants in a nutrient-free (reads on incomplete water solution) by suspending the plant in nutrient-free water and by growing the plant in a receptacle (reads on raft or cup) that serves as a nutrient trap for externally added nutrients (i.e. nutrients added aerially to the plant or directly to the receptacle so that the plant roots do not first come into contact with the plant nutrients) (col. 1, lines 33-39 and col. 2, lines 32-35, 40-42). The apparatus (which reads on a hydroponic system) creates for the plant a support that may contain sand, clay rockwool, perlite (which reads on inert medium) (col. 4, lines, 53-60). Additionally, Raskin et al. teach that the nutrients are added aerially (which reads on applying by spraying or misting or fogging) to the growing shoots and/or leaves first and not the roots and may float on the surface of the solution (col. 5, lines 2-15, 27). The type of plants suitable is spinach (leafy vegetable plant) (col. 6, lines 5-7).
Regarding claims 42, 50-52, Biksa teaches hydroponic sprays to deliver nutrients onto and often into crops through the foliage via prepared sprays. Hydroponics sprays applied at the right time can improve plant growth rates and correct nutrient deficiencies (whole document)
Regarding claims 42, 47-49 and 58-59, Goodwin teaches improving growth or nutrition of a plant by applying a foliar spray, comprising a plant nutrient (micronutrients and macronutrients), to a leafy vegetable plant. ((0006], [0009], [0017], [0094]-[0102]). Components can include plant nutrients such as nitrogen, potassium, sulfur, phosphorus, calcium, magnesium, iron, zinc, manganese, copper and boron ([0067], [0069]). The feed formulation comprises an effective amount of penetrant such as dimethylsufoxide (DMSO) which reads on a biocompatible polar aprotic solvent ([0070] and [0092]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made by using a hydroponic system to feed leafy vegetable plants by spraying a foliar feed formulation containing nutritionally effective amounts of macro and micro nutrients to the foliage of leafy vegetable plants while the roots of the plant are in contact with an incomplete water solution or an inert medium as taught in the cited references. One would have been motivated to combine the references to make the claimed invention because Raskin et al. teach using a hydroponic system where the plant is in a receptacle, and may contain an inert medium and the receptacle contains nutrient-free water for the roots and the nutrients first come in contact with the leaves aerially. One would have also been further motivated to combine Raskin et al. with Biksa because Biksa teaches a hydroponic foliar spray via through foliage and when applied at the right time can improve growth rates, correct deficiencies and boost plant vitality and vigour.
It would have been further obvious to use the macro and micro nutrient spray as taught by Goodwin and apply it as a hydroponic spray as taught by Biksa and spray the plants that are used in the receptacle which contains nutrient-free water as taught by Raskin et al. One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Raskin et al. with Biksa and Goodwin to use the hydroponic system because the hydroponic system receptacle contains the incomplete water solution (i.e. nutrient-free) and all the nutrients would be available as a foliar application and not available through the roots so there would be no need to additionally fertilize the root zone or soil saving in time, labor and the extra cost as well as any excess nutrients that would be leached away in the soil. Additionally, the benefits of Biksa are that of foliar feeding is a proven technique to deliver nutrients onto and often through the foliage via sprays. The benefits of using a macro and micro nutrient formulation as taught in Goodwin would be improved growth, higher quality produce and longer growing season.
Regarding claims 51-5 and 55-56, although none of the cited references teach specifically the type of spray dispenser (spray bottle or fog/mist machine or droplet dispenser) and type of carrier (raft or cup) would be considered a design choice, without evidence to the contrary. This would depend on the type, shape, size of leafy vegetable plant as to what size of droplets, for example, would be needed for a particular plant. The type of spray dispenser and carrier is merely a design choice and would have been obvious to combine with cited references to obtain the claimed invention.
Additionally, Applicant is reminded that as stated in claims 42 and 57, the word “comprising” is understood to be open-ended suggesting unknown components that are included in the procedure. “Comprising” is a term of art used in claim language which means that the named elements are essential, but other elements may be added and still form a construct within the scope of the claim. See MPEP 2111.03.
Moreover, by the teachings of the cited references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in using the systems as taught in the cited references as it was commonly known in the art to use a hydroponic system for feeding leafy vegetable plants while the roots of the plant are in contact with an incomplete water solution and applying a foliar feed formulation to the leaves and for the benefits of applying a foliar feed formulation as disclosed supra.
Thus, the invention, as a whole, would be clearly prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Summary
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Bratislav Stankovic can be reached on 571-270-0305. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SUSAN MCCORMICK EWOLDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1661